DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant Amendment and Argument filed on 03/10/2026.
Claims 1-5 and 8-13 are pending for examination.
Response to Amendments
Amendments to claim 10 amending the claim from “a control program…” to “A non-transitory computer-readable medium…” no longer claim a program/software and therefore the previous rejection of claim 10 under U.S.C. § 101 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 8-10, filed 03/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are not persuasive and/or moot.
In the Remarks, Applicant argued the following:
Miyamoto fails to teach or suggest
“a left non-display area” and “a right non display area”
“the first state-quantity information and the second state-quantity information index a corresponding first state quantity and a second state quantity”.
Regarding point (a)(i), examiner maintains Miyamoto teaches bot a right and left non-display area as the left and right direction indicators of the display in fig. 6 do not touch the edge of the display, thus, between each the left/right side edge and left/right direction indicators there is a non-display area. Fig. 6 with the non-display areas circled.
Regarding point (a)(ii), applicant further argues against examiner’s indication that the described limitation requires the values be indexed. However, this argument is moot as the current claim limitation recites that the first/second state-quantity information index a quantity and not that the quantities are indexed as previously claimed. Examiner maintains Miyamoto teaches the new amended limitation as described below.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract exceeds the permitted length. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder ( “a display processing portion”) that is coupled with functional language (“for causing… to be displayed”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are as follows:
”a display processing portion for causing a display screen to be displayed on a display portion of the display device” recited in claim 11. For the purposes of examination, the examiner will take “a display processing portion” as part of a program implemented by a processor using instruction stored in memory or equivalent based on the following excerpt(s) from the specification:
Para [0044] : “As shown in FIG. 2, the control system 1 includes an acquisition processing portion 11 and a display processing portion 12. In this Embodiment, as an example, the control system 1 is mainly composed of a computer system including one or more processors and thus, the one or more processors execute a program for a work machine to realize these plural functional portions (the display processing portion 12 and the like). These plural functional portions included in the control system 1 may be distributed and provided separately in plural casings or may be provided in a single casing.”
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites “non-6display” in which appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto and further in view of official notice.
Regarding Claim 1 Miyamoto teaches A control method of work machine comprising (para [0001] : “The present invention relates to a combine that allows immediate viewing of grain sorting status and driving source load information.”):
causing a display screen to be displayed on a display portion of a display device for a work machine including a left direction indicator on a left side of the display and a right direction indicator on a right side of the display (Fig. 6, Fig. 6 shows display screen 181 including a left direction indicator 190 and a right direction indicator 191 (left turn signal and a right turn signal respectively))
);
causing a first object corresponding to a first lighting state of the right direction indicator to be displayed on the display screen, wherein the first object is disposed at a position opposed to a right side edge of a display area of the display portion on the display screen with a right non-6display area therebetween (para [0063] : “The liquid crystal display panel 181 occupies most of the display section 180, and an engine load indicator 182, a speedometer 183, a fuel meter 184, a harvest monitor 185, a threshing monitor 186, a sorting monitor 187, and a tank monitor 188, a water amount monitor 189, a left blinker 190, a right blinker 191, an information display unit 192, and a touch panel unit 193.”, Fig. 6 shows a non-display area between the right side edge of a display area with a right non-display area therebetween as the first object 191 does not touch to right side of the shown display area.); and
causing a second object corresponding to a second lighting state of a direction indicator to be displayed on the display screen (para [0063] : “The liquid crystal display panel 181 occupies most of the display section 180, and an engine load indicator 182, a speedometer 183, a fuel meter 184, a harvest monitor 185, a threshing monitor 186, a sorting monitor 187, and a tank monitor 188, a water amount monitor 189, a left blinker 190, a right blinker 191, an information display unit 192, and a touch panel unit 193.”), wherein the second object is disposed at a position opposed to a left side edge of the display area of the display portion on the display screen with a left non-display area therebetween (fig. 6, Fig. 6 (shown above) icon 190. Further Fig. 6 shows a non-display area between the left side edge of a display area with a left non-display area therebetween as the second object 190 does not touch to left side of the shown display area.);
displaying first state-quantity information indicating a first state quantity of the work machine below the first object on the display screen (para [0068] : “To the right of the speedometer 183, a fuel gauge 184 which is separated from the speedometer 183 and indicates the remaining amount of fuel is located.”, Fig. 6, Fig. 6 shows fuel gage 184 below right turn indicator 191);
displaying second state-quantity information indicating a second state quantity of the work machine below the second object on the display screen (para [0081] : “To the left of the threshing monitor 186 and the engine load indicator 182 is a tank monitor 188 that indicates the amount of grain stored in the grain tank 4.”, Fig. 6, Fig. 6 shows tank monitor 188 below left turn indicator 190.), wherein:
the first state-quantity information and the second state-quantity information index a corresponding first state quantity and a second state quantity, respectively (para [0068] : “To the right of the speedometer 183, a fuel gauge 184 which is separated from the speedometer 183 and indicates the remaining amount of fuel is located.”, para [0081] : “To the left of the threshing monitor 186 and the engine load indicator 182 is a tank monitor 188 that indicates the amount of grain stored in the grain tank 4.”, Fig. 6, 184 and 188 show graphical representation of the first and second state quantity, which index the quantities of amount of remaining fuel and amount of grain stored.), and
each of the first state-quantity information and the second state-quantity information are represented symmetrically on the display screen in a graph format (Fig. 6, Fig. 6 shows tank monitor 188, a graphical indicator with at least vertical symmetry. Further, Fig. 6 shows fuel gage 184, a graphical indicator with at least vertical symmetry). However, Miyamoto does not explicitly teach the left and right direction indicator on the side of a work machine.
However, official notice is given as Miyamoto teaches a left turn signal (blinker) and a right turn signal (blinker), 190 and 191 respectively, and it is well known in the art that turn signals on a vehicle display correspond to external lights on the sides of vehicles/work machines which is ubiquitous in vehicles for safety purposes to work in conjunction to indicate to an operator that an external turn signal is operating where the external turn signal is used to inform to any external object/user/system etc., of an upcoming/current/ or desired movement of the vehicle/work machine to increase the safety of all in the environment and/or system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the system of Miyamoto with the external/side direction indicator to increase the safety of operating the work machine.
Regarding Claim 2 Miyamoto teaches The control method of work machine according to claim 1, further Miyamoto teaches wherein
the first object and the second object are symmetrical on the display screen (fig. 6, object 190 and object 191
).
Regarding Claim 3 Miyamoto teaches The control method of work machine according to claim 1, further Miyamoto teaches further comprising:
displaying a third object indicating a movement speed of the work machine below the first object and the second object on the display screen (para [0063] : “The liquid crystal display panel 181 occupies most of the display section 180, and an engine load indicator 182, a speedometer 183, a fuel meter 184, a harvest monitor 185, a threshing monitor 186, a sorting monitor 187, and a tank monitor 188, a water amount monitor 189, a left blinker 190, a right blinker 191, an information display unit 192, and a touch panel unit 193.”, fig. 6 (shown above)).
Regarding Claim 4 Miyamoto teaches The control method of work machine according to claim 1, further Miyamoto teaches wherein
each of the first object and the second object includes a figure pointing to a specific direction, and the figure is directed to an outside of the display area (fig. 6 (shown above), first object 190 is pointing to the left away from a vertical center of the display and second object 191 is point to the right away from a vertical center of the display).
Regarding Claim 8 Miyamoto teaches The control method of work machine according to claim 1, further Miyamoto teaches wherein
in a band area including the first object and the second object and extending from the right side edge to the left side edge in a left-right direction of the display area in the display screen, only the first object and the second object are displayed (fig. 6 (shown above), In fig. 6 above icon 182 there is a region extending horizontally from the left edge to the right edge which includes only the first object and the second object.).
Regarding Claim 10 Miyamoto teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions to configure one or more processors on the work machines to execute the control method of work machine according to claim 1 (it would be required that a processor or equivalent execute instructions to execute the steps cited which would further require a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions to configure the processor to execute the steps.).
Regarding Claim 11 Miyamoto teaches A display system for work machine, comprising:
a display device for a work machine including left direction indicator on a left side of the display and right direction indicator on a right side of the display (Fig. 6, , Fig. 6 shows display screen 181 including a left direction indicator 190 and a right direction indicator 191 (left turn signal and a right turn signal respectively)
; and
a display processing portion for causing a display screen to be displayed on a display portion of the display device (it would be required that Miyamoto comprise a display processing portion to control the display as described), wherein
the display processing portion
a first object corresponding to a first lighting state of the right direction indicator to be displayed on the display screen, wherein the first object is disposed at a position opposed to a right side edge of a display area of the display portion on the display screen with a right non-display area therebetween (para [0063] : “The liquid crystal display panel 181 occupies most of the display section 180, and an engine load indicator 182, a speedometer 183, a fuel meter 184, a harvest monitor 185, a threshing monitor 186, a sorting monitor 187, and a tank monitor 188, a water amount monitor 189, a left blinker 190, a right blinker 191, an information display unit 192, and a touch panel unit 193.”, Fig. 6 shows a non-display area between the right side edge of a display area with a right non-display area therebetween as the first object 191 does not touch to right side of the shown display area.); and
causes a second object corresponding to a second lighting state of a direction indicator to be displayed on the display (para [0063] : “The liquid crystal display panel 181 occupies most of the display section 180, and an engine load indicator 182, a speedometer 183, a fuel meter 184, a harvest monitor 185, a threshing monitor 186, a sorting monitor 187, and a tank monitor 188, a water amount monitor 189, a left blinker 190, a right blinker 191, an information display unit 192, and a touch panel unit 193.”) screen, wherein the second object is disposed at a position opposed to a left side edge of the display area of the display portion on the display screen with a left non-display area therebetween (fig. 6, Fig. 6 (shown above) icon 190. Further Fig. 6 shows a non-display area between the left side edge of a display area with a left non-display area therebetween as the second object 190 does not touch to left side of the shown display area.).
displays first state-quantity information indicating a first state quantity of the work machine below the first object on the display screen (para [0068] : “To the right of the speedometer 183, a fuel gauge 184 which is separated from the speedometer 183 and indicates the remaining amount of fuel is located.”, Fig. 6, Fig. 6 shows fuel gage 184 below right turn indicator 191);
displays second state-quantity information indicating a second state quantity of the work machine below the second object on the display screen (para [0081] : “To the left of the threshing monitor 186 and the engine load indicator 182 is a tank monitor 188 that indicates the amount of grain stored in the grain tank 4.”, Fig. 6, Fig. 6 shows tank monitor 188 below left turn indicator 190.), wherein:
the first state-quantity information and the second state-quantity information index a corresponding first state quantity and a second state quantity, respectively (para [0068] : “To the right of the speedometer 183, a fuel gauge 184 which is separated from the speedometer 183 and indicates the remaining amount of fuel is located.”, para [0081] : “To the left of the threshing monitor 186 and the engine load indicator 182 is a tank monitor 188 that indicates the amount of grain stored in the grain tank 4.”, Fig. 6, 184 and 188 show graphical representation of the first and second state quantity, which index the quantities of amount of remaining fuel and amount of grain stored.), and
each of the first state-quantity information and the second state-quantity information are represented symmetrically on the display screen in a graph format (Fig. 6, Fig. 6 shows tank monitor 188, a graphical indicator with at least vertical symmetry. Further, Fig. 6 shows fuel gage 184, a graphical indicator with at least vertical symmetry). However, Miyamoto does not explicitly teach the left and right direction indicator on the side of a work machine.
However, official notice is given as Miyamoto teaches a left turn signal (blinker) and a right turn signal (blinker), 190 and 191 respectively, and it is well known in the art that turn signals on a vehicle display correspond to external lights on the sides of vehicles/work machines which is ubiquitous in vehicles for safety purposes to work in conjunction to indicate to an operator that an external turn signal is operating where the external turn signal is used to inform to any external object/user/system etc., of an upcoming/current/ or desired movement of the vehicle/work machine to increase the safety of all in the environment and/or system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the system of Miyamoto with the external/side direction indicator to increase the safety of operating the work machine.
Regarding Claim 12 Miyamoto teaches A work machine comprising:
a display system for work machine according to claim 11 (fig. 6); and
a machine body on which the display device is mounted (para [0004] : “”The combine is equipped with a cabin, and a steering wheel and a display unit for displaying various information are provided in the cabin.).
Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto.
Regarding Claim 5 Miyamoto teaches The control method of work machine according to claim 1, further Miyamoto renders obvious further comprising:
causing operation information related to an operation state of the work machine to be displayed above the first object and the second object on the display screen (this limitation constitutes no more than a rearrangement of parts in the form of rearrangement of display objects).
Regarding Claim 9 Miyamoto teaches The control method of work machine according to claim 1, further Miyamoto renders obvious further comprising:
displaying first time information related to time at an upper right corner part of the display screen ( para [0012] : “The combine according to the present intention is characterized int hat the display unit displays the load information and the sorting status information in a central portion, and display the time and the gear position of the traveling vehicle body in an edge portion.”, further this limitation constitutes no more than a rearrangement of parts in the form of rearrangement of display objects); and
displaying second time information related to time at an upper left corner part of the display screen (para [0056] : “The speedometer of the display unit described later displays the speed based on the output signal of the vehicle speed sensor 43”, where speed is time information as distance over time, further this limitation constitutes no more than a rearrangement of parts in the form of rearrangement of display objects), wherein
the first object is disposed below the first time information in the display screen(this limitation constitutes no more than a rearrangement of parts in the form of rearrangement of display objects); and
the second object is disposed below the second time information in the display screen (this limitation constitutes no more than a rearrangement of parts in the form of rearrangement of display objects).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto in view of official notice and further in notice of Car Turns Signals: Why They Blink, Make Sounds, and Look a Certain Way (https://illumin.usc.edu/car-turns-signals-why-they-blink-make-sounds-and-look-a-certain-way/ December 10, 2014) henceforth referred to as Signals.
Regarding Claim 13 Miyamoto teaches A control method of work machine comprising (para [0001] : “The present invention relates to a combine that allows immediate viewing of grain sorting status and driving source load information.”):
causing a display screen to be displayed on a display portion of a display device for a work machine including a left direction indicator on a left side of the display and a right direction indicator on a right side of the display (Fig. 6, Fig. 6 shows display screen 181 including a left direction indicator 190 and a right direction indicator 191 (left turn signal and a right turn signal respectively))
);
causing a first object corresponding to a first lighting state of the right direction indicator to be displayed on the display screen, wherein the first object is disposed at a position opposed to a right side edge of a display area of the display portion on the display screen with a right non-display area therebetween (para [0063] : “The liquid crystal display panel 181 occupies most of the display section 180, and an engine load indicator 182, a speedometer 183, a fuel meter 184, a harvest monitor 185, a threshing monitor 186, a sorting monitor 187, and a tank monitor 188, a water amount monitor 189, a left blinker 190, a right blinker 191, an information display unit 192, and a touch panel unit 193.”, Fig. 6 shows a non-display area between the right side edge of a display area with a right non-display area therebetween as the first object 191 does not touch to right side of the shown display area.); and
causing a second object corresponding to a second lighting state of a direction indicator to be displayed on the display screen (para [0063] : “The liquid crystal display panel 181 occupies most of the display section 180, and an engine load indicator 182, a speedometer 183, a fuel meter 184, a harvest monitor 185, a threshing monitor 186, a sorting monitor 187, and a tank monitor 188, a water amount monitor 189, a left blinker 190, a right blinker 191, an information display unit 192, and a touch panel unit 193.”), wherein the second object is disposed at a position opposed to a left side edge of the display area of the display portion on the display screen with a left non-display area therebetween (fig. 6, Fig. 6 (shown above) icon 190. Further Fig. 6 shows a non-display area between the left side edge of a display area with a left non-display area therebetween as the second object 190 does not touch to left side of the shown display area.);However, Miyamoto does not explicitly teach the first object is displayed intermittently so as to correspond to a lighting state of the right direction indicator, the second object is displayed intermittently so as to correspond to a lighting state of the left direction indicator, and the left and right direction indicator on the side of a work machine.
However, official notice is given as Miyamoto teaches a left turn signal (blinker) and a right turn signal (blinker), 190 and 191 respectively, and it is well known in the art that turn signals on a vehicle display correspond to external lights on the sides of vehicles/work machines which is ubiquitous in vehicles for safety purposes to work in conjunction to indicate to an operator that an external turn signal is operating where the external turn signal is used to inform to any external object/user/system etc., of an upcoming/current/ or desired movement of the vehicle/work machine to increase the safety of all in the environment and/or system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the system of Miyamoto with the external/side direction indicator to increase the safety of operating the work machine.
Further, in a similar field of endeavor (turn signals for vehicles) Signals teaches the first object is displayed intermittently so as to correspond to a lighting state of the right direction indicator and the second object is displayed intermittently so as to correspond to a lighting state of the left direction indicator (para “Frequency of the signal” : “The Society of Automotive Engineers, in 1965, established that the car turn signal frequency should be between 60-120 flashes per minute [9]. This parameter was extensively calculated and supported by other case studies where participants were exposed to different frequency and percent on-time of the signal. (Percent on-time refers to what percentage of a cycle, the time from signal is on state verses the off state.) So if on-time is 85 percent, signal is on for 85% and off for 15% of the whole cycle [9]. The table below shows the rating that the participants have evaluated based on how conspicuous the signals were (Fig. 3). The box in the middleis the SAE standard which shows the SAE standard. The dotted area shows other parameters that produced similar satisfactory rates as those of SAE standards.”, as Miyamoto and official notice teaches a turn indicator indicating the state of a turn signal, the combination with the standards set for the frequency of turn signal blinking by Signal teaches the limitations as claimed.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the system of Miyamoto and official notice with the intermittent display of Signals to “provide the best conspicuity and shorted response time” (Signals para “Frequency of the Signal”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Shiratani et al (US 12286769 B2) teaches a work machine includes a lower traveling structure, an upper swing structure swingably mounted on the lower traveling structure, an attachment attached to the upper swing structure, a surrounding area monitor, and a display. The display is configured to display guidance with respect to an object detected by the surrounding area monitor.
Yuzawa et al (US 12030747 B2) teaches work machine includes a lower traveling structure, an upper swing structure mounted on the lower traveling structure via a swing mechanism, an attachment attached to the upper swing structure, a lifting magnet attached to the attachment, a hardware processor configured to calculate the weight of an object lifted by the lifting magnet, and a display device configured to display the weight of the object calculated by the hardware processor.
Kean et al (US 11814816 B2) teaches a method of controlling a mobile work machine on a worksite including receiving an indication of an object detected on the worksite, determining a location of the object relative to the mobile work machine, receiving an image of the worksite, correlating the determined location of the object to a portion of the image, and generating a control signal that controls a display device to display a representation of the image with a visual object indicator that represents the detected object on the portion of the image.
/D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/IMRAN K MUSTAFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668
6/8/2026