DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 10, 13-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donley et al. (Pub. No. US 2012/0159080) in view of Steely, JR. et al. (Pub. No. US 2016/0170880).
Claim 1:
Donley et al. disclose a device comprising:
a storage media [pars. 0030-0031; Table 1 – Main memory]; and
a processor comprising:
a cache hierarchy comprising a first cache, a second cache, and a third cache [fig. 1 – local cache, shared cache, high-level cache]; wherein the first cache and the third cache are organized in an inclusive cache hierarchy; and wherein the second cache is an exclusive cache to the inclusive cache hierarchy [fig. 1; par. 0018 – Local cache and high-level cache may be inclusive and shared cache may be exclusive. (“Like a shared cache 113, the high level cache 120 may be exclusive, such that it does not contain the data stored in the shared caches 113. The high level cache 120 may, alternatively, be inclusive, such that it contains the data stored in the shared caches 113 of the processing nodes 110. However, inclusiveness may limit the effectiveness of the high level cache 120, where, for instance, half of an 8 Mega Byte (MB) high level cache 120 may be dedicated to replicating the data of the shared caches 113 of the four processing nodes 110, each of a 1 MB size. In that instance, only 4 MB would be left for caching purposes in the high-level cache 120. Therefore, more of the resources of a high-level cache 120 may be available when the cache is exclusive and it does not replicate the data stored in lower-level caches.”)]; and
a cache directory [par. 0036 – “Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”]
wherein the first cache is a first level cache, the second cache is a second level cache, and the third cache is a last level cache [fig. 1 – local cache, shared cache, high-level cache].
However, Donley et al. do not specifically disclose,
wherein the cache directory comprises presence information and state information for data found in the first cache and the third cache organized in the inclusive cache hierarchy and the second cache exclusive to the inclusive cache hierarchy, wherein the presence information comprises an indication of at least one of the first cache, the second cache, and the third cache;
wherein the processor performs an operation comprising: searching the cache directory for the data in the first cache and the third cache organized in the inclusive cache hierarchy and the second cache exclusive to the inclusive cache hierarchy.
In the same field of endeavor, Steely, JR. et al. disclose,
wherein the cache directory comprises presence information and state information for data found in the first cache and the third cache organized in the inclusive cache hierarchy and the second cache exclusive to the inclusive cache hierarchy, wherein the presence information comprises an indication of at least one of the first cache, the second cache, and the third cache [pars. 0028-0029 – “A plurality of processing cores 111 may be associated with a cache domain 120. A tag directory 124 may be employed to keep track of data items stored by a plurality of caches associated with domain 120. Each tag of tag directory 124 may include a bitmap comprising a plurality of bit flags.” … “Each bit flag may indicate whether the cache line associated with the cache tag may be present in a cache identified by the position of the bit flag within the bitmap. In certain implementations, a first state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has a valid copy of the cache line. Alternatively, the first state of the bit flag may indicate that that processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap is likely, but not guaranteed, to have a valid copy of the cache line (e.g., the copy might have not been received yet or might have been deleted by a silent eviction). The second state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has no valid copies of the cache line.”];
wherein the processor performs an operation comprising: searching the cache directory for the data in the first cache and the third cache organized in the inclusive cache hierarchy and the second cache exclusive to the inclusive cache hierarchy [pars. 0028-0029 – The directory is searched. The bitmap indicates which cache in the domain has a copy of the data. (“A plurality of processing cores 111 may be associated with a cache domain 120. A tag directory 124 may be employed to keep track of data items stored by a plurality of caches associated with domain 120. Each tag of tag directory 124 may include a bitmap comprising a plurality of bit flags.” … “Each bit flag may indicate whether the cache line associated with the cache tag may be present in a cache identified by the position of the bit flag within the bitmap. In certain implementations, a first state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has a valid copy of the cache line. Alternatively, the first state of the bit flag may indicate that that processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap is likely, but not guaranteed, to have a valid copy of the cache line (e.g., the copy might have not been received yet or might have been deleted by a silent eviction). The second state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has no valid copies of the cache line.”)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Donley et al. to include a cache directory, as taught by Steely, JR et al., in order to provide a central means for locating all the data across caches in the system.
Claim 2 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Steely, JR. et al. disclose,
wherein searching the cache directory for the data comprises searching the first level cache, the second level cache, and the last level cache using the cache directory [pars. 0028-0029 – The directory is searched. The bitmap indicates which cache in the domain has a copy of the data. (“A plurality of processing cores 111 may be associated with a cache domain 120. A tag directory 124 may be employed to keep track of data items stored by a plurality of caches associated with domain 120. Each tag of tag directory 124 may include a bitmap comprising a plurality of bit flags.” … “Each bit flag may indicate whether the cache line associated with the cache tag may be present in a cache identified by the position of the bit flag within the bitmap. In certain implementations, a first state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has a valid copy of the cache line. Alternatively, the first state of the bit flag may indicate that that processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap is likely, but not guaranteed, to have a valid copy of the cache line (e.g., the copy might have not been received yet or might have been deleted by a silent eviction). The second state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has no valid copies of the cache line.”)].
Claim 3 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Steely, JR. et al. disclose,
wherein an entry of the cache directory comprises an indicator of a cache where data is present in the cache hierarchy [pars. 0028-0029 – “A plurality of processing cores 111 may be associated with a cache domain 120. A tag directory 124 may be employed to keep track of data items stored by a plurality of caches associated with domain 120. Each tag of tag directory 124 may include a bitmap comprising a plurality of bit flags.” … “Each bit flag may indicate whether the cache line associated with the cache tag may be present in a cache identified by the position of the bit flag within the bitmap. In certain implementations, a first state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has a valid copy of the cache line. Alternatively, the first state of the bit flag may indicate that that processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap is likely, but not guaranteed, to have a valid copy of the cache line (e.g., the copy might have not been received yet or might have been deleted by a silent eviction). The second state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has no valid copies of the cache line.”].
Claim 6 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Donley et al. disclose, wherein the processor performs operations comprising:
requesting data [fig. 3; pars. 0020-0024 – “In the example shown in FIG. 3, a request for data in a memory address 310 is received by the cache 300. The memory address 310 is 32 bits in length, of which 19 bits are for the tag 311, 10 bits are for the index 312, and 3 bits are for the byte offset 313.”];
determining that the data is located in the cache directory [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Directory is searched. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)]; and
determining a location of the data in the cache hierarchy based on an entry in the cache directory [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Data is located by searching the directory. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)].
Claim 7 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Donley et al. disclose, wherein the processor performs operations comprising:
requesting data [fig. 3; pars. 0020-0024 – “In the example shown in FIG. 3, a request for data in a memory address 310 is received by the cache 300. The memory address 310 is 32 bits in length, of which 19 bits are for the tag 311, 10 bits are for the index 312, and 3 bits are for the byte offset 313.”];
determining that the data is not found in the cache directory [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Directory is searched. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)]; and
retrieving the data from the storage media [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Data is returned from system memory when not present in the cache hierarchy. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)].
Claim 8 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Donley et al. disclose the device, further comprising
a fourth cache [fig. 1 – shared cache 113D];
wherein the fourth cache is a second level cache [fig. 1 – shared caches 113A and 113D];
wherein the fourth cache is an exclusive cache [fig. 1; par. 0018 – Shared cache may be exclusive. (“Like a shared cache 113, the high level cache 120 may be exclusive, such that it does not contain the data stored in the shared caches 113. The high level cache 120 may, alternatively, be inclusive, such that it contains the data stored in the shared caches 113 of the processing nodes 110. However, inclusiveness may limit the effectiveness of the high level cache 120, where, for instance, half of an 8 Mega Byte (MB) high level cache 120 may be dedicated to replicating the data of the shared caches 113 of the four processing nodes 110, each of a 1 MB size. In that instance, only 4 MB would be left for caching purposes in the high-level cache 120. Therefore, more of the resources of a high-level cache 120 may be available when the cache is exclusive and it does not replicate the data stored in lower-level caches.”)]; and
wherein the processor performs operations comprising:
searching the cache directory for data [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Directory is searched. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)];
determining that the data is found in a second level cache [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Directory is located. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)]; and
searching the fourth cache for the data [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Data is returned from the cache. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)].
Claim 10:
Donley et al. disclose a method implemented by a processor comprising cache media; wherein the cache media comprises a cache hierarchy and a cache directory [fig. 1; par. 0036 – local cache, shared cache, high-level cache and cache directory. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)]; and wherein the method comprises:
receiving a request to access data [fig. 3; pars. 0020-0024 – “In the example shown in FIG. 3, a request for data in a memory address 310 is received by the cache 300. The memory address 310 is 32 bits in length, of which 19 bits are for the tag 311, 10 bits are for the index 312, and 3 bits are for the byte offset 313.”];
determining, using the cache directory, that the data is located in the cache hierarchy, wherein the cache hierarchy comprises one or more inclusive caches and one or more exclusive caches, wherein the cache hierarchy is organized in a hierarchy structure [fig. 1; pars. 0018, 0036 – Local cache and high-level cache may be inclusive and shared cache may be exclusive. The directory may be used to locate data in the cache hierarchy. (“Like a shared cache 113, the high level cache 120 may be exclusive, such that it does not contain the data stored in the shared caches 113. The high level cache 120 may, alternatively, be inclusive, such that it contains the data stored in the shared caches 113 of the processing nodes 110. However, inclusiveness may limit the effectiveness of the high level cache 120, where, for instance, half of an 8 Mega Byte (MB) high level cache 120 may be dedicated to replicating the data of the shared caches 113 of the four processing nodes 110, each of a 1 MB size. In that instance, only 4 MB would be left for caching purposes in the high-level cache 120. Therefore, more of the resources of a high-level cache 120 may be available when the cache is exclusive and it does not replicate the data stored in lower-level caches.” … “Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)],
wherein the one or more inclusive caches comprise a first level cache and a third level cache, wherein the one or more exclusive caches comprise a second level cache exclusive to an inclusive cache hierarchy [fig. 1; par. 0018 – Local cache and high-level cache may be inclusive and shared cache may be exclusive. (“Like a shared cache 113, the high level cache 120 may be exclusive, such that it does not contain the data stored in the shared caches 113. The high level cache 120 may, alternatively, be inclusive, such that it contains the data stored in the shared caches 113 of the processing nodes 110. However, inclusiveness may limit the effectiveness of the high level cache 120, where, for instance, half of an 8 Mega Byte (MB) high level cache 120 may be dedicated to replicating the data of the shared caches 113 of the four processing nodes 110, each of a 1 MB size. In that instance, only 4 MB would be left for caching purposes in the high-level cache 120. Therefore, more of the resources of a high-level cache 120 may be available when the cache is exclusive and it does not replicate the data stored in lower-level caches.”)]; and
retrieving the data from the cache hierarchy [par. 0036 – Data may be returned from the cache hierarchy rather than from system memory. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)].
However, Donley et al. do not specifically disclose,
wherein the cache directory comprises presence information and state information for data found in the one or more inclusive caches and the one or more exclusive caches and wherein the presence information comprises an indication of a level of cache,
searching the cache directory for the data in the first level cache and the third level cache of the one or more inclusive caches and the second level cache exclusive to the inclusive cache hierarchy.
In the same field of endeavor, Steely, JR. et al. disclose,
wherein the cache directory comprises presence information and state information for data found in the one or more inclusive caches and the one or more exclusive caches and wherein the presence information comprises an indication of a level of cache [pars. 0028-0029 – “A plurality of processing cores 111 may be associated with a cache domain 120. A tag directory 124 may be employed to keep track of data items stored by a plurality of caches associated with domain 120. Each tag of tag directory 124 may include a bitmap comprising a plurality of bit flags.” … “Each bit flag may indicate whether the cache line associated with the cache tag may be present in a cache identified by the position of the bit flag within the bitmap. In certain implementations, a first state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has a valid copy of the cache line. Alternatively, the first state of the bit flag may indicate that that processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap is likely, but not guaranteed, to have a valid copy of the cache line (e.g., the copy might have not been received yet or might have been deleted by a silent eviction). The second state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has no valid copies of the cache line.”],
searching the cache directory for the data in the first level cache and the third level cache of the one or more inclusive caches and the second level cache exclusive to the inclusive cache hierarchy [pars. 0028-0029 – The directory is searched. The bitmap indicates which cache in the domain has a copy of the data. (“A plurality of processing cores 111 may be associated with a cache domain 120. A tag directory 124 may be employed to keep track of data items stored by a plurality of caches associated with domain 120. Each tag of tag directory 124 may include a bitmap comprising a plurality of bit flags.” … “Each bit flag may indicate whether the cache line associated with the cache tag may be present in a cache identified by the position of the bit flag within the bitmap. In certain implementations, a first state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has a valid copy of the cache line. Alternatively, the first state of the bit flag may indicate that that processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap is likely, but not guaranteed, to have a valid copy of the cache line (e.g., the copy might have not been received yet or might have been deleted by a silent eviction). The second state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has no valid copies of the cache line.”)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Donley et al. to include a cache directory, as taught by Steely, JR et al., in order to provide a central means for locating all the data across caches in the system.
Claim 13 (as applied to claim 10 above):
Donley et al. disclose, wherein the method further comprises:
determining that the data is located in the cache directory [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Directory is searched. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)]; and
determining a location of the data in the cache hierarchy based on the cache directory [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Data is located by searching the directory. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)].
Claim 14 (as applied to claim 10 above):
Steely, JR. et al. disclose,
wherein the cache directory comprises an indicator of a cache where the data is present in the cache hierarchy [pars. 0028-0029 – “A plurality of processing cores 111 may be associated with a cache domain 120. A tag directory 124 may be employed to keep track of data items stored by a plurality of caches associated with domain 120. Each tag of tag directory 124 may include a bitmap comprising a plurality of bit flags.” … “Each bit flag may indicate whether the cache line associated with the cache tag may be present in a cache identified by the position of the bit flag within the bitmap. In certain implementations, a first state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has a valid copy of the cache line. Alternatively, the first state of the bit flag may indicate that that processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap is likely, but not guaranteed, to have a valid copy of the cache line (e.g., the copy might have not been received yet or might have been deleted by a silent eviction). The second state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has no valid copies of the cache line.”].
Claim 15 (as applied to claim 10 above):
Donley et al. disclose,
wherein the one or more inclusive caches comprises a first cache and a third cache [fig. 1 - local caches];
wherein the one or more exclusive caches comprises a second cache and a fourth cache [fig. 1 – shared caches];
wherein the first cache is the first level cache [fig. 1 – local cache];
wherein the second cache and the fourth cache are second level caches [fig. 1 – shared caches]; and
wherein searching the cache directory for the data comprises:
searching the first cache for the data [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Cache hierarchy is searched. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)];
searching the second cache and the cache directory for the data [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Directory is searched. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)];
determining, by the cache directory, that the data is located at a different cache at a second level cache [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Data is located. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)]; and
searching the fourth cache for the data [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Data is returned from the cache. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)].
Claim 16 (as applied to claim 10 above):
Steely, JR. et al. disclose, wherein searching the cache directory for the data comprises:
searching the cache directory for the data [pars. 0028-0029 – “A plurality of processing cores 111 may be associated with a cache domain 120. A tag directory 124 may be employed to keep track of data items stored by a plurality of caches associated with domain 120. Each tag of tag directory 124 may include a bitmap comprising a plurality of bit flags.” … “Each bit flag may indicate whether the cache line associated with the cache tag may be present in a cache identified by the position of the bit flag within the bitmap. In certain implementations, a first state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has a valid copy of the cache line. Alternatively, the first state of the bit flag may indicate that that processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap is likely, but not guaranteed, to have a valid copy of the cache line (e.g., the copy might have not been received yet or might have been deleted by a silent eviction). The second state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has no valid copies of the cache line.”]; and
determining a location of the data based on an indicator of a cache where the data is present in the cache hierarchy [pars. 0028-0029 – “A plurality of processing cores 111 may be associated with a cache domain 120. A tag directory 124 may be employed to keep track of data items stored by a plurality of caches associated with domain 120. Each tag of tag directory 124 may include a bitmap comprising a plurality of bit flags.” … “Each bit flag may indicate whether the cache line associated with the cache tag may be present in a cache identified by the position of the bit flag within the bitmap. In certain implementations, a first state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has a valid copy of the cache line. Alternatively, the first state of the bit flag may indicate that that processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap is likely, but not guaranteed, to have a valid copy of the cache line (e.g., the copy might have not been received yet or might have been deleted by a silent eviction). The second state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has no valid copies of the cache line.”].
Claim 17:
Donley et al. disclose a method implemented by a processor comprising cache media; wherein the cache media comprises a cache hierarchy and a cache directory [fig. 1; par. 0036 – local cache, shared cache, high-level cache and cache directory. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)]; and wherein the method comprises:
receiving a request for data [fig. 3; pars. 0020-0024 – “In the example shown in FIG. 3, a request for data in a memory address 310 is received by the cache 300. The memory address 310 is 32 bits in length, of which 19 bits are for the tag 311, 10 bits are for the index 312, and 3 bits are for the byte offset 313.”];
determining, using the cache directory, that the data is not present in the cache hierarchy, wherein the cache hierarchy comprises one or more inclusive caches and one or more exclusive caches, and wherein the cache hierarchy is organized in a hierarchy structure, wherein the one or more inclusive caches are organized in an inclusive cache hierarchy, wherein the inclusive cache hierarchy comprises a first level cache and a third level cache, wherein the one or more exclusive caches comprises a second level cache [fig. 1; pars. 0018, 0036 – Local cache and high-level cache may be inclusive and shared cache may be exclusive. The directory may be used to locate data in the cache hierarchy. (“Like a shared cache 113, the high level cache 120 may be exclusive, such that it does not contain the data stored in the shared caches 113. The high level cache 120 may, alternatively, be inclusive, such that it contains the data stored in the shared caches 113 of the processing nodes 110. However, inclusiveness may limit the effectiveness of the high level cache 120, where, for instance, half of an 8 Mega Byte (MB) high level cache 120 may be dedicated to replicating the data of the shared caches 113 of the four processing nodes 110, each of a 1 MB size. In that instance, only 4 MB would be left for caching purposes in the high-level cache 120. Therefore, more of the resources of a high-level cache 120 may be available when the cache is exclusive and it does not replicate the data stored in lower-level caches.” … “Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)]; and
retrieving the data from storage media [par. 0036 – Data may be returned from the system memory when not present in the cache hierarchy. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)].
However, Donley et al. do not specifically disclose,
and the cache directory comprises presence information and state information for the one or more inclusive caches and the one or more exclusive caches and wherein the presence information comprises an indication of at least one of the first level cache, the second level cache, and the third level cache,
wherein determining that the data is not present in the cache hierarchy comprises: searching the cache directory for the data in the first level cache and the third level cache of the one or more inclusive caches and the second level cache exclusive to the inclusive cache hierarchy.
In the same field of endeavor, Steely, JR. et al. disclose,
and the cache directory comprises presence information and state information for the one or more inclusive caches and the one or more exclusive caches and wherein the presence information comprises an indication of at least one of the first level cache, the second level cache, and the third level cache [pars. 0028-0029 – “A plurality of processing cores 111 may be associated with a cache domain 120. A tag directory 124 may be employed to keep track of data items stored by a plurality of caches associated with domain 120. Each tag of tag directory 124 may include a bitmap comprising a plurality of bit flags.” … “Each bit flag may indicate whether the cache line associated with the cache tag may be present in a cache identified by the position of the bit flag within the bitmap. In certain implementations, a first state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has a valid copy of the cache line. Alternatively, the first state of the bit flag may indicate that that processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap is likely, but not guaranteed, to have a valid copy of the cache line (e.g., the copy might have not been received yet or might have been deleted by a silent eviction). The second state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has no valid copies of the cache line.”],
wherein determining that the data is not present in the cache hierarchy comprises: searching the cache directory for the data in the first level cache and the third level cache of the one or more inclusive caches and the second level cache exclusive to the inclusive cache hierarchy [pars. 0028-0029 – The directory is searched. The bitmap indicates which cache in the domain has a copy of the data. (“A plurality of processing cores 111 may be associated with a cache domain 120. A tag directory 124 may be employed to keep track of data items stored by a plurality of caches associated with domain 120. Each tag of tag directory 124 may include a bitmap comprising a plurality of bit flags.” … “Each bit flag may indicate whether the cache line associated with the cache tag may be present in a cache identified by the position of the bit flag within the bitmap. In certain implementations, a first state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has a valid copy of the cache line. Alternatively, the first state of the bit flag may indicate that that processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap is likely, but not guaranteed, to have a valid copy of the cache line (e.g., the copy might have not been received yet or might have been deleted by a silent eviction). The second state of the bit flag may indicate that the processing core identified by the position of the corresponding bit flag within the bitmap has no valid copies of the cache line.”)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Donley et al. to include a cache directory, as taught by Steely, JR et al., in order to provide a central means for locating all the data across caches in the system.
Claim 20 (as applied to claim 18 above):
Donley et al. disclose,
wherein searching the cache directory comprises determining that the data is not located in the cache directory [par. 0036 – The data may not be located in the directory. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donley et al. (Pub. No. US 2012/0159080) in view of Steely, JR. et al. (Pub. No. US 2016/0170880) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Buyuktosunoglu et al. (Pub. No. US 2015/0032962).
Claim 9 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Donley et al. disclose the device, further comprising
wherein the processor performs operations comprising:
searching the cache directory for data [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Directory is searched. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)];
determining that the data is found in a last level cache [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Directory is located. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)];
However, Donley and Steely, JR. et al. do not specifically disclose,
a fourth cache, wherein the fourth cache is a last level cache.
wherein the fourth cache is organized in the inclusive cache hierarchy [fig. 1; par. 0018 – Donley et al. disclose that the high-level cache may be inclusive but do not disclose multiple high-level caches. (“Like a shared cache 113, the high level cache 120 may be exclusive, such that it does not contain the data stored in the shared caches 113. The high level cache 120 may, alternatively, be inclusive, such that it contains the data stored in the shared caches 113 of the processing nodes 110. However, inclusiveness may limit the effectiveness of the high level cache 120, where, for instance, half of an 8 Mega Byte (MB) high level cache 120 may be dedicated to replicating the data of the shared caches 113 of the four processing nodes 110, each of a 1 MB size. In that instance, only 4 MB would be left for caching purposes in the high-level cache 120. Therefore, more of the resources of a high-level cache 120 may be available when the cache is exclusive and it does not replicate the data stored in lower-level caches.”)];
searching the fourth cache for the data [fig. 1; par. 0036 – Donley et al. disclose that data is returned from the cache, however, Donley et al. do not disclose multiple high-level caches. (“Rather than wasting the tag field 531 and the state field 532 associated with the repurposed data 530 of the cache 500, these fields may be utilized in a multi-processor system for a neighbor cache directory. A neighbor cache directory provides an indication to a processor core of whether requested data may be present in another processor core's cache. Therefore, rather than obtaining data from system memory, such as RAM, data may be obtained from a neighbor core's cache.”)].
In the same field of endeavor, Buyuktosunoglu et al. disclose,
a fourth cache, wherein the fourth cache is a last level cache [fig. 48A; par. 0229 – plurality of L3 caches. (“In general, the 3-D processing system 1800 is similar to the system 1700 discussed above in that the 3-D processing system 1800 comprises a first chip layer (Layer 1) and a second chip layer (Layer 2), which are physically conjoined to form a stacked structure, wherein first chip layer comprises a plurality of processor cores 1802, 1804, 1806, and 1808, a plurality of L2 caches 1810 and 1812, and wherein the second chip layer comprises a plurality of L3 caches 1814 and 1816”)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Donley and Steely, JR. et al. include multiple L3 caches, as taught by Buyuktosunoglu et al., in order to increase performance by providing increased cache capacity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 11, 12, 18, and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant agues that the references do not teach or suggest, at least, “searching the cache directory for the data in the first level cache and the third level cache of the one or more inclusive caches and the second level cache exclusive to the inclusive cache hierarchy”
Examiner maintains that Steely, Jr. et al. disclose a cache directory for a cache domain having a cache hierarchy. The cache directory has a bitmap with bit positions representing each cache in the domain. Steely, Jr. et al. further disclose, “While FIGS. 1-3 and accompanying descriptions reference a two-level cache directory domain hierarchy, the scope of the present disclosure is not limited in this regard, and in various implementations a single-level cache directory domain hierarchy or a multiple-level cache directory domain hierarchy may be provided.” [par. 0039]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LARRY T. MACKALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2131
5 September 2026
/LARRY T MACKALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139