DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Request for Reconsideration dated October 13, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 and 3-21 are pending.
Claim 2 is cancelled.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12-14 and 17-20 are currently amended.
Claim 21 is new.
Claims 1 and 3-21 as filed on October 13, 2026 are pending and under consideration to the extent of the elected species, e.g., the species of osmotic agent is glucose, the species of toxin-removal agent is polyethylene caprolactam-polyvinyl acetate-polyethylene glycol graft copolymer and the species of disease or condition is kidney disease.
This action is made FINAL.
Withdrawn Objections / Rejections
In view of the amendment of the claims, all previous claim objections are withdrawn, all previous claim rejections under 35 USC 112(a) are withdrawn, all previous claim rejections under 35 USC 112(b) are withdrawn, and all previous claim rejections under 35 USC 112(d) are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Maintained Grounds of Rejection / New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier et al. (US 4,976,683, published December 11, 1990, of record) in view of Nolph et al. (EP 89,135, published September 21, 1983, of record); Tanida et al. “Evaluation of the micellization mechanism of an amphiphilic graft copolymer with enhanced solubility of ipriflavone,” Chemical and Pharmaceutical Bulletin 64:68-72, 2016, of record; and Meyer et al. “Uremia,” New England Journal of Medicine 357(13):1316-1325, 2007, of record.
Gauthier teaches a method for peritoneal dialysis of a patient in need of such treatment comprising inter alia instilling an initial volume of an aqueous peritoneal dialysis solution composition comprising an osmotic agent, wherein the osmotic agent is present at an osmolarity that is greater than the osmolarity of the body fluids, and wherein a flux of water and solute (toxin, method for reducing a toxin, method of treating a toxin-related disease or condition) enters the composition from the body fluids (title; abstract; claims, in particular 1; paragraph bridging columns 1 and 2). The patients have inadequate kidney function (kidney disease) (column 1, lines 12-16), as required by instant claim 15 and the elected embodiment. Dialysis removes impurities, toxins and other small molecules such as urea (uremic toxin, uremia), the principle nitrogenous metabolite produced by the body (paragraph bridging columns 1 and 2; column 3, lines 3-16), as required by instant claims 8-10, 16-19.
The osmolarity of the composition is about 300 to 500 mOsm/L (claims 3, 4), as required by instant claim 4.
The osmotic agent is selected from the group inclusive of sugars (claim 11), as required by instant claim 5. Exemplary agents include dextrose (glucose) in an amount of 5%, where percentages are understood as w/v (paragraph bridging columns 8 and 9; column 9, lines 12-22; column 12, lines 5-28; also column 5, lines 30-43 and Table 2), as required by instant claims 6, 7 and the elected embodiment.
Gauthier further teaches patients with chronic renal failure (column 1, lines 18-20).
Gauthier does not teach a toxin-removal agent that is polyethylene caprolactam – polyvinyl acetate – polyethylene glycol graft copolymer as required by claims 1, 14 and the elected embodiment thereof.
Gauthier does not teach at least 0.0001% to at most 4% toxin-removal agent as required by claim 3.
Gauthier does not teach the toxin is reduced to at most 50%, …, or at most 5% of the amount before treatment as required by claim 11.
Gauthier does not teach the toxin is reduced at least 10%, …, or at least 95% of the amount before treatment as required by claims 12, 20.
Gauthier does not teach the residual toxin is at most 90%, …, or at most 5% of the amount before treatment as required by claim 13.
Gauthier does not teach the weight ratio of toxin-removal agent to the osmotic agent ranges from 1:1750 to 1:4 as required by claim 21.
These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Nolph, Tanida and Meyer.
Nolph, summarized at column 4, lines 29-38 of Gauthier, teaches a peritoneal dialysis solution containing 5 to 100 g/L (0.5 to 10 % w/v) sorbents for metabolic breakdown products (toxins) such as creatinine (uremic toxin) to be removed (title; abstract; claims; page 1, lines 4-15; page 3, lines 30-34; Examples), as required by instant claim 3. See MPEP 2144.05. The solution further comprises a sufficient amount of physiological salt to be osmotically compatible and an osmotic agent such as dextrose (glucose); exemplary dialysis solutions contain either 1.5 or 4.25 wt% (broadly and reasonably interpreted as equivalent to % w/v because the solution is dilute) dextrose (abstract; claim 1; page 3, lines 7-16; page 5, lines 1-8). Nolph further exemplifies enhanced removal of creatinine; various amounts of charcoal sorbent were added to determine its effect on creatine clearance (Examples; also, page 5, lines 24-30).
Tanida teaches solubilization enhancement properties of an amphipathic graft copolymer, Soluplus® (polyethylene caprolactam – polyvinyl acetate – polyethylene glycol graft copolymer as evidenced by paragraph [0103] of the instant specification), on test compounds (abstract; page 68, paragraph bridging columns; Figure 1; page 69, “Solubility Study”). Micelle formation of Soluplus® improves solubility; the calculated cmc of Soluplus® is 0.82 mg/mL (0.082 % w/v) (abstract; paragraph bridging pages 69 and 70; Figures 2, 4; page 70, rhc, full paragraph), as required by instant claim 3. Furthermore, the polymer has an inherent binding site that allows hydrogen bonding and/or van der Waals interactions with drug molecules (page 68, paragraph bridging columns).
Meyer teaches treatment of uremia, which once encompassed all signs and symptoms of advanced kidney failure, is dominated by dialysis (page 1316, 1st and 3rd paragraphs). Urea is quantitatively the most important uremic solute (page 1317, rhc, full paragraph; Table 1). Dialysis is adjusted to remove about two thirds of total-body urea during each treatment (page 1318, rhc, full paragraph; Figure 1), as required by instant claims 11-13, 20. Removal of solutes can be increased by various modifications of the standard dialysis treatment (page 1318, rhc, full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aqueous peritoneal dialysis solution composition of Gauthier to further comprise solubilization enhancers inclusive of Soluplus® (polyethylene caprolactam – polyvinyl acetate – polyethylene glycol graft copolymer as evidenced by paragraph [0103] of the instant specification) as taught by Tanida in order to enhance the solubilization of solutes such as impurities, toxins and other small molecules such as urea for removal from the body. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Nolph and Meyer independently teach it is known in the art to add sorbents or/and to modify dialysis treatments to increase removal of solutes.
Regarding claims 3 and 21, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include solubilization enhancers inclusive of Soluplus® in an amount in excess of 0.82 mg/mL (0.082 % w/v) as taught by Tanida because the presence of micelles improves solubility. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Nolph teaches it is known in the art to add sorbents for enhanced metabolic breakdown product removal in amounts from 5 to 100 g/L (0.5 to 10 % w/v). Additionally or/and alternatively, it would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the amount of Soluplus® in order to optimize / maximize solute / toxin removal. It is prima facie obvious to optimize such result-effective variables within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05. Regarding the weight ratio of toxin-removal agent to the osmotic agent of 1:1750 to 1:4, because Gauthier exemplifies compositions comprising 5 % w/v dextrose (glucose), the combined teachings of the prior art render obvious ratios inclusive of 0.082 : 5 ~= 1 : 61.
Regarding claims 11-13 and 20, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method for peritoneal dialysis of a patient in need of such treatment of Gauthier in view of Nolph and Tanida inclusive of patients with chronic renal failure until about two thirds of total-body urea is removed as taught by Meyer because this is the standard treatment for uremia or kidney disease. Additionally or/and alternatively, it would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the method in order to optimize / maximize solute / toxin removal. See MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments: Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states the rejection is hindsight because the applied prior art addresses different problems. Applicant concludes there is no reason to combine.
This is not found persuasive because it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). While the problem Gauthier identifies may be the decay of the osmolarity gradient, Applicant is reminded that patents are relevant as prior art for all they contain. See MPEP 2123. Gauthier, as a whole, concerns peritoneal dialysis (e.g., title). The purpose of peritoneal dialysis is to replace functions normally performed by the kidneys inclusive of excretion of wastes (e.g., Gauthier, column 1, lines 18-29). Nolph also concerns peritoneal dialysis (e.g., title) and Nolph discloses the use of sorbents to enhance removal of wastes. Tanada concerns solubilization (e.g., title). Applicant’s characterization of Gauthier as not teaching or suggesting increasing solubilization of any toxin is acknowledged but is unpersuasive because the point of dialysis is to partition inter alia wastes into the dialysis solution and because dialysis is not limited to the removal of urea.
Applicant states the Office Action fails to provide a reasonable expectation of success of adding a polymer to increase removal of toxins. Applicant cites to Table 1 of Nolph to support the conclusion that Nolph shows that a polymer does not increase toxin clearance.
This is unpersuasive because the reasonable expectation of success requirement refers to "the likelihood of success" in combining or modifying prior art disclosures to meet the limitations of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143.02. Nolph evidences success of sorbents, e.g., additives which absorb and sequester, in peritoneal dialysis. The citation to the polymer of Nolph misses the mark because it is understood the polymer of Nolph is a “semipermeable polymeric layer” which may optionally encapsulate the “sorbent” (e.g., Nolph, claim 6). The rejection is not predicated on modifying the semipermeable polymeric layer of the sorbent of Nolph but rather on the recognition that the polymer particles of Tanida possess the same function as the sorbent of Nolph of selectively partitioning and sequestering.
Applicant’s statements that Meyer, Ash and Leroux do not fill the gaps are acknowledged but not found persuasive because. Therefore, the rejections over Gauthier are properly maintained in modified form as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALISSA PROSSER/
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/BENNETT M CELSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600