Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on May 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 12, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
a) the variables “R2, R3, a, b, and c” in Formula (7) in line 3 are not legible
b) in lines 16, 17 and 18 (counting each formula as one line), “(R10), (R11)” and “(R12)” should be replaced with “(10), (11)” and “(12),” respectively to be consistent with the numbering in line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2020/0078281), hereinafter “Wang.”
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 7-8, Wang teaches in Example B2 a bar soap (i.e., a solid) which comprises 78.00 wt% soap noodles comprising tallow soap and coconut soap (i.e., anionic surfactants), 0.1 wt% hinokitiol (which meets Formula 7 in claim 1 and claim 3), among others and balance water (see Table in [0099] on page 8).
Regarding claims 4-6, even though Wang does not explicitly disclose the hinokitiol having a pKa of less than about 8, a calcium binding efficiency of less than about 7, or an iron binding efficiency greater than about 10, it would be inherent for the hinokitiol to exhibit the same properties because the same compounds have been utilized. “Products of identical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 II.
Regarding claim 9, Wang also teaches that the skin cleaning composition can take the form not only as a bar but also as powder or pellets (see [0031]).
Hence, Wang anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claims 1 and 3-9 above, and further in view of Sonnenberg et al. (US 2002/0173436), hereinafter “Sonnenberg.”
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the features as discussed above. Wang, however, fails to disclose a tropolone.
Sonnenberg, an analogous art, teaches mixtures of antimicrobial active substances in bar soaps like hinokitiol with tropolone (see [0129]-[0130]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a tropolone into the bar soap of Wang because it is known to use mixtures of antimicrobial active agents in bar soaps as taught by Sonnenberg.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references are considered cumulative to or less material than those discussed above.
/LORNA M DOUYON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761