DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Claims 11-20 in the reply filed on 08/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: APPARATUS AND METHODS FOR ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE BASED PDCCH MONITORING
Claim Objections
Claims 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: “transmitting” should be “transmit” and “operation operation” should be “operation.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
None of the instant claims invoke U.S.C. 112(f). The term “processor” is a structural modifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2024/0276250 A1 to REN et al. (“Ren”).
As to claims 11-15, see similar rejections to claims 16-20. The apparatus teaches the methods.
As to claim 16, Ren discloses a user equipment (UE) performing a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring operation in a wireless communication system (para. 0099, UE monitors the PDCCH field to check the machine learning configuration.), the UE comprising: a transceiver (para. 0114, antenna); and a processor configured to (para. 0113, processor): receive, from a base station through the transceiver, configuration information for receiving a control signal indicating an operation mode to be applied in the UE among a plurality of operation modes for an artificial intelligence (AI)-based PDCCH monitoring operation (fig. 11, para. 0113, the UE (e.g., using the antenna 252, DEMOD/MOD 254, MIMO detector 256, receive processor 258, controller/processor 280, and/or memory 282) may receive the message configuring (i.e. configuration information) the multiple machine learning model groups. The multiple machine learning model groups may be specified for different application functions (i.e. operation modes). The machine learning models may be different versions for the same application function; para. 0099, The UE monitors the PDCCH field to check the machine learning configuration. Generally, the UE is configured with multiple groups to adapt to different conditions and thus monitors for each of the groups; para. 0105, the UE may always monitor for model configurations in the configured occasions); and
receive, from the base station through the transceiver, the control signal at a position of a resource configured to receive the control signal based on the configuration information (para. 0114, At block 1104 (i.e. based on the configuration information [being received]), the UE receives signaling configuring monitoring occasions for an indication to switch between the machine learning model groups. For example, the UE (e.g., using the antenna 252, DEMOD/MOD 254, MIMO detector 256, receive processor 258, controller/processor 280, and/or memory 282) may receive the signaling configuring the monitoring occasions. The UE may receive the model group switching indication (para. 0002, sharing available system resources) in downlink control information (i.e. control signal). The model group activation or deactivation might be defined in RRC signaling, a MAC-CE, or downlink control information. Signaling may be configured to deactivate or activate monitoring for one or more model groups. In some aspects, monitoring for some model groups may be disabled for a certain duration); and
perform, based on the control signal, the PDCCH monitoring operation by the indicated operation mode in a corresponding period (para. 0115, At block 1106 (i.e. based on the control signal [being received]), the UE monitors the occasions in accordance with the signaling. For example, the UE (e.g., using the controller/processor 280, and/or memory 282) may monitor the occasions in accordance with the signaling; para. 0099, The UE monitors the PDCCH field to check the machine learning configuration. Generally, the UE is configured with multiple groups to adapt to different conditions and thus monitors for each of the groups; para. 0105, the UE may always monitor for model configurations in the configured occasions (i.e. periods)).
As to claim 17, Ren further discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the plurality of operation modes includes at least one of: a first operation mode in which the PDCCH monitoring operation is selectively performed based on output information for an AI model in the UE in the corresponding period (para. 0099, generally, the UE is configured with multiple groups to adapt to different conditions and thus monitors for each of the groups; The model adaptation procedure, however, involves a large signaling cost (i.e. output information). According to aspects of the present disclosure, skipping of monitoring occasions and/or introducing sparse occasion patterns may be used to reduce the configuration resource cost, while maintaining flexibility and performance); a second operation mode in which the PDCCH monitoring operation is performed in entire slots in the corresponding period (fig. 8, slots t0-t1 monitored); or a third operation mode in which the PDCCH monitoring operation is omitted in the corresponding period (fig. 8, skipping slots t3, t4).
As to claim 18, Ren further discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the position of the resource where the control signal is received is configured as a slot position in a first period that is an offset away from a start point of a second period where the indicated operation mode is applied (fig. 11, 1104, receive signaling configuring monitoring occasions (i.e. slot, first period)…1108, switch to one of the machine learning model groups in response to (i.e. after, start of second period) receiving the indication detected during the monitored occasions).
As to claim 19, Ren further discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to perform a monitoring operation for receiving the control signal in a first period immediately before a second period where the indicated operation mode is applied (fig. 11, 1104, receive signaling configuring monitoring occasions (i.e. first period)…1108, switch to one of the machine learning model groups in response to (i.e. after, second period) receiving the indication detected during the monitored occasions).
As to claim 20, Ren further discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein at least one of the plurality of operation modes is performed preferentially before a discontinuous reception (DRX) operation of the UE in case that the AI-based PDCCH monitoring operation is performed in parallel to the DRX operation (para. 0106, when a UE working in discontinuous reception (DRX) idle mode, the UE may be configured with a low density for model monitoring, i.e. PDCCH monitoring in parallel with DRX; para. 0115-0116, UE monitors the occasions; UE switches to another group (i.e. first group before switching was in operation before DRX/PDCCH parallel operation; para. 0113, note it is configured prior to monitoring)).
As to claims 21-24, see similar rejections to claims 25-28. The apparatus teaches the methods.
As to claim 25, Ren discloses a base station in a wireless communication system (para. 0117, base station), the base station comprising: a transceiver (para. 0118, antenna); and a processor configured to (para. 0118, processor): transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) via the transceiver, configuration information for transmission of a control signal indicating an operation mode to be applied in the UE among a plurality of operation modes for an artificial intelligence (AI)-based PDCCH monitoring operation operation fig. 11, para. 0113, the UE (e.g., using the antenna 252, DEMOD/MOD 254, MIMO detector 256, receive processor 258, controller/processor 280, and/or memory 282) may receive the message configuring (i.e. configuration information) the multiple machine learning model groups. The multiple machine learning model groups may be specified for different application functions (i.e. operation modes). The machine learning models may be different versions for the same application function; para. 0099, The UE monitors the PDCCH field to check the machine learning configuration. Generally, the UE is configured with multiple groups to adapt to different conditions and thus monitors for each of the groups; para. 0105, the UE may always monitor for model configurations in the configured occasions); transmit, to the UE via the transceiver, the control signal at a position of a resource configured for the control signal based on the configuration information (para. 0114, At block 1104 (i.e. based on the configuration information [being received]), the UE receives signaling configuring monitoring occasions for an indication to switch between the machine learning model groups. For example, the UE (e.g., using the antenna 252, DEMOD/MOD 254, MIMO detector 256, receive processor 258, controller/processor 280, and/or memory 282) may receive the signaling configuring the monitoring occasions. The UE may receive the model group switching indication (para. 0002, sharing available system resources) in downlink control information (i.e. control signal). The model group activation or deactivation might be defined in RRC signaling, a MAC-CE, or downlink control information. Signaling may be configured to deactivate or activate monitoring for one or more model groups. In some aspects, monitoring for some model groups may be disabled for a certain duration); and selectively performing a PDCCH transmission for the UE, based on the indicated operation mode (para. 0115, At block 1106 (i.e. based on the control signal [being received]), the UE monitors the occasions in accordance with the signaling. For example, the UE (e.g., using the controller/processor 280, and/or memory 282) may monitor the occasions in accordance with the signaling; para. 0099, The UE monitors the PDCCH field to check the machine learning configuration. Generally, the UE is configured with multiple groups to adapt to different conditions and thus monitors for each of the groups; para. 0105, the UE may always monitor for model configurations in the configured occasions (i.e. periods)).
As to claim 26, Ren further discloses the base station of claim 25, wherein the plurality of operation modes includes at least one of: a first operation mode in which the PDCCH monitoring operation is selectively performed based on output information for an AI model in the UE in the corresponding period (para. 0099, generally, the UE is configured with multiple groups to adapt to different conditions and thus monitors for each of the groups; The model adaptation procedure, however, involves a large signaling cost (i.e. output information). According to aspects of the present disclosure, skipping of monitoring occasions and/or introducing sparse occasion patterns may be used to reduce the configuration resource cost, while maintaining flexibility and performance); a second operation mode in which the PDCCH monitoring operation is performed in entire slots in the corresponding period (fig. 8, slots t0-t1 monitored); or a third operation mode in which the PDCCH monitoring operation is omitted in the corresponding period (fig. 8, skipping slots t3, t4).
As to claim 27, Ren further discloses the base station of claim 25, wherein the position of the resource where the control signal is transmitted is configured as a slot position in a first period that is an offset away from a start point of a second period where the indicated operation mode is applied (fig. 11, 1104, receive signaling configuring monitoring occasions (i.e. slot, first period)…1108, switch to one of the machine learning model groups in response to (i.e. after, start of second period) receiving the indication detected during the monitored occasions).
As to claim 28, Ren further discloses the base station of claim 25, wherein at least one of the plurality of operation modes is configured before a discontinuous reception (DRX) operation of the UE in case that the AI-based PDCCH monitoring operation is configured in parallel to the DRX operation (para. 0106, when a UE working in discontinuous reception (DRX) idle mode, the UE may be configured with a low density for model monitoring, i.e. PDCCH monitoring in parallel with DRX; para. 0115-0116, UE monitors the occasions; UE switches to another group (i.e. first group before switching was in operation before DRX/PDCCH parallel operation; para. 0113, note it is configured prior to monitoring)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20260230396 A1 discloses at para. 0200: In some embodiments, a terminal device comprises a circuitry configured to: receive, from a network device, a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration specific to information of an artificial intelligence (AI) model; and perform, based on the DRX configuration, physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring for reception of the information of the AI model.
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463