Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the objection to claims 15 and 19. Applicant argues the objection is improper because claim 15 does not actually require the member to be a single member.
In response to this it appears Applicant is attempting to claim two separate embodiments one in claim 17 that requires the member is formed of a single member and one in claim 19 where the member includes one or more layers. Examiner appreciates this clarification and the objection is withdrawn. For claim interpretation the member and or layer/layers are not distinguished in any particular way in claims 15, 17, 19 thus any portion of the member may be considered a layer.
Applicant argues that amended claim 9 requires that the sidewalls have a streak from the first opening to the bottom surface or second opening. The second opening is alternative in the claims thus this argument is moot to the present rejection. Applicant argues that Okada contains no disclosure that a streak exists and Examiner relies on inherency. Examiner maintains a skilled artisan knows the dry etching yields a streak in the drywall as evidenced by:
JP 2007005528
when dry etching is performed as described above, as shown in FIGS. 8 and 9, in the trench groove 111 formed in the silicon substrate 101, streak-like disturbances in the depth direction may occur on the side wall surface 111a. Protruding residue 111b is generated
EP 4033526
DRIE (“Deep Reactive Ionic Etching”) etching of a silicon layer or substrate makes it possible to structure the sides of the etched zone and to have a “scalloping” effect (or “scalloping” or “scalloping”). streaks" or "roughness")
TW 202114075
By adjusting the amount of oxygen incorporated in the silicon nitride in this part of the stack, these problems can be limited or solved. For example, due to the lateral etching of silicon nitride by free radical effluent in the RIE process, some bends and streaks may occur, which may expose additional silicon oxide and increase the amount of etching of those materials, thereby increasing the impact. By limiting the influence on the nitride material, the influence on the oxide material can also be reduced, thereby improving these problems and the uniformity of the formation of memory holes. By increasing the amount of oxygen incorporated in the nitride layer in areas where streaks and/or bends may occur, the resistance to lateral etching can be increase
US 20200395274
[0027] When the taper angle θ.sub.1 is small, even a side surface portion of the protective film formed in step (2) in the Bosch process described above, other than the bottom portion, is partially removed in step (3), and etching progresses from a portion where silicon as the substrate 111 is exposed. When etching progresses from the portion where silicon is exposed in this manner, a hole 145 having a vertical streak shape is formed as shown in FIG. 5C.
JP2019215317
When the silicon material 22 is formed by processing a silicon wafer 40 (see FIG. 3) by RIE (reactive ion etching) or the like, a defect 23 such as a notch or a vertical streak occurs on the side surface 22A of the silicon material 22. (See FIGS. 2A and 2B).
JP 2015119170
In the chemical etching process, each of the plurality of chip main bodies has a streak-like concave portion extending from a surface of the chip main body on which the protective film is formed toward a surface on the opposite side. The method according to any one of [1] to [7], which is performed so as to have a convex portion.
All included herein.
Applicant further argues that Okada does not depict the recessed structure has a taper angle between 0-2 degrees. The office cites Okada Fig 1 which depicts parallel sidewalls thus an angle between 0-2 degrees and further indicates Okada does not disclose the dimensions of the recess however it would be obvious to one
skilled in the art to for the recess as motivated to achieve the desired shape semiconductor.
In Gardner V. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S.
830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device
In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that absent persuasive
evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.
Applicant argues the taper angle defines the geometry of the recessed structure is substantially perpendicular. In response Fig 1 of Okada depicts perpendicular recessed structure. Applicant has made no substantial argument why this shape could not also be optimized. Applicant provides no unexpected results to the claimed angle that teach it would not be obvious to one skilled in the art to for the recess as motivated to achieve the desired shape semiconductor. The arguments that one of ordinary skill in the art could not and would not optimize the shape of the recess as motivated to achieve the desired shape of the semiconductor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (US 20170358458) and as evidenced by Ikeda JP 2007005528
Regarding claims 9 and 13, Okada discloses a member such as semiconductor [0024] comprising;
A recessed structure (110) formed by an opening in a first surface and surrounding side walls considered a bottomed surface and a through structure (see at least Fig 1)
The first surface comprises Si as depicted in Fig. 1 [0024]-[0026].
Okada discloses the recess formed by etching [0026]-[0027] thus at least one streak will exist as indicated in the specification of the present application [0128]-[0130] as further evidenced by Ikeda (at least the abstract, Page 2 ¶3, Page 8 ¶7, drawing descriptions)
When the silicon material 22 is formed by processing a silicon wafer 40 (see FIG. 3) by RIE (reactive ion etching) or the like, a defect 23 such as a notch or a vertical streak occurs on the side surface 22A of the silicon material 22. (See FIGS. 2A and 2B).
Okada does not specifically disclose the dimensions of the recess as claimed however depicts an angle between 0-2 in Fig. 1
Furthermore, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to for the recess as motivated to achieve the desired shape semiconductor.
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device
In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.
Regarding claim 10, the surface of the recess is silica thus comprising O (fig 1)
Regarding claim 12, the recessed structure (110) is considered a bottomed groove, or bottomed hole, or bottomed groove given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding claim 14, Okada discloses the member may have a film of silica or silicon nitride [0028].
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (US 20170358458).
Regarding claim 15, Okada discloses a member such as semiconductor [0024] comprising;
A recessed structure (110) formed by an opening in a first surface and surrounding side walls considered a bottomed surface and a through structure (see at least Fig 1)
The first surface comprises Si as depicted in Fig. 1 [0024]-[0026].
Okada discloses the recess formed by etching [0026]-[0027] thus at least one streak will exist as indicated in the specification of the present application [0128]-[0130].
Okada does not disclose the dimensions of the recess however it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to for the recess as motivated to achieve the desired shape semiconductor.
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device
In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.
the specification of the present application [0128]-[0130].
Regarding claim 16, the surface of the recess is silica thus comprising O (fig 1)
Regarding claims 17-19, the member (Fig. 1) disclosed by Okada may be a crystalline [0024], or silica glass [0024] considered to be formed of multiple members or a single member and multiple layers (Fig 1) given the broadest reasonable interpretation as none of the members have been defined
the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice."; but see Schenck v. Nortron Corp., 713 F.2d 782, 218 USPQ 698 (Fed. Cir. 1983)
Regarding claim 20, Okada discloses the member may have a film of silica or silicon nitride [0028].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JODI COHEN FRANKLIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741