DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Choung et al. (US 2022/0344417 A1; hereinafter “Choung”). Any dependent claims rejected regarding this claim set will depend from claim 1A.
In regard to claim 1, Choung teaches a display panel (an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display) (paragraph 2), comprising:
an array substrate (a substrate 102) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 24);
a plurality of light-emitting units (a metal layer 104, OLED material 112, and cathode 114 in a plurality of sub-pixels 106 forms the light emitting units) arranged on the array substrate (the plurality of sub-pixels 106 are shown on the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B) (Fig. 1B, paragraphs 23 and 25);
an isolation structure (overhang structures 110 including PDL structures 126 form the isolation structures) arranged on the array substrate and separating the plurality of light-emitting units (overhang structures 110 further define each sub-pixel 106) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 26); and
an encapsulation layer (a global encapsulation layer 120 and encapsulation layer 116) comprising at least a first encapsulation layer (Fig. 1B and paragraph 33), each of the at least a first encapsulation layer arranged on a side of a corresponding light-emitting unit of the plurality of light-emitting units away from the array substrate (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown on the topside of the substrate 102) (Fig. 1B), an orthographic projection of the light-emitting unit on the array substrate being located within an orthographic projection of a corresponding first encapsulation layer on the array substrate (the orthographic projection of the encapsulation layer 116 is shown containing the orthographic projection of the elements that form the light emitting unit as shown in Fig. 1B), and at least a part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the corresponding light-emitting unit being located between the corresponding light-emitting unit and the isolation structure (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown extending past the elements that form the light emitting unit on to the overhang structure 110 in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 2, Choung teaches wherein the at least a first encapsulation layer comprises a plurality of first encapsulation layers, adjacent first encapsulation layers are arranged at an interval (the encapsulation layer 116 spaced out in intervals over the plurality of sub-pixels 106 in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 3, Choung teaches wherein the light-emitting unit comprises a first electrode (metal layers 104) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 23), a light-emitting functional layer (an OLED material 112) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 25), and a second electrode (a cathode 114) sequentially stacked in a direction away from the array substrate (the metal layer 104, OLED material 112, and cathode 114 are shown stacked in a direction away from the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B), the first encapsulation layer covers the second electrode of the corresponding light-emitting unit (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown on the cathode 114 in Fig. 1B), and at least a part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the second electrode of the corresponding light-emitting unit overlaps with a side of the array substrate close to the light-emitting unit (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown overlapping the substrate 102 close to the elements that form the light emitting unit in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 4, wherein the isolation structure is in direct contact with the array substrate and is provided with a plurality of isolation openings to accommodate the light-emitting units (the PDL structures 126 are shown directly contacting the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B), the at least a part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the second electrode directly overlaps with the array substrate (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown overlapping the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 6, Choung teaches wherein the isolation structure comprises a first isolation portion (the top portion 110B) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 22), a second isolation portion (a body portion 110C) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 22), and a third isolation portion (PDL structures 126) sequentially stacked in a direction close to the array substrate (Fig. 1B and paragraph 26), and the at least a part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the second electrode overlaps with the third isolation portion (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown overlapping the PDL structures 126 in Fig. 1B); the third isolation portion is in direct contact with the array substrate (the PDL structures 126 are shown directly contacting the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B), an orthographic projection of the second isolation portion on the array substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the first isolation portion on the array substrate and located within an orthographic projection of the third isolation portion on the array substrate (the orthographic projection of the elements that form the overhang structure 110 and the PDL structure 126 are shown within one another in Fig. 1B), and the second electrode overlaps with the third isolation portion (the cathode 114 is shown overlapping the PDL structure 126 in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 7, Choung teaches wherein one part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the second electrode overlaps with the third isolation portion (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown overlapping the PDL structure 126 in Fig. 1B), and the other part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the second electrode overlaps with a side wall of the second isolation portion (the base portion 110A includes a metal alloy material and the conductive oxide of a metal oxide surface 130 and the encapsulation layer 116 is shown formed over the metal oxide surface 130 in Fig. 1B) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 28);
the first encapsulation layer is located below the first isolation portion and is not in contact with the first isolation portion, and an orthographic projection of a part of the first encapsulation layer on the array substrate is located outside the orthographic projection of the first isolation portion on the array substrate;
or the first encapsulation layer extends from the side wall of the second isolation portion to cover the first isolation portion, and a part of the first encapsulation layer overlaps with the first isolation portion and is located on a side of the first isolation portion away from the second isolation portion (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown extending over the top portion 110B in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 9, Choung teaches wherein the encapsulation layer comprises a second encapsulation layer (an inkjet sublayer 118a) and a third encapsulation layer (a global encapsulation sublayer 118b) that are stacked with the first encapsulation layer (The global encapsulation layer may include an inkjet sublayer 118a and a global encapsulation sublayer 118b) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 33), the first encapsulation layer covers the corresponding light-emitting unit and the second encapsulation layer is arranged between the first encapsulation layer and the third encapsulation layer (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown over the elements that form the light emitting unit and the global encapsulation sublayer 118b is shown between the encapsulation layer 116 and the inkjet sublayer 118a in Fig. 1B) and at least a part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the corresponding light-emitting unit and located between the corresponding light-emitting unit and the isolation structure overlaps with a side of the array substrate close to the light-emitting unit (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown between the overhang structures 110 and the element that form the light emitting unit as shown in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 20, Choung teaches a display apparatus (input devices including display devices may be used in a variety of electronic systems) (paragraph 3), comprising the display panel of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung et al. (US 2022/0344417 A1; hereinafter “Choung”), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0140037 A1; hereinafter “Lee”).
In regard to claim 1, Choung teaches a display panel (an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display) (paragraph 2), comprising:
an array substrate (a substrate 102) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 24);
a plurality of light-emitting units (a metal layer 104, OLED material 112, and cathode 114 in a plurality of sub-pixels 106 forms the light emitting units) arranged on the array substrate (the plurality of sub-pixels 106 are shown on the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B) (Fig. 1B, paragraphs 23 and 25);
an isolation structure (overhang structures 110) arranged on the array substrate and separating the plurality of light-emitting units (overhang structures 110 further define each sub-pixel 106) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 26); and
an encapsulation layer (a global encapsulation layer 120 and encapsulation layer 116) comprising at least a first encapsulation layer (Fig. 1B and paragraph 33), each of the at least a first encapsulation layer arranged on a side of a corresponding light-emitting unit of the plurality of light-emitting units away from the array substrate (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown on the topside of the substrate 102) (Fig. 1B), an orthographic projection of the light-emitting unit on the array substrate being located within an orthographic projection of a corresponding first encapsulation layer on the array substrate (the orthographic projection of the encapsulation layer 116 is shown containing the orthographic projection of the elements that form the light emitting unit as shown in Fig. 1B), and at least a part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the corresponding light-emitting unit being located between the corresponding light-emitting unit and the isolation structure (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown extending past the elements that form the light emitting unit on to the overhang structure 110 in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 3, Choung teaches wherein the light-emitting unit comprises a first electrode (metal layers 104) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 23), a light-emitting functional layer (an OLED material 112) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 25), and a second electrode (a cathode 114) sequentially stacked in a direction away from the array substrate (the metal layer 104, OLED material 112, and cathode 114 are shown stacked in a direction away from the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B), the first encapsulation layer covers the second electrode of the corresponding light-emitting unit (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown on the cathode 114 in Fig. 1B), and at least a part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the second electrode of the corresponding light-emitting unit overlaps with a side of the array substrate close to the light-emitting unit (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown overlapping the substrate 102 close to the elements that form the light emitting unit in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 5, Choung teaches wherein the display panel comprises a pixel defining layer (PDL structures 126) arranged on the array substrate (Fig. 1B and paragraph 43), the pixel defining layer is provided with a plurality of pixel openings (the openings in the PDL structures 126 is shown in Fig. 1B), the light-emitting unit is arranged in the pixel opening (the elements that form the light-emitting unit are shown in the opening in the PDL structures 126 in Fig. 1B), the isolation structure is arranged on a side of the pixel defining layer away from the array substrate (the overhang structures 110 include at least (e.g., the first configuration 101A) the base portion 110A disposed on the upper surface 103 of each of the PDL structures 126) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 26), and the at least a part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the second electrode overlaps with the pixel defining layer (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown overlapping the PDL structures 126 in Fig. 1B); the isolation structure is provided with a plurality of isolation openings corresponding to the plurality of pixel openings, each of the plurality of isolation openings is in communication with a corresponding pixel opening of the plurality of pixel openings (the opening is the PDL structures 126 and the overhang structures 110 are shown correlating and communicating in Fig. 1B).
However, Choung doesn’t explicitly teach the isolation structure is an integrally formed structure and has a first surface away from the array substrate and a second surface close to the array substrate, and in a cross section perpendicular to the array substrate, a size of the first surface is larger than that of the second surface; or the isolation structure comprises a first isolation portion and a second isolation portion sequentially stacked in a direction close to the array substrate, the second isolation portion is in direct contact with the array substrate, and an orthographic projection of the second isolation portion on the array substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the first isolation portion on the array substrate.
Lee teaches a display panel (an OLED display 10) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 38), wherein the isolation structure is an integrally formed structure and has a first surface away from the array substrate and a second surface close to the array substrate, and in a cross section perpendicular to the array substrate, a size of the first surface is larger than that of the second surface (the first structure B1 may have a reverse taper where a vertical cross-sectional shape of the first structure B1 may have a trapezoidal shape, the upper side may have a length longer than the lower side) (Fig. 6c and paragraph 100).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Choung with the teachings of Lee to have the isolation structure be an integrally formed structure and has a first surface away from the array substrate and a second surface close to the array substrate, and in a cross section perpendicular to the array substrate, a size of the first surface is larger than that of the second surface since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular dimensions because applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung as applied to claim 1A above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2020/0312930 A1; hereinafter “Choi”).
In regard to claim 8, Choung teaches in a cross section of the display panel along a thickness direction thereof, a length of the third isolation portion beyond the second isolation portion is in a range from 0.4µm to 3.0 µm (the PDL structures 126 includes an overhang width 203 of 0.5 μm to about 1 μm as shown in Fig. 2B) (Fig. 2B and paragraph 48).
However, Choung doesn’t explicitly teach wherein in a cross section of the display panel along a thickness direction thereof, a height of the second isolation portion is in a range from 0.4 µm to 1.2 µm; in the cross section of the display panel along the thickness direction thereof, a ratio of a length of the first isolation portion beyond the second isolation portion to the height of the second isolation portion is in a range from 1.5 to 3.0.
Choi teaches a display panel (display 14) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 23), wherein in a cross section of the display panel along a thickness direction thereof, a height of the second isolation portion (a height 106 of a pixel definition layer and an edge of portion 76-2) is in a range from 0.4 µm to 1.2 µm (height 106 may be any desired distance (e.g., less than 1 micron, less than 500 nanometers, less than 250 nanometers, between 10 and 100 nanometers, etc), therefore the height 106 can be between 500nm and 1µm) (Fig. 8 and paragraph 52);
in the cross section of the display panel along the thickness direction thereof, a ratio of a length of the first isolation portion beyond the second isolation portion (undercut 102 may have a width 104) to the height of the second isolation portion is in a range from 1.5 to 3.0 (Width 104 and height 106 may each be different and have any desired distance e.g., less than 1 micron, less than 500 nanometers, less than 250 nanometers, etc.), therefore the examiner takes official notice that the width 104 and height 106 can have a ratio in a range from 1.5 to 3.0) (Fig. 8 and paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Choung with the teachings of Choi to have a height of the second isolation portion is in a range from 0.4 µm to 1.2 µm and a ratio of a length of the first isolation portion beyond the second isolation portion to the height of the second isolation portion is in a range from 1.5 to 3.0, since this allows for proper separation of the organic light-emitting diode layers and reduces lateral light leakage as taught by Choi (paragraph 62).
Claims 10-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung et al. (US 2022/0344417 A1; hereinafter “Choung”), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0140037 A1; hereinafter “Lee”). Any dependent claims rejected regarding this claim set will depend from claim 10A.
In regard to claim 10, Choung teaches a display panel (an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display) (paragraph 2), comprising:
an array substrate (a substrate 102) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 24);
a plurality of light-emitting units (a metal layer 104, OLED material 112, and cathode 114 in a plurality of sub-pixels 106 forms the light emitting units) arranged on the array substrate (the plurality of sub-pixels 106 are shown on the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B);
an isolation structure (overhang structures 110 including PDL structures 126) arranged on the array substrate and separating the plurality of light-emitting units (overhang structures 110 further define each sub-pixel 106) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 26), the isolation structure comprising a first isolation portion (a top portion 110B) and a second isolation portion (a body portion 110C) sequentially stacked in a direction close to the array substrate (the overhang structures 110 includes the base portion 110A and the top portion 110B with a body portion 110C disposed between the base portion and the top portion) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 22), and an orthographic projection of the second isolation portion on the array substrate being located within an orthographic projection of the first isolation portion on the array substrate (the top portion 110B is shown with in the orthographic projection of the body portion 110C in Fig. 1B); and
an encapsulation layer (a global encapsulation layer 120 and encapsulation layer 116) comprising at least a first encapsulation layer (Fig. 1B and paragraph 33), each of the at least a first encapsulation layer arranged on a side of a corresponding light-emitting unit of the plurality of light-emitting units away from the array substrate (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown on the topside of the substrate 102) (Fig. 1B), an orthographic projection of the light-emitting unit on the array substrate being located within an orthographic projection of a corresponding first encapsulation layer on the array substrate (the orthographic projection of the encapsulation layer 116 is shown containing the orthographic projection of the elements that form the light emitting unit as shown in Fig. 1B);
wherein the first encapsulation layer comprises a first portion (the encapsulation layer 116) located below the first isolation portion (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown under the top portion 110B in Fig. 1B).
However, Choung doesn’t explicitly teach the first portion of the first encapsulation layer is not in contact with the first isolation portion.
Lee teaches a display panel (an OLED display 10) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 38), a first portion (a protective layer PAS2) of the first encapsulation layer is not in contact with a first isolation portion (the protective layer PAS2 is shown under and not contacting the first barrier BR1 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 65 and 72).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Choung with the teachings of Lee to have the first portion of the first encapsulation layer is not in contact with the first isolation portion since , it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular dimensions because applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension.
In regard to claim 11, Choung teaches wherein an orthographic projection of at least a part of the first portion of the first encapsulation layer on the array substrate is located outside the orthographic projection of the first isolation portion on the array substrate (as shown in Fig. 1B the encapsulation layer 116 is shown in the opening of the overhang structures 110 outside of the orthographic projections).
In regard to claim 12, Choung teaches the first portion of the first encapsulation layer overlaps with the array substrate between the isolation structure and the light-emitting unit (as shown in Fig. 1B the encapsulation layer 116 is shown in the opening of the overhang structures 110 overlapping the substrate 102).
In regard to claim 13, Choung teaches wherein the at least a first encapsulation layer comprises a plurality of first encapsulation layers, adjacent first encapsulation layers are arranged at an interval (the encapsulation layer 116 spaced out in intervals over the plurality of sub-pixels 106 in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 14, Choung teaches wherein the light-emitting unit comprises a first electrode (metal layers 104) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 23), a light-emitting functional layer (an OLED material 112) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 25), and a second electrode (a cathode 114) sequentially stacked in a direction away from the array substrate (the metal layer 104, OLED material 112, and cathode 114 are shown stacked in a direction away from the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B), the first encapsulation layer covers the second electrode of the corresponding light-emitting unit (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown on the cathode 114 in Fig. 1B), and at least a part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the second electrode overlaps with a side of the array substrate close to the light-emitting unit (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown overlapping the substrate 102 close to the elements that form the light emitting unit in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 15, Choung teaches wherein the isolation structure is in direct contact with the array substrate and is provided with a plurality of isolation openings to accommodate the light-emitting units (the PDL structures 126 are shown directly contacting the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B), and the at least a part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the second electrode directly overlaps with the array substrate (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown overlapping the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 17, Choung teaches wherein the isolation structure comprises a first isolation portion (the top portion 110B) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 22), a second isolation portion (a body portion 110C) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 22), and a third isolation portion (PDL structures 126) sequentially stacked in a direction close to the array substrate (Fig. 1B and paragraph 26), and the at least a part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the second electrode overlaps with the third isolation portion (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown overlapping the PDL structures 126 in Fig. 1B);
and the third isolation portion is in direct contact with the array substrate (the PDL structures 126 are shown directly contacting the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B), an orthographic projection of the second isolation portion on the array substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the first isolation portion on the array substrate and located within an orthographic projection of the third isolation portion on the array substrate (the orthographic projection of the elements that form the overhang structure 110 and the PDL structure 126 are shown within one another in Fig. 1B), and the second electrode overlaps with the third isolation portion (the cathode 114 is shown overlapping the PDL structure 126 in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 18, Choung teaches wherein one part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the second electrode overlaps with the third isolation portion (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown overlapping the PDL structure 126 in Fig. 1B), and the other part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the second electrode overlaps with a side wall of the second isolation portion (the base portion 110A includes a metal alloy material and the conductive oxide of a metal oxide surface 130 and the encapsulation layer 116 is shown formed over the metal oxide surface 130 in Fig. 1B) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 28);
the first encapsulation layer is located below the first isolation portion and is not in contact with the first isolation portion, and an orthographic projection of part of the first encapsulation layer on the array substrate is located outside the orthographic projection of the first isolation portion on the array substrate;
or the first encapsulation layer extends from the side wall of the second isolation portion to cover the first isolation portion, and a part of the first encapsulation layer overlaps with the first isolation portion and is located on a side of the first isolation portion away from the second isolation portion (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown extending over the top portion 110B in Fig. 1B).
Claims 10, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung, and further in view of Lee.
In regard to claim 10, Choung teaches a display panel (an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display) (paragraph 2), comprising:
an array substrate (a substrate 102) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 24);
a plurality of light-emitting units (a metal layer 104, OLED material 112, and cathode 114 in a plurality of sub-pixels 106 forms the light emitting units) arranged on the array substrate (the plurality of sub-pixels 106 are shown on the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B);
an isolation structure (overhang structures 110) arranged on the array substrate and separating the plurality of light-emitting units (overhang structures 110 further define each sub-pixel 106) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 26), the isolation structure comprising a first isolation portion (a top portion 110B) and a second isolation portion (a body portion 110C) sequentially stacked in a direction close to the array substrate (the overhang structures 110 includes the base portion 110A and the top portion 110B with a body portion 110C disposed between the base portion and the top portion) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 22), and an orthographic projection of the second isolation portion on the array substrate being located within an orthographic projection of the first isolation portion on the array substrate (the top portion 110B is shown with in the orthographic projection of the body portion 110C in Fig. 1B); and
an encapsulation layer (a global encapsulation layer 120 and encapsulation layer 116) comprising at least a first encapsulation layer (Fig. 1B and paragraph 33), each of the at least a first encapsulation layer arranged on a side of a corresponding light-emitting unit of the plurality of light-emitting units away from the array substrate (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown on the topside of the substrate 102) (Fig. 1B), an orthographic projection of the light-emitting unit on the array substrate being located within an orthographic projection of a corresponding first encapsulation layer on the array substrate (the orthographic projection of the encapsulation layer 116 is shown containing the orthographic projection of the elements that form the light emitting unit as shown in Fig. 1B);
wherein the first encapsulation layer comprises a first portion (the encapsulation layer 116) located below the first isolation portion (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown under the top portion 110B in Fig. 1B).
However, Choung doesn’t explicitly teach the first portion of the first encapsulation layer is not in contact with the first isolation portion.
Lee teaches a display panel (an OLED display 10) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 38), a first portion (a protective layer PAS2) of the first encapsulation layer is not in contact with a first isolation portion (the protective layer PAS2 is shown under and not contacting the first barrier BR1 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 65 and 72).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Choung with the teachings of Lee to have the first portion of the first encapsulation layer is not in contact with the first isolation portion since , it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular dimensions because applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension.
In regard to claim 14, Choung teaches wherein the light-emitting unit comprises a first electrode (metal layers 104) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 23), a light-emitting functional layer (an OLED material 112) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 25), and a second electrode (a cathode 114) sequentially stacked in a direction away from the array substrate (the metal layer 104, OLED material 112, and cathode 114 are shown stacked in a direction away from the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B), the first encapsulation layer covers the second electrode of the corresponding light-emitting unit (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown on the cathode 114 in Fig. 1B), and at least a part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the second electrode overlaps with a side of the array substrate close to the light-emitting unit (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown overlapping the substrate 102 close to the elements that form the light emitting unit in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 16, Choung teaches wherein the display panel comprises a pixel defining layer (PDL structures 126) arranged on the array substrate (Fig. 1B and paragraph 43), the pixel defining layer is provided with a plurality of pixel openings (the openings in the PDL structures 126 is shown in Fig. 1B), the light-emitting unit is arranged in the pixel opening (the elements that form the light-emitting unit are shown in the opening in the PDL structures 126 in Fig. 1B), the isolation structure is arranged on a side of the pixel defining layer away from the array substrate (the overhang structures 110 include at least (e.g., the first configuration 101A) the base portion 110A disposed on the upper surface 103 of each of the PDL structures 126) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 26), and the at least a part of the first encapsulation layer beyond the second electrode overlaps with the pixel defining layer (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown overlapping the PDL structures 126 in Fig. 1B); the isolation structure is provided with a plurality of isolation openings corresponding to the plurality of pixel openings, each of the plurality of isolation openings is in communication with a corresponding pixel opening of the plurality of pixel openings (the opening is the PDL structures 126 and the overhang structures 110 are shown correlating and communicating in Fig. 1B).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung in view of Lee as applied to claim 10A above, and further in view of Choi.
In regard to claim 19, Choung teaches in a cross section of the display panel along a thickness direction thereof, a length of the third isolation portion beyond the second isolation portion is in a range from 0.4µm to 3.0 µm (the PDL structures 126 includes an overhang width 203 of 0.5 μm to about 1 μm as shown in Fig. 2B) (Fig. 2B and paragraph 48).
However, Choung in view of Lee doesn’t explicitly teach wherein in a cross section of the display panel along a thickness direction thereof, a height of the second isolation portion is in a range from 0.4 µm to 1.2 µm; in the cross section of the display panel along the thickness direction thereof, a ratio of a length of the first isolation portion beyond the second isolation portion to the height of the second isolation portion is in a range from 1.5 to 3.0.
Choi teaches a display panel (display 14) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 23), wherein in a cross section of the display panel along a thickness direction thereof, a height of the second isolation portion (a height 106 of a pixel definition layer and an edge of portion 76-2) is in a range from 0.4 µm to 1.2 µm (height 106 may be any desired distance (e.g., less than 1 micron, less than 500 nanometers, less than 250 nanometers, between 10 and 100 nanometers, etc), therefore the height 106 can be between 500nm and 1µm) (Fig. 8 and paragraph 52);
in the cross section of the display panel along the thickness direction thereof, a ratio of a length of the first isolation portion beyond the second isolation portion (undercut 102 may have a width 104) to the height of the second isolation portion is in a range from 1.5 to 3.0 (Width 104 and height 106 may each be different and have any desired distance e.g., less than 1 micron, less than 500 nanometers, less than 250 nanometers, etc.), therefore the examiner takes official notice that the width 104 and height 106 can have a ratio in a range from 1.5 to 3.0) (Fig. 8 and paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Choung in view of Lee with the teachings of Choi to have a height of the second isolation portion is in a range from 0.4 µm to 1.2 µm and a ratio of a length of the first isolation portion beyond the second isolation portion to the height of the second isolation portion is in a range from 1.5 to 3.0, since this allows for proper separation of the organic light-emitting diode layers and reduces lateral light leakage as taught by Choi (paragraph 62).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al. (US 2017/0352712 A1).
/SEYON ALI-SIMAH PUNCHBEDDELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893