DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after allowance or after an Office action under Ex Parte Quayle, 25 USPQ 74, 453 O.G. 213 (Comm’r Pat. 1935). Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 03/17/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-22 is/are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 03/17/2026 has/have been considered. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-14 and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5912688 to Gragg (hereinafter “Gragg”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6273563 to Volker (hereinafter “Volker”).
With respect to claim 1, Gragg discloses an inkjet cartridge (cartridge 52 of FIG. 1) comprising: a reservoir operable to contain a solution (reservoir 526 FIG. 5); and a pressure regulator disposed in the reservoir at a location to be in contact with a solution contained in the reservoir (spring 528 FIG. 5), the pressure regulator comprising a spring (spring 528 FIG. 5)
However, Gragg fails to specifically disclose:
comprising a non-metallic material.
Volker discloses:
comprising a non-metallic material (spring element 10 FIG. 1 “composed of a plastics material”, Summary).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the non-metallic material as disclosed by Volker with the method/apparatus of Gragg. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure excellent resilient properties over a long service life and allow for injection molding. (Summary of Volker).
With respect to claim 2, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the non-metallic material of the spring comprises a polymer material (spring element 10 FIG. 1 “composed of a plastics material”, Summary of Volker).
With respect to claim 3, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the spring comprises a polymer material comprising a glass transition temperature between -1200C and 1800C (spring element 10 FIG. 1 “composed of a plastics material”, “polyoxymethylene (POM)”, Summary of Volker).
With respect to claim 4, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the spring is a bow spring or a leaf spring (528 FIG. 5 of Gragg and bow-shape FIG. 1 of Volker).
With respect to claim 5, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the pressure regulator comprises a first plate and a second plate, wherein the spring is coupled to a first side of the first plate and to a first side of the second plate such that the spring is disposed between the first plate and the second plate (plates 530 and 532 FIG. 5 of Gragg and frame parts 11 and 12 of Volker).
With respect to claim 6, Gragg in view of Volker discloses further comprising: a casing defining an interior volume; and a first wall and an opposing second wall defining the reservoir in the interior volume (interior frame member 524 FIG. 5 of Gragg).
With respect to claim 7, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the pressure regulator comprises a first plate and a second plate (plates 530 and 532 FIG. 5 of Gragg and frame parts 11 and 12 of Volker), wherein the spring is coupled to a first side of the first plate and to a first side of the second plate such that the spring is disposed between the first plate and the second plate (plates 530 and 532 FIG. 5 of Gragg and frame parts 11 and 12 of Volker) and wherein a second side of the first plate is coupled to the first wall and a second side of the second plate is coupled to the second wall (plates 530 and 532 FIG. 5 of Gragg and frame parts 11 and 12 of Volker and 520 and 522 FIG. 5 of Gragg).
With respect to claim 8, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the non-metallic material of the spring comprises a polyethylene terephthalate (Volker discloses the spring being made of a thermoplastic with resilient properties Claim 13 of Volker, Additionally, using PET to make a cartridge spring was well known in the art at the time of the invention. For an example see U.S. Patent Publication No. 20010043256 to Seccombe et al. PET spring [0056]).
With respect to claim 9, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the non-metallic material of the spring comprises a polycarbonate, a polypropylene or a polyvinyl chloride (Volker discloses the spring being made of a thermoplastic with resilient properties Claim 13 of Volker. Additionally, using polypropylene to make a cartridge spring was well known in the art at the time of the invention. For an example see U.S. Patent Publication No. 20050237367 to Hagen et al. spring polypropylene [0013]).
With respect to claim 10, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the non-metallic material of the spring comprises a nylon, a high density polyethylene, a low density polyethylene or a polyester (Volker discloses the spring being made of a thermoplastic with resilient properties Claim 13 of Volker. Additionally, using polypropylene to make a cartridge spring was well known in the art at the time of the invention. For an example see U.S. Patent Publication No. 20050237367 to Hagen et al. spring polypropylene [0013]).
With respect to claim 11, Gragg in view of Volker discloses further comprising a frame coupled to an inner wall of the casing and conforming to a shape of a perimeter of the casing, wherein the first wall is coupled to a first side of the frame and the second wall is coupled to an opposite second side of the frame such that the frame, the first wall and the second wall define a volume of the reservoir (54 FIG. 5 of Gragg).
With respect to claim 12, Gragg in view of Volker discloses further comprising at least one filter coupled to the frame inside the volume of the reservoir, wherein the at least one filter comprises a non-metallic material (filter 536 of Gragg Additionally, many different types of filters were common and well known in the art at the time of the invention.).
With respect to claim 13, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the first wall and the second wall each comprise a flexible, non-elastic material and non-metallic material (54 FIG. 5 of Gragg).
With respect to claim 14, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the first wall and the second wall comprises a polymer that is chemically inert relative to a solution selected for containment in the reservoir (54 FIG. 5 of Gragg).
With respect to claim 17, Gragg in view of Volker discloses further comprising a printhead in fluid communication with the reservoir (ink-jet print head 540 FIG. 5 of Gragg).
With respect to claim 18, Gragg discloses An inkjet cartridge (cartridge 52 of FIG. 1) comprising: a casing defining an interior volume (interior frame member 524 FIG. 5 of Gragg); a first wall and an opposing second wall defining a reservoir in the interior volume (520 and 522 FIG. 5 of Gragg); and a pressure regulator disposed in the reservoir at a location to be in contact with a solution contained in the reservoir (spring 528 FIG. 5), the pressure regulator comprising a spring (spring 528 FIG. 5)
However, Gragg fails to specifically disclose:
comprising a non-metallic material.
Volker discloses:
comprising a non-metallic material (spring element 10 FIG. 1 “composed of a plastics material”, Summary).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the non-metallic material as disclosed by Volker with the method/apparatus of Gragg. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure excellent resilient properties over a long service life and allow for injection molding. (Summary of Volker).
With respect to claim 19, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the pressure regulator further comprises a first plate and a second plate each of which is comprised of non-metallic material (plates 530 and 532 FIG. 5 of Gragg and frame parts 11 and 12 of Volker), wherein the spring is coupled to a first side of the first plate and to a first side of the second plate such that the spring is disposed between the first plate and the second plate (spring 528 FIG. 5, plates 530 and 532 FIG. 5 of Gragg and frame parts 11 and 12 of Volker).
With respect to claim 20, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the spring comprises a polymer material comprising a glass transition temperature between -120°C and 180°C (spring element 10 FIG. 1 “composed of a plastics material”, Summary, Claim 11 and 13).
With respect to claim 21, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the spring comprises a bow spring comprising two rhombus-shaped strips connected to one another at opposite ends (spring element 10 FIG. 1 “composed of a plastics material”, Summary, Claim 11 and 13, frame parts 11 and 12 of Volker and plates 530 and 532 FIG. 5 of Gragg Regarding claim 21, Volker discloses the claimed invention except for specifically identifying the rhombus shape. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use that shape, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Further, one would have been motivated to select the shape of rhombus for the purpose of properly fitting and applying pressure).
With respect to claim 22, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the spring comprises a bow spring comprising two rhombus-shaped strips connected to one another at opposite ends (spring element 10 FIG. 1 “composed of a plastics material”, Summary, Claim 11 and 13, frame parts 11 and 12 of Volker and plates 530 and 532 FIG. 5 of Gragg Regarding claim 22, Volker discloses the claimed invention except for specifically identifying the rhombus shape. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use that shape, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Further, one would have been motivated to select the shape of rhombus for the purpose of properly fitting and applying pressure).).
2. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5912688 to Gragg (hereinafter “Gragg”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6273563 to Volker (hereinafter “Volker”) and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20050285886 to Okamoto (hereinafter “Okamoto”).
With respect to claim 15, Gragg in view of Volker discloses wherein the polymer comprises the first wall and the second wall (FIG. 5 of Gragg,
However, Gragg in view of Volker fails to specifically disclose:
a coating.
The tertiary reference Okamoto discloses:
a coating (coating [0050]).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a coating as disclosed by Okamoto with the method/apparatus of Gragg. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve interface and the effectiveness of the walls also to help prevent punctures. ([0050] of Okamoto). Additionally, coating walls was common practice and well known at the time of the invention.
3. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5912688 to Gragg (hereinafter “Gragg”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6273563 to Volker (hereinafter “Volker”) and in further view of U.S. Patent No. 6000791 to Scheffelin et al. (hereinafter “Scheffelin”).
With respect to claim 16, Gragg in view of Volker discloses the inkjet cartridge.
However, Gragg in view of Volker fails to specifically disclose:
a stopper disposed between an exterior of the casing and the reservoir and the stopper comprises a non- metallic material.
The tertiary reference Scheffelin discloses:
a stopper disposed between an exterior of the casing and the reservoir and the stopper comprises a non- metallic material (89 FIG. 9 of Scheffelin).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the stopper as disclosed by Scheffelin with the method/apparatus of Gragg. The motivation for doing so would have been to create a fluid tight seal. (89 FIG. 9 of Scheffelin). Additionally, stoppers were common practice and well known at the time of the invention.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY W THIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853