DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s amendment/response and RCE of April 22, 2026.
Claims 1-8 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 102 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of NISHIGORI and UCHIDA.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“operation tool” in claim 4.
“authentication device” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the limitation “the work machine body” at lines 13-14 is unclear. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation to be “a work machine body”.
Claims 2-8 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISHIGORI et al., JP 2019116755 A, hereinafter referred to as NISHIGORI, in view of UCHIDA, US 2022/0064901 A1, hereinafter referred to as UCHIDA, respectively.
As to claim 1, NISHIGORI teaches a work machine including an upper body pivotably supported by a lower traveling body equipped with a soil removing device and a work unit supported by the upper body (see at least FIG. 1 and paragraphs 8-10 regarding the work machine 1 includes a machine body (swivel base) 2, a traveling device 3, and a work device 4. A dozer device 7 is attached to the front of the traveling device 3, NISHIGORI), the work machine comprising:
a first lever arranged next to one side of an operator’s seat of the work machine and operating the work unit (see at least FIG. 46 and paragraph 37 regarding the operating lever 77R can also operate two operating objects, for example, the boom 15 and the bucket 17, NISHIGORI);
a second lever arranged on one side of the first lever and operating the soil removing device (see at least FIG. 46 and paragraph 38 regarding the dozer lever 80 is a lever for operating the dozer device 7, NISHIGORI);
a display device arranged in front of the operator’s seat, the first lever, and the second lever (see at least FIG. 46 and paragraph 119 regarding a display device 191, NISHIGORI); and
a jog dial for operating the display device (see at least FIG. 46 and paragraphs 34-39 and 119 regarding a display device 191 that is operated by a jog dial 81A, NISHIGORI).
NISHIGORI does not explicitly teach wherein the jog dial is positioned so that the jog dial: neither overlaps with the first lever in a front-rear direction of the work machine body, nor overlaps with the second lever in the front-rear direction of the work machine body.
However, such matter is taught by UCHIDA (see at least FIG. 2 and paragraphs 27-31 regarding control levers 55 and 56 are provided as being slidable in the fore/aft direction. Dial apparatus 57 is provided to be turned. Dial apparatus 57 is arranged as being more distant from operator's seat 41 than control levers 55 and 56. Dial apparatus 57 is arranged in the rear of control levers 55 and 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of UCHIDA which teaches wherein the jog dial is positioned so that the jog dial: neither overlaps with the first lever in a front-rear direction of the work machine body, nor overlaps with the second lever in the front-rear direction of the work machine body with the system of NISHIGORI as both systems are directed to a system and method for controlling the movement and operation of a work machine using operator controls, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having wherein the jog dial is positioned so that the jog dial: neither overlaps with the first lever in a front-rear direction of the work machine body, nor overlaps with the second lever in the front-rear direction of the work machine body and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of NISHIGORI.
As to claim 2, NISHIGORI teaches wherein the jog dial is arranged next to the first lever in plan view (see at least FIG. 46 and paragraphs 34-39, NISHIGORI).
As to claim 3, NISHIGORI teaches wherein a display unit of the display device is positioned above the jog dial at the position facing the operator’s seat from the back (see at least FIGS. 45-46 & 57 and paragraphs 34-39, NISHIGORI).
As to claim 4, NISHIGORI teaches wherein the display device includes an operation tool for operating the display device and the operation tool is arranged between the display unit and the jog dial at the position facing the operator’s seat from the back (see at least FIG. 57 and paragraph 122 regarding the button operation unit is a first switch 194 and a second switch 195. The first switch 194 and the second switch 195 are arranged side by side in the front and rear (up and down). The jog dial 81A, the first switch 194, and the second switch 195 constitute the first operating tool 81 for operating the display items displayed on the display unit 191a, NISHIGORI).
As to claim 5, NISHIGORI teaches wherein a key switch for activating a prime mover of the work machine is arranged on a console on which the first lever is erected, behind the first lever, and the jog dial is arranged above the key switch at the position facing the operator’s seat from the back (see at least FIGS. 46 & 61 and paragraph 39 regarding a power switch 82a for turning the power on and off, NISHIGORI).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISHIGORI et al., JP 2019116755 A, hereinafter referred to as NISHIGORI, in view of UCHIDA, US 2022/0064901 A1, hereinafter referred to as UCHIDA, in view of TAKEYASU et al., JP 2004288124 A, hereinafter referred to as TAKEYASU, and further in view of Kim, US 2016/0162678 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kim, respectively.
As to claim 6, NISHIGORI, as modified by UCHIDA, does not explicitly teach an authentication device that
However, such matter is taught by TAKEYASU (see at least paragraphs 97-114 regarding a password authentication process by the CPU 21 of the vehicle 1 will be described with reference to a flowchart of FIG. This processing is performed when a user of the vehicle 1 enters the vehicle 1 and turns on an ignition switch, or an action for operating the vehicle 1 (for example, an act of turning a key to start an engine). Is started. The CPU 21 determines whether or not the authentication of the authentication password has succeeded in the process of step S35, and proceeds to step S37 when determining that the authentication has succeeded. Notifying the telephone 2 of the successful authentication, and transmitting the number of the vehicle 1, GPS data, and vehicle information including the remaining fuel amount and the mileage. In step S38, the CPU 21 starts the engine by turning on the ignition switch after unlocking the vehicle 1 so as to allow the authenticated user to operate the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of TAKEYASU which teaches an authentication device that performs authentication operation for permitting the activation of the prime mover after the key switch is keyed on with the system of NISHIGORI, as modified by UCHIDA, as both systems are directed to a system and method for controlling the operation of a vehicle using operator controls, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having an authentication device that performs authentication operation for permitting the activation of the prime mover after the key switch is keyed on and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of NISHIGORI as modified by UCHIDA.
NISHIGORI, as modified by UCHIDA and TAKEYASU, does not explicitly teach an authentication device that is provided adjacent to the jog dial.
However, such matter is taught by Kim (see at least FIG. 5 and paragraphs 46 and 60-68 regarding the security pattern may be a combination of commands for the input device 110 necessary to identify whether a user has actual authentication (e.g., has access permission) when the user authentication (e.g., a login process) is performed to use an internal system of the vehicle 100. The input device 110 may be a hard key type within the vehicle 100. The hard keys 43-2a to 43-2c may be configured to receive a predetermined instruction or command from the user based on the pressure exerted onto the key. As illustrated in FIG. 5, the hard keys 43-2a to 43-2c may be installed within the housing 43-3. The hard keys 43-2a to 43-2c may be formed in the vicinity of the knob 43-1a (e.g., may be formed adjacent to, in front of, or behind the knob). The security pattern may be input using a combination of the hard keys 43-2a to 43-2c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Kim which teaches an authentication device that is provided adjacent to the jog dial with the system of NISHIGORI, as modified by UCHIDA and TAKEYASU, as both systems are directed to a system and method for controlling the operation of a vehicle using operator controls, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having an authentication device that is provided adjacent to the jog dial and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of NISHIGORI as modified by UCHIDA and TAKEYASU.
As to claim 7, NISHIGORI, as modified by UCHIDA and TAKEYASU, does not explicitly teach wherein the jog dial is arranged in front of the authentication device.
However, such matter is taught by Kim (see at least FIG. 5 and paragraphs 46 and 60-68 regarding the hard keys 43-2a to 43-2c may be configured to receive a predetermined instruction or command from the user based on the pressure exerted onto the key. As illustrated in FIG. 5, the hard keys 43-2a to 43-2c may be installed within the housing 43-3. The hard keys 43-2a to 43-2c may be formed in the vicinity of the knob 43-1a (e.g., may be formed adjacent to, in front of, or behind the knob)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Kim which teaches wherein the jog dial is arranged in front of the authentication device with the system of NISHIGORI, as modified by UCHIDA and TAKEYASU, as both systems are directed to a system and method for controlling the operation of a vehicle using operator controls, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having wherein the jog dial is arranged in front of the authentication device and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of NISHIGORI as modified by UCHIDA and TAKEYASU.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISHIGORI et al., JP 2019116755 A, hereinafter referred to as NISHIGORI, in view of UCHIDA, US 2022/0064901 A1, hereinafter referred to as UCHIDA, in view of TAKEYASU et al., JP 2004288124 A, hereinafter referred to as TAKEYASU, in view of Kim, US 2016/0162678 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kim, and further in view of NASU et al., JP 2006188123 A, hereinafter referred to as NASU, respectively.
As to claim 8, NISHIGORI, as modified by UCHIDA, TAKEYASU, and Kim, does not explicitly teach wherein the authentication device is arranged next to the second lever.
However, such matter is taught by NASU (see at least FIG. 3 and paragraph 23 regarding to the right of the seat 23 is a cross-operated right manual control lever 28R that drives the bucket hydraulic cylinder 22 by operating it to the left or right to cloud or dump the bucket 19, and drives the boom hydraulic cylinder 20 by operating it to the front or rear to lower or raise the boom 17, as well as a console equipped with a key switch 31 and a key input device 32. See also at least paragraphs 32 and 40-41 regarding when a PIN is entered using the numeric keypad 52 of the key input device 32, the controller 41 determines whether the entered PIN matches a pre-stored PIN. If the PINs match, it outputs a control signal to the starter control relay 47, closing the contacts of the starter control relay 47 and enabling the engine 33 to be started by operating the key switch 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of NASU which teaches wherein the authentication device is arranged next to the second lever with the system of NISHIGORI, as modified by UCHIDA, TAKEYASU, and Kim, as both systems are directed to a system and method for controlling the movement and operation of a work machine using operator controls, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having wherein the authentication device is arranged next to the second lever and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of NISHIGORI as modified by UCHIDA, TAKEYASU, and Kim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KIMURA et al. (JP 2011116253 A) regarding a construction machine provided with console devices having operation levers on both the left and right sides of a driver’s seat.
/KYLE S PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 3666