DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2010/0230455).
Wang discloses a bike carrier assembly comprising: a connection unit (10-30), at least one bike carrier or at least one shelf (302 closest to hinge 31; shelf not required), the at least one bike carrier connected to the connection 5unit (see Fig. 2), wherein the connection unit has a connector which is adapted to be connected to a vehicle (10), an adaptor (30) is connected to the connection unit and includes multiple first holes (34), an extension (305) is removably connected to the adaptor (indirectly connected through 302s, the extension includes multiple bores (openings for bolts); the bike carrier includes multiple second holes (304), multiple locking 10members extend through the second holes and the first holes to connect the at least one bike carrier to the adapter (307), the adaptor is a U-shaped tube (Wang 30, see Fig. 2) which includes two open ends (where rear lights 308 are installed), and the extensions is connected to the two open ends (indirectly connected through other components).
Wang further discloses the adaptor is a U-shaped tube (Wang 30, see Fig. 2) and a bar (302 farthest from hinge 31 meets scope of being a ‘bar’) is connected between two ends of the U-shaped tube.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2010/0230455) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Ferreira (US 9550444).
Wang discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the light unit as claimed.
However, Ferreira teaches providing the upright extensions (146a, 146b) of a cargo carrier device with a light unit including a taillight, turning light, and brake light (149a, 149b) which is capable of being electrically connected to a cable of the vehicle (col. 6, ll. 60-65).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the light units taught by Ferreira to the upright extension taught by Wang, in order to enhance the functionality of the carrier and allow the lights to be seen by vehicles behind the carrier vehicle as taught by Ferreira (col. 6, ll. 61-67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claim language requiring the extension to be connected to the two open ends of the adaptor is not taught by the Wang device. This argument has been considered, however is not persuasive in light of the Wang extension 305 being connected to the adaptor, and thus its open ends, through the other components of the device. Much as the first link in a chain is connected to the last link in a chain through the intermediary links, this indirection connection is still a connection and thus meets the scope of the claims.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the extension ‘plugs into’ the open ends of the adaptor) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation to make the proposed combinations comes directly from the references themselves, as set forth in the rejection above. Ferreira expressly teaches the motivation to make the proposed combination in col. 6, ll. 61-67 directly contrary to applicant’s arguments.
Applicant is reminded that “A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.”KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. “[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle.”Id. Office personnel may also take into account “the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
For the reasons stated above as well as those set forth in the rejections above, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
July 9, 2026