This is the First Office action on the Merits from the examiner in charge of this application.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 15 reads “the pallet is supported by the support surface and one or more the capture bars are in the unlocked position”. This should read “the pallet is supported by the support surface and one or more of the capture bars are in the unlocked position Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mothersbaugh (U.S. Pub. No. 20230065396).
With respect to claim 1, Mothersbaugh discloses a pallet comprising: a plate (Fig. 1, support platform 110) configured to support a pallet object relative to a support surface (Paragraph 0040, “platform upper end 112 is adapted to support a load and/or a further component of the pallet 100”); a capture assembly (Fig. 2, gripper assembly 120) supported relative to the plate (support platform 100) and being configured to selectively engage and disengage the pallet object (Paragraph 0041, “the gripper assembly 120 may hold a load that is loaded onto the pallet 100”), the capture assembly comprising: one or more capture bars (gripper finger 136) movable between an unlocked position and a locked position (Paragraph 0044, “gripper fingers 136 are configured to move radially in and out to hold a load on the pallet 100”), each capture bar of the one or more capture bars (gripper fingers 136) configured to be engaged with a portion of the pallet object when in the locked position (gripper finger 136 moves towards first end 138 into a “first position” to grip a load) and disengaged from said portion of the pallet object when in the unlocked position (gripper finger 136 moves toward second end 140 into a “second position” to release a load); wherein each capture bar of the one or more capture bars (gripper finger 136) is configured to be actuated to the unlocked position with movement of the pallet towards the support surface and actuated to the locked position with movement of the pallet away from the support surface (Paragraph 0058, the drive input member 180 “may be an output shaft member of a servo unit” therefore the servo motor is capable of moving the gripper finger 136 into an unlocked “second” position when the platform is moved towards a support surface such as the ground, and the servo motor is capable of moving the gripper finger 136 into a locked “first” position then the platform is moved away from the ground. Note that there is no type of actuator claimed that is responsible for the movement of the capture bars to locked/unlocked positions caused by the movement of the pallet away from/towards the supporting surface).
With respect to claim 2, Mothersbaugh further discloses wherein the one or more capture bars (gripper finger 136) comprises first and second capture bars (Fig. 1 shows a first gripper finger 136 located at the bottom-left side of the Figure and a second gripper finger 136 located at the right side of the Figure), the first and second capture bars configured to be engaged with separate portions of an outer perimeter of the pallet object when in the locked position (Paragraph 0050, “the gripper fingers 136 may be moved in from the second positions to bear against an outer perimeter of the load” therefore when gripper fingers 136 are moved into locked “first” positions towards first end 138, they may grip different portions of a load object, such as the left and right sides of the load object).
With respect to claim 3, Mothersbaugh further discloses wherein the first and second capture bars (bottom-left gripper finger 136 and right-side gripper finger 136) are configured to engage the pallet object along opposed sides of the pallet object (see modified Fig. 1 below, gripper fingers 136 may grip a pallet load object on the left or right side of centerline 116, therefore first and second gripper fingers are located on opposed sides of the pallet object).
Modified Fig. 1
With respect to claim 4, Mothersbaugh further discloses wherein the first and second capture bars (bottom-left gripper finger 136 and right-side gripper finger 136) are configured to engage the pallet object along a same side of the pallet object (see modified Fig. 1 below, gripper fingers 136 may grip a pallet load object on a second side of a centerline as shown below, therefore first and second gripper fingers 136 are located on the same side of the pallet object).
Modified Fig. 1
With respect to claim 5, Mothersbaugh further discloses a linkage assembly (Fig. 3, drive input member 180 with drive belt 160) provided in operative association with the capture assembly (gripper assembly 120), the linkage assembly being configured to actuate each capture bar (gripper finger 136) of the one or more capture bars to the unlocked position with movement of the pallet towards the support surface (Paragraph 0058, the drive input member 180 “may be an output shaft member of a servo unit” therefore the servo motor is capable of moving the gripper finger 136, via drive belt 160, into an unlocked “second” position when the platform is moved towards a support surface such as the ground. Note that there is no type of actuator claimed that is responsible for the movement of the linkage assembly to an unlocked position caused by the movement of the pallet towards the supporting surface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mothersbaugh (U.S. Pub. No. 20230065396) in view of Chen (U.S. Pat. No. 20140079516).
With respect to claim 10, Mothersbaugh discloses the limitation set forth above except a biasing device provided in operative association with the capture assembly separate from the linkage assembly, the biasing device being configured to bias each capture bar of the one or more capture bars towards the locked position.
Chen discloses a biasing device (Fig. 2, elastic assembly 22) provided in operative association with the capture assembly (Fig. 1, pair of positioning components 2 with elastic assembly 22 and sliding assembly 23), the biasing device (elastic assembly 22) being configured to bias each capture bar (sliding assembly 23) of the one or more capture bars towards the locked position (sliding assembly 23 is pushed by elastic assembly 22 towards the pallet object being supported by the pallet).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the capture assembly of Mothersbaugh by replacing the gripping fingers with positioning components such as taught by Chen with a reasonable expectation of success in order to absorb vibration caused by the transportation of the pallet, and to further provide a more precise grip that can be tailored to the need of various pallet objects of different properties such as material or weight.
With respect to claim 11, Mothersbaugh discloses the limitation set forth above except a biasing device coupled to each capture bar of the one or more capture bars, the biasing device being configured to bias each capture bar of the one or more capture bars towards the locked position.
Chen discloses a biasing device (Fig. 2, elastic assembly 22 of positioning component 2) coupled to each capture bar of the one or more capture bars (sliding assembly 23 of positioning component 2), the biasing device (22) being configured to bias each capture bar (23) of the one or more capture bars towards the locked position (sliding assembly 23 is pushed by elastic assembly 22 towards the pallet object being supported by the pallet).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the capture assembly of Mothersbaugh by replacing the gripping fingers with positioning components such as taught by Chen with a reasonable expectation of success in order to absorb vibration caused by the transportation of the pallet, and to further provide a more precise grip that can be tailored to the need of various pallet objects of different properties such as material or weight.
Claims 1 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bond (U.S. Pat. No. 5297485) in view of Vaeth (U.S. Pub. No. 20200407110).
With respect to claim 1, Bond discloses a pallet comprising: a frame (Fig. 1, stacking pallet 10) configured to support a pallet object relative to a support surface (Fig. 2, load/steel plates 27 are supported above a supporting surface such as the floor); a capture assembly (posts 29 on tracks 21) supported relative to the plate and being configured to selectively engage and disengage the pallet object (Fig. 1 shows posts 29 contacting steel plates 27, while arrows 42 indicate posts 29 may also move away from steel plates 27), the capture assembly comprising: one or more capture bars (posts 29) movable between an unlocked position and a locked position (Col. 3, lines 47-49, “posts 29 are adjustably mounted on tracks 21 so as to be shiftable laterally along the tracks as indicated by arrows 42”), each capture bar of the one or more capture bars (posts 29) configured to be engaged with a portion of the pallet object when in the locked position (Fig. 1, posts 29 engaged with steel plates 27) and disengaged from said portion of the pallet object when in the unlocked position (each post 29 may move away from steel plates 27 as indicated by lower arrow 42 as shown in Fig. 1); wherein each capture bar of the one or more capture bars (posts 29) is configured to be actuated to the unlocked position with movement of the pallet towards the support surface and actuated to the locked position with movement of the pallet away from the support surface (posts 29 are movable and therefore capable of being moved away from steel plates 27 then the pallet is moved towards a support surface such as the ground, or moved towards steel plates 27 when the pallet is moved away from a support surface such as the ground. Note that there is no type of actuator claimed that is responsible for the movement of the capture bars to locked/unlocked positions caused by the movement of the pallet away from/towards the supporting surface.)
Bond fails to disclose the pallet comprises a plate configured to support a pallet object relative to a support surface.
Vaeth discloses the pallet comprises a plate (Fig. 3, anti-slippery surface plate 101-03 of basic-pallet 101) configured to support a pallet object relative to a support surface (Abstract, “basic-pallet provides the surface for placing the cargo”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pallet of Bond to include a plate such as taught by Vaeth with a reasonable expectation of success in order to distribute the weight of a load more evenly across the pallet frame, and to further provide additional surface area for supporting pallet objects with irregular bottom surfaces or overhanging structures.
With respect to claim 12, Bond in view of Vaeth discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Bond) further discloses a lock assembly (Fig. 3, clamping mechanism comprising shoe 49, connector 51, and clamp actuator handle 52) configured to engage a portion of the capture assembly (clamping mechanism engages post 29) to maintain each capture bar of the one or more capture bars (posts 29) in the locked position (Col. 3, 65-66, “a clamp mechanism for locking the post in selected positions of adjustment”).
With respect to claim 13, Bond in view of Vaeth discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Bond) further discloses wherein the lock assembly (Fig. 3, clamping mechanism comprising shoe 49, connector 51, and clamp actuator handle 52) comprises a lock mechanism (shoe 49, actuated by handle 52) configured to be moved relative to each capture bar (posts 29) of the one or more capture bars between an engaged state and a disengaged state (Col. 5, lines 4-9, “The clamping pressure of shoe 49 on track walls 23 is related to the effective length of link member 61…An elongated (lengthened) link member will reduce the clamping force, whereas a shortened link member will increase the clamping force”).
With respect to claim 14, Bond in view of Vaeth discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Bond) further discloses wherein the lock mechanism (shoe 49, actuated by handle 52) is configured to be moved toward the disengaged state (shoe 49 with lengthened link member in a reduced-clamp state) with movement of the pallet towards the support surface (handle 52 may be adjusted by the operator to reduce the clamping force as the pallet is moved towards a supporting surface, such as the floor) and moved towards the engaged state (shoe 49 with shortened link member in an increased-clamp state) with movement of the pallet away from the support surface (handle 52 may be adjusted by the operator to increase the clamping force as the pallet is moved away from a supporting surface, such as the floor. Note that there is no type of actuator claimed that is responsible for the movement of the lock mechanism to engages/disengaged states caused by the movement of the pallet away from/towards the supporting surface.)
Claims 15, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mothersbaugh (U.S. Pub. No. 20230065396) in view of Underbrink (U.S. Pub. No. 20020108540).
With respect to claim 15, Mothersbaugh discloses a method for securing pallet objects relative to a pallet, the pallet (Fig. 1, pallet 100) including a plate (support platform 110) configured to support a pallet object relative to a support surface (Paragraph 0040, “platform upper end 112 is adapted to support a load and/or a further component of the pallet 100”), the pallet further including a capture assembly (Fig. 2, gripper assembly 120) supported relative to the plate (support platform 110) and being configured to selectively engage and disengage the pallet object (Paragraph 0041, “the gripper assembly 120 may hold a load that is loaded onto the pallet 100”), the capture assembly including one or more capture bars (gripper fingers 136) movable between an unlocked position and a locked position (Paragraph 0043, “Each gripper finger 136 is operable to move along the corresponding track 130 between a first position and a second position, the second position being farther from the vertical axis 116 than the first position”), the method comprising: positioning the pallet object onto the plate (load is placed onto the support platform 110 via load-bearing surface 150) relative to the capture assembly (gripper assembly 120) while one or more capture bars are in the unlocked position (Paragraph 0050, “In use, a load may be placed on the load-bearing surface 150 when the gripping fingers 136 are either in the second positions so that the load may be received between them”); and that the capture bars are moved to the locked position and engage with a portion of the pallet object (Paragraph 0050, “The load received on the load-bearing surface 150 may be gripped by moving the gripper fingers 136 into engagement with the load”. Note that there is no type of actuator claimed that is responsible for the movement of the capture bars to locked position caused by the movement of the pallet away from/towards the supporting surface).
Mothersbaugh is silent to positioning the pallet object onto the plate while the pallet is supported by the support surface; and raising the pallet relative to the support surface.
Underbrink discloses positioning the pallet object (Fig. 1, item 10) onto the plate (upper surface of pallet deck 18) while the pallet (pallet 12) is supported by the support surface (Paragraph 0029, “ the ramp extends or slopes downwardly from one edge of the pallet deck 18 to the floor or other surface upon which the pallet is placed. As such, an item 10 can be rolled up the ramp and onto the pallet deck”); and raising the pallet relative to the support surface (Paragraph 0050, “Once the item 10 has been positioned upon and banded to the pallet 12, the palletized item can be readily moved by means of a forklift or the like”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the loading/unloading of a pallet object of Mothersbaugh to include loading the object while the pallet is on a floor, and raising the pallet relative to the floor for transportation such as taught by Underbrink, with a reasonable expectation of success. Note that while Mothersbaugh is silent to the pallet’s location during loading of the object, one having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably load a pallet while the pallet is on a support surface and further lift the pallet away from the support surface to transport the pallet and object. The examiner further takes official notice that while Mothersbaugh is silent to the what point during transportation the gripping fingers are moved to lock/unlock positions to engage the pallet object, it is a normal and logical step to lock/clamp the object at any point during the transportation of the object, such as when it is initially loaded onto the pallet or when the pallet is lifted by a forklift. It is further normal and logical to unlock/unclamp at any point during loading/unloading of the object.
With respect to claim 16, Mothersbaugh in view of Underbrink discloses the limitation set forth above. Mothersbaugh further discloses the capture bars (gripper fingers 136) are capable of moving into the unlocked position and disengaging with the pallet object (Paragraph 0044, “gripper fingers 136 are configured to move radially in and out to hold a load on the pallet 100”). However, Mothersbaugh is silent to subsequent to raising the pallet relative to the support surface, lowering the pallet relative to the support surface such that the one or more capture bars are moved to the unlocked position and disengage with the portion of the pallet object.
Underbrink discloses subsequent to raising the pallet (pallet 12) relative to the support surface, lowering the pallet relative to the support surface (Paragraph 0051, “Once the palletized item 10 has reached its destination and is to be unloaded… the item can then be rolled down the ramp and onto the floor or other surface upon which the pallet 12 is disposed in order to complete the unloading process) such that the one or more object-retainers (ramp 24 is rotated upward and retains item 10 as shown in Fig. 10) are moved to the unlocked position and disengage with the portion of the pallet object (Paragraph 0051, “Once the palletized item 10 has reached its destination and is to be unloaded, the banding straps 64 are initially removed and the ramp 24 is folded down”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention when modifying the loading/unloading of a pallet object of Mothersbaugh as taught in claim 15, to further include lowering the pallet and releasing the pallet load such as taught by Underbrink. Note that while Mothersbaugh is silent to the step of lowering the pallet and unclamping the gripper fingers, one having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably unclamp a pallet object once the pallet has reached its destination in order to unload the object. The examiner further takes official notice that while Mothersbaugh is silent to the what point during transportation the gripping fingers move to an unlock position to disengage the pallet object, it is a normal and logical step unlock/unclamp at any point during loading/unloading of the object, such as when the pallet/object have reached their final destination.
With respect to claim 19, Mothersbaugh in view of Underbrink discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Mothersbaugh) further discloses wherein the one or more capture bars (gripper fingers 136) comprises first and second capture bars (Fig. 1 shows a first gripper finger 136 located at the bottom-left side of the Figure and a second gripper finger 136 located at the right side of the Figure), wherein positioning the pallet object onto the plate (Paragraph 0050, “In use, a load may be placed on the load-bearing surface 150 when the gripping fingers 136 are either in the second positions so that the load may be received between them”) relative to the capture assembly (gripper assembly 120) comprises positioning the pallet object into the plate such that the first and second capture bars (first and second gripper fingers 136) are positioned along opposed sides of an outer perimeter of the pallet object (see modified Fig. 1 below, gripper fingers 136 may grip a pallet load object on the left or right side of centerline 116, therefore first and second gripper fingers are located on opposed sides of the pallet object), the capture bars (first and second gripper fingers 136) being configured to engage separate portions of the outer perimeter of the pallet object when moved to the locked position (see modified Fig. 1 below, gripper fingers 136 would contact opposed sides of the pallet object when in the first/locked position).
Modified Fig. 1
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bond (U.S. Pat. No. 5297485) in view of Vaeth (U.S. Pub. No. 20200407110) in further view of Underbrink (U.S. Pub. No. 20020108540).
With respect to claim 15, Bond discloses a method for securing pallet objects relative to a pallet, the pallet (Fig. 1, stacking pallet 10) including a frame (tubes 11 and frame elements 13) configured to support a pallet object relative to a support surface (Fig. 2, load/steel plates 27 are supported above a supporting surface such as the floor), the pallet further including a capture assembly (posts 29 on tracks 21) supported relative to the plate and being configured to selectively engage and disengage the pallet object (Fig. 1 shows posts 29 contacting steel plates 27, while arrows 42 indicate posts 29 may also move away from steel plates 27), the capture assembly (posts 29 on track 21) including one or more capture bars (posts 29) movable between an unlocked position and a locked position (Col. 3, lines 47-49, “posts 29 are adjustably mounted on tracks 21 so as to be shiftable laterally along the tracks as indicated by arrows 42”), the method comprising: positioning the pallet object onto the plate relative to the capture assembly (Col. 3, lines 17-19, “a stack of rectangular steel plates 27 deposited on the pallet in the area circumscribed by four upstanding posts 29”) and one or more of the capture bars (posts 29) are in the unlocked position (Col. 3, lines 25-29, “The posts are oriented to mate relatively closely to the outline of the plates 27, so that when the plates are individually deposited into the area formed by the posts, the plates will be in near vertical registry with one another”; and such that the capture bars (posts 29) are moved to the locked position and engage with a portion of the pallet object (Col. 3, lines 51-55, “Each post is clamped in a selected stationary position while the parts are being processed, i.e. … while the pallet containing stacked parts is being transported.” Note that there is no type of actuator claimed that is responsible for the movement of the capture bars to locked caused by the movement of the pallet away from/towards the supporting surface.)
Bond fails to disclose the pallet comprises a plate configured to support a pallet object relative to a support surface.
Vaeth discloses the pallet comprises a plate (Fig. 3, anti-slippery surface plate 101-03 of basic-pallet 101) configured to support a pallet object relative to a support surface (Abstract, “basic-pallet provides the surface for placing the cargo”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pallet of Bond to include a plate such as taught by Vaeth with a reasonable expectation of success in order to distribute the weight of a load more evenly across the pallet frame, and to further provide additional surface area for supporting pallet objects with irregular bottom surfaces or overhanging structures.
Bond in view of Vaeth is silent to positioning the pallet object onto the plate while the pallet is supported by the support surface; and raising the pallet relative to the support surface.
Underbrink discloses positioning the pallet object (Fig. 1, item 10) onto the plate (upper surface of pallet deck 18) while the pallet (pallet 12) is supported by the support surface (Paragraph 0029, “ the ramp extends or slopes downwardly from one edge of the pallet deck 18 to the floor or other surface upon which the pallet is placed. As such, an item 10 can be rolled up the ramp and onto the pallet deck”); and raising the pallet relative to the support surface (Paragraph 0050, “Once the item 10 has been positioned upon and banded to the pallet 12, the palletized item can be readily moved by means of a forklift or the like”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the loading/unloading of a pallet object of Bond in view of Vaeth to include loading the object while the pallet is on a floor, and raising the pallet relative to the floor for transportation such as taught by Underbrink, with a reasonable expectation of success. Note that while Bond in view of Vaeth is silent to the pallet’s location during loading of the object, one having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably load a pallet while the pallet is on a support surface and further lift the pallet away from the support surface to transport the pallet and object. The examiner further takes official notice that while Bond in view of Vaeth is silent to the what point during transportation the posts are moved to lock/unlock positions to engage the pallet object, it is a normal and logical step to lock/clamp the object at any point during the transportation of the object, such as when it is initially loaded onto the pallet or when the pallet is lifted by a forklift. It is further normal and logical to unlock/unclamp at any point during loading/unloading of the object.
With respect to claim 20, Bond in view of Vaeth in further view of Underbrink discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Bond) further discloses wherein the pallet (stacking pallet 10) further comprises a lock assembly (Fig. 3, clamping mechanism comprising shoe 49, connector 51, and clamp actuator handle 52) configured to engage a portion of the capture assembly to maintain the one or more capture bars in the locked position (Col. 2, lines 24-26, “Raising the handle provides a mechanical advantage enabling the shoe to exert a relatively large clamping force on the track” when the posts 29 are in a locking position and engaged with steel plates 27), wherein raising the pallet relative to the support surface further comprises raising the pallet relative to the support surface (pallet 10 as modified by Underbrink is raised by forklift) such that a lock mechanism (shoe 49, actuated by handle 52) of the lock assembly is moved to an engage state (Col. 5, lines 4-9, “The clamping pressure of shoe 49 on track walls 23 is related to the effective length of link member 61… a shortened link member will increase the clamping force”) with the one or more capture bars to maintain the one or more capture bars (posts 29) in the locked position (handle 52 may be adjusted by the operator to increase the clamping force as the pallet is moved away from a supporting surface when the posts 29 are engaged with steel plates 27. Note that there is no type of actuator claimed that is responsible for the movement of the lock mechanism to engages/disengaged states caused by the movement of the pallet away from/towards the supporting surface.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 6 would be allowable for disclosing a portion of the linkage assembly is configured to contact the support surface or a member supported relative to the support surface as the pallet is moved towards the support surface such that the contact results in each capture bar of the one or more capture bars being actuated to the unlocked position.
Mothersbaugh discloses a linkage assembly, but fails to disclose a portion of the linkage assembly being configured to contact the supporting surface, resulting in the actuation of the capture bar. Mothersbaugh does disclose the linkage assembly (drive input member 180 with drive belt 160) a is connected to a drive unit coupling 192 which extends through support platform 110, however this coupling is not disclosed to contact the support surface or cause actuation of the capture bars (gripping fingers 136) upon contact with the support surface. Based on the configuration, it would be improper hindsight to modify the linkage assembly of Mothersbaugh to contact the supporting surface, resulting in the actuation of the capture bar.
Claims 7-9 would be allowable for depending from claim 6.
Claim 17 would similarly be allowable for disclosing a portion of the linkage assembly being configured to contact the support surface or a member supported relative to the support surface when the pallet is supported by the support surface, wherein lowering the pallet relative to the support surface comprises lowering the pallet relative to the support surface such that the portion of the linkage assembly contacts the support surface or the member supported relative to the support surface such that the linkage assembly actuates the one or more capture bars to the unlocked position.
Mothersbaugh in view of Underbrink discloses a linkage assembly, but fails to disclose a portion of the linkage assembly being configured to contact the supporting surface, resulting in the actuation of the capture bar. Mothersbaugh does disclose the linkage assembly (drive input member 180 with drive belt 160) a is connected to a drive unit coupling 192 which extends through support platform 110, however this coupling is not disclosed to contact the support surface or cause actuation of the capture bars (gripping fingers 136) upon contact with the support surface. Based on the configuration, it would be improper hindsight to modify the linkage assembly of Mothersbaugh in view of Underbrink to contact the supporting surface, resulting in the actuation of the capture bar.
Claim 18 would be allowable for depending from claim 17.
Conclusion
/E.I.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 3637 /DANIEL J TROY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637