DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B (figure 3), including claims 1-5, in the reply filed on 05/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiromitsu (JP 2014-52555).
Regarding claim 1, Hiromitsu (figures 1-4) discloses a reflective combiner for a head-up display device, the combiner comprising:
a substrate (11);
a reflective layer (12); and
a translucent layer (18).
Hiromitsu discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Hiromitsu is silent regarding a translucent layer having a thickness of 0.005 to 0.7 mm, wherein a reflectance of the combiner is 10% to 55% at four wavelengths of 400 nm, 500 nm, 600 nm, and 660 nm. Hiromitsu teaches a translucent layer (18) having a thickness of 0.005 to 0.7 mm, wherein a reflectance of the combiner is 10% to 55% at four wavelengths of 400 nm, 500 nm, 600 nm, and 660 nm (The colored primer layer 18 is, for example, a coating film having a thickness of about 1 to 20 μm, and can be formed of a polyester resin containing a dye or a pigment, an epoxy resin, a urethane resin, an acrylic resin, or the like. Further, the light transmittance of the colored primer layer 18 is preferably 50 to 80%; see at least page 4, 9th paragraph, the last paragraph and page 7, the last 5 paragraphs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combiner as taught by Hiromitsu in order to achieve a reflective screen which offers reduced crosstalk and capability to display high-quality 3D video images.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, Hiromitsu (figures 1-4) discloses wherein a transmittance of the combiner is 10% or less over an entire wavelength λ range of 390 to 660 nm (The reflective layer 12 can be formed on the lens surface 132 by evaporating or sputtering a metal such as aluminum, silver, or nickel; see at least page 7, the last 3 paragraphs).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 3, Hiromitsu (figures 1-4) discloses wherein the reflective layer (b) is an aluminum or aluminum alloy layer (The reflective layer 12 can be formed on the lens surface 132 by evaporating or sputtering a metal such as aluminum, silver, or nickel; see at least page 7, the last 3 paragraphs).
Regarding claim 4, Hiromitsu discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Hiromitsu is silent regarding wherein a pencil hardness on a projection display surface is F or higher. Hiromitsu teaches wherein a pencil hardness on a projection display surface is F or higher (The surface layer 19 of the present embodiment is provided on the image source side (observer O side) of the first base material layer 17 via the colored primer layer 18, and reduces scratches on the image source side surface of the reflective screen 100. It has a hard coat function, an anti-glare function, and a function to prevent image light from being reflected on the ceiling. The surface layer 19 is not limited to the above example, and may have one or more appropriate functions such as an antireflection function, an ultraviolet absorption function, an antifouling function, an antistatic function, and a touch panel function ; see at least page 4, 5th paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combiner as taught by Hiromitsu in order to achieve a reflective screen which offers reduced crosstalk and capability to display high-quality 3D video images.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, Hiromitsu (figures 1-4) discloses head-up display device comprising the reflective combiner for a head-up display device according to claim 1.
Conclusion
/Lauren Nguyen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871