DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 19907852 A1 to Gratza et al. in view of US 20140244082 A1 to Caron and US 20120286572 A1 to Tracy.
Regarding claim 1, Gratza et al. discloses a device comprising:
a first generator (Fig. 1: 22) configured to generate electrical power (output 38);
an electric motor (10) in communication (belt 16) with the first generator (22);
a electric motor pulley (14) coupled with the electric motor;
a first pulley (180 coupled with the first generator, the first pulley and the electric motor pulley in mechanical communication (belt 16) to allow operation of the first generator to produce electrical power in the electric motor separate from the power connectors (32);
a second generator (28) configured to generate electrical power (output 40);
a second pulley (13) communication with the second generator, the second generator in mechanical communication (belt 16) with the electric motor pulley and the first pulley; and
where in electrical output power is generated through the interaction of any combination of the first generator, the electric motor, and the second generator (abstract).
However, it fails to disclose the electric motor electrically coupled to the first generator through power connectors to permit the passage of electrical power bidirectionally between the electric motor and the first generator; and a clutch coupled with the electric motor pulley and configured to selectively engage the second generator to the electric motor and the first generator.
Caron teaches the electric motor (Fig. 1D: 110) electrically coupled to the first generator (102) through power connectors (bidirectionally inverters 103 and 108) to permit the passage of electrical power bidirectionally between the electric motor and the first generator.
Tracy teaches a clutch (Fig. 1: 26) coupled with the electric motor pulley (20) and configured to selectively engage the second generator (bottom 28) to the electric motor (20) and the first generator (top 28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the power connectors as disclosed by Caron and the clutch as disclosed by Tracy to the device disclosed by Gratza et al.
One would have been motivated to do so to supply needed power to the motor or generator and to selectively connect the motor to the generators.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Gratza et al., Caron, and Tracy discloses a battery (Caron, Fig. 1A: 107) in electrical connection with the first generator and configured to provide electrical power to the first generator to start the first generator (arrows to start 102).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gratza et al., Caron, and Tracy discloses a small combustion engine (Caron, Fig. 1A: 101) coupled to the battery (107), the small combustion engine mechanically coupled to the first generator (102) and being configured to start the first generator from electrical power received from the battery (arrows to start 102).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Gratza et al., Caron, and Tracy discloses the battery (Caron, Fig. 1C: 107) is configured to be recharged by the reception of electrical power from the first generator (arrow flow to charge 107).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Gratza et al., Caron, and Tracy discloses a battery (Caron, Fig. 1A: 107) and a small combustion engine (101), the battery configured to supply power to the small combustion engine, the small combustion engine configured to selectively start the first generator (arrow to start 102).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Gratza et al., Caron, and Tracy discloses the first generator and the second generator are mechanically coupled independent from the electric motor (Tracy, Fig. 1: clutch 26 is used to separate motor 20 from generators 28).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Gratza et al., Caron, and Tracy discloses the first generator (Gratza et al., Fig. 1: 22) is mechanically coupled (14, 16, 18) to the electric motor (10) and the electric motor (Caron, Fig. 1D: 110) electrically transfers electrical power to the first generator (102) through power connectors (inverters 103 and 108).
Regarding claim 8, Gratza et al. discloses the first generator, the second generator, and the electric motor generates or uses at least one of alternating current or direct current (DC outputs 38 and 40).
Regarding claim 9, Gratza et al., discloses the output power from second generator (28) is used to power stationary devices or portable products or machines (at 42).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIET P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834