DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/3/24, 3/28/25 was acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-9 are objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant is recommended to amend the phrase "The method" to "The virtual vehicle control method". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li Bing (CN108536350) in view of Bayesic (Youtube Video: Everything You Need to Know About Drifting in Mario Kart 8 Deluxe) and Blake Broghammer (Youtube: Tips and Tricks to Drift like a Pro in CarX Drift Racing 2).
Re Claim 1,
Li discloses a virtual vehicle control method performed by a computer device (pg 1, 7; a virtual object control method), the method comprising:
displaying a virtual vehicle in a driving state in a virtual environment (Fig 2, pg 2-7; a virtual vehicle is displayed on the player’s device);
controlling the virtual vehicle to enter a drift state in response to a first steering operation on a direction control component and a brake operation on a handbrake control component, the first steering operation being configured for controlling the virtual vehicle to steer to a first side of a speed direction (Fig 5, pg 2-7; an operation control is provided on the graphical user interface, which includes a direction operation area and a drift operation area, as illustrated in Fig. 5, the vehicle drifts into a right direction based on the first direction operation and the drift operation, further, the shape of the direction and the drift operation can be selected by the developer and the user, i.e., the drift operation area is considered as a brake operation);
turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from a first direction to a second direction in response to a second steering operation on the direction control component, the second steering operation being configured for controlling the virtual vehicle to steer to a second side of the speed direction, a second angle formed between the second direction and the speed direction, a first angle formed between the first direction and the speed direction (Fig 2-7, pg 2-7; the virtual vehicle can be drifted to the other direction based on the direction operation area and the drift operation area, further, a drift angle is created according to the sliding distance and the operation duration); and
turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from the second direction to a third direction, the third direction being located on the second side of the speed direction (pg 2-7; the virtual vehicle is controlled to drift in a different direction when the drift operation is detected).
Li does not explicitly disclose the second angle is less than the first angle during the drifting operation, and turning to a different direction in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component.
However, Bayesic teaches that the second angle is less than the first angle during the drifting operation. For instance, the player can control the drift angle with the joystick operation and the brake operation (times 1:51, 2:08-2:43, 4:14, 8:02, 10:55). Bayesic further teaches such a configuration allows the player to improve his gameplaying experience (youtube video). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Bayesic into the virtual control operation of Li in order to improve a player’s gameplay experience.
Broghammer teaches turning to a different direction in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component (see Youtube video, time 2:48). Broghammer further teaches such a configuration improves a player’s control of the virtual vehicle (youtube video). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Broghammer into the virtual operation control of Li in order to improve a player’s control of the virtual vehicle.
Re Claims 2, 11,
Li discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from the second direction to the third direction in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component when an angle between the head direction of the virtual vehicle and the speed direction of the virtual vehicle exceeds a drift threshold. However, Broghammer teaches turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from the second direction to the third direction in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component (youtube video). Bayesic teaches an angle between the head direction of the virtual vehicle and the speed direction of the virtual vehicle exceeds a drift threshold (youtube video). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claims 3, 12, 20,
Li discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on controlling the virtual vehicle to exit the drift state and enter a flat running state when the angle between the head direction of the virtual vehicle and the speed direction of the virtual vehicle does not exceed the drift threshold. However, Bayesic teaches controlling the virtual vehicle to exit the drift state and enter a flat running state when the angle between the head direction of the virtual vehicle and the speed direction of the virtual vehicle does not exceed the drift threshold (youtube video). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claims 4, 13,
Li discloses determining the speed direction of the virtual vehicle according to a grip force of the virtual vehicle, the head direction of the virtual vehicle, and a historical speed direction of the virtual vehicle (pg 2-7).
Re Claims 5, 14,
Li discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on updating the drift threshold according to a quantity of times that the reverse drift skill is triggered in a continuous steering virtual road section. However, Bayesic teaches updating the drift threshold according to a quantity of times that the reverse drift skill is triggered in a continuous steering virtual road section (youtube video). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claims 6, 15,
Li discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from the second direction to the third direction in response to the continuous pressing operation on the direction control component and the brake operation on the handbrake control component. However, Broghammer teaches turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from the second direction to the third direction in response to the continuous pressing operation on the direction control component and the brake operation on the handbrake control component (youtube video). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claims 7, 16,
Li discloses turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle to the first direction in response to the first steering operation on the direction control component, wherein the first direction is located on the first side of the speed direction; and controlling the virtual vehicle to enter the drift state in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component (pg 2-7).
Re Claims 8, 17,
Li discloses all limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose controlling a virtual speed of the virtual vehicle to decrease in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component. However, Bayesic teaches controlling a virtual speed of the virtual vehicle to decrease in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component (youtube video). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claims 9, 18,
Li discloses all limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from the second direction to the third direction in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component when a distance between the virtual vehicle and a virtual edge exceeds a drift threshold, wherein the virtual edge is an edge of a virtual road surface in the virtual environment; and decreasing a virtual speed of the virtual vehicle in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component when the distance between the virtual vehicle and the virtual edge does not exceed the drift threshold. However, Bayesic teaches turning the head direction of the virtual vehicle from the second direction to the third direction in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component when a distance between the virtual vehicle and a virtual edge exceeds a drift threshold, wherein the virtual edge is an edge of a virtual road surface in the virtual environment; and decreasing a virtual speed of the virtual vehicle in response to the brake operation on the handbrake control component when the distance between the virtual vehicle and the virtual edge does not exceed the drift threshold (youtube video). See claim 1 for motivation.
Conclusion
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715