DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 18 June 2026 and the Information Disclosure Statements filed on 18 March 2026 and 11 June 2026.
This office action is made Final.
Claims 1, 9-11, 19, and 20 have been amended.
The 112 rejection from the previous Office action has been withdrawn as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-20 are pending. Claims 1, 19, and 20 are independent claims.
Specification
The amendment to the abstract of the specification filed on 6/18/26 has been entered and accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/18/16 and 6/11/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 14-20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINE (“Introducing Mini Browser, letting you chat and browse at the same time!”, LINE Official Blog, 6/5/2019, 4 pages + Screenshots (SS) 1-5, 5a-c, 6-7 of the animation presented on page 3) in further view of Marsh et al (US20080059592)
As per independent claim 1, LINE discloses a method comprising:
displaying content through an application; (page 2:item 1; SS1: shared link information (content) is displayed. SS1 shows a chat between user A and user John. The user John sent a link of a web site/page to user A
)
in response to receiving a selection for the shared content, displaying a content execution result corresponding to the content on the user device; (page 2: item 1; SS2-SS3: browser showing webpage appears (SS3) in response to selecting (SS2)
)
while the content execution result is being displayed, detecting an occurrence of an event on the user device,…the event is not associated with the content; in response to the occurrence of the event on the user device, switching the display of the content execution result to a display corresponding to the event, (page 1-2: swipes down page/browser causing the display of the chat to return; SS4 shows the user swipes down on the browser. This changes the display by reducing the size of the page/browser and allowing the redisplay of the chat (as shown in SS5) The user swiping down the page/browser is not associated with the link displayed in the chat since the user does not interact with the link in the chat during the event.
)
adding a content template that corresponds to the content to a content box, the content template being generated to include at least one of information identifying the content or information representing the content execution result, (page 2; SS5: Discloses the mini browser comprises web content such as a new, generated miniature version of the previous displayed full size web page (form of at least one content template comprising information of the content/mini browser) from the browser shown in SS3. SS3-5 shows the creation of the content box/mini browser which results in a miniature version of the webpage being generated corresponding to the previous version of the displayed webpage that was shown in SS3. One of a skilled artisan would have realized that the created mini version webpage is a form of content template being generated and added to the mini browser/content box and corresponding to the content to the content box/mini browser )
displaying the content box along with the display corresponding to the event, and (page 2: mini browser (content box) is displayed; SS5 shows the mini browser. This display is in response to the swiping down page/browser that occurred causing the display of the chat to return)
)
the content box being able to be used to access the content execution result via the content template; in response to a user input through the content box, switching the display corresponding to the event to the display corresponding to the content execution result on the user device; wherein the user input comprises a selection of the content template corresponding to the content, among the at least one content template of the content box.(page 2: through user input, a button, associated mini browser (content box), is displayed that when selected, returns the web browser back to the normal size. As shown above, the miniature version of the webpage is a part of the mini browser. SS6-7: shows the user selecting the mini browser(a form of a content box which comprises the web content/mini web page (content template)) to display a button that will return the web browser and the mini webpage back to their normal sizes. A skilled artisan would have understand/realized that the button displayed on the mini browser needs to be pressed for the browser and mini web page to be normal size again based on the functionality explained on page 2. Selecting the button results in not only the web browser returning to its normal size, but also the original version of the content/web page within the browser itself, as shown in SS3, returns. Thus, since the mini browser comprises the content template (thus the mini browser/mini webpage is viewed as one item), selecting the mini browser is also automatically selecting the content template, within the content box/mini browser, corresponding to the content as presented in LINE. Thus, the mini browser/content box being able to be used to access the content execution result via the content template)
)
However, LINE fails to specifically disclose wherein the event causes at least a portion of the display corresponding to the content execution result to become invisible. However, Marsh et al discloses a web page/browser being displayed when a notification of an incoming message is being received. (0032; FIG 3A) In response to a selection of an input mechanism such as the “Switch” option, at least a portion of the page/browser is no longer displayed and the instant message application/dialog is displayed instead allowing the user to engage in the chat. (0025, 0039; FIG 3B: pressing the button would “close” the browser and display the instant messaging) For example, FIG 3A shows that a user is viewing a webpage in their browser then receives a pop-up notification of a new message. In response to a selection of an input mechanism such as the “Switch” option, the display shown in FIG 3B is shown to the user causing at least a portion of the page/browser to be invisible. (0025, 0032, 0039)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed features of Marsh et al to further allow the display interface to accept additional input events since it would have provided the benefit of users can easily move back-and-forth between instant messaging and web browsing activities using the user interface without the need to select and open a new program application on their mobile devices.
As per dependent claim 2, LINE discloses displaying the content box in a floating form on the display corresponding to the event of the user device. (page 2; SS5a-c shows that the user can drag/move mini browser/box within the chat, a form of floating. Shows selecting the mini browser from the corner and moving it up to middle right of the screen
)
As per dependent claim 3, based on the rejection of Claim 2 and the rationale incorporated, LINE discloses wherein the content box is repositioned through a drag on a display of the user device (page 2;SS5a-c: drag functionality)
As per dependent claim 4, LINE discloses comprising at least one of: displaying the content box on the execution display of an application executed on the user device; displaying the content box as a menu of the executed application; and displaying the content box on a main screen of the user device (pg 1-2: displayed within the LINE app chat room; SS5: displayed in the app
)
As per dependent claim 6, LINE discloses wherein the content template comprises at least one of information identifying the content or information representing the content execution result corresponding to the content (page 2;SS5 mini browser contains webpage associated with the link)
As per dependent claim 14, claim 14 recites similar limitations as in claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Furthermore, LINE discloses wherein in response to the user input through the content box, switching the display corresponding to the event to the display corresponding to the content execution result corresponding to the content comprises at least one of: displaying the content execution result on a tab of the application; displaying the content execution result on a channel of the application; displaying the content execution result on a menu of the application; displaying the content execution result on a function of the application; and displaying the content execution result on an in-app browser of the application. (page 1-2: displaying using the browser functionality within the line app; SS3:
)
As per dependent claim 15, LINE discloses displaying the content box only in a service providing area that performs a predetermined function. (page 1-2: displayed in a chat room; SS5:
)
As per dependent claim 16, LINE discloses wherein the display corresponding to the event is a display of chatting application, and wherein the service providing area includes at least one of a friend list tab, a chat room list tab, and a chat room. (page 2: chat room; SS4-5: swiping the browser causes the display of the chat to return and the mini browser to appear on the chat
)
As per dependent claim 17, LINE discloses wherein the service providing area is determined by at least one of a service provider or the user. (page 1-2: Only discloses occurring in the chat; therefore, it was predetermined by the application (form of a service provider)
As per dependent claim 18, LINE discloses wherein the display corresponding to the event is a display of chatting application, and wherein the chatting application provides different content box for different chat room in the chatting application. (page 1-2 discloses a particular link being displayed in a chat (room) with a user within a messaging/chat application. When the user clicks on the link, a browser is displayed in which the user can perform an action and a content box/mini browser is displayed on top of the chat (room) in response. Furthermore, it is implicitly known that if the cited art is capable of performing the functionality once, then it is capable of repeating the function again. Thus, a second link can be displayed in a second chat (room) with a second user the messaging/chat application. When the user clicks on the a second link, a browser is displayed in which the user can perform an action and a second content box/mini browser is displayed on top of the second chat (room) in response. The content box/mini browser on top of second chat is associated with the second link. Therefore, the second content box/mini browser is different than the other content box/mini browser because each content box/mini browser is corresponds to different links and different chats.)
As per independent claims 19-20, Claims 19-20 recite similar limitations as in Claim 1 and are rejected under similar rationale. Furthermore, page 1-2 discloses images of a mobile device comprising the LINE app that contains the chat and browser/mini browser functionality. It is inherently known that mobile devices have a memory, a processor and a computer readable media.
Claim(s) 8 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINE in further view of Marsh et al in further view of KIM (US20210266275, EFD 2/20/2020)
As per dependent claim 8, the cited art fails to specifically disclose wherein the content box is shared by and provided in different user devices to which the same user information is input. However, KIM discloses a plurality of user accounts interacting within a single chat room. A first user account shares their screen of content (content box) to a plurality of user accounts within the chat room (FIG 1; 0054-0057) Furthermore, each user account is associated with its own user terminal which receives the shared content (content box) (0059, 0062, 0064-0065)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed features of KIM since it would have provided the benefit of users in the chat room wanting to share a certain content and have the evaluation thereon without the need to exit the chat room in order to share the content.
Claim(s) 9-10 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINE in further view of Marsh et al in further view of Yoshioka (US 20030034964, 2003)
As per dependent claims 9-10, the cited art fails to specifically disclose wherein, in response that the content box is extended, the application provides, through the extended content box, the content template, the content template comprising information identifying the content or information representing the content execution result corresponding to the content for the content; wherein, in the content box, the content template arranged is displayed based on a preset priority, or the content template is displayed in an area classified by category. However, Yoshioka discloses a display having a multi-link button that when press expands/extends to list a number additional link buttons wherein each of the additional link buttons are associated with a category. The additional link button, such as “CONTENT A” is associated with content that when selected, the content associated with “CONTENT A” is retrieved. (FIG 10A-B; 0106-0108, 0165)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed features of Yoshioka since it would have provided the benefit of displaying necessary information, such as a menu of multiple link addresses, easily and promptly.
Claim(s) 11-12 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINE in further view of Marsh et al in further view of Yoshioka in further view of NGO et al (US20140074873, 2014)
As per dependent claim 11, the cited art fails to specifically disclose wherein the category comprises a type of an application from which a content corresponding to a content template is derived or a source from which a content corresponding to a content template is derived. However, NGO et al discloses a display which place-related content being organized, ordered or bundled in groups of sequentially listed items that are related to the same application or to the same type or category of data. In other words, a listing of content in a certain content category (i.e. generally content for one type of application) (0098)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed features of NGO et al since it would have provided the benefit of presenting a consolidation or collection of place-related content for a plurality of different types of data where the displayed items of content are associated with a plurality of different applications.
As per dependent claim 12, based on the rejection of Claim 11 and the rationale along with the motivation to combine incorporated, NGO et al discloses wherein the category is arranged in at least one of an order that is set in a user device, or an order based on a count of selection of the content template in the content box. (0098: presentation, arrangement and appearance of the panels/categories may be manually configurable by the user or may be automatically adjusted based on usage patterns. Panels/categories that more frequently consulted are displayed more prominently.
Claim(s) 13 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINE in further view of Marsh et al in further view of Appllio (“[LINE] How to use the new "Mini Browser" feature, which allows you to overlay small web pages on the chat screen, etc., 6/3/2019, 7 pages)
As per dependent claim 13, LINE fails to disclose in response that the display corresponding to the event is switched to another screen while the content box is being displayed with the display of the user device, maintaining the content box on the another screen. However, Appllio discloses the mini browser will remain displayed even if you leave the chat screen. (pg3-4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed features of Appllio l since it would have provided the benefit of allows users to open web pages from the LINE chat screen and keep them displayed on the screen in a small size.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 8-10, in regards to the independent claims 1, 19, and 20 rejected under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that LINE and Marsh do not teach the subject matter of adding a content template generated from a content execution result that was displayed to a content box and the content template is generated in response to the occurrence of an event that also triggers the switching of the display of the content execution result to a display corresponding to the event. Furthermore, Applicant admits (on page 11, 2nd paragraph) that the cited portions of LINE teach that the content box is able to be used to access the content execution result via a content template that includes information identifying content corresponding to the content template; however, does not teach a content box can be used to select a content template that is used to access the content execution result. In other words, Applicant argues that LINE and Marsh do not teach, suggest, or motivate all of the aspects of the independent claim 1. However, the Examiner disagrees.
Based on the arguments provided by the Applicant in respect to claimed features in LINE and Marsh claim limitation, the Examiner respectfully submits that the Applicant states that LINE and Marsh does not teach the limitation by merely summarizing LINE and Marsh and allegedly concludes that LINE and Marsh does not teach the limitation. Applicant does not disclose how the claim language of the claim limitation is different from the teachings of LINE and Marsh by describing the differences that involve any supporting evidence from the specification stating or describing the limitation, or how LINE and Marsh is specifically different from Applicant's invention. Thus, Applicant's arguments fail to disclose how the cited art is silent or doesn't teach on the limitation since the Applicant does not fully describe the differences that involve any supporting evidence from Applicant's specification stating or describing the limitations, or how the cited art is specifically different from the invention itself. Therefore, the Applicant did not explicitly state how Applicant's invention, other than stating LINE and Marsh, alone, doesn't teach the limitations, is different to prove that the cited art’s functionality does not equivalently teach the limitation.
Based on the language, the language is broad on a number of elements. The argued limitations/subject matter “adding a content template generated from a content execution result that was displayed to a content box” is silent on how exactly a content template is added or generated. The language is completely silent of what exactly a content template is, how exactly the content template is generated, how exactly the content template is added to the content box, and how exactly it is presented within the content box. The language merely states that the “content template”: “corresponds to the content to a content box”, “generated”, and “includes information including identifying the content or information representing the content execution result” . However, no other details or clarification within the claims were provided that expand on these elements. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation is applied Thus, the language does not prevent the content template from being the same data. . Furthermore, the language is completely silent on what the content box is and no clarification or explanation is provided in the claim on what the content box should be properly interpreted as corresponding to the content that was/is previously displayed in the displayed content execution result. Furthermore, the argued limitations/subject matter “displaying the content box along with the display corresponding to the event the content box being able to be used to access the content execution result via the content template” is silent and/or broad on a number of elements. The language is silent on what the “display corresponding to the event” is and how the content box is displayed. The language provides no additional details or clarification what the display corresponding to the event is or how the display content box displayed along with “display corresponding to the event” Furthermore, the claimed language does merely states that the content box is able to access the content execution result, but does not explicitly state how the box is used to access the content execution result or what accessing exactly is. Furthermore, “content box being able to be used to access” is claimed as intended and not claiming an actually accessing step. The language merely states it has the ability to access the content execution result. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation is applied. Furthermore, the argued subject matter “a content box can be used to select a content template that is used to access the content execution result is silent and/or broad on a number of elements. The language is silent on how exactly the content template, in the content box, is selected in order the content execution result to return. The language does not limit the selection of the content template in any way or prevent the user from interacting with the content box in any way that automatically results in a content template from being selected. In fact, the claim invention clearly states a user input through the content box results in selecting the template. However, the language is silent how a user input selecting the content box results in a selection of the content template. Thus, the content box is selected in some way that results in a selection of the content template. Thus, language provides no further explanation or clarification on the selection itself. Also, the language does not limit on how exactly the language should be interpreted as. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation is applied.
Furthermore, the Examiner refers the Applicant to MPEP 904.01 (b) that states "All subject matter that is the equivalent of the subject matter as defined in the claim, even though specifically different from the definition in the claim, must be considered unless expressly excluded by the claimed subject matter." In other words, while the prior art cited may not explicitly use the same terminology as disclosed in the claim limitations, it doesn't mean the art doesn't teach it and can't be considered to reject Applicant's claimed invention. Thus, examiner submits that what is taught by the references is considered within the broadest reasonable interpretation to that which is claimed discussed below.
Thus, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the language of the limitations, LINE discloses the subject matter of adding a content template that corresponds to the content to a content box, the content template being generated to include at least one of information identifying the content or information representing the content execution result. page 2; SS5 of LINE discloses the mini browser comprises web content such as a new, generated miniature version of the previous displayed full size web page (form of at least one content template comprising information of the content/mini browser) from the browser shown in SS3. SS3-5 shows the creation of the content box/mini browser which results in a miniature version of the webpage being generated corresponding to the previous version of the displayed webpage that was shown in SS3. One of a skilled artisan would have realized that the created mini version webpage is a form of content template being generated and added to the mini browser/content box and corresponding to the content to the content box/mini browser )
Furthermore, LINE discloses the subject matter of displaying the content box along with the display corresponding to the event. page 2 of LINE discloses mini browser (content box) is displayed. In addition, SS5 shows the mini browser. This display is in response to the swiping down page/browser that occurred causing the display of the chat to return)
)
Furthermore, LINE discloses the subject matter of the content box being able to be used to access the content execution result via the content template; in response to a user input through the content box, switching the display corresponding to the event to the display corresponding to the content execution result on the user device; wherein the user input comprises a selection of the content template corresponding to the content, among the at least one content template of the content box. page 2 of LINE discloses through user input, a button, associated mini browser (content box), is displayed that when selected, returns the web browser back to the normal size. As shown above, the miniature version of the webpage is a part of the mini browser. In addition, SS6-7: shows the user selecting the mini browser(a form of a content box which comprises the web content/mini web page (content template)) to display a button that will return the web browser and the mini webpage back to their normal sizes. A skilled artisan would have understand/realized that the button displayed on the mini browser needs to be pressed for the browser and mini web page to be normal size again based on the functionality explained on page 2. Selecting the button results in not only the web browser returning to its normal size, but also the original version of the content/web page within the browser itself, as shown in SS3, returns. Thus, since the mini browser comprises the content template (thus the mini browser/mini webpage is viewed as one item), selecting the mini browser is also automatically selecting the content template, within the content box/mini browser, corresponding to the content as presented in LINE. Thus, the mini browser/content box being able to be used to access the content execution result via the content template)
)
Therefore, the cited art teaches the limitations
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If the Applicant chooses to amend the claims in future filings, the Examiner kindly states any new limitation(s) added to the claims must be described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art in order to meet the written description requirement of 35 USC 112, first paragraph. To help expedite prosecution, promote compact prosecution and prevent a possible 112(a)/first paragraph rejection, the Examiner respectfully requests for each new limitation added to the claims in a future filing by the Applicant that the Applicant would cite the location within the specification showing support for that new limitation within the remarks. In addition, MPEP 2163.04(I)(B) states that a prima facie under 112(a)/first paragraph may be established if a claim has been added or amended, the support for the added limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where added the limitation is supported.
/ADAM M QUELER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2172
/D.F/ Examiner, Art Unit 2172