Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 13, 2024 and October 19, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DORMODY et al. (US 2021/0389204 A1) (herein after Dormody’204) in view of Dormody et al. (US 11,073,441 B2) (herein after Dormody’441).
Regarding Claim 1, Dormody’204 discloses, 1. A method, comprising: measuring, by one or more processors, atmospheric pressure data (Fig. 1, ¶ 127 generating measurements of atmospheric conditions (e.g., pressure)) using a barometric pressure sensor of a mobile device (Fig. 1, ¶ 43 barometric pressure sensor 108, user device 104); determining, by the one or more processors, an estimated position (Fig. 1, ¶ 60 position can be determined) of the mobile device using positioning data (Fig. 1, ¶ 60 location data) received at the mobile device; determining, by the one or more processors, a calibration value (Fig. 1, ¶ 43 current calibration value 110) for calibrating the barometric pressure sensor of the mobile device (Fig. 1, ¶ 43 calibrate the barometric pressure sensor 108) using the atmospheric pressure data; adding, by the one or more processors, the calibration value to a set of calibration values (Fig. 1, ¶ 111 updating the historical calibration table 116 with the new calibration value); determining, by the one or more processors, if the estimated position of the mobile device corresponds to a location that has a wide distribution of possible altitudes (Fig. 7, ¶ 78 different altitudes); upon determining that the mobile device is at a position that has a wide distribution of possible altitudes (Fig. 7, ¶ 78 different altitudes), generating, by the one or more processors, an aggregated calibration value overlap region (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 overlap between the current calibration value and the new calibration result) — using the set of calibration values; generating, by the one or more processors, a set of validated calibration values (Fig. 1, ¶ 111 accepts the new calibration result for storing in the historical calibration table 116) by validating the set of calibration values using a previously generated aggregated calibration value overlap region (Fig. 1, ¶ 115 overlap threshold) and a previously generated aggregated calibration value range (Fig. 1, ¶ 115 length of the new confidence interval); generating, by the one or more processors, a combined calibration value (Fig. 1, ¶ 109 a combined calibration value) using the set of validated calibration values; and calibrating, by the one or more processors, the barometric pressure sensor using the combined calibration value (Fig. 1, ¶ 70 server 102 sends the selected or current calibration value 122 to the user device 104, for use in calibrating the barometric pressure sensor 108).
Dormody’204 fails to disclose, — and an aggregated calibration value range using the set of calibration values; —
In analogous art, Dormody’441 discloses, — and an aggregated calibration value range (Fig. 1. Col. 9. Ln. 52 – 62 time since last calibration metric, drift has exceeded a tolerated amount of drift; Col. 6. Ln. 58 within a first predefined amount of pressure from each other; Col. 7. Ln. 5 a standard deviation of the pressure measurements is within a threshold standard deviation value) using the set of calibration values; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dormody’204 by combining the method performed by a barometric pressure sensor disclosed by Dormody’204 and a method performed by a barometric pressure sensor, with an aggregated calibration value range using the set of calibration values; disclosed by Dormody’441 for the benefit of determining when to calibrate a pressure sensor when a determined quality of the opportunity to calibrate exceeds a threshold quality value [Dormody’441: Col. 4, Ln. 63: determination is made as to whether the determined quality of the opportunity to calibrate exceeds a threshold quality value].
Regarding Claim 2, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 fails to disclose, 2. The method of claim 1, wherein determining if the estimated position corresponds to a location that has a wide distribution of possible altitudes comprises: retrieving, by the one or more processors, terrain data based on the estimated position of the mobile device; determining, by the one or more processors, a deviation of altitudes associated with the estimated position of the mobile device using the retrieved terrain data; and upon determining, by the one or more processors, that the deviation of altitudes partially or fully falls outside of a threshold value, determining that the location is considered to have a wide distribution of possible altitudes.
Dormody’441 further discloses, 2. The method of claim 1, wherein determining if the estimated position corresponds to a location that has a wide distribution of possible altitudes comprises: retrieving, by the one or more processors, terrain data based (Fig. 1. Col. 5. Ln. 24 Flatness metric (threshold altitude variation condition)) on the estimated position of the mobile device; determining, by the one or more processors, a deviation of altitudes (Fig. 1. Col. 5. Ln. 34 within a range of ground altitudes,) associated with the estimated position of the mobile device using the retrieved terrain data; and upon determining, by the one or more processors, that the deviation of altitudes partially or fully (Fig. 1. Col. 6. Ln. 22 a predefined percentage of the altitudes in an area of possible positions of the mobile device) falls outside of a threshold value (Fig. 1. Col. 6. Ln. 22 threshold conditions), determining that the location is considered to have a wide distribution of possible altitudes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 by combining the method performed by the barometric pressure sensor disclosed by Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 and method performed by a barometric pressure sensor wherein, determining if the estimated position corresponds to a location that has a wide distribution of possible altitudes comprises: retrieving, by the one or more processors, terrain data based on the estimated position of the mobile device; determining, by the one or more processors, a deviation of altitudes associated with the estimated position of the mobile device using the retrieved terrain data; and upon determining, by the one or more processors, that the deviation of altitudes partially or fully falls outside of a threshold value, determining that the location is considered to have a wide distribution of possible altitudes. disclosed by Dormody’441 for the benefit of determining when to calibrate a pressure sensor when a determined quality of the opportunity to calibrate exceeds a threshold quality value [Dormody’441: Col. 4, Ln. 63: determination is made as to whether the determined quality of the opportunity to calibrate exceeds a threshold quality value].
Regarding Claim 3, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 fails to disclose, 3. The method of claim 1, wherein: the aggregated calibration value range is generated using one of i) a combined measure of a spread of the calibration values in the set of calibration values, ii) a calculated difference between an absolute maximum and absolute minimum calibration value of the set of calibration values, or iii) a measure of dispersion from a central tendency of the calibration values in the set of calibration values.
Dormody’441 further discloses, 3. The method of claim 1, wherein: the aggregated calibration value range is generated using one of i) a combined measure of a spread of the calibration values in the set of calibration values (Fig. 1. Col. 9. Ln. 52 – 62 time since last calibration metric, drift has exceeded a tolerated amount of drift), ii) a calculated difference between an absolute maximum and absolute minimum calibration value (Fig. 1. Col. 6. Ln. 58 within a first predefined amount of pressure from each other) of the set of calibration values, or iii) a measure of dispersion from a central tendency (Fig. 1. Col. 7. Ln. 5 a standard deviation of the pressure measurements is within a threshold standard deviation value) of the calibration values in the set of calibration values.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 by combining the method performed by the barometric pressure sensor disclosed by Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 and method performed by a barometric pressure sensor wherein: the aggregated calibration value range is generated using one of i) a combined measure of a spread of the calibration values in the set of calibration values, ii) a calculated difference between an absolute maximum and absolute minimum calibration value of the set of calibration values, or iii) a measure of dispersion from a central tendency of the calibration values in the set of calibration values; disclosed by Dormody’441 for the benefit of determining when to calibrate a pressure sensor when a determined quality of the opportunity to calibrate exceeds a threshold quality value [Dormody’441: Col. 4, Ln. 63: determination is made as to whether the determined quality of the opportunity to calibrate exceeds a threshold quality value].
Regarding Claim 4, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 further discloses, 4. The method of claim 1, wherein: each calibration value of the set of calibration values comprises a calibration offset value (Fig. 2, ¶ 63 A is a "calibration offset") and a calibration confidence value (Fig. 2, ¶ 63 B is a "confidence interval"); and the aggregated calibration value overlap region is generated using a numerical span (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 overlap) in which the calibration confidence values of two or more calibration values numerically overlap (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 overlap between the current calibration value (A0 +/-B0 ) and the new calibration result (A1 +/-B1)) with one another.
Regarding Claim 5, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 further discloses, 5. The method of claim 1, wherein validating the set of calibration values comprises: retrieving, by the one or more processors, the previously generated aggregated calibration value overlap region (Fig. 15, ¶ 112 server 102 looks up the current calibration value); generating, by the one or more processors, an overlap error flag value (Fig. 1, ¶ 64 "potential error range") associated with the calibration value based on a comparison of the calibration value to the retrieved aggregated calibration value overlap region (Fig. 1, ¶ 112 server 102 compares the new calibration result to the current calibration value); retrieving, by the one or more processors, the previously generated aggregated calibration value range (Fig. 15, ¶ 112 server 102 looks up the current calibration value); and generating, by the one or more processors, a range error flag value (Fig. 1, ¶ 64 "potential error range") associated with the calibration value based on a comparison of the calibration value to the retrieved aggregated calibration value range (Fig. 1, ¶ 112 server 102 compares the new calibration result to the current calibration value).
Regarding Claim 6, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 further discloses, 6. The method of claim 5, wherein generating the overlap error flag value associated with the calibration value comprises: upon determining, by the one or more processors, that the calibration value exceeds the aggregated calibration value overlap region (Fig. 1, ¶ 64 provides a "potential error range" above the calibration offset of the calibration result or the calibration value), asserting the overlap error flag (Fig. 1, ¶ 64 "potential error range") for that calibration value.
Regarding Claim 7, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 further discloses, 7. The method of claim 5, wherein generating the range error flag value associated with the calibration value comprises: upon determining, by the one or more processors, that the calibration value exceeds the aggregated calibration value range (Fig. 1, ¶ 64 provides a "potential error range" above the calibration offset of the calibration result or the calibration value), asserting the range error flag (Fig. 1, ¶ 64 "potential error range") for that calibration value.
Regarding Claim 8, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 further discloses, 8. The method of claim 5, further comprising: upon determining, by the one or more processors, that the range error flag is asserted and that the overlap error flag is asserted, filtering (Fig. 1, ¶ 99 weighting values) the calibration value from the set of calibration values to generate the set of validated calibration values (Fig. 1, ¶ 98 multiple calibration results with different weighting values can be combined); and upon determining, by the one or more processors, that the range error flag is not asserted and that the overlap error flag is not asserted (Fig. 1, ¶ 64 "potential error range"), not filtering (Fig. 1, ¶ 99 simply selecting the best calibration result) the calibration value from the set of calibration values to generate the set of validated calibration values.
Regarding Claim 9, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 8, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 further discloses, 9. The method of claim 8, wherein filtering the calibration value from the set of calibration values to generate the set of validated calibration values comprises: weighting (Fig. 1, ¶ 99 weighting values), by the one or more processors, a contribution of the calibration value to the combined calibration value (Fig. 1, ¶ 111 a new calibration result as being acceptable, updating the historical calibration table) such that the calibration value contributes less (Fig. 1, ¶ 99 calibration results with poor confidences can be de-weighted) to the combined calibration value as compared to a calibration value that was not filtered (Fig. 1, ¶ 99 simply selecting the best calibration result) from the set of calibration values.
Regarding Claim 10, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 further discloses, 10. The method of claim 5, further comprising: upon determining, by the one or more processors, that the range error flag is not asserted and that the overlap error flag is asserted, conditionally filtering (Fig. 1, ¶ 99 weighting values could be independent of confidence interval) the calibration value from the set of calibration values to generate the set of validated calibration values (Fig. 2, ¶ 111 filtering (in accordance with 228 in FIG. 2) a new calibration result as being acceptable for storing).
Regarding Claim 11, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 further discloses, 11. The method of claim 10, wherein conditionally filtering the calibration value from the set of calibration values to generate the set of validated calibration values comprises: performing, by the one or more processors, additional validation checks (Fig. 2, ¶ 99 variations in the manner in which the calibration techniques 208-224 are performed can result in different orders for the priority of the calibration techniques 208-224) on the calibration value; and filtering (Fig. 1, ¶ 99 weighting values could be independent of confidence interval), by the one or more processors, the calibration value from the set of calibration values (Fig. 2, ¶ 111 filtering (in accordance with 228 in FIG. 2) a new calibration result as being acceptable for storing) based on the additional validation checks.
Regarding Claim 12, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 further discloses, 12. The method of claim 5, further comprising: upon determining, by the one or more processors, that the range error flag is asserted (Fig. 1, ¶ 64 "potential error range") and that the overlap error flag is not asserted (Fig. 1, ¶ 64 "potential error range"), generating an error condition flag (Fig. 1, ¶ 64 provides a "potential error range" above the calibration offset of the calibration result or the calibration value).
Regarding Claim 13, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 further discloses, 13. The method of claim 1, wherein generating the combined calibration comprises: determining a first low end (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 length of the new confidence interval 1802) and a first high end (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 length of the new confidence interval 1802) of a first calibration value of the set of calibration values; determining a second low end (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 length of the new confidence interval 1804) and a second high end (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 length of the new confidence interval 1804) of a second calibration value of the set of calibration values; determining a numerical overlap region (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 overlap between the current calibration value and the new calibration result) having a low overlap end that is equal to the higher value of the first low end and the second low end (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 “low end of 1802 is higher than low end of 1804”), and a high overlap end that is equal to the lower value of the first high end and the second high end (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 “high end of 1802 is lower than high end of 1804”); and determining the combined calibration value as having a combined calibration offset value equal to a midpoint (Fig. 18, ¶ 135 estimate value (e.g., using an average); “the average is the midpoint”) of the numerical overlap region and having a combined calibration confidence value equal to half of an extent (Fig. 18, ¶ 135 estimate value (e.g., using an average); “the average is the midpoint and the confidence interval is half of the overlap region”) of the numerical overlap region.
Regarding Claim 14, Dormody’204 discloses, 14. A method, comprising: measuring, by one or more processors, atmospheric pressure data (Fig. 1, ¶ 127 generating measurements of atmospheric conditions (e.g., pressure)) using a barometric pressure sensor of a mobile device (Fig. 1, ¶ 43 barometric pressure sensor 108, user device 104); determining, by the one or more processors, an estimated position (Fig. 1, ¶ 60 position can be determined) of the mobile device; determining, by the one or more processors, a calibration value (Fig. 1, ¶ 43 current calibration value 110) for calibrating the barometric pressure sensor of the mobile device (Fig. 1, ¶ 43 calibrate the barometric pressure sensor 108) using the atmospheric pressure data; adding, by the one or more processors, the calibration value to a set of calibration values (Fig. 1, ¶ 111 updating the historical calibration table 116 with the new calibration value); generating, by the one or more processors, a set of validated calibration values (Fig. 1, ¶ 111 accepts the new calibration result for storing in the historical calibration table 116) by validating the set of calibration values using a previously generated aggregated calibration value overlap region (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 overlap between the current calibration value and the new calibration result) and —; generating, by the one or more processors, a combined calibration value (Fig. 1, ¶ 109 a combined calibration value) using the set of validated calibration values; and calibrating, by the one or more processors, the barometric pressure sensor using the combined calibration value (Fig. 1, ¶ 70 server 102 sends the selected or current calibration value 122 to the user device 104, for use in calibrating the barometric pressure sensor 108).
Dormody’204 fails to disclose, — and a previously generated aggregated calibration value range; —
In analogous art, Dormody’441 discloses, — and a previously generated aggregated calibration value range (Fig. 1. Col. 9. Ln. 52 – 62 time since last calibration metric, drift has exceeded a tolerated amount of drift; Col. 6. Ln. 58 within a first predefined amount of pressure from each other; Col. 7. Ln. 5 a standard deviation of the pressure measurements is within a threshold standard deviation value); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dormody’204 by combining the method performed by a barometric pressure sensor disclosed by Dormody’204 and a method performed by a barometric pressure sensor, with a previously generated aggregated calibration value range; Dormody’441 for the benefit of determining when to calibrate a pressure sensor when a determined quality of the opportunity to calibrate exceeds a threshold quality value [Dormody’441: Col. 4, Ln. 63: determination is made as to whether the determined quality of the opportunity to calibrate exceeds a threshold quality value].
Regarding Claim 15, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 14, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 fails to disclose, 15. The method of claim 14, wherein: the previously generated aggregated calibration value range was generated using one of i) a combined measure of a spread of the calibration values in the set of calibration values, ii) a calculated difference between an absolute maximum and absolute minimum calibration value of the set of calibration values, or iii) a measure of dispersion from a central tendency of the calibration values in the set of calibration values.
Dormody’441 further discloses, 15. The method of claim 14, wherein: the previously generated aggregated calibration value range was generated using one of i) a combined measure of a spread of the calibration values in the set of calibration values (Fig. 1. Col. 9. Ln. 52 – 62 time since last calibration metric, drift has exceeded a tolerated amount of drift), ii) a calculated difference between an absolute maximum and absolute minimum calibration value (Fig. 1. Col. 6. Ln. 58 within a first predefined amount of pressure from each other) of the set of calibration values, or iii) a measure of dispersion from a central tendency (Fig. 1. Col. 7. Ln. 5 a standard deviation of the pressure measurements is within a threshold standard deviation value) of the calibration values in the set of calibration values.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 by combining the method performed by the barometric pressure sensor disclosed by Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 and method performed by a barometric pressure sensor wherein: the previously generated aggregated calibration value range was generated using one of i) a combined measure of a spread of the calibration values in the set of calibration values, ii) a calculated difference between an absolute maximum and absolute minimum calibration value of the set of calibration values, or iii) a measure of dispersion from a central tendency of the calibration values in the set of calibration values; disclosed by Dormody’441 for the benefit of determining when to calibrate a pressure sensor when a determined quality of the opportunity to calibrate exceeds a threshold quality value [Dormody’441: Col. 4, Ln. 63: determination is made as to whether the determined quality of the opportunity to calibrate exceeds a threshold quality value].
Regarding Claim 16, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 14, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 further discloses, 16. The method of claim 14, wherein: each calibration value of the set of calibration values comprises a calibration offset value (Fig. 2, ¶ 63 A is a "calibration offset") and a calibration confidence value (Fig. 2, ¶ 63 B is a "confidence interval"); and the previously generated aggregated calibration value overlap region was generated using a numerical span (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 overlap) in which the calibration confidence values of two or more calibration values numerically overlap (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 overlap between the current calibration value (A0 +/-B0 ) and the new calibration result (A1 +/-B1)) with one another.
Regarding Claim 17, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 14, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 further discloses, 17. The method of claim 14, wherein validating the calibration value using a previously generated aggregated calibration value overlap region and a previously generated aggregated calibration value range comprises: retrieving, by the one or more processors, the previously generated aggregated calibration value overlap region (Fig. 15, ¶ 112 server 102 looks up the current calibration value); validating, by the one or more processors, the calibration value using the retrieved aggregated calibration value overlap region to generate an overlap error flag (Fig. 1, ¶ 64 "potential error range"); retrieving, by the one or more processors, the previously generated aggregated calibration value range (Fig. 15, ¶ 112 server 102 looks up the current calibration value); and validating, by the one or more processors, the calibration value using the retrieved aggregated calibration value range to generate a range error flag (Fig. 1, ¶ 64 "potential error range").
Regarding Claim 18, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 further discloses, 18. The method of claim 17, further comprising: upon determining, by the one or more processors, that the range error flag is asserted and that the overlap error flag is asserted, filtering (Fig. 1, ¶ 99 weighting values) the calibration value from the set of calibration values to generate the set of validated calibration values (Fig. 1, ¶ 98 multiple calibration results with different weighting values can be combined); and upon determining, by the one or more processors, that the range error flag is not asserted and that the overlap error flag is not asserted (Fig. 1, ¶ 64 "potential error range"), not filtering (Fig. 1, ¶ 99 simply selecting the best calibration result) the calibration value from the set of calibration values to generate the set of validated calibration values.
Regarding Claim 19, Dormody’204 in view of Dormody’441 disclose the limitations of claim 14, which this claim depends on.
Dormody’204 further discloses, 19. The method of claim 14, wherein generating the combined calibration comprises: determining a first low end (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 length of the new confidence interval 1802) and a first high end (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 length of the new confidence interval 1802) of a first calibration value of the set of calibration values; determining a second low end (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 length of the new confidence interval 1804) and a second high end (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 length of the new confidence interval 1804) of a second calibration value of the set of calibration values; determining a numerical overlap region (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 overlap between the current calibration value and the new calibration result) having a low overlap end that is equal to the higher value of the first low end and the second low end (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 “low end of 1802 is higher than low end of 1804”), and a high overlap end that is equal to the lower value of the first high end and the second high end (Fig. 18, ¶ 115 “high end of 1802 is lower than high end of 1804”); and determining the combined calibration value as having a combined calibration offset value equal to a midpoint (Fig. 18, ¶ 135 estimate value (e.g., using an average); “the average is the midpoint”) of the numerical overlap region and having a combined calibration confidence value equal to half of an extent (Fig. 18, ¶ 135 estimate value (e.g., using an average); “the average is the midpoint and the confidence interval is half of the overlap region”) of the numerical overlap region.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. LEE et al. (US 2014/0012529 A1) discloses, a calibration value for calibrating the barometric pressure sensor of the mobile device (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 Further, the barometric pressure correction unit 120 can calibrate the barometric pressure sensor 130).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858