DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In claims 1, 15 and 18, Applicant requires “the protector having a fixed length”. A first interpretation would be that the protector has an unchanging length. This is not consistent with Applicant’s specification as the protector is either item 20 (fig 2) or item 90 (fig 12). In both instances, the protector is comprised of telescoping elements, such that the protector cannot be considered to have a fixed length in a traditional sense. Further, this telescoping is critical to some claimed elements (such as 3, which allows the catheter hub and distal end of the elongated member to be positioned at certain points along the device, which would not be possible if the protector had to be a single, unchanging length but still capable of covering the needle extending from the elongated member). Instead it is interpreted as having a fixed length in that it is rigid (as opposed to collapsible).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 10, Applicant requires “the restraining portion” and “the pair of support arms”, both of which lack antedecent basis. It is treated as if it depends from claim 5.
Similarly to claim 10, claim 11 has “the pair of support arms” and claim 12 has “the restraining portion”, again lacking antecedent basis. Both claims are treated as if they depend from claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-9, 13, 14, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchard et al (US 2011/0282285) in view of Carrell et al (US 4,944,728).
Regarding claim 1, Blanchard discloses a catheter assembly comprising: a catheter 44; a catheter hub 46 configured to be fixed to a proximal end portion of the catheter (fig 12A); a needle 116 having a needlepoint (fig 11D), the needle configured to be inserted into the catheter and separated from the catheter (fig 14F); a protector 146; an elongated member 110 coupled to the needle and overlapping at least a portion of the needle that is distal of the protector in an initial state (fig 12A); the protector being displaceable in an axial direction with respect to the elongated member (figs 14A-14F), and wherein in the initial state, the catheter and the needle are exposed from a distal end of the elongated member, and the elongated member overlaps the catheter hub and the protector (fig 14A).
While Blanchard substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose the protector having a fixed length configured to overlap an entire length of the needle protruding from the elongated member in accordance with evulsion of the needle from the catheter.
Carrell discloses a protector 26 having a fixed length configured to overlap an entire length of the needle 18 protruding from the elongated member 22 in accordance with evulsion of the needle from the catheter (figs 2 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Blanchard such that the protector has a fixed length configured to overlap an entire length of the needle protruding from the elongated member in accordance with evulsion of the needle from the catheter as taught by Carrell to fully shield the needle body after its use.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the needle is a rigid tubular member (fig 11C, rigid in that it is capable of piercing the skin and guiding/implanting the catheter), and the needle in the initial state includes a part in a longitudinal direction inserted into the catheter hub and a proximal end of the needle is inside of the elongated member (fig 11D).
Regarding claim 6, wherein an operating portion 172 for operating the catheter hub is provided on the catheter hub; and in the initial state, at least a part of the operating portion is exposed from the elongated member (fig 14A).
Regarding claim 7, further comprising: wherein the elongated member includes a slit extending in the axial direction of the elongated member (fig 14B); and wherein the at least the part of the operating portion exposed from the elongated member is exposed on an outside of the elongated member through the slit (fig 14B).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the operating portion includes a pair of flexible wings mutually protruding in opposite directions from the catheter hub (fig 14D).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the protector is detachably fitted to a proximal end of the catheter hub (figs 14E and 14F).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the elongated member and the protector overlap the entire length of the needle (see combination in claim 1).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the protector located at the proximal side of the catheter hub is configured to move in a distal direction against the elongated member to cover a needlepoint of the needle (fig 14F).
Regarding claim 18, Blanchard discloses an assembly comprising: an outer needle 44; a hub 46 configured to be fixed to a proximal end portion of the outer needle (fig 12A); an inner needle 116 having a needlepoint (fig 11D), the inner needle configured to inserted into the outer needle and to be separated from the outer needle (fig 14F); a protector 146; an elongated member 110 coupled to the inner needle and overlapping at least a portion of the inner needle that is distal of the protector in an initial state (fig 12A); the protector being displaceable in an axial direction with respect to the elongated member (figs 14A-14F); and wherein in the initial state, the inner needle and the outer needle are exposed from a distal end of the elongated member, and the elongated member overlaps the hub and the protector (fig 14A).
While Blanchard substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose the protector having a fixed length configured to overlap an entire length of the needle protruding from the elongated member in accordance with evulsion of the needle from the catheter.
Carrell discloses a protector 26 having a fixed length configured to overlap an entire length of the needle 18 protruding from the elongated member 22 in accordance with evulsion of the needle from the catheter (figs 2 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Blanchard such that the protector has a fixed length configured to overlap an entire length of the needle protruding from the elongated member in accordance with evulsion of the needle from the catheter as taught by Carrell to fully shield the needle body after its use.
Regarding claim 20, further comprising: an operating portion 172 configured to operate the hub disposed on the hub (fig 14A), and in the initial state, at least a part of the operating portion is exposed from the elongated member (fig 14A); and wherein the protector is detachably fitted to a proximal end of the hub (fig 14F).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2 and 4-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,173,037. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are generally broader and any differences are obvious in view of the references used in the art rejections.
Claims 1, 2 and 4-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,953,201. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are generally broader and any differences are obvious in view of the references used in the art rejections.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The examiner did not find a teaching or suggestion for modifying closest art Blanchard in view of Carrell wherein in the initial state, a proximal end of the catheter hub is positioned on a proximal end side beyond a position of a center in the axial direction of the elongated member, and the distal end of the elongated member is positioned on a distal end side beyond a position of a center in a longitudinal direction of the catheter, absent impermissible hindsight. While a telescoping protector is also known in the art (see for example Nakajima – US 2004/0044313; a telescoping arrangement being the closest one could get to the claimed arrangement), it would not necessarily follow that the combination would result in the claimed arrangement, and the examiner did not find any other teaching or suggestion for the arrangement.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY J OSINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783