DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Foreign priority papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. § 119(a)-(d) or 35 U.S.C. § 365(a)-(c) are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 10/01/2024, 06/11/2025, and 01/22/2026 has/have been considered. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the language and/or format. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160208117 to Loccufier et al. (hereinafter “Loccufier”).
With respect to claim 1, Loccufier discloses an ink jet ink for electron beam curing (see abstract) comprising: a polymerizable monomer (see abstract; [0103]-[0117]); a hydrogen abstraction-type polymerization initiator including a polymerizable group ([0088]); and a surfactant including a polymerizable group([0172]-[0178]).
With respect to claim 2, Loccufier discloses wherein the hydrogen abstraction-type polymerization initiator including a polymerizable group includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a thioxanthone compound including a polymerizable group and a benzophenone compound including a polymerizable group (abstract, [0049]-[0052], [0087]-[0091]).
With respect to claim 3, Loccufier discloses further comprising an amine compound including a polymerizable group (abstract [0074-[0100]).
With respect to claim 4, Loccufier discloses wherein the surfactant including a polymerizable group includes a silicone-based surfactant including a (meth)acryloyl group ([0172]-[0178]).
With respect to claim 5, Loccufier discloses wherein a total content of compounds each including a polymerizable group with respect to a total amount of the ink jet ink for electron beam curing is 80% by mass or more ([0043]).
With respect to claim 6, Loccufier discloses wherein the polymerizable monomer includes a polyfunctional polymerizable monomer at a ratio of 60% by mass or more to the total amount of the polymerizable monomer (see abstract; [0103]-[0117]).
With respect to claim 7, Loccufier discloses an ink set comprising two or more ink jet inks for electron beam curing, each of the ink jet inks being the ink jet ink for electron beam curing according to claim 1 ([0044]-[0045]).
With respect to claim 8, Loccufier discloses applying the ink jet ink for electron beam curing according to claim 1 to an impermeable substrate; and irradiating the ink jet ink for electron beam curing applied to the impermeable substrate with an electron beam ([0181]-[0201).
With respect to claim 9, Loccufier discloses wherein the applying the ink jet ink includes irradiating the ink jet ink for electron beam curing applied to the impermeable substrate with ultraviolet rays including a radiation with a wavelength of 300 nm to 395 nm ([0181]-[0201).
With respect to claim 10, Loccufier discloses applying a first ink to an impermeable substrate and irradiating the applied first ink with ultraviolet rays including a radiation with a wavelength of 300 nm to 395 nm, the first ink being the ink jet ink for electron beam curing according to claim 1([0181]-[0201); applying a second ink to the first ink irradiated with the ultraviolet rays, the second ink being the ink jet ink for electron beam curing according to claim 1([0181]-[0201); and after applying the second ink to the first ink, irradiating the first ink and the second ink on the impermeable substrate with an electron beam (electron beam, [0030], [0181]-[0201]).
Conclusion
/BRADLEY W THIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853