DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 6/2/26.
In the response Applicant amended claim(s) 1-11, 14-20.
Currently, claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li Bing (CN108536350) in view of Bayesic (Youtube Video: Everything You Need to Know About Drifting in Mario Kart 8 Deluxe) and MakoRuns (Youtube: 3 Perfect Start Techniques | Speed Drifters/QQ飞车).
Re Claim 1,
Li discloses a virtual vehicle control method performed by a computer device (pg 1, 7; a virtual object control method), the method comprising:
displaying a virtual vehicle in a driving state in a virtual environment (Fig 2, pg 2-7; a virtual vehicle is displayed on the player’s device);
controlling the virtual vehicle to enter a drift state in response to a first steering operation on a direction control component and a brake operation on a handbrake control component, the first steering operation being configured for controlling the virtual vehicle to steer to a first side of a speed direction (Fig 5, pg 2-7; an operation control is provided on the graphical user interface, which includes a direction operation area and a drift operation area, as illustrated in Fig. 5, the vehicle drifts into a right direction based on the first direction operation and the drift operation, further, the shape of the direction and the drift operation can be selected by the developer and the user, i.e., the drift operation area is considered as a brake operation);
turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from a first direction to a second direction in response to a second steering operation on the direction control component, the second steering operation being configured for controlling the virtual vehicle to steer to a second side of the speed direction, a second angle formed between the second direction and the speed direction, a first angle formed between the first direction and the speed direction (Fig 2-7, pg 2-7; the virtual vehicle can be drifted to the other direction based on the direction operation area and the drift operation area, further, a drift angle is created according to the sliding distance and the operation duration); and
turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from the second direction to a third direction, the third direction being located on the second side of the speed direction, while both the first direction and the second direction of the head of the virtual vehicle being located on the first side of the speed direction (pg 2-7; the virtual vehicle is controlled to drift in a different direction when the drift operation is detected).
Li does not explicitly disclose the second angle is less than the first angle during the drifting operation, and while applying the second steering operation on the direction control component: detecting a second brake operation on the handbrake control component, turning to a different direction in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component.
However, Bayesic teaches that the second angle is less than the first angle during the drifting operation. For instance, the player can control the drift angle with the joystick operation and the brake operation (times 1:51, 2:08-2:43, 4:14, 8:02, 10:55). Bayesic further teaches such a configuration allows the player to improve his gameplaying experience (youtube video). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Bayesic into the virtual control operation of Li in order to improve a player’s gameplay experience.
MakoRuns teaches while applying the second steering operation on the direction control component: detecting a second brake operation on the handbrake control component, turning to a different direction in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component (Youtube video shows the car drifting to a different direction when the steering direction is pressed and the drifting button is pressed again). MakoRuns further teaches such a configuration helps the player to win the race (pg 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of MakoRuns into the virtual operation control of Li in order to help the player to win the race.
Re Claims 2, 11,
Li discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from the second direction to the third direction in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component when an angle between the head direction of the virtual vehicle and the speed direction of the virtual vehicle exceeds a drift threshold. However, MakoRuns teaches turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from the second direction to the third direction in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component (youtube video). Bayesic teaches an angle between the head direction of the virtual vehicle and the speed direction of the virtual vehicle exceeds a drift threshold (youtube video). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claims 3, 12, 20,
Li discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on controlling the virtual vehicle to exit the drift state and enter a flat running state when the angle between the head direction of the virtual vehicle and the speed direction of the virtual vehicle does not exceed the drift threshold. However, Bayesic teaches controlling the virtual vehicle to exit the drift state and enter a flat running state when the angle between the head direction of the virtual vehicle and the speed direction of the virtual vehicle does not exceed the drift threshold (youtube video). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claims 4, 13,
Li discloses determining the speed direction of the virtual vehicle according to a grip force of the virtual vehicle, the head direction of the virtual vehicle, and a historical speed direction of the virtual vehicle (pg 2-7).
Re Claims 5, 14,
Li discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on updating the drift threshold according to a quantity of times that the reverse drift skill is triggered in a continuous steering virtual road section. However, Bayesic teaches updating the drift threshold according to a quantity of times that the reverse drift skill is triggered in a continuous steering virtual road section (youtube video). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claims 6, 15,
Li discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from the second direction to the third direction in response to the continuous pressing operation on the direction control component and the brake operation on the handbrake control component. However, MakoRuns teaches turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from the second direction to the third direction in response to the continuous pressing operation on the direction control component and the brake operation on the handbrake control component (youtube video). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claims 7, 16,
Li discloses turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle to the first direction in response to the first steering operation on the direction control component, wherein the first direction is located on the first side of the speed direction; and controlling the virtual vehicle to enter the drift state in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component (pg 2-7).
Re Claims 8, 17,
Li discloses all limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose controlling a virtual speed of the virtual vehicle to decrease in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component. However, Bayesic teaches controlling a virtual speed of the virtual vehicle to decrease in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component (youtube video). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claims 9, 18,
Li discloses all limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from the second direction to the third direction in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component when a distance between the virtual vehicle and a virtual edge exceeds a drift threshold, wherein the virtual edge is an edge of a virtual road surface in the virtual environment; and decreasing a virtual speed of the virtual vehicle in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component when the distance between the virtual vehicle and the virtual edge does not exceed the drift threshold. However, Bayesic teaches turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from the second direction to the third direction in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component when a distance between the virtual vehicle and a virtual edge exceeds a drift threshold, wherein the virtual edge is an edge of a virtual road surface in the virtual environment; and decreasing a virtual speed of the virtual vehicle in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component when the distance between the virtual vehicle and the virtual edge does not exceed the drift threshold (youtube video). See claim 1 for motivation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6/2/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715