DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2010/0230455).
Wang discloses a bike carrier assembly comprising: a connection unit (10-30), at least one bike carrier or at least one shelf (302 closest to hinge 31; shelf not required), the at least one bike carrier connected to the connection 5unit (see Fig. 2), wherein the connection unit has a connector which is adapted to be connected to a vehicle (10), an adaptor (30) is connected to the connection unit and includes multiple first holes (34), an extension (305) is removably connected to the adaptor (indirectly connected through 302s, the extension includes multiple bores (openings for bolts); the bike carrier includes multiple second holes (304), multiple locking 10members extend through the second holes and the first holes to connect the at least one bike carrier to the adapter (307),
Wang further discloses the adaptor is a U-shaped tube (Wang 30, see Fig. 2) and a bar (302 farthest from hinge 31 meets scope of being a ‘bar’) is connected between two ends of the U-shaped tube; the adaptor having two open ends (where rear lights 308 are installed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2010/0230455) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Holliday (US 5129559).
Wang discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the caps as claimed.
However, Holliday teaches providing cargo carrier tubing with end caps (28) as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the end caps taught by Holliday to the tubing taught by Wang, in order to provide a smooth, finished end thereto as taught by Holliday (col. 3, ll. 53-57).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2010/0230455) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Ferreira (US 9550444).
Wang discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the light unit as claimed.
However, Ferreira teaches providing the upright extensions (146a, 146b) of a cargo carrier device with a light unit including a taillight, turning light, and brake light (149a, 149b) which is capable of being electrically connected to a cable of the vehicle (col. 6, ll. 60-65).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the light units taught by Ferreira to the upright extension taught by Wang, in order to enhance the functionality of the carrier and allow the lights to be seen by vehicles behind the carrier vehicle as taught by Ferreira (col. 6, ll. 61-67).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PETER N HELVEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
March 9, 2026