Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: improper grammar “wherein thin-walled wall surfaces of the bucket-type thin-walled cone is a continuous surface… Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 7 requires that “when the first end face and the second end face are in a close state without the action of external force, air-permeable through holes are formed at a crease produced by nesting of the barrel-shaped thin-walled cone”, however, claims 1, 2, and 4 (from which claim 7 ultimately depends), recite (claim 1:) “the pushing connection portion is connected between the piston and the opening sealing portion; and the pushing connection portion provides elastic thrust F, such that the piston has a movement trend towards the biting and sucking area”, (claim 2:) “the barrel-shaped thin-walled cone can elastically deform and form a nested structure”, and (claim 4:) “the piston push rod is disposed on the back piston surface and extends in an opposite direction of the elastic thrust F”. Therefore, the elastic force is recited as elastically biasing the piston toward the biting and sucking area (upwards in Applicant’s Fig. 5) and as such would require an external force to achieve the nested structure described in claim 2. However, claim 7 states that the nested structure is achieved “without the action of external force”. Without external force, the piston is biased towards the biting area i.e. away from the nested structure as required by claims 1 and 2, and the disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to achieve the claimed structure wherein the nested structure is a stable configuration while being biased toward the biting area. Therefore, claim 7 cannot be treated on the merits.
Claims 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the bucket-type thin-walled cone". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the upper end face thereof". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the annular piston surface". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the thin-walled wall surfaces". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the compression and nesting process". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the sealing surface of the opening sealing portion". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a})(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 5,843,030 (Van Der Merwe hereinafter).
In re claim 1, with reference to Fig. 5 below, Van Der Merwe discloses: An infant and toddler feeder, comprising: a first main body (40, 46, 47); and a second main body (50, 60, 61, 62); wherein the first main body has a food pouch (within 46, 56) and a filling opening (at open end of 46); the food pouch comprises a biting and sucking area (40) and a cylindrical temporary storage area (41); the filling opening is disposed at one end of the cylindrical temporary storage area, and the biting and sucking area is disposed at the other end of the cylindrical temporary storage area (see fig. 5); the second main body has an opening sealing portion (50), a piston (60, 61), and a pushing connection portion (62); the opening sealing portion is matched with the filling opening for connecting the filling opening and sealing the filling opening (see fig. 5); the piston is matched with an inner cavity of the cylindrical temporary storage area to form a connection structure of the piston (piston coaxial with cylindrical area, and connected via opening sealing portion 50 to cylindrical area, thereby broadly interpreted as “matched”, See Fig. 5); the pushing connection portion (62) is connected between the piston (60) and the opening sealing portion (50); and the pushing connection portion provides elastic thrust F, such that the piston has a movement trend towards the biting and sucking area (columns 8-9, lines 66-5).
[AltContent: textbox (Plunger Sealing Main Body)][AltContent: arrow]
In re claim 14, with reference to the Fig. noted above, Van Der Merwe discloses the claimed invention including wherein [the] a sealing surface of the opening sealing portion has a plunger sealing main body (vertical interior surface of 46) and a limiting assembly (59); the limiting assembly (59) is disposed on a surface of the plunger sealing main body (See Fig. 4 above); and the limiting assembly is a local protrusion (see Fig. 4 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Der Merwe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US PG Pub No. 2018/0256454 (Badger hereinafter).
In re claim 10, with reference to the Fig. noted above, Van Der Merwe discloses the claimed invention except wherein one or more of inner cavity surfaces of the annular piston surface and/or the cylindrical temporary storage area, a sealing surface of the opening sealing portion, and/or an inner cavity surface of the filling opening further comprise: anti-adhesion surface micro-marks; and the anti-adhesion surface micro-marks are surface texture and/or a concave-convex particle structure.
However, Badger discloses a hygienic infant and toddler soother formed rubber, latex, or silicone, and includes a texture on surfaces to prevent artifacts from adhering to the silicone surface (paragraph 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the surfaces of Van Der Merwe to have included anti-adhesion marks/texture to the material as taught by Badger for the purposes of preventing artifacts from adhering to inner and/or outer surfaces of the device to prevent contamination thereof (Badger, paragraph 0042).
In re claim 11, with reference to the Fig. noted above, Van Der Merwe discloses the claimed invention except wherein inner surfaces of [the] thin-walled wall surfaces further comprise: anti-adhesion surface micro-marks; the anti-adhesion surface micro-marks are surface texture and/or a concave-convex particle structure; and the inner surfaces of the thin-walled wall surfaces are surfaces in communication with the cylindrical temporary storage area.
However, Badger discloses a hygienic infant and toddler soother formed rubber, latex, or silicone, and includes a texture on surfaces to prevent artifacts from adhering to the silicone surface (paragraph 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the surfaces of Van Der Merwe to have included anti-adhesion marks/texture to the material as taught by Badger for the purposes of preventing artifacts from adhering to inner and/or outer surfaces of the device to prevent contamination thereof (Badger, paragraph 0042).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733