DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment after non-final filed 20 May 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending, wherein claims 2-20 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed with respect to the 35 USC 102 rejection of claim 1 as being anticipated by Rajagopalan et al. (US Publication no. 2017/0333122) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The prior art is deficient in teach reduction in villous height. Additionally, the prior art is deficient in the teaching of reducing crypt density. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rajagopalan et al. (US Publication no. 2017/0333122 – previously cited).
In regard to claim 15, Rajagopalan et al. discloses a method of treating duodenal mucosal dysfunction in a patient (para 10), the method comprising:
performing a tissue treatment procedure comprising treating one or more segments of the patient's duodenal mucosal tissue (para 19);
wherein the tissue treatment reduces a mucosal volume of the one or more segments of the patient's duodenal mucosal tissue by at least 7% (para 42, teaches treating an axial length of at least 6 cm of duodenal tissue by ablation, which supports treating one or more segments of duodenal tissue; para 53-54, teach that the treatment includes ablating, removing or necrosing of target tissue, reducing surface area of target tissue which is considered to teach destruction or removal of tissue; para 354, discusses techniques for treating target tissue and expressly teach the device may reset selected tissue from the mucosal tissue; para 238, teaches that the treatment (as in para 42, 53-54, and 354) treats at least 10% of tissue).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the claimed feature of reducing mucosal volume encompasses reducing the amount of mucosal tissue by ablating or removing tissue. Accordingly, as Rajagopalan et al. teaches ablating, which includes removing or resecting tissue, of at least 10% of the tissue is considered reasonably anticipate reducing the mucosal volume by at least 7%.
In regard to claim 16, in Rajagopalan et al., the tissue treatment procedure comprises ablating the one or more segments of the patient's duodenal mucosal tissue (para 19, 42, 53, 54, 238, and 354).
In regard to claim 17, in Rajagopalan et al., the tissue treatment procedure comprises a tissue treatment selected from the group consisting of: thermal coagulation; desiccation; non- desiccating tissue ablation; heat ablation; cryoablation; radiofrequency ablation; electroporation; ultrasound and/or other sound-based ablation; sonoporation; laser and/or other light-based ablation; mechanical abrasion; chemical abrasion and/or chemical ablation; and combinations thereof (para 353-354).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 and 18-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach providing treatment to result in the claimed reduction in villous height or reduction in crypt density.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN T GEDEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796 6 August 2026