DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to application filed on 10-27-25. Claims 21-42 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US 2011/0215640 to Donnelly et al. (“Donnelly”).
Regarding claim 21, Donnelly disclose a method for operating a generator system (figs. 2-4 and paras; 0078-0087) comprising: monitoring (para; 0057, FIG. 4 is a schematic of an electrical architecture for a solar power generating facility capable of providing dispatchable power to a power grid), by a generator system controller (voltage controller 415), an actual voltage (para; 0085, renewable solar power generating facility can only provide power to the grid when the sun is shining and so cannot provide dispatchable power (power on demand)) of a direct current bus (para; 0083); determining, by the generator system controller, the actual voltage of the direct current bus is lower than a desired voltage (para; 0083, desired DC bus voltage is 750 volts) of the direct current bus; and in response to determining the actual voltage is lower than the desired voltage (para; 0040, Operating reserve in electrical grids or networks, is the generating capacity available to the system within a short interval of time to meet demand in case a generator goes down or there is another disruption to the supply), causing, by the generator system controller, the generator system to operate at a percentage (para; 0084, about 10 to 30 percent range to about 100%. FIG. 4) of maximum rated power (4.5 MW rated power plant) to increase the actual voltage to the desired voltage or within a threshold of the desired voltage (para; 0077).
Regarding claim 22, Donnelly disclose as the actual voltage increases, linearly reducing the percentage of the maximum rated power (para; 0074, Various Maximum Power Point Tracking ("MPPT") methods are employed to increase plant energy capture and reduce fluctuations in the delivered power).
Regarding claim 23, Donnelly disclose determining a battery level of a battery connected to the direct current bus is below a threshold level; and causing the generator system to operate to charge the battery (para; 0087, battery pack 414 can be charged when there is a surfeit of power on the DC bus, whether from the incoming solar power, from one of more of the engines 411, or from the grid. The battery controller 415 allows for and controls the flow of energy to and from the battery and the DC bus).
Regarding claim 24, Donnelly disclose when the actual voltage is equal to the desired voltage or within the threshold of the desired voltage, determining a second percentage of the maximum rated power (para; 0104, When wind power generation is at a maximum, all the power is provided by the wind turbine renewables. For example, if this is a 9 MW rated power plant) to keep the actual voltage equal to the desired voltage or within the threshold of the desired voltage (para; 0075, inverter 103 creates an AC waveform suitable for the external grid 105 and also performs the function of Maximum Power Point Tracking ("MPPT") of the PV array 101); and causing the generator system to operate at the second percentage of the maximum rated power.
Regarding claim 25, Donnelly disclose determining a voltage level of a system the generator system is connected to via the direct current bus is below a threshold level (para; 0087, battery pack 414 can be charged when there is a surfeit of power on the DC bus, whether from the incoming solar power, from one of more of the engines 411, or from the grid. The battery controller 415 allows for and controls the flow of energy to and from the battery and the DC bus); and causing the generator system to operate to raise the voltage level of the system (paras; 0104-0107).
Regarding claim 26, Donnelly disclose a generator system (figs. 2-4 and paras; 0078-0087) comprising: an engine (para; 0012, The AC or DC prime mover is a power source, such as a diesel engine, a gas turbine engine, a microturbine, a Stirling engine, a spark ignition engine, a fuel cell, a non-thermal chemically powered motors and/or combination thereof) operable to generate mechanical energy; an alternator (engines are attached to the DC bus via alternators 412) operable to convert the mechanical energy generated by the engine to alternating current electricity (fig. 4); a converter system (Rectifier) operable to convert alternating current electricity to direct current electricity; and a generator system controller (voltage controller 415) operable to control the generator system based on an actual voltage (para; 0085, renewable solar power generating facility can only provide power to the grid when the sun is shining and so cannot provide dispatchable power (power on demand)) of a direct current bus (para; 0083) and a desired voltage (para; 0083, desired DC bus voltage is 750 volts) of the direct current bus to: monitor the actual voltage; determine the actual voltage is lower than the desired voltage (para; 0040, Operating reserve in electrical grids or networks, is the generating capacity available to the system within a short interval of time to meet demand in case a generator goes down or there is another disruption to the supply), and in response to determining the actual voltage is lower than the desired voltage, cause the generator system to operate at a percentage of maximum rated power (4.5 MW rated power plant) to increase the actual voltage to the desired voltage or within a threshold of the desired voltage (para; 0077).
Regarding claim 27, Donnelly disclose the generator system controller further operable to, as the actual voltage increases, linearly reduce the percentage of the maximum rated power (para; 0074, Various Maximum Power Point Tracking ("MPPT") methods are employed to increase plant energy capture and reduce fluctuations in the delivered power).
Regarding claim 28, Donnelly disclose the generator system controller further operable to: determine a battery level of a battery connected to the direct current bus is below a threshold level; and cause the generator system to operate to charge the battery (para; 0087, battery pack 414 can be charged when there is a surfeit of power on the DC bus, whether from the incoming solar power, from one of more of the engines 411, or from the grid. The battery controller 415 allows for and controls the flow of energy to and from the battery and the DC bus).
Regarding claim 29, Donnelly disclose an engine control (para; 0012, The AC or DC prime mover is a power source, such as a diesel engine, a gas turbine engine, a microturbine, a Stirling engine, a spark ignition engine, a fuel cell, a non-thermal chemically powered motors and/or combination thereof) module operable to control the operation of the engine based on instructions (para; 0024, Computer-readable medium as used herein refers to any tangible storage and/or transmission medium that participate in providing instructions to a processor for execution) from the generator system controller.
Regarding claim 30, Donnelly disclose a throttle operable to manage power produced by the engine, wherein the engine control module is operable to control the throttle (para; 0122, number of engines to convert an intermittently available renewable power plant into a fully available dispatchable power plant with spinning reserves, then this configuration along with the power electronics that convert DC power to regulated AC power for the grid can provide reactive volt-ampere ("VAR") control).
Regarding claim 31, Donnelly disclose an electronic fuel injector operable to control delivery of fuel to the engine, wherein the engine control module is operable to control the electronic fuel injector (para; 0124, preferred engine (a gas turbine), the hydrogen can be added to the gas flow prior to the combustor (at the inlet or anywhere upstream of the combustor) to supplement the fuel currently being used).
Regarding claim 32, Donnelly disclose the converter system comprises: a rectifier (fig. 4, rectifiers 413) operable to convert alternating current electricity to direct current electricity; a boost converter system operable to boost a voltage of direct current electricity (para; 0043, power control apparatus refers to an electrical apparatus that regulates, modulates or modifies AC or DC electrical power. Examples are an inverter, a chopper circuit, a boost circuit, a buck circuit or a buck/boost circuit); a sensor (para; 0083, The solar output current can be monitored by current sensors or inferred) operable to sense power flow in the converter system; and a converter system controller operable to control the converter system.
Regarding claim 33, Donnelly disclose the converter system controller is operable to receive information from the sensor and control the converter system based at least in part on the information (para; 0083, The solar output current can be monitored by current sensors or inferred by other well-known means and if the current falls below this level, then one or more engines can be activated and engaged to provide power to the DC link in order to bring the current back up to full power (6,000 amperes in the present example)).
Regarding claim 34, Donnelly disclose the converter system controller is operable to control the converter system based at least in part on the desired voltage (para; 0075, inverter 103 creates an AC waveform suitable for the external grid 105 and also performs the function of Maximum Power Point Tracking ("MPPT") of the PV array 101).
Regarding claim 35, Donnelly disclose the boost converter system comprises an interleaved boost converter (para; 0043, power control apparatus refers to an electrical apparatus that regulates, modulates or modifies AC or DC electrical power. Examples are an inverter, a chopper circuit, a boost circuit, a buck circuit or a buck/boost circuit).
Regarding claim 36, Donnelly disclose a direct current bus (para; 0083) operable to conduct electricity; and a generator system ( figs. 2-4 and paras; 0078-0087), comprising: an engine (para; 0012, The AC or DC prime mover is a power source, such as a diesel engine, a gas turbine engine, a microturbine, a Stirling engine, a spark ignition engine, a fuel cell, a non-thermal chemically powered motors and/or combination thereof) operable to generate mechanical energy; an alternator (engines are attached to the DC bus via alternators 412) operable to convert the mechanical energy generated by the engine to alternating current electricity; a converter system operable to convert alternating current electricity to direct current electricity; and a generator system controller ((voltage controller 415) operable to control the generator system based on an actual voltage of the direct current bus and a desired voltage (para; 0083, desired DC bus voltage is 750 volts) of the direct current bus to: monitor the actual voltage; determine the actual voltage is lower than the desired voltage (para; 0040, Operating reserve in electrical grids or networks, is the generating capacity available to the system within a short interval of time to meet demand in case a generator goes down or there is another disruption to the supply), and in response to determining the actual voltage is lower than the desired voltage (para; 0040, Operating reserve in electrical grids or networks, is the generating capacity available to the system within a short interval of time to meet demand in case a generator goes down or there is another disruption to the supply), cause the generator system to operate at a percentage of maximum rated power (para; 0084, about 10 to 30 percent range to about 100%. FIG. 4) to increase the actual voltage to the desired voltage or within a threshold of the desired voltage (para; 0077).
Regarding claim 37, Donnelly disclose the direct current bus comprises a first conductor rail and a second conductor rail (403 and 404).
Regarding claim 38, Donnelly disclose the first conductor rail is a positive voltage rail; and the second conductor rail is a negative voltage rail (403 and 404).
Regarding claim 39, Donnelly disclose the direct current microgrid system further comprising any one of (i) a solar panel system, (ii) a wind turbine, (iii) a water turbine, or (iv) any combination of (i)-(iii) (para; 0037, Maximum Power Point Tracking ("MPPT")) is a term used in solar and wind energy power generation and refers to the methods used for maximizing solar input to solar panels or wind velocity to the rotor of a wind turbine. MPPT is an electronic system that operates the solar cells or wind turbines in a manner that allows the modules to produce all the power of which they are capable).
Regarding claim 40, Donnelly disclose the generator system controller further operable to, as the actual voltage increases, linearly reduce the percentage of the maximum rated power (para; 0074, Various Maximum Power Point Tracking ("MPPT") methods are employed to increase plant energy capture and reduce fluctuations in the delivered power).
Regarding claim 41, Donnelly disclose the percentage of maximum rated power is based on a magnitude of difference between the actual voltage and the desired voltage (paras; 0073-0074).
Regarding claim 42, Donnelly disclose adjusting the percentage of maximum rated the generator system operates at based on a change in a magnitude of difference between the actual voltage and the desired voltage (para; 0074, lines 6-10, The operating point may be adjusted by adjusting voltage, current, or both. In large systems, there may be multiple representative references (hereinafter, a "master") each used to set the operating point of other inverter-controlled arrays).
Response to argument
Applicant’s argument filed on 10-27-25 with respect to claims 21-42 has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836