DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 6/17/26.
In the response Applicant amended claim(s) 1, 9, 17, 20.
Currently, claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
In the instant application, claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1:
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are drawn to at least one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition).
Step 2A:
However, claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
For instance, regarding independent claim(s) 1, 17, 20,
Prong 1 analysis:
The limitations of “receiving a user request to set up a user profile for an athletic activity point system, wherein the user request includes user profile information; receiving activity information as the user performs a first athletic activity; verifying the first athletic activity, wherein verifying the first athletic activity includes determining that the activity information falls within one or more thresholds associated with the user that are determined based on the user profile information; selecting, based on a classification of the activity monitoring device, a rate for converting activity data associated with the first athletic activity to virtual activity points; upon verifying the first athletic activity, determining a first amount of activity points to allocate to the user profile based on the first athletic activity; allocating the first amount of activity points to the user profile; and providing a activity point display showing the first amount of virtual activity points accumulated from the first athletic activity and one or more aspects of the first athletic activity”, are considered to fall within the mental processes grouping. The recited limitations, as drafted, cover performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting generic computer elements, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
Furthermore, dependent claims 2-16, 18-19 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed.
Prong 2 analysis:
The above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the additional elements “a computer, a processor, a virtual system, an activity monitoring device associated with a user”, are generically recited computer elements that do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer. The claimed elements are recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering and data transmission, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Each of the additional limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As such, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B:
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Furthermore, in view of Berkheimer, the recited additional elements are considered as conventional activity. For instance, Lyke et al. (2021/0093919) teaches the recited additional elements (Fig 3, 5A-5B, ¶¶0060, 0114-0117, 0122-0123).
In addition, with regards to dependent claims, the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
For instance, regarding claims 1-20, each claim describes physical or software elements that provide a generic environment in which to carry out the abstract idea, which is similar to the conventional activity or as insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting information, based on types of information, for collection, analysis and display in EPG, gathering, receiving and transmitting data in Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs., buySAFE, performing repetitive calculation in Flook, Bancorp, and rules in In re Smith.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-20 is/are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-12, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyke et al. (2021/0093919) in view of Catani et al. (2015/0364057) and Hoffman et al. (2018/0114287).
Re Claim 1,
Lyke discloses a computer-assisted method comprising:
receiving, from an activity monitoring device associated with a user, activity information as the user performs a first athletic activity (Fig 2A, ¶¶0086, 0095, 0124-0127; one or more activities performed by the user with measurable physiological and/or psychological impact are collected via one or more sensors of the user device interface);
verifying the first athletic activity, wherein verifying the first athletic activity includes determining that the activity information falls within one or more thresholds associated with the user that are determined based on the user profile information (¶¶0053-0055, 0063-0064, 0071-0072, 0099, 0105-0106; the user interface provides dynamic feedback during the workout by comparing a user’s performance with the expected performance, further, AI can be used to filter populations of users into subsets having similar characteristics, wherein the user profile may be updated based on analysis of the user's workout data records);
providing a display showing one or more aspects of the first athletic activity (Fig 2A, ¶¶0051-0052; a dynamic feedback user interface is displayed on the user’s device).
Lyke does not explicitly disclose receiving a user request to set up a user profile for an athletic activity virtual point system, wherein the user request includes user profile information, upon verifying the first athletic activity, determining a first amount of virtual activity points to allocate to the user profile based on the first athletic activity, allocating the first amount of virtual activity points to the user profile, and displaying the first amount of virtual activity points accumulated from the first athletic activity, and selecting, based on a classification of the activity monitoring device, a rate for converting activity data associated with the first athletic activity to virtual activity points.
However, Catani teaches receiving a user request to set up a user profile for an athletic activity virtual point system, wherein the user request includes user profile information, upon verifying the first athletic activity, determining a first amount of virtual activity points to allocate to the user profile based on the first athletic activity, allocating the first amount of virtual activity points to the user profile, and displaying the first amount of virtual activity points accumulated from the first athletic activity (Fig 4-5, 7-10, ¶¶0022, 0073, 0223-0224, 0228-0229, 0245-0246). Catani further teaches such a configuration allows the system to provide recommended activities selected for that particular user based on the user's preferences (¶0224). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Catani into the workout system of Lyke in order to provide recommended activities selected for that particular user based on the user's preferences.
Hoffman teaches selecting, based on a classification of the activity monitoring device, a rate for converting activity data associated with the first athletic activity to virtual activity points (Fig 13, ¶0113). Hoffman further teaches such a configuration increases a user's interest in participating in athletic activities or using the athletic activity services (¶0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Hoffman into the system of Lyke in order to increase a user's interest in participating in athletic activities or using the athletic activity services.
Re Claim 2,
Lyke discloses receiving user profile information includes receiving benchmark activity data, from the activity monitoring device, as the user performs a benchmark activity, and wherein the one or more thresholds for the user are determined based on the benchmark activity data (¶¶0047-0050).
Re Claim 3,
Lyke discloses receiving a plurality of user input parameters, wherein the plurality of user input parameters includes one or more of: age, sex, height, weight, medical issue, pace, heart rate, athletic equipment identification, target athletic goal, and personal record, and wherein the one or more thresholds for the user are determined based on at least one of the plurality of user input parameters (¶¶0063, 0081).
Re Claims 4, 18,
Lyke discloses training a machine learning model to determine the one or more thresholds for the user based on the plurality of user input parameters and accumulated data of a plurality of users across various user demographics, and wherein the one or more thresholds for the user are updated based on activity information as the user performs one or more athletic activities (¶¶0046, 0064, 0076-0078).
Re Claim 5,
Lyke discloses verifying the first athletic activity includes training a machine learning model to identify anomalous activity associated with the user profile based on at least the user profile information (¶¶0046, 0064, 0076-0078).
Re Claim 6,
Lyke discloses authenticating the user associating with the user profile before the user begins the first athletic activity (¶0378).
Re Claims 8, 19,
Lyke discloses upon determining that the activity information falls outside of the one or more thresholds associated with the user, determining a likelihood of anomalous data based on at least one of:a type of anomaly in the activity information or an extent to which the activity information falls outside of the one or more thresholds (¶¶0046, 0064, 0076-0078).
Re Claim 9,
Lyke discloses all limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose determining a first amount of virtual activity points includes: determining one or more parameters associated with the first athletic activity selected from: a level of effort by the user while performing the first athletic activity, a type of activity of the first athletic activity, and a time for the user to complete the first athletic activity; and selecting, based on the one or more parameters associated with the first athletic activity, a conversion rate from a plurality of rates for converting activity data to virtual activity points. However, Catani teaches determining a first amount of virtual activity points includes: determining one or more parameters associated with the first athletic activity selected from: a level of effort by the user while performing the first athletic activity, a type of activity of the first athletic activity, and a time for the user to complete the first athletic activity; and selecting, based on the one or more parameters associated with the first athletic activity, a conversion rate from a plurality of rates for converting activity data to virtual activity points (¶¶0022, 0073, 0223-0224, 0228-0229, 0245-0246).
Re Claim 10,
Lyke discloses all limitations as set forth above including determining a level of effort by the user while performing the first athletic activity; and comparing the level of effort by the user while performing the first athletic activity to a baseline effort of the user, wherein the baseline effort of the user is determined by training a machine learning model based on data from the user as the user performs one or more previous athletic activities and/or based on user profile information but does not explicitly disclose determining a first amount of virtual activity points. However, Catani teaches determining a first amount of virtual activity points (¶¶0022, 0073, 0223-0224, 0228-0229, 0245-0246). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claim 11,
Lyke discloses all limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose providing a workout display to a user device during the first athletic activity, wherein the workout display includes an estimate of activity points accumulated during the first athletic activity. However, Catani teaches providing a workout display to a user device during the first athletic activity, wherein the workout display includes an estimate of activity points accumulated during the first athletic activity (¶¶0022, 0073, 0223-0224, 0228-0229, 0245-0246). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claim 12,
Lyke discloses all limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the virtual activity point display includes a detailed activity point breakdown including with one or more parameters associated with the first athletic activity, one or more sections of the first athletic activity, and allotted points for each of the one or more sections. However, Catani teaches the virtual activity point display includes a detailed activity point breakdown including with one or more parameters associated with the first athletic activity, one or more sections of the first athletic activity, and allotted points for each of the one or more sections (¶¶0022, 0073, 0223-0224, 0228-0229, 0231, 0245-0246). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claim 15,
Lyke discloses upon determining that the activity information falls outside of one or more thresholds associated with the user, determining if the activity information is indicative of an anomaly relative to the user profile, and issuing an alert to a user device indicating that the activity information is indicative of an anomaly and prompting the user for a follow up verification (¶¶0064, 0078).
Re Claim 16,
Lyke discloses determining if the user has missed a scheduled activity; and issuing a prompt to a user device for the user to perform one or more replacement activities, wherein the one or more replacement activities are selected based on being associated with a potential virtual point allotment in proportion to a potential virtual point allotment of the missed scheduled activity (¶¶0053, 0093-0094).
Re Claims 17, 20,
Claims are substantially similar to claim 1. See claim 1 for rejection and motivation.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyke et al. (2021/0093919) in view of Catani et al. (2015/0364057) and and Hoffman et al. (2018/0114287), further in view of Sonbol (2020/0321090).
Re Claim 7,
Lyke as modified by Catani and Hoffman discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on presenting a photo prompt to a display of a user device; receiving a photo responsive to user interaction with the photo prompt; and verifying, using an image recognition algorithm, that the photo matches image characteristics of the user associated with the user profile within a threshold amount. However, Sonbol teaches presenting a photo prompt to a display of a user device; receiving a photo responsive to user interaction with the photo prompt; and verifying, using an image recognition algorithm, that the photo matches image characteristics of the user associated with the user profile within a threshold amount (¶¶0019, 0024, 0028). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Sonbol into the workout system of Lyke as modified by Catani and Hoffman in order to provide a secure way to verify the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re 35 U.S.C. §101 Rejection,
Step 2A, Prong One,
Applicant argues that claim 1 recites limitations that cannot practically performed in the human mind. For instance, Applicant argues that “receiving, from an activity monitory device associated with a user, activity information as the user performs a first athletic activity”, “selecting, based on a classification of the activity monitoring device, a rate for converting activity data associated with the first athletic activity to virtual activity points”, and “providing a activity point display showing the first amount of virtual activity points accumulated from the first athletic activity and one or more aspects of the first athletic activity” requires computational processing that cannot practically be performed in the human mind. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The recited limitations describe the abstract idea of “collecting information, i.e., receiving limitation, analyzing it, i.e., selecting limitation, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis, i.e., displaying limitation.” The fact that the limitations use a computer does not make the idea non-abstract.
Step 2A, Prong Two,
Applicant argues that the amended claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application - namely the claims solve a problem of individuals may sometime look for ways to game the system. This argument is not persuasive. The recited elements of verifying activity data, selecting a conversion rate, and determining virtual activity points specify what results should be achieved rather than a particular technological improvement. In other words, the recited limitations describe desired results for the claimed invention and has not identified any “improved technological result” generated by the identified limitations. Cf. McRO, 837 F.3d at 1316.
Applicant further compares the claims to PEG example 40. Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Example 40, the claim integrates the abstract idea into a practical application by providing an improved network monitoring. Here, the limitations of selecting a rate based on a classification of the activity monitoring device and determining points based on the selected rate does not provide any computer networking improvement. Instead, the limitations describe a process of analyzing the collected data and generating a result based on the collected information. There is no recited improvement to the functioning of the computer itself (e.g., no change to memory hierarchy, graphics pipeline, input handling, networking, or processor operation). The claims do not specify a particular technical data structure or algorithm that improves computer performance. Applicant further compares the present claims to the PTAB’s decision of Ex parte Jose Luis Lemus Martin. This argument is not persuasive. As noted, the PTAB’s decision is not precedential decision. Further, in Ex parte Jose Luis Lemus Martin, the claimed invention optimizing power usage, that is, a technological improvement. Here, the limitations of data verification and rate selection do not provide any known technological improvement. Therefore, for the reasons as set forth above, the 101 rejection has been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6/17/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715