Applicants amendments/arguments have overcome the objections to both the drawings and to claims 10-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki et al US 2021/0036396 A1 (cited by applicant) in view of Tamaru TW-201251191-A (see Google translation TW201251191A - Directional coupler - Google Patents) 6. Consider claim 1. Seki et al teaches a directional coupler (fig 11) comprising: a main line (10); a first sub line (11); a second sub line (12) ; a termination circuit (14) configured to terminate the first sub line (11) or the second sub line (12) ; a first phase shifter circuit (17 and see 0109) in a first signal path between the first sub line and the second sub line; a first selector switch (29a, 29b) configured to selectively switch between connection (29a, 29e), and non-connection (29a, 29f) between the first sub line (11) and the first phase shifter circuit (17); and a second selector switch (29c, 29d) configured to selectively switch between connection (29c, 29J) and non-connection between the first phase shifter circuit (17) and the second sub line (12). Seki et al suggests (0111) putting a variable filter in between the first and second sub lines, but doesn’t explicitly teach moving the matching circuit (17) or putting a phase shifter (LPF) in between the first and second sub lines. However, from the same field of endeavor, Tamaru (fig 1) teaches inserting a LPF1 as a phase shifter (from the abstract… a low pass filter is connected between the first sub line and the second sub line and causes a phase shift to be generated in a passing signal passing therethrough in such a manner that the phase shift monotonically increases within a range from about 0 to about 180 degrees with increasing frequency in the predetermined frequency band….) in between the first (S1) and second (S2) sub lines. It would have been obvious to add the phase shifter taught by Tamaru in Seki et al which would allow it to be selected and not selected by Seki et al switch in and out in his circuit giving it more coupling options.
5. Regarding claim 2. Tamaru (fig 1) wherein the first phase shifter circuit comprises a low pass filter (LPF1).
6. Regarding Claim 3. Seki et al teaches (0109) wherein the first phase shifter circuit (17) comprises a circuit component with a variable characteristic value (…the variable matching circuit 17 is configured with, for example, a passive element such as an inductor, a capacitor and the like, and a switch. By varying an impedance and a phase according to a frequency band to be detected….).
7. Regarding claim 4. Seki et al teaches wherein the termination circuit (14) comprises a circuit component with a variable characteristic value (both capacitor and resister are variable).
8. Regarding claim 5. Seki et al teaches (0065) wherein the termination circuit comprises: a resistor or a capacitor, and an inductor, and wherein the inductor is connected in series to the resistor (….the termination circuit 14 is a variable-type termination circuit, a configuration may be adoptable in which necessary components are connected in parallel among three types of a variable shunt resistor, a variable shunt capacitor, and a shunt circuit in which a variable inductor and a resistance element are connected in series…).
9. Regarding claim 13. Seki et al teaches the connection of switching network 29 to one end of the phase shifter that functions to connect (and non-connect) each of sub lines 11 and 12. He fails to teach the phase shifter connected between the first and second switch. However, since the limited function is the same, and since the third switch is not claimed, it would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts to connect one end of the phase shifter to the first switch and the other end to the second switch.
Claim Objections
10. In view of applicants arguments, claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 6-7 and 10-12 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/26 with respect to claims 1-5 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on the top of page 1, that the combination of Seki and Tamaru fails to teach a selective switch between connection and non-connection between the first sub line and the first phase shifter. The examiner disagrees. In Seki et al (fig 11 and 0106) when the switches 29a and 29b allow the first sub line 11 to be connected to the phase shifter 17 and “non-connected” to the phase shifter 17 (when the phase shifter is connected to the other sub line 12). The same is true for the second switch as read in (0107). The second sub line is connected to the phase shifter 17 and “non-connected” to the phase shifter 17 (when the phase shifter is connected to the other sub line 11). The addition of Tamaru is only to show that is known to place a phase shifter in between the sub lines and is an obvious rearrangement of working parts. The switching in and out remains the same.
Conclusion
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CURTIS A KUNTZ/Primary examiner, Art Unit 2646