DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Final action is in response to the applicant’s amendment/response of December 23, 2025.
Claims 1-8 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. As to claim 1, Applicant argues, broadly, that “Nishigori does not disclose the jog dial is positioned between the first lever and the second lever at a position facing the operator's seat from the back, as recited, in relevant part, in independent Claim 1.” Accordingly, Applicant argues that NISHIGORI is silent as to the following claim limitations:
“wherein the jog dial is positioned between the first lever and the second lever at a position facing the operator’s seat from the back”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. NISHIGORI anticipates the claim limitations at issue. The Examiner notes that Applicant’s claimed invention does not claim the particular set of Cartesian coordinates or any specific locations of the levers or the jog dial. The Examiner notes that drawings can be used as prior art. FIG. 46 (the jog dial 81A) of NISHIGORI shows that the jog dial 81A is positioned between the operation lever 77R and the dozer lever 80 at a position facing the operator’s seat from the back.
Therefore, the Examiner respectfully submits that the mapping of NISHIGORI to Applicant’s claimed invention is appropriate. Accordingly, the claim rejections under § 102 are maintained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“operation tool” in claim 4.
“authentication device” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NISHIGORI et al., JP 2019116755 A, hereinafter referred to as NISHIGORI.
As to claim 1, NISHIGORI teaches a work machine including an upper body pivotably supported by a lower traveling body equipped with a soil removing device and a work unit supported by the upper body (see at least FIG. 1 and paragraphs 8-10 regarding the work machine 1 includes a machine body (swivel base) 2, a traveling device 3, and a work device 4. A dozer device 7 is attached to the front of the traveling device 3), the work machine comprising:
a first lever arranged next to one side of an operator’s seat of the work machine and operating the work unit (see at least FIG. 46 and paragraph 37 regarding the operating lever 77R can also operate two operating objects, for example, the boom 15 and the bucket 17);
a second lever arranged on one side of the first lever and operating the soil removing device (see at least FIG. 46 and paragraph 38 regarding the dozer lever 80 is a lever for operating the dozer device 7);
a display device arranged in front of the operator’s seat, the first lever, and the second lever (see at least FIG. 46 and paragraph 119 regarding a display device 191); and
a jog dial for operating the display device (see at least FIG. 46 and paragraphs 34-39 and 119 regarding a display device 191 that is operated by a jog dial 81A),
wherein the jog dial is positioned between the first lever and the second lever at a position facing the operator’s seat from the back (see at least FIG. 46 and paragraphs 34-39 and 119 regarding a jog dial 81A).
As to claim 2, NISHIGORI teaches wherein the jog dial is arranged next to the first lever in plan view (see at least FIG. 46 and paragraphs 34-39).
As to claim 3, NISHIGORI teaches wherein a display unit of the display device is positioned above the jog dial at the position facing the operator’s seat from the back (see at least FIGS. 45-46 & 57 and paragraphs 34-39).
As to claim 4, NISHIGORI teaches wherein the display device includes an operation tool for operating the display device and the operation tool is arranged between the display unit and the jog dial at the position facing the operator’s seat from the back (see at least FIG. 57 and paragraph 122 regarding the button operation unit is a first switch 194 and a second switch 195. The first switch 194 and the second switch 195 are arranged side by side in the front and rear (up and down). The jog dial 81A, the first switch 194, and the second switch 195 constitute the first operating tool 81 for operating the display items displayed on the display unit 191a).
As to claim 5, NISHIGORI teaches wherein a key switch for activating a prime mover of the work machine is arranged on a console on which the first lever is erected, behind the first lever, and the jog dial is arranged above the key switch at the position facing the operator’s seat from the back (see at least FIGS. 46 & 61 and paragraph 39 regarding a power switch 82a for turning the power on and off).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISHIGORI et al., JP 2019116755 A, hereinafter referred to as NISHIGORI, in view of TAKEYASU et al., JP 2004288124 A, hereinafter referred to as TAKEYASU, and further in view of STUDEN, DE 10219249 A1, hereinafter referred to as STUDEN, respectively.
As to claim 6, NISHIGORI does not explicitly teach an authentication device that
However, such matter is taught by TAKEYASU (see at least paragraphs 97-114 regarding a password authentication process by the CPU 21 of the vehicle 1 will be described with reference to a flowchart of FIG. This processing is performed when a user of the vehicle 1 enters the vehicle 1 and turns on an ignition switch, or an action for operating the vehicle 1 (for example, an act of turning a key to start an engine). Is started. The CPU 21 determines whether or not the authentication of the authentication password has succeeded in the process of step S35, andproceeds to step S37 when determining that the authentication has succeeded. Notifying the telephone 2 of the successful authentication, and transmitting the number of the vehicle 1, GPS data, and vehicle information including the remaining fuel amount and the mileage. In step S38, the CPU 21 starts the engine by turning on the ignition switch after unlocking the vehicle 1 so as to allow the authenticated user to operate the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of TAKEYASU which teaches an authentication device that performs authentication operation for permitting the activation of the prime mover after the key switch is keyed on with the system of NISHIGORI as both systems are directed to a system and method for controlling the vehicle based on the input, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having an authentication device that performs authentication operation for permitting the activation of the prime mover after the key switch is keyed on and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of NISHIGORI.
NISHIGORI, as modified by TAKEYASU, does not explicitly teach an authentication device that is provided adjacent to the jog dial.
However, such matter is taught by STUDEN (see at least FIG. 1 and paragraphs 15-17 regarding a display 3 is arranged on a front surface 2 of the driver information unit 1, in which information to be output is displayed and which serves as the user interface of the driver information unit 1. For this purpose, push buttons 4 and a rotary knob 5 are arranged next to the display 3. Furthermore, a security unit 6 is embedded in an opening in the front surface 2, which has a fingerprint detection unit 7 and a release button 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of STUDEN which teaches an authentication device that is provided adjacent to the jog dial with the system of NISHIGORI, as modified by TAKEYASU, as both systems are directed to a system and method for controlling the vehicle based on the input, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having an authentication device that is provided adjacent to the jog dial and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of NISHIGORI as modified by TAKEYASU.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISHIGORI et al., JP 2019116755 A, hereinafter referred to as NISHIGORI, in view of TAKEYASU et al., JP 2004288124 A, hereinafter referred to as TAKEYASU, in view of STUDEN, DE 10219249 A1, hereinafter referred to as STUDEN, and further in view of MATSUMOTO et al., US 2024/0375611 A1, hereinafter referred to as MATSUMOTO, respectively.
As to claim 7, NISHIGORI, as modified by TAKEYASU and STUDEN, does not explicitly teach wherein the jog dial is arranged in front of the authentication device.
However, such matter is taught by MATSUMOTO (see at least FIG. 2 and paragraphs 41-43 and 55-59 regarding the rotary switch 144. The monitor controller 204 controls a display on the touch panel 145D included in the control system 145, and notifies occurrence of a touch operation on the touch panel 145D. The monitor controller 204 is an example of an authentication device that authenticates the operator of the work machine 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of MATSUMOTO which teaches wherein the jog dial is arranged in front of the authentication device with the system of NISHIGORI, as modified by TAKEYASU and STUDEN, as both systems are directed to a system and method for activating a work machine, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having wherein the jog dial is arranged in front of the authentication device and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of NISHIGORI as modified by TAKEYASU and STUDEN.
As to claim 8, NISHIGORI, as modified by TAKEYASU and STUDEN, does not explicitly teach wherein the authentication device is arranged next to the second lever.
However, such matter is taught by MATSUMOTO (see at least FIG. 2 and paragraphs 41-49 and 55-59 regarding the right operation lever 143RO and the right travel lever 143RT. The monitor controller 204 controls a display on the touch panel 145D included in the control system 145, and notifies occurrence of a touch operation on the touch panel 145D. The monitor controller 204 is an example of an authentication device that authenticates the operator of the work machine 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of MATSUMOTO which teaches wherein the authentication device is arranged next to the second lever with the system of NISHIGORI, as modified by TAKEYASU and STUDEN, as both systems are directed to a system and method for activating a work machine, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having wherein the authentication device is arranged next to the second lever and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of NISHIGORI as modified by TAKEYASU and STUDEN.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.S.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666