DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention II, claims 8-17 in the reply filed on 22 May 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-7 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “end caps” as recited in claim 14 and “a body” as recited in claim 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification fails to describe the claimed “end caps” and “a body of the protection device” as recited in claims 14 and 16 respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bender (US 20080218305) in view of Petrovic (Petrovic, D. et al., DISSOLUTION OF A COPPER WIRE DURING A HOT-DIPPING PROCESS USING A SnCul LEAD-FREE SOLDER, Materials and technology 47 (2013) 6, 831-836).
[AltContent: textbox (metal layer)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (substrate)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (body)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 14, Bender.
Regarding claim 8, Bender teaches, a method of making a protection device (low resistance fuse apparatus, Figs. 1 to 26) that has a fusible element (fusible link 30, see annotated Fig. 14), comprising:
providing a substrate (polymer membrane 202, Fig. 14, materials for the polymer membrane 202 include…polyimide film materials, para. [0112]);
applying a metal layer (foil fuse element layer 20, Fig. 14) to the substrate; and
forming the fusible element (fuse element may be vapor deposited, screen printed, electroplated or applied to the substrate using known techniques, and fuse element geometry may be varied by chemically etching or laser trimming the metallized layer forming the fuse element, para. [0005]) from the metal layer.
Annotated Fig. 1, Petrovic.
Bender does not teach, forming the fuse element 20 by dipping in a metal bath. However, Petrovic teaches a method of making a protection device that has a fusible element in Fig. 1, by dipping in a metal bath (see Abstract, hot dipping of the wire into the soldering bath at 400 °C., page 834, col. 1).
From the teachings of Bender in para. [0155], the fuse element layer is fabricated according to a known additive process, such as electro-forming process wherein the desired shape of the fuse element layer is plated up, and from para. [0038], contact leads i.e. wire terminations,…dipped metallization terminations, one of ordinary skill in the art would have thought that hot dipping the polymer membrane 202 in a soldering bath would improve the electrical and thermal conducting properties as Petrovic disclosed in page 831, col. 2. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Petrovic, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of making the protection device of Bender and replace the metal layer 20 of the protection device of Bender with a dip coating in a metal bath as Petrovic taught in Fig. 1 so that it enables forming protection devices having improved electrical and thermal conducting properties as Petrovic disclosed in pages 831 and 835, col. 2. Moreover, metallic dip coating on a polymer substrate by hot dipping in metal bath is known in the art. If applicant disagrees, see Krulik, G.A. and Mandich, N.V. (2000). Metallic Coatings, Survey. In Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. Such a combination would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claims 9-10 and 15, modified Bender does not teach the recited limitations. However, Petrovic further teaches,
9. The method of claim 8, wherein applying the metal layer comprises applying a tin layer (dipping the Cu wire into a SnCu1 soldering bath, page 832, col. 1).
10. The method of claim 8, wherein applying the metal layer comprises applying a lead-free solder layer (see Title).
15. The method of claim 8, wherein the metal bath is a solder bath (dipped in the solder bath, page 834, col. 2).
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Petrovic, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of making the protection device of Bender and replace the metal layer 20 of the protection device with a dip coated solder layer as Petrovic taught in Fig. 1 so that it enables forming protection devices having improved electrical and thermal conducting properties as Petrovic disclosed in pages 831 and 835, col. 2.
Regarding claim 11, Bender in view of Petrovic teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 8. Bender further teaches, the method of claim 8, wherein the substrate is a polymeric substrate (polymer membrane 202 include…polyimide film materials, Fig. 14, para. [0107, 0112]).
Regarding claim 12, Bender in view of Petrovic teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 8. Bender further teaches, the method of claim 8, further comprising laser stripping a portion of the metal layer to form the fusible element (fuse element geometry may be varied by chemically etching or laser trimming the metallized layer forming the fuse element, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Bender in view of Petrovic teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 12. Bender further teaches, the method of claim 12, wherein laser stripping comprises removing material from the metal layer to define a geometry of the fusible element (see para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 14, Bender in view of Petrovic teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 8. Bender further teaches, the method of claim 8, further comprising attaching end caps to the substrate (the fuse element extends between conductive end caps, para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 16, Bender in view of Petrovic teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 8. Bender further teaches, the method of claim 8, further comprising forming a body of the protection device (see Fig. 14, fuse element layer 20 sandwiched between upper and lower intermediate insulating layers 22, 24 which, in turn, are sandwiched between upper and lower outer insulation layers 122, 124, para. [0079]) around the fusible element.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bender in view of Petrovic, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Rybka (US 20040034993).
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (channel)]
Annotated Fig. 5, Rybka.
Regarding claim 17, modified Bender does not teach, substrate having a preformed channel. However, Rybka teaches, a protection device (circuit protection device, Abstract) that has a fusible element (fusible element 42, Fig. 5), comprising: providing a substrate (sheet 20, Fig. 4, para. [0069]); applying a metal layer to the substrate by dipping the substrate in a metal bath (photoresist onto the linear regions 40 and their fusible links 42, metal will not adhere to the linear regions 40 when the sheet 20 is dipped into an electrolytic bath containing a metal, para. [0069]); and forming the fusible element from the metal layer (fusible element 42, Fig. 5), in which, providing the substrate comprises providing a substrate having a preformed channel (see annotated Fig. 5 above). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Rybka, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of making the protection device of Bender and to include the substrate having a preformed channel as Rybka taught in Fig. 5 so that it enables forming the metal layers at the desired places on the substrate while simultaneously manufacturing a plurality of protection devices.
Conclusion
Prior art Jin (US 20240388044) teaches, a protection device that has a fusible element, comprising: providing a substrate; applying a metal layer to the substrate by dipping the substrate in a metal bath; and forming the fusible element from the metal layer.
Prior art Nishio (EP 0481493) teaches, a protection device that has a fusible element, providing a substrate; applying a metal layer to the substrate by dipping the substrate in a metal bath; and forming the fusible element from the metal layer.
Prior art Kalra (US 6147585) teaches, a protection device including, providing a substrate; applying a metal layer to the substrate by dipping the substrate in a metal bath; and forming the fusible element from the metal layer.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729