DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luttrell et al. (US 6,257,860 B1).
Re claim 1, Luttrell et al. discloses a device comprising: a transparent sheet (10) having a first side (16) with a structured surface, wherein: the structured surface includes microprisms thereon, the microprisms being part of a microprism array on the structured surface (Figs. 11 and 12); and each one of the microprisms are part of a quaternary set of the microprisms, such that for each quaternary set: the first microprism has a first lateral face (50), a second lateral face (42b), and a third lateral face (40a), the second microprism has a first lateral face (48), a second lateral face (32a), and a third lateral face (34b), the third microprism has a first lateral face (50), a second lateral face (42c), and a third lateral face (40b), the fourth microprism has a first lateral face (48), a second lateral face (32b), and a third lateral face (34c), there is a continuous surface transition (50, 48) between the second lateral face (42b) of the first microprism and the third lateral face (34b) of the second microprism and between the second lateral face (42c) of the third microprism and the third lateral face (34c) of the fourth microprism, there is a shared side edge between the second lateral face (42b) of the first microprism and the third lateral face (40b) of the third microprism and between the third lateral face (34b) of the second microprism and the second lateral face (32b) of the fourth microprism, and the shared side edge (33b) is visible as a solid tooling line.
Re claim 2, Luttrell et al. discloses the device wherein the transparent sheet (10) includes a second side (18) opposite the first side (16), the second side having a substantially smooth and planar surface (Fig. 2).
Re claim 3, Luttrell et al. discloses the device wherein a thickness of the transparent sheet from the apex of the microprisms on the structured surface to the opposite surface is a value in a range from about 50 microns to 1000 microns (col. 17, lines 67-col. 18, lines 1-4).
Re claim 4, Luttrell et al. discloses the device wherein the microprisms on the structured surface are reduced inactive area microprisms (Fig. 12; col. 2, lines 13-35; col. 45-53).
Re claim 5, Luttrell et al. discloses the device wherein the first microprism (40a, 42b, 50) and the second microprism (48, 32a, 34b) are arranged as symmetrically opposite matched pairs of microprisms and wherein the third microprism (40b, 42c, 50) and the fourth microprism (48, 32b, 34c) are arranged as symmetrically opposite matched pairs of microprisms (Fig. 12).
Re claim 11, Luttrell et al. discloses the device wherein each of the microprisms are configured as one of backward-tilted microprisms (Fig. 12).
Re claim 13, Luttrell discloses the device wherein at least some of the microprisms are configured as sideways tilted microprisms (Fig. 12). There is a tilt to a side of the microprisms.
Re claim 14, Luttrell discloses the device wherein a surface area of each second lateral face and a surface area of each third lateral face are about equal to each other (Fig. 11, ref. 40a, 42b, 40b, 42c, 32a, 34b, 34c, 32c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luttrell et al.
Re claim 6, Luttrell et al. disclose the device wherein the lateral faces of each microprism are angularly aligned relative to the second surface (Fig. 12, ref. 40a, 42b, 40b, 42c, 32a, 34b, 34c, 32c), but does not disclose the device such than an inclination angle for each of the lateral faces is equal a value in a range from about 5 degrees to 50 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein an inclination angle for each of the lateral faces is equal a value in a range from about 5 degrees to 50 degrees. It is well known in the art to adjust the angle of a prism to optimize the reflectance of the sheet. Therefore, determining the inclination angle of each lateral face to be between 5 degrees to 50 degrees to optimize the reflectance of the sheet is based on a result effective variable, requiring routine sill in the art. Furthermore, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (MPEP 2144.05).
Re claim 12, Luttrell et al. does not disclose the device wherein each of the backward-titled microprisms have an optical axis tilt from about 3 degrees to about 17 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein each of the backward-titled microprisms have an optical axis tilt from about 3 degrees to about 17 degrees. It is well known in the art to adjust optical axis tilt to optimize the reflectance of the sheet. Therefore, obtaining the device wherein each of the backward-titled microprisms have an optical axis tilt from about 3 degrees to about 17 degrees to optimize the reflectance of the sheet is based on a result effective variable, requiring routine sill in the art. Furthermore, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (MPEP 2144.05).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Luttrell et al. does not disclose the claimed “continuous surface transition”, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant refers to the paragraph [0196] of the as-filed-application as support that “continuous surface transition” is defined in such a way that distinguishes it over the prior art. However, the paragraph [0196] of the as-filed-application describes that the maintenance of the surface continuity occurs without the presence of seam, ridge, gap or tooling line or other loss of continuity between the adjacent lateral faces”. The cited paragraph simply describes examples of occurrences of the maintenance of surface continuity but does not strictly define the term “continuous”. Examiner reasonably interprets that a continuous transition may be a transition that has no break. The applicant refers to the transition between lateral faces (48, 50) as a tooling line. However, Luttrell is silent on the transition between the lateral faces (48, 50) as being a tooling line. Furthermore, the continuous surface transition may also be along the longitudinal direction of the first reference plane (24), which is also continuous.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871