DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 recites limitation “a plurality of a detection beam grants” which should be “a plurality of detection beam grants”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, 17, 19-23, 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 2023/0090516 A1), in view of Bai et al (US 2023/0188389 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 33, Zhang teaches a user equipment (UE)/method, comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE (Fig. 3A, processor 332, memory 340) to:
attempt to detect an object using the one or more first detection beams (Fig. 4, Step 410, 420; [0104]-[0105], “The UE therefore operates the Wi-Fi radar at a low bandwidth (BW) with a low number of spatial streams (NSS) (or wide/low resolution beams) and at large intervals to provide coarse detection of objects in proximity to the Wi-Fi transceiver”).
Zhang teaches detection beams (wide, low-resolution beams used to coarsely detect objects) that are distinct from classification beams (narrower beams used, after detection, to determine whether the object is human) (Fig. 4, steps 410-440). Zhang doesn’t explicitly teach that i) transmits first information that pertains to at least one of object detection or object classification; ii) ii) receives, responsive to the first information, a first grant that schedules object detection via one or more first detection beams indicated to the UE.
Bai teaches that i) transmits first information that pertains to at least one of object detection or object classification (Fig. 5, step 506; [0052], Transmit RF sensing capabilities; [0053], “The BS 504 may send the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502 in response to a request (not shown) from the UE 502. The request may indicate a requested bandwidth for RF sensing and/or a time duration for RF sensing”); ii) receives, responsive to the first information, a first grant that schedules object detection via one or more first detection beams indicated to the UE (Fig. 5, step 508, “At 508, the BS 504 may transmit the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502. In some examples, the BS 504 may schedule resources, via the RF sensing configuration, such as dedicated time resources, dedicated frequency resources, and/or a dedicated scrambling sequence for the UE 502 to perform RF sensing”; see claim 10, “the configuration for the UE to perform RF sensing comprises one or more beams for the UE to use for the RF sensing”; [0053], “The BS 504 may also provide information for the UE 502 to sense one or more particular directions (e.g., provided in the RF sensing configuration)”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang so that the UE requests, and receives from the network, a grant scheduling its sensing, with the sensing beams indicated to the UE, as taught by Bai. Bai teaches that sensing in the same band as communications, and sharing the communication array, improves sensing performance and supports MPE detection (see para 0045 of Bai), and Zhang addresses MPE for mmW beams and disclosed mmW radar sensing. Bai further teaches that such in-band sensing conflicts with communications unless the base station allocates dedicated resources and beams for it in response to the UE’s request (see 0046 of Bai), so Zhang’s sensing, performed in band, would requires the same allocation. Because Zhang’s detection and classification beams differ in beamwidth, bandwidth, and interval, and classification begins only after detection, the network’s indication of the detection beams would be separate from its indication of the classification beams. The modification applies a known technique to a known device for its established purpose, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 1. Zhang further discloses that the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: attempt to classify the object using the one or more first classification beams based at least in part on detection of the object using the one or more first detection beams (Fig. 4, steps 420-440; [0104], “The UE therefore operates the Wi-Fi radar at a low bandwidth (BW) with a low number of spatial streams (NSS) (or wide/low resolution beams) and at large intervals to provide coarse detection of objects in proximity”); and comply with a maximum permissible exposure restriction based at least in part on classification of the object using the one or more first classification beams ([0105]-[0107], “At 460, the UE determines whether a sensitive body part (e.g., the human's head) has been identified. If one has not, then at 470, the UE continues scanning using a high bandwidth, a high number of spatial streams (or narrow/high resolution beams), and short intervals. If a sensitive body part is detected, however, then at 480, the UE triggers MPE protective measures. For example, the UE may reduce the transmit power of its mmW transceiver (e.g., WWAN transceiver 310), reduce uplink data rates, change the uplink beamforming direction, reduce the duration of high-power transmission, or shut down the transmission periodically”).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 2, Zhang further teaches that wherein, to comply with the maximum permissible exposure restriction, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: refrain from transmitting a beam that is directed to the object ([0107], “the UE may reduce the transmit power of its mmW transceiver (e.g., WWAN transceiver 310), reduce uplink data rates, change the uplink beamforming direction, reduce the duration of high-power transmission, or shut down the transmission periodically”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 2, Zhang further teaches that wherein, to comply with the maximum permissible exposure restriction, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a beam that is directed to the object at higher power backoff or a lower duty cycle than a beam that is directed away from the object ([0107], “the UE may reduce the transmit power of its mmW transceiver (e.g., WWAN transceiver 310), reduce uplink data rates, change the uplink beamforming direction, reduce the duration of high-power transmission, or shut down the transmission periodically”; [0086], “If a 5G UE knows that there is no human near the UE, the UE could transmit at maximum power for a 100% uplink duty cycle”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 1, Zhang further teaches
wherein the one or more first detection beams comprise a beam in a millimeter wave frequency range (Zhang, [0104], “The method 400 may be performed by any UE capable of mmW communication. At 410, the UE detects that 5G mmW communication has been activated. The UE therefore operates the Wi-Fi radar at a low bandwidth (BW) with a low number of spatial streams (NSS) (or wide/low resolution beams”) and at large intervals to provide coarse detection of objects in proximity) or a sub-terahertz frequency range (Zhang, [0126], “causing a 60 gigahertz (GHz) radio of the UE to transmit 60 GHz signals in the direction to the object”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 1, Zhang further teaches that the one or more first classification beams comprise a beam in a sub-terahertz frequency range (Zhang, [0104], “The method 400 may be performed by any UE capable of mmW communication; it’s noted that mmW frequency ranges falls 30GHz to 300GHz and 100 GHz to 300 GHz is considered as sub-Terahertz).
Regarding claim 7, 34, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 1, the combination further teaches the first information includes a first request for a detection beam grant, the first grant is responsive to the first request for the detection beam grant (Bai, [0053], “The BS 504 may send the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502 in response to a request (not shown) from the UE 502. The request may indicate a requested bandwidth for RF sensing and/or a time duration for RF sensing”).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 7, the combination further teaches that the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit, based at least in part on detection of the object using the one or more first detection beams, second information that includes a second request for a classification beam grant for classification of the object; receive, responsive to the second information, a second grant that schedules object classification via the one or more first classification beams; and attempt to classify the object using the one or more first classification beams (Bai, [0053], “The BS 504 may send the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502 in response to a request (not shown) from the UE 502. The request may indicate a requested bandwidth for RF sensing and/or a time duration for RF sensing”; Zhang, Fig.4, step 420-440; [0105]-[0106], Zhang teaches that, after an object is detected, the UE performs classification-stage sensing with narrower, higher-resolution beams, to determine whether the object is human; it’s noted the second request would be resource allocation request for the classification beams).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 1, the combination further teaches wherein the first information includes a first request for a detection beam grant and a classification beam grant, the first grant is responsive to the first request for the detection beam grant and the classification beam grant, the first grant schedules object classification via the one or more first classification beams (Bai, [0053], “The BS 504 may send the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502 in response to a request (not shown) from the UE 502. The request may indicate a requested bandwidth for RF sensing and/or a time duration for RF sensing”; Zhang, Fig.4, step 420-440; [0105]-[0106], Zhang teaches that, after an object is detected, the UE performs classification-stage sensing with narrower, higher-resolution beams, to determine whether the object is human; it’s noted the narrower, higher resolution beams correspond to the classification beams would also need a grant just like that recited in Bai).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 9, the combination further teaches wherein the first grant is a plurality of grants that are collectively responsive to the first request, each of the plurality of grants schedules respective beams of the one or more first detection beams or the one or more first classification beams (Bai, [0053], “The BS 504 may send the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502 in response to a request (not shown) from the UE 502. The request may indicate a requested bandwidth for RF sensing and/or a time duration for RF sensing”).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 9, the combination further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: attempt, based at least in part on detection of the object using the one or more first detection beams, to classify the object using the one or more first classification beams (Zhang, Fig.4, step 420-440; [0105]-[0106], Zhang teaches that, after an object is detected, the UE performs classification-stage sensing with narrower, higher-resolution beams, to determine whether the object is human).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 1, the combination further teaches wherein the first information includes a first request for a plurality of detection beam grants, the first grant is a plurality of grants that are collectively responsive to the first request, each of the plurality of grants schedules respective beams of the one or more first detection beams (Bai, [0053], “The BS 504 may send the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502 in response to a request (not shown) from the UE 502. The request may indicate a requested bandwidth for RF sensing and/or a time duration for RF sensing. The BS 504 may also provide information for the UE 502 to sense one or more particular directions”).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 12, the combination further teaches that wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, based at least in part on detection of the object using the one or more first detection beams, second information that includes a second request for a plurality of classification beam grants for classification of the object; receive, responsive to the second information, a second grant, wherein the second grant is a plurality of classification beam grants that are collectively responsive to the second request, wherein each of the plurality of classification beam grants schedules respective beams of the one or more first classification beams; and attempt to classify the object using the one or more first classification beams (Bai, [0053], “The BS 504 may send the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502 in response to a request (not shown) from the UE 502. The request may indicate a requested bandwidth for RF sensing and/or a time duration for RF sensing”; Zhang, Fig.4, step 420-440; [0105]-[0106], Zhang teaches that, after an object is detected, the UE performs classification-stage sensing with narrower, higher-resolution beams, to determine whether the object is human).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 1, the combination further teaches wherein the first information includes a first request for a plurality of a detection beam grants and a plurality of classification beam grants for classification of the object, wherein the first grant is a plurality of detection beam grants and a plurality of classification beam grants that are collectively responsive to the first request, and wherein each of the plurality of detection beam grants schedules respective beams of the one or more first detection beams and each of the plurality of classification beam grants schedules respective beams of the one or more first classification beams (Bai, [0053], “The BS 504 may send the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502 in response to a request (not shown) from the UE 502. The request may indicate a requested bandwidth for RF sensing and/or a time duration for RF sensing”; Zhang, Fig.4, step 420-440; [0105]-[0106], Zhang teaches that, after an object is detected, the UE performs classification-stage sensing with narrower, higher-resolution beams, to determine whether the object is human).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 14, the combination further teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: attempt to classify the object using the one or more first classification beams, wherein the plurality of detection beam grants and the plurality of classification beam grants collectively schedules all of the respective beams of the one or more first detection beams to be used prior to use of any respective beams of the one or more first classification beams (Zhang, Fig.4, step 420-440; [0105]-[0106], Zhang teaches that, after an object is detected, the UE performs classification-stage sensing with narrower, higher-resolution beams, to determine whether the object is human; if not, continue low Bandwidth, low NSS, long intervals, see step 430 of Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 1, the combination further teaches wherein the first information includes a first request for a periodic detection beam grant and a periodic classification beam grant, wherein the first grant is responsive to the first request for the periodic detection beam grant and the periodic classification beam grant, wherein the first grant schedules periodic object detection via the one or more first detection beams, and wherein the first grant schedules periodic object classification via the one or more first classification beams (Bai, [0053], “the BS 504 may schedule resources, via the RF sensing configuration, such as dedicated time resources, dedicated frequency resources, and/or a dedicated scrambling sequence for the UE 502 to perform RF sensing. The resources may be periodic or aperiodic”; Zhang, Fig.4, step 420-440; [0105]-[0106]).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 17, the combination further teaches wherein the first grant is a plurality of grants that are collectively responsive to the first request, each of the plurality of grants schedules respective beams of the one or more first detection beams or the one or more first classification beams (Bai, [0053], “The BS 504 may send the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502 in response to a request (not shown) from the UE 502”, “The BS 504 may also provide information for the UE 502 to sense one or more particular directions (e.g., provided in the RF sensing configuration)”, it’s noted that one or more particular directions implies a plurality of different beams. Each of the beams needs a grant).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 1, the combination further teaches the first information includes a capability report that pertains to object detection (Bai, Fig. 4, step 506; [0052]) and object classification (Zhang, Fig. 4, step 440, 460; Zhang teaches detection stage uses low bandwidth, wide beams, and large intervals, while the classification stage uses higher bandwidth, narrower beams, and shorter intervals).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 20, the combination further teaches wherein the first grant schedules periodic object detection via the one or more first detection beams and periodic object classification via the one or more first classification beams based at least in part on the capability report (Bai, [0053], the BS 504 may schedule resources, via the RF sensing configuration, such as dedicated time resources, dedicated frequency resources, and/or a dedicated scrambling sequence for the UE 502 to perform RF sensing. The resources may be periodic or aperiodic; Zhang, Fig. 4, steps 410-470; detection-stage sensing is performed at large intervals, and classification-stage sensing at medium or short interval, with the UE continuing to scan at those intervals. Both stages are thus periodic).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 21, the combination further teaches wherein the first grant is a plurality of grants that are collectively responsive to the capability report, each of the plurality of grants schedules respective beams of the one or more first detection beams or the one or more first classification beams (Zhang, Fig. 4, the detection and classification stages use different bandwidths, beams and intervals; Bai, [0053], sensing resources may be scheduled periodically or aperiodically, based on the capability message).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang in view of Bai teaches the UE of claim 1, Zhang further teaches wherein: object classification includes object identification ([0112], “the UE identifies, based on the object being the human, a sensitive body part of the human”).
Claims 24-30, 32, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al (US 2023/0188389 A1) in view of Zhang et al (US 2023/0090516 A1).
Regarding claim 24, 35, Bai teaches a network entity/method, comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity (Fig. 8, processor 818 and memory 812) to:
obtain first information that pertains to at least one of object detection or object classification (Fig. 5, step 506, “At 506, the UE 502 may transmit an RF sensing capability message to the BS 504. For example, the RF sensing capability message sent by the UE 502 may indicate maximum bandwidth, a time duration, a waveform, and/or a number of beams that the UE 502 supports for RF sensing”); and
output, responsive to the first information, a first grant that schedules object detection via one or more first detection beams ([0053], “The BS 504 may determine the RF sensing configuration based on the capability message from the UE 402. At 508, the BS 504 may transmit the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502”),
Bai doesn’t explicitly teach that the detection beams are indicated separate from tone or more first classification beams.
Zhang teaches a UE whose MPE sensing uses wide, low-resolution detection beams to coarsely detect objects (Fig. 4, step 410; [0105]-[0106]). And after detection, separately narrower, higher-resolution classification beams, including 60 GHz mmW radar, as classification beams (Fig. 4, step 420 and 440; [0105]-[0106]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bai’s base station to schedule Zhang’s staged sensing, with the detection beams indicated separate from the classification beams. Zhang teaches that stages sensing reduces power consumption and triggers MPE mitigation only when a human is present, minimizing the impact on communications (see para 0114 of Zhang). Bai teaches that in-band sensing, which improves sensing performance and supports MPE detection, conflicts with communications unless the base station allocate dedicated resources and beams for it (see 0020 of Bai), so each of Zhang’s sensing stage would require such an allocation. Because Zhang’s detection and classification beams differ in beams width, bandwidth, and interval, and classification begins only after detection, the base station’s indication of the detection beams would be separate from its indication of the classification beams. The modification applies a known technique to a known system for its established purpose, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 25, the aforementioned references further teach that the first information includes a first request for a detection beam grant, the first grant is responsive to the first request for the detection beam grant (Bai, [0053], “The BS 504 may send the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502 in response to a request (not shown) from the UE 502. The request may indicate a requested bandwidth for RF sensing and/or a time duration for RF sensing”).
Regarding claim 26, the aforementioned references further teaches that the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: obtain, subsequent the first information, second information that includes a second request for a classification beam grant for classification of an object; and output, responsive to the second information, a second grant that schedules object classification via the one or more first classification beams (Bai, [0053], “The BS 504 may send the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502 in response to a request (not shown) from the UE 502. The request may indicate a requested bandwidth for RF sensing and/or a time duration for RF sensing”; Zhang, Fig.4, step 420-440; [0105]-[0106], Zhang teaches that, after an object is detected, the UE performs classification-stage sensing with narrower, higher-resolution beams, to determine whether the object is human; it’s noted the second request would be resource allocation request for the narrower, higher-resolution beams).
Regarding claim 27, the aforementioned references further teach wherein the first information includes a first request for a plurality of detection beam grants, the first grant is a plurality of grants that are collectively responsive to the first request, each of the plurality of grants schedules respective beams of the one or more first detection beams (Bai, [0053], “The BS 504 may send the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502 in response to a request (not shown) from the UE 502”, “The BS 504 may also provide information for the UE 502 to sense one or more particular directions (e.g., provided in the RF sensing configuration)”, it’s noted that one or more particular directions implies a plurality of different beams. Each of the beams needs a grant).
Regarding claim 28, the aforementioned references further teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: obtain, subsequent the first information, second information that includes a second request for a plurality of classification beam grants for classification of an object; and output, responsive to the second information, a second grant, wherein the second grant is a plurality of classification beam grants that are collectively responsive to the second request, wherein each of the plurality of classification beam grants schedules respective beams of the one or more first classification beams (Bai, [0053], “The BS 504 may send the RF sensing configuration to the UE 502 in response to a request (not shown) from the UE 502”, “The BS 504 may also provide information for the UE 502 to sense one or more particular directions (e.g., provided in the RF sensing configuration)”, it’s noted that one or more particular directions implies a plurality of different beams. Each of the beams needs a grant; Zhang, Fig.4, step 420-440; [0105]-[0106], Zhang teaches that, after an object is detected, the UE performs classification-stage sensing with narrower, higher-resolution beams, to determine whether the object is human; it’s noted the second grant would be resource allocation for the narrower, higher-resolution beams).
Regarding claim 29, the aforementioned references further teach wherein the first information includes a first request for a plurality of detection beam grants and a plurality of classification beam grants for classification of an object, the first grant is a plurality of detection beam grants and a plurality of classification beam grants that are collectively responsive to the first request, each of the plurality of detection beam grants schedules respective beams of the one or more first detection beams and each of the plurality of classification beam grants schedules respective beams of the one or more first classification beams (Bai, [0053]; Zhang, Fig.4, step 420-440; [0105]-[0106]).
Regarding claim 30, the aforementioned references further teach wherein the first information includes a first request for a periodic detection beam grant and a periodic classification beam grant, the first grant is responsive to the first request for the periodic detection beam grant and the periodic classification beam grant, the first grant schedules periodic object detection via the one or more first detection beams, the first grant schedules periodic object classification via the one or more first classification beams (Bai, [0053], “the BS 504 may schedule resources, via the RF sensing configuration, such as dedicated time resources, dedicated frequency resources, and/or a dedicated scrambling sequence for the UE 502 to perform RF sensing. The resources may be periodic or aperiodic”; Zhang, Fig.4, step 420-440; [0105]-[0106]).
Regarding claim 32. The network entity of claim 24, wherein the first information includes a capability report that pertains to object detection (Bai, [0052], “the RF sensing capability message sent by the UE 502 may indicate maximum bandwidth, a time duration, a waveform, and/or a number of beams that the UE 502 supports for RF sensing”) and object classification (Zhang, Fig. 4, step 440, 460; Zhang teaches detection stage uses low bandwidth, wide beams, and large intervals, while the classification stage uses higher bandwidth, narrower beams, and shorter intervals).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 2023/0090516 A1) in view of Bai et al (US 2023/0188389 A1), further in view of Jeon et al (US 2022/0256519 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Bai teaches all of the limitations except that obtaining, subsequent to the first information, second information that indicates a request to end the periodic detection beam grant and the periodic classification beam grant. Joen teaches a UE that requests the gNB to configure or activate radar sensing resources and, in another example, sends signaling requesting the gNB to suspend or releases previously configured radar sensing resources ([0212]).
Before the effective date of the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang in view of Bai so that, after receiving the periodic grants, the UE transmits a request to end the period detection and classification grants, as taught by Jeon. Jeon teaches that because sending timing depends on the UE’s need and is unknown to the gNB, the UE signals the gNB to release sensing resources, and that coordinating sensing resources reduces interference and prevents interruption of communications (see para 0212 of Jeon).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al (US 2023/0188389 A1) in view of Zhang et al (US 2023/0090516 A1), in view of Jeon et al (US 2022/0256519 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Bai in view of Zhang teaches all of the limitations except that obtaining, subsequent to the first information, second information that indicates a request to end the periodic detection beam grant and the periodic classification beam grant. Joen teaches a UE that requests the gNB to configure or activate radar sensing resources and, in another example, sends signaling requesting the gNB to suspend or releases previously configured radar sensing resources ([0212]).
Before the effective date of the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang in view of Bai so that, after receiving the periodic grants, the UE transmits a request to end the period detection and classification grants, as taught by Jeon. Jeon teaches that because sending timing depends on the UE’s need and is unknown to the gNB, the UE signals the gNB to release sensing resources, and that coordinating sensing resources reduces interference and prevents interruption of communications (see para 0212 of Jeon).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SIMING LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411