DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, Figs. 2-4, in the reply filed on 8/26/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim, and election.
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-8 have been amended, and claim 2 has been canceled. Applicant’s amendments to the claims are noted.
Therefore, claims 1 and 3-9 have been fully considered in examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ),
second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject
matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the
applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3, and 7 each recite “a second barrier layer forming a second 2DEG region at the interface with the channel layer within the second device.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation, because the only previously recited interface is within the first device. For examination purposes, it is interpreted as “an interface.”
Claims 4-6 and 8-9 are also rejected as being dependent on rejected claims 3 and 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheridan (US 2019/0355844 A1) in view of Ding et al. (CN 105609552 B, hereinafter “Ding”).
Regarding claim 1, Sheridan teaches a high electron mobility transistor (HEMT) (Fig. 2, HEMT device 100), comprising:
a first drain terminal (first electrode 140-1);
a gate terminal (gate electrode 135);
a second drain terminal (second electrode 140-2);
a channel layer (GaN layer 115), a portion of which forms a first device together with the first drain terminal and the gate terminal (first portion of GaN layer 115 between first electrode 140-1 and gate electrode 135), and another portion of which forms a second device together with the second drain terminal and the gate terminal (second portion of GaN layer 115 between gate electrode 135 and second electrode 140-2);
a first barrier layer (portion of AlGaN layer 120 within the first portion of GaN layer 115 between first electrode 140-1 and gate electrode 135) forming a first two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG) region at an interface with the channel layer within the first device (Para [0020], 2DEG at the AlGaN/GaN hetero-junction at the interface); and
a second barrier layer (portion of AlGaN layer 120 within the second portion of GaN layer 115 between gate electrode 135 and second electrode 140-2) forming a second 2DEG region at the interface with the channel layer within the second device (Para [0020]);
wherein the first device operates as a voltage blocking device, and the second device operates as a switching device (Para [0020], bi-directional switch with asymmetric blocking, LGD1 ≠ LGD2, in which gate electrode 135 controls the current flow between electrodes 140-1 and 140-2; the structure is capable of voltage blocking in the first device and switching in the second device, see MPEP § 2114).
But Sheridan does not teach wherein the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer have different material properties from each other.
However, Ding teaches wherein the first barrier layer (Fig. 1, second barrier layer 32, gate-drain side, Al composition decreasing from 0.3 to 0.25) and the second barrier layer (Fig. 1, first barrier layer 31, gate-source side, Al composition 0.3) have different material properties from each other (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the barrier layer of Sheridan with different material properties on each side of the gate, as taught by Ding, in order to reduce the current collapse effect (Ding, Fig. 2). KSR, MPEP § 2143 (A)/(G).
Regarding claim 3, Sheridan teaches a high electron mobility transistor (HEMT) (Fig. 2, HEMT device 100), comprising:
a first drain terminal (first electrode 140-1);
a gate terminal (gate electrode 135);
a second drain terminal (second electrode 140-2);
a channel layer (GaN layer 115), a portion of which forms a first device together with the first drain terminal and the gate terminal (first portion of GaN layer 115 between first electrode 140-1 and gate electrode 135), and another portion of which forms a second device together with the second drain terminal and the gate terminal (second portion of GaN layer 115 between gate electrode 135 and second electrode 140-2);
a first barrier layer (portion of AlGaN layer 120 within the first portion of GaN layer 115 between first electrode 140-1 and gate electrode 135) forming a first two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG) region at an interface with the channel layer within the first device (Para [0020], 2DEG at the AlGaN/GaN hetero-junction at the interface); and
a second barrier layer (portion of AlGaN layer 120 within the second portion of GaN layer 115 between gate electrode 135 and second electrode 140-2) forming a second 2DEG region at the interface with the channel layer within the second device (Para [0020]),
wherein the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer each comprise an AlGaN material (Para [0020], AlGaN layer 120).
But Sheridan does not teach wherein the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer have different material properties from each other, and each have Al mole fraction therein, the Al mole fractions being different from each other.
However, Ding teaches wherein the first barrier layer (Fig. 1, second barrier layer 32, gate-drain side, Al composition decreasing from 0.3 to 0.25) and the second barrier layer (Fig. 1, first barrier layer 31, gate-source side, Al composition 0.3) have different material properties from each other, and each have Al mole fraction therein, the Al mole fractions being different from each other (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the AlGaN barrier layer of Sheridan with different Al mole fractions on each side of the gate, as taught by Ding, in order to reduce the current collapse effect (Ding, Fig. 2). KSR, MPEP § 2143 (A)/(G).
Regarding claim 6, Sheridan in view of Ding teaches the HEMT of claim 3, and Sheridan further teaches wherein a length between the first drain terminal and the gate terminal on an upper surface of the channel layer is different from a length between the second drain terminal and the gate terminal (Para [0020], LGD1 ≠ LGD2).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheridan in view of Ding as applied to claim 3, and further in view of Brierley (US 2010/0219452 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Sheridan in view of Ding teaches the HEMT of claim 3, wherein the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer have different Al mole fractions (Ding, Fig. 1, different Al mole fractions of barrier layers 31 and 32).
But Sheridan in view of Ding does not explicitly teach wherein, due to differences in material properties between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer, electron densities of the first 2DEG region and the second 2DEG region are different from each other.
However, Brierley teaches that a higher Al composition of the AlGaN barrier layer yields a larger 2DEG density (Fig. 2 and Para [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the Al mole fractions of the first and second barrier layers of Sheridan in view of Ding such that the first and second 2DEG regions have different electron densities, as taught by Brierley, in order to reduce on-resistance in the access regions while maintaining breakdown voltage (Brierley, Para [0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Sheridan in view of Ding and Brierley teaches the HEMT of claim 4, wherein an electron density of the second 2DEG region is higher than an electron density of the first 2DEG region (Ding, Fig. 1, first barrier layer 31 has the higher Al mole fraction of 0.3 than the second barrier layer 32; Brierley, Fig. 2 and Para [0003], a higher Al composition yields a larger 2DEG density).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheridan in view of Ding, and further in view of Ni et al. (US 2020/0052102 A1, hereinafter “Ni”).
Regarding claim 7, Sheridan teaches a high electron mobility transistor (HEMT) (Fig. 2, HEMT device 100), comprising:
a first drain terminal (first electrode 140-1);
a gate terminal (gate electrode 135);
a second drain terminal (second electrode 140-2);
a channel layer (GaN layer 115), a portion of which forms a first device together with the first drain terminal and the gate terminal (first portion of GaN layer 115 between first electrode 140-1 and gate electrode 135), and another portion of which forms a second device together with the second drain terminal and the gate terminal (second portion of GaN layer 115 between gate electrode 135 and second electrode 140-2);
a first barrier layer (portion of AlGaN layer 120 within the first portion of GaN layer 115 between first electrode 140-1 and gate electrode 135) forming a first two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG) region at an interface with the channel layer within the first device (Para [0020], 2DEG at the AlGaN/GaN hetero-junction at the interface); and
a second barrier layer (portion of AlGaN layer 120 within the second portion of GaN layer 115 between gate electrode 135 and second electrode 140-2) forming a second 2DEG region at the interface with the channel layer within the second device (Para [0020]).
But Sheridan does not teach wherein the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer have different material properties from each other, and doping concentrations in the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer are different from each other.
However, Ding teaches wherein the first barrier layer (Fig. 1, second barrier layer 32, gate-drain side, Al composition decreasing from 0.3 to 0.25) and the second barrier layer (Fig. 1, first barrier layer 31, gate-source side, Al composition 0.3) have different material properties from each other (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the barrier layer of Sheridan with different material properties on each side of the gate, as taught by Ding, in order to reduce the current collapse effect (Ding, Fig. 2). KSR, MPEP § 2143 (A)/(G).
But Sheridan in view of Ding does not teach wherein doping concentrations in the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer are different from each other.
However, Ni teaches AlGaN barrier layers having different n-type doping concentrations (Figs. 1-2, sub-layers t1 and t2 having n-type doping levels B1 and B2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first and second barrier layers of Sheridan in view of Ding with different doping concentrations, as taught by Ni, in order to screen surface traps and reduce RF dispersion (Ni, Para [0004]).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheridan in view of Ding and Ni as applied to claim 7, and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2006/0006415 A1, hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 8, Sheridan in view of Ding and Ni teaches the HEMT of claim 7, and Sheridan further teaches wherein:
the HEMT is a horizontal type (Fig. 2, HEMT device 100); and
the channel layer is disposed below the first drain terminal, the gate terminal, and the second drain terminal in a vertical direction (Fig. 2, GaN layer 115 below first electrode 140-1, gate electrode 135, and second electrode 140-2); the first drain terminal, the gate terminal, and the second drain terminal are disposed in that order in a horizontal direction (Fig. 2, Para [0020], first electrode 140-1 and second electrode 140-2 disposed on two opposite sides of gate electrode 135).
But Sheridan in view of Ding and Ni does not teach a ground plate is disposed between the gate terminal and the second drain terminal in the horizontal direction.
However, Wu teaches a ground plate is disposed between the gate terminal and the second drain terminal in the horizontal direction (Figs. 1-2 and Para [0038], field plate 30 formed on spacer layer 26 between gate 24 and drain electrode 22; Para [0040], the field plate 30 is electrically connected to the source electrode 20; Para [0046], grounded field plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the source-connected field plate of Wu between the gate terminal and the second drain terminal of Sheridan in view of Ding and Ni, in order to reduce the peak electric field and gate-to-drain capacitance (Wu, Para [0025]).
Regarding claim 9, Sheridan in view of Ding, Ni, and Wu teaches the HEMT of claim 8, wherein the ground plate is disposed between the gate terminal and the second drain terminal and is not disposed between the gate terminal and the first drain terminal (Wu, Figs. 1-2 and Para [0038], field plate 30 formed between gate 24 and drain electrode 22; Wu, Fig. 1 and Para [0041], field plate 30 connected to source electrode 20 through conductive path 34 running outside the active area; Sheridan, Fig. 2 and Para [0020], field plates 135-FP1 and 135-FP2 are formed on gate 135 as part of the gate terminal).
Conclusion
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JAHAE KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2897