Claim Objection
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 2 the first instance of “the” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
35 USC 102 Rejections
Claim(s) 1-3, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Broschard III et al 5167531.
Regarding claim 1, Broschard III (front page and Figures 3 and 4) discloses a high-speed connector 1, comprising: a main body 2 comprising a metal shielding base 22, a plurality of connection ports (Figure 4, through which 6 are inserted) being disposed on the metal shielding base, a bottom of the metal shielding base being provided with a bottom opening; a barrier component comprising an isolation plate 16 provided with a plurality of through holes 62; and a plurality pairs of terminals 12, each of the terminals comprising a head portion 72 and a leg portion 78, the head portion of each of the terminals being located in a corresponding one of the connection ports, the leg portion of each of the terminals passing through a corresponding one of the through holes and the leg portion of each of the terminals being surrounded by any of the through holes.
Regarding claim 2, Broschard III discloses the leg portion 78 is provided with a terminal support (broadly recited, the portion of 78 located in the through hole), the isolation plate 16 has a predetermined thickness, and the predetermined thickness is equal to a height of the terminal support.
Regarding claim 3, Broschard III discloses the leg portion 78 is provided with a terminal support, the isolation plate 16 has a predetermined thickness, and a height of the terminal support is between 3/4 and 4/3 of the predetermined thickness. Note that the leg portion is longer than the thickness of the terminal support, and thus a portion of the leg portion can be considered to be the terminal support.
Regarding claim 10, Broschard III discloses two sides of the isolation plate 16 are respectively embedded in two retaining grooves 56 of the metal shielding base 22.
Regarding claim 11, Broschard III discloses a high-speed connector 1, comprising: a plurality of terminal modules, each of the terminal modules comprising a pair of terminals 12 and an insulator 8, wherein each of the terminals comprises a head portion 72, a leg portion 78, and a turning portion 74, and the insulator wraps an entirety of the turning portion; a metal shielding base 22 having an accommodating chamber, wherein the terminal modules are disposed in the accommodating chamber 41; and a barrier component 16 having a plurality of through holes 62, the barrier component covering at least a part of the accommodating chamber, the barrier component allowing the leg portions of the plurality of terminal modules to penetrate the through holes respectively.
Claims Defining Over Prior Art
Claims 4-9 and 12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches the barrier component
further comprises a partition plate for separating and blocking the terminals, and
the partition plate and the isolation plate are vertically connected to each other; nor the insulator being provided with a protruding structure that is annular; nor the turning portion accounting for more than 70% of an entire length of each of the terminals; nor the protruding ring interfering with the metal shielding base; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the respective independent claim.
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834