DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to”. The examiner is aware of the functional language in various claims.
Disclaimer
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I corresponding to claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 07/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double obviousness-type patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,053,682.
The patented claims teach a computer implemented golf club fitting method including receiving swing analytics from a launch monitor and based on the swing analytics, generating a fitting recommendation comprising at least one of a bounce or a grind. The patented claims further recite presenting the fitting recommendation, receiving player input data, swing analytics comprising attach angle and/or shaft lean, and a fitting recommendation comprising both bounce and grind. Instant claims 1-6 recite substantially corresponding subject matter, including receiving first swing analytics from a launch monitor and generating a fitting recommendation comprising at least one of a bounce or a grind, with the dependent claims further reciting presentation of the recommendation, player input data, attach angle and/or shft lean, and both bounce and grind.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2009/0326688) in view of Golden et al. (US Patent No. 10,493,340).
Regarding claim 1, Thomas teaches a computer implemented method/system for generating a golf club fitting recommendation, including a launch monitor (102), a computerized system (106), including processor (114), memory (116), display device (118), and user input (108), wherein launch monitor (*102) obtains golf shot/ball flight information and communicates such information to computerized system (106) for processing and generation of golf club fitting recommendations. Thomas further teaches receiving golfer/player information and analyzing measured golf shot characteristics in determining an appropriate golf club. Thomas does not expressly teach generating a fitting recommendation comprising at least one of a bounce or a grind. Golden teaches a wedge golf club fitting system including a wedge type golf club head (1), sensor (20), and computing device (40) having a recommendation engine for evaluating measured golfer/club performance and determining an appropriate wedge configuration. Golden teaches club head (1) having a sole (13), and expressly teaches selecting an appropriate bounce angle and sole/grind configuration including F-, M-, S-, D-, K-, and L-grind configurations as discussed in Golden. Golden further teaches that computing device (40) can analyze the measured performance data and recommend a club head having a particular sole configuration and/or bounce angle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fitting system of Thomas to include the wedge bounce angle and sole/grind configuration taught by Golden as parameters of the fitting recommendation, because Golden teaches such parameters as known wedge fitting characteristics selected based upon measured golfer/club performance. The modification would predictably enable Thomas’s computerized fitting system to provide a wedge specific fitting recommendation suited to the golfer’s measured performance.
Regarding claim 2, Thomas further teaches presenting the determined fitting recommendation to the golfer via display device (118) of computerized system (106). This, Thomas teaches presenting, by the computing device, the generated fitting recommendation.
Regarding claim 3, Thomas further teaches user input (108) and receiving golfer/player information for use by computerized system (106) in determining an appropriate golf club fitting recommendation. It would have been obvious to utilize such player input together with the measured golf shot information when generating the wedge fitting recommendation because Thomas expressly teaches player information as an input to its computerized fitting process.
Regarding claim 6, Golden expressly teaches selecting wedge configuration using both bounce angle and sol/grind configuration. In particular, Golden describes various combinations of bounce angles and L-grind sole configurations and teaches selecting/recommending an appropriate combination based upon measured golfer/club performance as discussed in Golden. Therefore, it would have been obvious to configure Thomas in view of Golden fitting recommendation to include both bounce and grind, as taught by Golden, to provide the golfer with the appropriate wedge sole configuration and bounce characteristics.
Conclusion
The following are suggested formats for either a Certificate of Mailing or Certificate of Transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). The certification may be included with all correspondence concerning this application or proceeding to establish a date of mailing or transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). Proper use of this procedure will result in such communication being considered as timely if the established date is within the required period for reply. The Certificate should be signed by the individual actually depositing or transmitting the correspondence or by an individual who, upon information and belief, expects the correspondence to be mailed or transmitted in the normal course of business by another no later than the date indicated.
Certificate of Mailing
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being deposited with the United States Postal Service with sufficient postage as first class mail in an envelope addressed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
on __________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
________________________________________________________
Signature: ______________________________________
Certificate of Transmission by Facsimile
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, Fax No. (___)_____ -_________ on _____________. (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Certificate of Transmission via USPTO Patent Electronic Filing System
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being transmitted via the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) patent electronic filing system to the USPTO
on _____________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Please refer to 37 CFR 1.6(a)(4), 1.6(d) and 1.8(a)(2) for filing limitations concerning transmissions via the USPTO patent electronic filing system, facsimile transmissions and mailing, respectively.
/NINI F LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711