DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danielson et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0104793).
Re claim 1, Danielson et al. discloses an electric vehicle comprising one or more electric motors (54), and a monocoque supporting the one or more electric motors, wherein the monocoque comprises a front cage (see the annotated figure below) defining an operator cabin and a rear floor located rearward of the front cage in a longitudinal direction that at least partially defines a stowage compartment of the electric vehicle (the area above the rear floor), wherein the front cage includes an arcuate void extending at least partway therethrough (see the annotated figure below), and wherein the arcuate void extends through one exterior side of the front cage that is arranged parallel to the longitudinal direction (see the annotated figure below).
Re claim 5, the arcuate void is arranged adjacent a front end of the vehicle (see the annotated figure above).
Re claim 7, the monocoque further comprises an intermediate section disposed between the front cage and the rear floor in the longitudinal direction; and the intermediate section has a single fixed length (see the annotated figure below).
Re claim 8, the intermediate section includes a plurality of sidewalls and a ceiling; and the plurality of sidewalls, the ceiling, and the rear floor at least partially cooperate to define an interior space of the stowage compartment that is closed off from one or more locations outside the vehicle. See the annotated figure below.
Re claim 11, Danielson discloses an electric vehicle comprising one or more electric motors (54); and a monocoque supporting the one or more electric motors, wherein the monocoque comprises a front cage (see the annotated figure below) defining an operator cabin, a rear floor located rearward of the front cage in a longitudinal direction that at least partially defines a stowage compartment of the electric vehicle, and an intermediate section disposed between the front cage and the rear floor in the longitudinal direction, wherein the front cage includes an arcuate void extending at least partway through a sidewall of the front cage therethrough, and wherein the intermediate section is devoid of cutouts, wherein the arcuate void extend through one exterior side of the front cage that is arranged parallel to the longitudinal direction (see the annotated figure below).
Re claim 20, Danielson discloses an electric vehicle comprising one or more electric motors, and a monocoque supporting the one or more electric motors, wherein the monocoque comprises a front cage defining an operator cabin, a rear floor located rearward of the front cage in a longitudinal direction that at least partially defines a stowage compartment of the electric vehicle, and an intermediate section disposed between the front cage and the rear floor in the longitudinal direction, wherein the front cage includes an arcuate void extending at least partway through a sidewall of the front cage therethrough, and wherein the intermediate section has a constant width over the longitudinal direction and wherein the arcuate void extends through one exterior side of the front cage that is arranged parallel to the longitudinal direction (see the annotated figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danielson et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0104793) in view of Misencik (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0101876).
Re claims 2 and 12, Danielson et al. discloses all of the limitation so of the claims, as applied above, except for the rear floor being formed to include a plurality of cutouts extending inwardly toward one another through the rear floor in a lateral direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction.
Misencik teaches a rear floor being formed to include a plurality of cutouts extending inwardly toward one another through the rear floor in a lateral direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction. See the annotated figure below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an electric vehicle, such as that disclosed by Danielson et al., to have the rear floor be formed to include a plurality of cutouts extending inwardly toward one another through the rear floor in a lateral direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Misencik, in order to accommodate larger wheels and tires for the rear of the vehicle to increase its driving performance.
Re claims 3 and 13, Danielson et al. discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for the plurality of cutouts not extending in the longitudinal direction over an entire length of the rear floor.
Misencik teaches a plurality of cutouts not extending in the longitudinal direction over an entire length of the rear floor. See the annotated figure below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an electric vehicle, such as that disclosed by Danielson et al., to have a plurality of cutouts not extending in the longitudinal direction over an entire length of the rear floor, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Misencik, in order to accommodate larger wheels and tires for the rear of the vehicle to increase its driving performance.
Re claim 4, Danielson et al. discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for the rear floor extending in the longitudinal direction from a first end to a second end opposite the first end, and the plurality of cutouts being arranged midway between the first end and the second end in the longitudinal direction.
Misencik teaches a rear floor extending in the longitudinal direction from a first end to a second end opposite the first end, and the plurality of cutouts being arranged midway between the first and the second end in the longitudinal direction. See the annotated figure below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an electric vehicle, such as that disclosed by Misencik, to have the rear floor extending in the longitudinal direction from a first end to a second end opposite the first end, and the plurality of cutouts being arranged midway between the first end and the second end in the longitudinal direction, as taught by Misencik, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to accommodate larger wheels and tires for the rear of the vehicle to increase its driving performance.
Re claim 14, Danielson et al. discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for the rear floor having a reduced width between the plurality of cutouts. See the annotated figure below.
Misencik teaches a rear floor having a reduced with between a plurality of cutouts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an electric vehicle, such as that disclosed by Danielson et al., to have a rear floor having a reduced width between a plurality of cutouts, as taught by Misencik, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to accommodate larger wheels and tires for the rear of the vehicle to increase its driving performance.
Re claim 15, Danielson et al. discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for the plurality of cutouts including two cutouts arranged opposite one another in the lateral direction. See the annotated figure below.
Misencik teaches a plurality of cutouts including two cutouts arranged opposite one another in the lateral direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an electric vehicle, such as that disclosed by Danielson et al., to have a plurality of cutouts including two cutouts arranged opposite one another in the lateral direction, as taught by Misencik, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to accommodate larger wheels and tires for the rear of the vehicle to increase its driving performance.
Re claim 16, Danielson et al. discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for the rear floor having a first width along a first end thereof, the rear floor having a second width along a second end thereof arranged opposite the first end, the rear floor has a third width between the two cutouts; and each of the first width and the second width is greater than the third width.
Misencik teaches the rear floor having a first width along a first end thereof, the rear floor having a second width along a second end thereof arranged opposite the first end, the rear floor has a third width between the two cutouts, and each of the first width and the second width is greater than the third width. See the annotated figure below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an electric vehicle, such as that disclosed by Danielson et al., to have the rear floor have a first width along a first end thereof, the rear floor have a second width along a second end thereof arranged opposite the first end, the rear floor have a third width between the two cutouts, and each of the first width and the second width be greater than the third width, as taught by Misencik, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to accommodate larger wheels and tires for the rear of the vehicle to increase its driving performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9, 10, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner has changed the rejections above to accommodate the claim amendments made by applicant in the response of 3/32/2026.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON S MORROW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
June 11, 2026