DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 6 have been newly amended. Claims 2-5 have been newly canceled. Claims 1 and 6-7 remain pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant asserts that the combination of Evans and Duffy fails to teach the limitations of newly amended claim 1. Specifically, Applicant asserts that "Duffy states that each UAV includes a sensor suite comprising an IMU, GPS, and other sensors, for UAV navigation and mutual position sensing. (Duffy, column 3, line 29-45) Duffy further clarifies that 'the sensor suites 29 on each gather data.' (Id. at column 5, line 64.) This description refers to sensors located on the UAVs, not on the payload. In contrast, the recited claim language indicates that the cargo itself is equipped with a GPS receiver for determining its own location." Further, Applicant argues that "[m]oreover, Duffy describes a centralized control system, where 'each vehicle behaves as part of the total system under control of the master controller,' and 'the master controller, which may be the base station 44 or an elected flight computer in the MVC minimizes forces in the cables by keeping lift vehicles close together […]' (Duffy, column 5, line 12-14, column 6, line 25-28). In contrast, the present application employs a decentralized control system. Accordingly, Duffy neither discloses nor suggests a GPS sensor located on the cargo, nor a decentralized control architecture in which each UAV adjusts its position based on the transmitted cargo location." The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Specifically, the examiner notes that no portion of the claims as presented requires that the cargo itself have a GPS sensor. Rather, the position of the cargo must merely be able to be determined or otherwise required. In fact, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as presented, any external system could acquire the ground location information of the cargo and transmit it to the unmanned aerial vehicles.
Further, the examiner notes that even if, arguendo, the claims did require a GPS sensor located on the cargo, claim 1 would remain unpatentable as being anticipated by Evans because the ground position control mode is an alternative limitation. Specifically, amended claim 1 recites wherein "maintaining the relative positional relationship of each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles to the cargo is achieved by one or both of … a ground position control mode (e.g., 'A')… and an interval control mode (e.g., 'B')…" (emphasis added). Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim as presented, the claim covers 'A', 'B', or 'A' and 'B', and as such, Evans still anticipates claim 1 because Evans discloses "maintaining the relative positional relationship of each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles to the cargo by … an interval control mode…." The examiner notes that Applicant has provided no argument against the "interval control mode" of Evans, and as such, in view of the above, Applicant's arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (US 20250021111 A1, having a filing date of at least 03 December 2022), hereafter Evans, in view of Duffy (US 9079662 B1), hereafter Duffy.
Regarding claim 1, Evans teaches a method of transporting cargo suspended by multiple aerial vehicles, wherein
The multiple unmanned aerial vehicles each fly while controlling positions of the unmanned aerial vehicles with reference to a position of the cargo (0106, modular UAV systems and methods that address some of the shortcomings [of the prior art] by allowing a plurality of, i.e., two or more, drones to cooperate with each other to provide scalable, configurable payload lifting, maneuvering, and/or transporting capabilities, aa modular UAV system uses a plurality of drones that are separately coupled to a payload and operate in coordination with each other to lift and/or maneuver and/or transport the payload, 0146, one benefit of the UAV system 100 described herein is that the drones 105 can adjust one or more of their characteristics in response to detecting a change in a characteristic of the payload 10 they are maneuvering, for example, a drone 105a coupled to the payload 10 can detect a change in a characteristic of the payload 10, e.g., its center of gravity, orientation, weight, shape, one of its dimensions, etc., the drone can then send or receive a communication concerning an adjustment to be made to a characteristic of the drone 105A, e.g., a thrust, a power setting, an orientation, a speed, a direction, an altitude, an attitude, a propeller speed, a propeller orientation, a position relative to the payload, a position relative to another drone 105, a connection to the payload 10, a first attachment point 106A of the payload, a communication frequency, a communication technology, etc., in response to the change in the payload characteristic, the drone 105A can then adjust its characteristic in accordance with the communication),
Wherein each of the unmanned aerial vehicles flies while a relative positional relationship of each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles to the cargo is maintained (0146, one benefit of the UAV system 100 described herein is that the drones 105 can adjust one or more of their characteristics in response to detecting a change in a characteristic of the payload 10 they are maneuvering, for example, a drone 105a coupled to the payload 10 can detect a change in a characteristic of the payload 10, e.g., its center of gravity, orientation, weight, shape, one of its dimensions, etc., the drone can then send or receive a communication concerning an adjustment to be made to a characteristic of the drone 105A, e.g., a thrust, a power setting, an orientation, a speed, a direction, an altitude, an attitude, a propeller speed, a propeller orientation, a position relative to the payload, a position relative to another drone 105, a connection to the payload 10, a first attachment point 106A of the payload, a communication frequency, a communication technology, etc., in response to the change in the payload characteristic, the drone 105A can then adjust its characteristic in accordance with the communication, Examiner's note: given that the above portion pertains to changing a characteristic of the drone, wherein the characteristics include "a position relative to another drone 105," it stands that during normal operation, the characteristics are kept approximately constant, i.e., maintained),
Wherein
Maintaining the relative positional relationship of each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles to the cargo is achieved by one or both of:
A ground position control mode in which flight of each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles is controlled while following a change in a position of the cargo relative to the ground (0157, drones 105 may determine a current orientation of a payload 10 by at least one drone of the plurality of drones 105 receiving from a command center 200 a signal that conveys the current orientation of the payload 10, the signal may also convey other information about the payload 10 such as, for example, the current location of the payload 10, 0160, drones 105 may identify a target orientation for the payload 10 by receiving from a command center 200 a signal that conveys the target orientation of the payload, the signal may also convey other information about the payload 10, such as, for example, a target location for the payload 10, 0146, one benefit of the UAV system 100 described herein is that the drones 105 can adjust one or more of their characteristics in response to detecting a change in a characteristic of the payload 10 they are maneuvering, for example, a drone 105a coupled to the payload 10 can detect a change in a characteristic of the payload 10, e.g., its center of gravity, orientation, weight, shape, one of its dimensions, etc., the drone can then send or receive a communication concerning an adjustment to be made to a characteristic of the drone 105A, e.g., a thrust, a power setting, an orientation, a speed, a direction, an altitude, an attitude, a propeller speed, a propeller orientation, a position relative to the payload, a position relative to another drone 105, a connection to the payload 10, a first attachment point 106A of the payload, a communication frequency, a communication technology, etc., in response to the change in the payload characteristic, the drone 105A can then adjust its characteristic in accordance with the communication, Examiner's note: given that the above portion pertains to changing a characteristic of the drone, wherein the characteristics include "a position relative to the payload," it stands that during normal operation, the characteristics are kept approximately constant, i.e., maintained), and
An interval control mode in which the flight of each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles is controlled while maintaining an interval of each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles to the cargo (0146, one benefit of the UAV system 100 described herein is that the drones 105 can adjust one or more of their characteristics in response to detecting a change in a characteristic of the payload 10 they are maneuvering, for example, a drone 105a coupled to the payload 10 can detect a change in a characteristic of the payload 10, e.g., its center of gravity, orientation, weight, shape, one of its dimensions, etc., the drone can then send or receive a communication concerning an adjustment to be made to a characteristic of the drone 105A, e.g., a thrust, a power setting, an orientation, a speed, a direction, an altitude, an attitude, a propeller speed, a propeller orientation, a position relative to the payload, a position relative to another drone 105, a connection to the payload 10, a first attachment point 106A of the payload, a communication frequency, a communication technology, etc., in response to the change in the payload characteristic, the drone 105A can then adjust its characteristic in accordance with the communication, Examiner's note: given that the above portion pertains to changing a characteristic of the drone, wherein the characteristics include "a position relative to another drone 105," it stands that during normal operation, the characteristics are kept approximately constant, i.e., maintained),
In the ground position control mode:
Acquiring current location information of the cargo to be transported by each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles (0157, drones 105 may determine a current orientation of a payload 10 by at least one drone of the plurality of drones 105 receiving from a command center 200 a signal that conveys the current orientation of the payload 10, the signal may also convey other information about the payload 10 such as, for example, the current location of the payload 10, 0160, drones 105 may identify a target orientation for the payload 10 by receiving from a command center 200 a signal that conveys the target orientation of the payload, the signal may also convey other information about the payload 10, such as, for example, a target location for the payload 10); and
Controlling the flight of each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles while maintaining a relative positional relationship of each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles to the current location information (0146, one benefit of the UAV system 100 described herein is that the drones 105 can adjust one or more of their characteristics in response to detecting a change in a characteristic of the payload 10 they are maneuvering, for example, a drone 105a coupled to the payload 10 can detect a change in a characteristic of the payload 10, e.g., its center of gravity, orientation, weight, shape, one of its dimensions, etc., the drone can then send or receive a communication concerning an adjustment to be made to a characteristic of the drone 105A, e.g., a thrust, a power setting, an orientation, a speed, a direction, an altitude, an attitude, a propeller speed, a propeller orientation, a position relative to the payload, a position relative to another drone 105, a connection to the payload 10, a first attachment point 106A of the payload, a communication frequency, a communication technology, etc., in response to the change in the payload characteristic, the drone 105A can then adjust its characteristic in accordance with the communication, Examiner's note: given that the above portion pertains to changing a characteristic of the drone, wherein the characteristics include "a position relative to another drone 105," it stands that during normal operation, the characteristics are kept approximately constant, i.e., maintained).
Evans fails to teach, however:
Wherein in the acquiring current location information, the current location information is ground location information acquired from a global navigation satellite system and is transmitted to each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles; and
In the controlling the flight, each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles flies based on the ground location information.
Duffy, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach:
Wherein in the acquiring current location information, the current location information is ground location information acquired from a global navigation satellite system and is transmitted to each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles (Col. 3, Lines 29-52, a sensor suite 29 includes elements such as an inertial measurement unit and/or global positioning system are provided for navigation and control as well as mutual position sensing for lift vehicles operating cooperatively); and
In the controlling the flight, each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles flies based on the ground location information (Col. 3, Lines 29-52, a sensor suite 29 includes elements such as an inertial measurement unit and/or global positioning system are provided for navigation and control as well as mutual position sensing for lift vehicles operating cooperatively).
Evans and Duffy are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., unmanned aerial load transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the satellite position sensing of Duffy in order to provide further means of determining the relative positions of the UAVs to the payload and each other. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the transportation system is able to safely and effectively transport the payload.
Regarding claim 6, The combination of Evans and Duffy teaches the method of transporting cargo according to claim 1, and Evans further teaches it comprising, in the interval control mode:
Measuring an interval between each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles and the cargo (0146, one benefit of the UAV system 100 described herein is that the drones 105 can adjust one or more of their characteristics in response to detecting a change in a characteristic of the payload 10 they are maneuvering, for example, a drone 105a coupled to the payload 10 can detect a change in a characteristic of the payload 10, e.g., its center of gravity, orientation, weight, shape, one of its dimensions, etc., the drone can then send or receive a communication concerning an adjustment to be made to a characteristic of the drone 105A, e.g., a thrust, a power setting, an orientation, a speed, a direction, an altitude, an attitude, a propeller speed, a propeller orientation, a position relative to the payload, a position relative to another drone 105, a connection to the payload 10, a first attachment point 106A of the payload, a communication frequency, a communication technology, etc., in response to the change in the payload characteristic, the drone 105A can then adjust its characteristic in accordance with the communication, Examiner's note: given that the above portion pertains to changing a characteristic of the drone, wherein the characteristics include "a position relative to another drone 105," it stands that the “position relative to another drone” is known, i.e., measured, before changing, or else there would be no value to adjust during the changing of the characteristic of the drone); and
Controlling the flight of each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles while maintaining the interval between the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles (0146, one benefit of the UAV system 100 described herein is that the drones 105 can adjust one or more of their characteristics in response to detecting a change in a characteristic of the payload 10 they are maneuvering, for example, a drone 105a coupled to the payload 10 can detect a change in a characteristic of the payload 10, e.g., its center of gravity, orientation, weight, shape, one of its dimensions, etc., the drone can then send or receive a communication concerning an adjustment to be made to a characteristic of the drone 105A, e.g., a thrust, a power setting, an orientation, a speed, a direction, an altitude, an attitude, a propeller speed, a propeller orientation, a position relative to the payload, a position relative to another drone 105, a connection to the payload 10, a first attachment point 106A of the payload, a communication frequency, a communication technology, etc., in response to the change in the payload characteristic, the drone 105A can then adjust its characteristic in accordance with the communication, Examiner's note: given that the above portion pertains to changing a characteristic of the drone, wherein the characteristics include "a position relative to another drone 105," it stands that during normal operation, the characteristics are kept approximately constant, i.e., maintained).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Evans and Duffy teaches the method of transporting cargo according to claim 6, and Duffy further teaches wherein an interval between each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles and the cargo is:
Measured by one or both of a distance measuring sensor provided in the cargo and a distance measuring sensor provided in each of the multiple unmanned aerial vehicles (Col. 5, Line 54 - Col. 6, Line 29, individual lift vehicles in the modular vehicle cluster incorporate visual, LIDAR or other sensing systems in the sensor suite 29 for lift vehicle location and navigation, positioning between lift vehicles in the MVC flying with no physical connection between vehicles may be monitored by radar or laser ranging systems, the sensor suite 29 in each lift vehicle has an onboard camera or LIDAR sensor to track the load and the other lift vehicles).
Evans and Duffy are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., unmanned aerial load transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the distance measuring sensors of Duffy in order to provide further means of determining the relative positions of the UAVs to the payload. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the transportation system is able to safely and effectively transport the payload.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3658 /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658