CTNF 18/742,270 CTNF 64228 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-22 AIA 2. The drawings are objected to because the lack descriptive legends as required by 37 CFR 1.84(o) . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA 3. Claims 10-12 are o bjected to because of the following informalities: I n claim 10, after “Claim 1:” –further comprising—should be inserted. Claims 11 and 12 are objected to since they depend upon claim 10 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 4. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim s 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki et al US 2021/0036396 A1 (cited by applicant) in view of Tamaru TW-201251191-A (see Google translation TW201251191A - Directional coupler - Google Patents) 6. Consider claim 1. Seki et al teaches a directional coupler (fig 11) comprising: a main line (10); a first sub line (11); a second sub line (12) ; a termination circuit (14) configured to terminate the first sub line (11) or the second sub line (12) ; a first phase shifter circuit (17 and see 0109) in a first signal path between the first sub line and the second sub line ; a first selector switch (29a, 29b) configured to selectively switch between connection (29a, 29e), and non-connection (29a, 29f) between the first sub line (11) and the first phase shifter circuit (17); and a second selector switch (29c, 29d) configured to selectively switch between connection (29c, 29J) and non-connection between the first phase shifter circuit (17) and the second sub line (12). Seki et al suggests (0111) putting a variable filter in between the first and second sub lines, but doesn’t explicitly teach moving the matching circuit (17) or putting a phase shifter (LPF) in between the first and second sub lines. However, from the same field of endeavor, Tamaru (fig 1) teaches inserting a LPF1 as a phase shifter (from the abstract … a low pass filter is connected between the first sub line and the second sub line and causes a phase shift to be generated in a passing signal passing therethrough in such a manner that the phase shift monotonically increases within a range from about 0 to about 180 degrees with increasing frequency in the predetermined frequency band ….) in between the first (S1) and second (S2) sub lines. It would have been obvious to add the phase shifter taught by Tamaru in Seki et al which would allow it to be selected and not selected by Seki et al switch in and out in his circuit giving it more coupling options. 7. Regarding claim 2. Tamaru (fig 1) wherein the first phase shifter circuit comprises a low pass filter (LPF1). 8. Regarding Claim 3. Seki et al teaches (0109) wherein the first phase shifter circuit (17) comprises a circuit component with a variable characteristic value (… the variable matching circuit 17 is configured with, for example, a passive element such as an inductor, a capacitor and the like, and a switch. By varying an impedance and a phase according to a frequency band to be detected ….) 9. Regarding claim 4. Seki et al teaches wherein the termination circuit (14) comprises a circuit component with a variable characteristic value (both capacitor and resister are variable). 10. Regarding claim 5. Seki et al teaches (0065) wherein the termination circuit comprises: a resistor or a capacitor, and an inductor, and wherein the inductor is connected in series to the resistor (….the termination circuit 14 is a variable-type termination circuit, a configuration may be adoptable in which necessary components are connected in parallel among three types of a variable shunt resistor, a variable shunt capacitor, and a shunt circuit in which a variable inductor and a resistance element are connected in series …) . 07-21-aia AIA 11. Claim s 8 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki et al US 2021/0036396 A1 (cited by applicant) in view of Tamaru TW-201251191-A further in view of Suzuki JP-2005033440-A (see Google translation JP2005033440A - Multi-layer directional coupler - Google Patents) 12. Regarding Claim 8. Seki et al teaches a multilayer substrate, the main line being inside the multilayer substrate (0062); and an integrated circuit (IC) chip (from 0064… the semiconductor IC 33 is flip-chip mounted on the mounting substrate 32…) wherein the IC chip is on a main surface of the multilayer substrate. Seki et al fails to teach the first phase shift circuit mounted in the multilayer substrate. However, Suzuki, from the same field of endeavor teaches such (….each of the layers includes a microstrip line and an electric circuit component as a first layer, and a ground electrode as a second layer. The third layer is a bias circuit using a strip line, the fourth layer is a ground electrode, the fifth layer is a reference phase circuit and a phase line circuit using a strip line , the sixth layer is a ground electrode, and the seventh layer is a strip….). It would have been obvious to include the phase circuit as taught by Suzuki in the multilayer structure taught by Seki et al to save manufacturing costs . 07-21-aia AIA 13. Claim s 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki et al US 2021/0036396 A1 (cited by applicant) in view of Tamaru TW-201251191-A in view of Suzuki JP-2005033440-A further in view of Examiners Official Notice . 14. Regarding claim 9. Although Seki describes the multilayer structure with the IC chip, he doesn’t explicitly show wherein in plan view in a thickness direction of the multilayer substrate the IC chip overlaps with the main line. However, the examiner takes official notice that this is well known in the art as a way to easily connect one or the other and would have been obvious, before the effective date in order to have a smoother working circuit . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 15. Claim s 6, 7 and 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 6. The prior art of record fails to teach or make obvious a third sub line; a second phase shifter circuit in a second signal path between the second sub line and the third sub line; a third selector switch configured to selectively switch between connection and non-connection between the second sub line and the second phase shifter circuit; and a fourth selector switch configured to selectively switch between connection and non-connection between the second phase shifter circuit and the third sub line, wherein the termination circuit is configured to terminate the first sub line, the second sub line, or the third sub line. Dependent claim 7 is objected to since it depends upon claim 6. Regarding Claim 10. The prior art of record fails to teach or make obvious the directional coupler according to Claim 1 further comprising an antenna terminal; a plurality of filters; and an antenna switch configured to selectively switch between connection and non-connection between a third signal path reaching the antenna terminal and each of the plurality of filters, wherein the main line of the directional coupler forms a partial section of the third signal path. Dependent claims 11 and 12 are objected to since they depend upon claim 10. 07-96 AIA 16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Furutani US 2023/0113980 A1 teaches a directional coupler includes a substrate, a main line, a first sub-line, a ground conductor and a switch. The switch SW 1 enables switching in relation to the connection between the first sub-line 20 and the second sub-line 40 . More specifically, the switch SW 1 enables switching between a state in which the first sub-line 20 and the second sub-line 40 are connected to each other and a state in which the first sub-line 20 and the second sub-line 40 are not connected to each other. The switch SW 1 forms a connection between the first sub-line 20 and the resistor R 2 in the state in which the first sub-line 20 and the second sub-line 40 are not connected to each other. Tokuda US 2021/0013858 A1 teaches a directional coupler ( 2 ) includes a main line ( 11 ), a sub-line ( 12 ), a variable terminator ( 13 ), and a variable filter circuit ( 15 ). The variable terminator ( 13 ) is a variable impedance circuit that terminates one end portion of the sub-line ( 12 ). The variable filter circuit ( 15 ) is connected to the other end portion of the sub-line ( 12 ). The variable filter circuit ( 15 ) may include a filter, a bypass path, and a switch which is connected to at least one of the filter and the bypass path. Ootsuka et al US 2015/0236666 A1 teaches a directional coupler includes: a main line connecting an input port and an output port; a first subline section and a second subline section each of which is formed of a line configured to be electromagnetically coupled to the main line; and a matching circuit provided between the first subline section and the second subline section. The matching circuit includes a first path connecting the first subline section and the second subline section, and a second path connecting the first path and the ground. The first path includes a first inductor. The second path includes a first capacitor and a second inductor connected in series . Conclusion 17. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CURTIS A KUNTZ whose telephone number is (571)272-7499. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Th from 530 am to 330pm and Fri from 530am to 10am. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew D Anderson, can be reached at telephone number 5712724177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Patent Center to authorized users only. Should you have questions about access to the USPTO patent electronic filing system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Examiner interviews are available via a variety of formats. See MPEP § 713.01. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/InterviewPractice. /CURTIS A KUNTZ/Primary examiner, Art Unit 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/742,270 Page 2 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/742,270 Page 3 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/742,270 Page 4 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/742,270 Page 5 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/742,270 Page 6 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/742,270 Page 7 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/742,270 Page 8 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/742,270 Page 9 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/742,270 Page 10 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/742,270 Page 11 Art Unit: 2646