DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to submission of application on 6/13/2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/28/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 2B should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) and 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5). Additionally 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification and drawings are replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. The drawings should be revised carefully in order to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) and 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4). Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification and drawings are:
Reference characters”100” [¶0030] and “110” [¶0031] have both been used to designate “base neural network model”.
Reference characters”530” [¶¶0060, 0062, 0080] and “730” [¶0063, Fig 7, Fig 8] have both been used to designate “Network construction module”.
Reference characters”840” [¶0060] and “740” [¶¶0053-0054, Fig 7] have both been used to designate “Input”.
Reference characters”850” [¶0060] and “750” [¶¶0053-0054, Fig 7] have both been used to designate “Output”.
Reference character 100 has been used to designate both “example training process” [¶0030], and “base neural network model” [¶0030].
Reference character 530 has been used to designate both “network construction module” [¶0063, Fig 7, Fig 8], and “new model” [¶0048, ¶0098, Fig 5].
The specification includes reference characters “831-335” [0062], “840” & “850” ¶0060, which are not present in the drawings.
The drawings include reference character “100A” [Fig 1], 300a & 300b [Figure 3A-3B] which are not present in the description.
The text and symbols, particularly in Figure 14, are not clearly legible.
These items are provided as a non-exhaustive set of exemplary objections and discrepancies between the drawings and the specification. Applicant is reminded to revise the drawings and the specification carefully and completely.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Inconsistent format of paragraph numbers. Paragraphs 1-99 are formatted using four-digit representation [0001] - [0099], while paragraphs 100-104 are formatted using a five-digit representation [00100] – [00104].
¶0001 includes placeholders for nonprovisional applications incorporated by reference, however the application numbers are not present.
¶0064 includes a typographical error, “730and” should be “730 and”.
¶0091 includes a typographical error, “730 (e.g., FIGS. 7 and 9).” As Figure 9 does not, however Figure 8 does include reference number 730, examiner respectfully suggests the correction “(e.g., FIGS. 7 and 8).”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 7 & 8 are objected to because of grammatical errors that impact clarity and readability. Examiner suggests the following revisions:
Claim 6
“…wherein [[the]] training the adapter…”
“…wherein the training of the adapter…”
Claims 7 & 8
“…wherein [[the]] merging the trained adapter…”
“…wherein the merging of the trained adapter…”
Examiner
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 12, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 12, & 20 recite the limitation "the tree structure" in line 3, "selecting the first base neural network based on the tree structure". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 8-13, & 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The analysis of the claims will follow the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidelines (“2019 PEG”).
Step 1: Is the claim directed at one of the four statutory categories?
Claims 1-5, & 8 are directed to a method, which falls within the statutory category of a process.
Claims 9-13, & 16 are directed to a system, which falls within the statutory category of a machine.
Claims 17-20 are directed to A non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, which falls within the statutory category of an article of manufacture.
Therefore, claims 1-5, 8-13, & 16-20 are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. (MPEP § 2106.03)
Independent Claims
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes, independent claims 1, 9, & 17 recite an abstract idea in the form of mental processes. A mental process is a process that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper” (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III), paragraph 1). Examples of mental processes include “observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions” (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III), paragraph 2).
The following limitations of claims 1 are mental processes:
selecting, from a library of base neural networks, a first base neural network based on a compatibility metric between the first base neural network and a target base neural network; [Selecting a neural network from a library involves judgements and evaluations. Basing this selection on a compatibility metric based on proximity within the library structure involves further evaluations and judgements that can be performed in the human mind and is therefore a mental process.]
creating the new neural network by merging the trained adapter neural network with the target base neural network without retraining the trained adapter neural network. [Creating a new neural network by merging two neural networks without involving any training as claimed broadly encompasses methods of merging neural networks that can be performed in the human mind; therefore this limitation recites a mental process.]
Therefore, the independent claims recite a judicial exception
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No. The judicial exception recited in the above discussed claims is not integrated into a practical application.
training an adapter neural network in conjunction with the first base neural network using a training dataset of a specific domain; [Training a neural network in the method as claimed is mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using generic computer equipment running general classes of computer algorithms in their ordinary capacity. (MPEP §2106.05(f))]
Therefore, under MPEP § 2106.04(d), the additional elements of the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No. The claims do not recite additional elements that are sufficient for the claims to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements that are mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic class of computer algorithms do not constitute significantly more than a judicial exception under MPEP § 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements identified in the Step 2A Prong Two analysis do not constitute significantly more than a judicial exception.
Dependent Claims
The remaining dependent claims being rejected do not recite additional elements, whether considered individually or in combination, that are sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 2, 10, & 18:
Step 2A, Prong 1:
wherein the compatibility metric indicates that the target base neural network is generated from merging the first base neural network and another neural network. [These further limitations merely further define the mental process recited in the parent claim and are therefore considered to be part of the mental process of the parent claim.]
Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B:
There are no additional elements recited, as such the claim does not provide a practical application and is not considered to be significantly more.
Claims 3, 11, & 19:
Step 2A, Prong 1:
building a library of base neural networks by merging one or more neural networks to produce a new neural network, [Creating a new neural network by merging two neural networks without involving any training as claimed broadly encompasses methods of merging neural networks that can be performed in the human mind. Building a library of these networks as a tree structure that indicates relationships between the networks is a method of organization that evolves evaluation and judgement; therefore this limitation is a mental process: observation, evaluation, judgement, something that can be done with the human mind, or with the aid of pen and paper. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))]
Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B:
There are no additional elements recited, as such the claim does not provide a practical application and is not considered to be significantly more.
Claim 4, 12, & 20:
Step 2A, Prong 1:
wherein the selecting, from the library of base neural networks, the first base neural network comprises: selecting the first base neural network based on the tree structure [Selecting a neural network from a library involves judgements and evaluations. Basing this selection tree structure of the library additionally involves observations, evaluations and judgements that can be performed in the human mind and is therefore a mental process. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))]
wherein the target base neural network is produced through merging the first base neural network with one or more other neural networks. [Producing a neural network by merging two neural networks without involving any training as claimed broadly encompasses methods of merging neural networks that can be performed in the human mind; therefore this limitation is also a mental process. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))]
Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B:
There are no additional elements recited, as such the claim does not provide a practical application and is not considered to be significantly more.
Claims 5 & 13:
Step 2A, Prong 1:
wherein the first base neural network has a smaller size than the target base neural network. [This additional limitation merely further defines the mental process recited in the parent claim and is therefore considered to be part of the mental process of the parent claim.]
Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B:
There are no additional elements recited, as such the claim does not provide a practical application and is not considered to be significantly more.
Claim 8 & 16:
Step 2A, Prong 1:
wherein the merging the trained adapter neural network with the target base neural network comprises: selectively pruning the adapter neural network by removing one or more weights or layers based on similarity metrics between the first set of layers of the adapter neural network and the second set of layers of the target neural network;. [Selectively pruning as claimed involves observations and judgements, further basing this pruning off of similarity metrics requires evaluation and processes that can be performed in the human mind; therefore this limitation is also a mental process. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))]
merging remaining weights and/or layers of the selectively pruned adapter neural network with the target neural network to produce the new neural network. [Producing a neural network by merging two neural networks without involving any training as claimed broadly encompasses methods of merging neural networks that can be performed in the human mind; therefore this limitation is also a mental process. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))]
Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B:
There are no additional elements recited, as such the claim does not provide a practical application and is not considered to be significantly more.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-9, & 14-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the corresponding claims of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/742,519 (US 2025/0384272 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons outlined in the table below.
This application – 18/742,328
Co-pending application – 18/742,519
1. A method of constructing a new neural network to perform a specific task, the method comprising:
Claim 1: A method of constructing a new neural network to perform a specific task, the method comprising:
selecting, from a library of base neural networks, a first base neural network based on a compatibility metric between the first base neural network and a target base neural network;
Claim 10: wherein the base neural network is selected based on a compatibility matric with the different base neural network used for training the adapter neural network.
training an adapter neural network in conjunction with the first base neural
network using a training dataset of a specific domain; and
Claim 9: the adapter neural network is trained in conjunction with a different base neural network using a training dataset of a specific domain
creating the new neural network by merging the trained adapter neural network with the target base neural network
Claim 1: merging remaining weights and/ or layers of the selectively pruned adapter neural network with the base neural network to produce the new neural network;
without retraining the trained adapter neural network.
This further limitation is not in the claims of the ‘519 application. However, it is taught by the Zhang reference, see claim mapping in §103 rejections supra. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a skilled machine learning engineer to merge the already-trained adapter of claim 10 with the compatibility-selected base neural network without retraining the adapter, thereby avoiding the computational cost associated with retraining.
As illustrated in the table above, most limitations in this claim have a corresponding equivalent or more specific limitation in the ‘519 co-pending application; the Zhang reference discloses the remaining limitations.
Independent claims 9 & 17 recite an analogous system and an analogous computer-readable media, respectively.
The correspondence in dependent claims is illustrated in the table below.
This application – 18/742,328
Co-pending application – 18/742,519
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the training the adapter neural network in
conjunction with the first base neural network using the training dataset of the specific domain comprises:
Claim 9: The method of claim 1, wherein the adapter neural network is trained in
conjunction with a different base neural network using a training dataset of a specific domain by:
jointly generating, by a combination of the adapter neural network and the first base
neural network, a training output based on a training input from the training dataset; and
jointly generating, by a combination of the adapter neural network and the different
base neural network, a training output based on a training input from the training dataset; and
updating weights of the adapter neural network based on a training loss computed from the training output while keeping weights of the first base neural network unchanged.
updating weights of the first set of layers of the adapter neural network based on a
training loss computed from the training output while keeping weights of the different base neural network unchanged.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the merging the trained adapter neural network with the target base neural network comprises merging a first set of layers of the trained adapter neural network with a second set of layers of the target base neural network based
on a per-layer basis.
Claim 2: The method of claim 1, further comprising: merging at least a first layer from the first set of layers of the adapter neural network with a corresponding layer from a second set of layers of the base neural network
on a per-layer basis.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the merging the trained adapter neural network with the target base neural network comprises:
Claim 1: merging remaining weights and/ or layers of the selectively pruned adapter neural network with the base neural network to produce the new neural network;
selectively pruning the adapter neural network by removing one or more weights or layers based on similarity metrics between the first set of layers of the adapter neural network and the second set of layers of the target neural network; and
selectively pruning the adapter neural network by removing one or more weights or layers based on similarity metrics between the first set of layers of the adapter neural network and a second set of layers of a base neural network;
merging remaining weights and/ or layers of the selectively pruned adapter neural
network with the target neural network to produce the new neural network.
merging remaining weights and/ or layers of the selectively pruned adapter neural
network with the base neural network to produce the new neural network;
As illustrated in the table above, every claim limitation in claims 6, 7, & 8 has a corresponding equivalent or more specific limitation in the ‘519 co-pending application. Thus, the ‘519 patent anticipates these claims.
The obviousness analysis of independent claims 1 & 9 applies equally to these dependent claims.
Dependent claims 14, 15, & 16 are analogous to dependent claims 6, 7, & 8
The following references are relied upon for the art rejection set forth below:
Asatani, US Pub. No. US 2024/0265691 A1, May 2022, Hereinafter Asatani
Watson et al. US Pub. No. US 2019/0354850 A1, May 2018, Hereinafter Watson
Zhang et al. TaCA: Upgrading Your Visual Foundation Model with Task-agnostic Compatible Adapter, June 2023, Hereinafter Zhang
Narayanan et al. US Pub. No. US 2024/0273397 A1, May 2023, Hereinafter Narayanan
Pons et al. Effective Layer Pruning Through Similarity Metric Perspective, May 2024, Hereinafter Pons
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9, 13-15, & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asatani in view of Watson and Zhang.
Regarding Claim 1, Asatani discloses A method of constructing a new neural network to perform a specific task, the method comprising: [Asatani: ¶0002] “The present disclosure relates to… a trained model generating method”
selecting, from a library of base neural networks, a first base neural network […] [Asatani: ¶0046] “The controller 22 acquires multiple base models 30… by acquiring the multiple base models 30 from an external device.” Asatani discloses acquiring multiple base models by the controller, which constitutes the disclosed library of base neural networks under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI). [Asatani: ¶0047] “The controller 22 selects at least one base model 30 from among the multiple base models 30.” The controller then selects at least one base model from this collection of base models, corresponding to selecting a first base neural network as claimed.
training an adapter neural network in conjunction with the first base neural network using a training dataset of a specific domain; [Asatani: ¶0039] “The controller 22 updates the image adapter 50 by training the image adapter 50 based on the first pseudo information and the real information, with the image adapter 50 coupled to the trained base model 30 generated in the First Step.” Asatani teaches an image adapter corresponding to the adapter neural network, trained base model corresponding to the first base neural network, and the real information corresponding to domain-specific training data.
and creating the new neural network by merging the trained adapter neural network with the target base neural network without retraining the trained adapter neural network. Regarding “merging”, under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, “merging” encompasses combining or coupling an adapter neural network with a base neural network. The specification states [¶0031] “the adapter 120 may be added to the layers of the base model 110… These layers may be added either on top of or in between the layers of the base 110.”. As such, the claimed “merging” is not limited to a particular mathematical or parameter-level merging operation. [Asatani: ¶0044] “the controller 22 generates the trained model 70 by coupling the image adapter 50 to the target model 40. Specifically, the controller 22 couples a trained image adapter 50b generated in the Second Step to the trained target model 40 … generated in the Third Step… the controller 22 transfers the image adapter 50 generated in the Second Step and couples the image adapter 50 to the target model 40.” Asatani discloses a coupling, corresponding to merging, of the trained image adapter with the target model to generate the new trained model. [Asatani: ¶0029] “The trained model generating device 20 can generate the image adapter 50 in advance through pre-training, and then generate the trained model 70 by simply generating the target model … and then coupling the image adapter 50 to the target model 40.” Asatani further teaches that the image adapter may be trained before the target model is generated and subsequently coupled to the target model, without further training of the image adapter being performed as part of the disclosed coupling.
Asatani does not expressly disclose the selection of the first base neural network based on a compatibility metric [,,,]; However, Watson teaches utilizing similarity metrics as a basis for selecting a neural network model from a library of models.
Watson teaches that [Watson: ¶0043] “the assessment component 112 assess the library of models 122 (e.g., computing similarity metrics for one or more pre-trained neural network models comprised within the library of models 122), the identification component 114 can identify one or more pre-trained neural network models comprised within the library of models 122 based on the assessed similarity metrics.” Watson discloses selecting a neural network model from a library of models based on an assessed similarity metric.
Asatani and Watson are analogous art because each reference relates to neural network models and the transfer or reuse of learned information between models. In particular, Watson concerns identifying neural network models suitable for transfer learning, while Asatani concerns transferring a trained adapter for use with another neural network model. Accordingly, Watson is reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by Asatani of transferring learned information for use with another neural network model.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Watson’s similarity-based model selection into Asatani’s selection of a base model, in order to improve the selection of a base model for transferring learned information.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been provided by Watson itself. Watson recognizes that [Watson: ¶0026] “for a given new data set, the identification of which pre-trained model to select for transfer learning can directly affect the performance of the one or more desired machine learning tasks.” Watson further teaches the benefit of its approach [Watson: ¶0027] “facilitate the efficient, effective, and autonomous (e.g., without direct human guidance) identification, creation, and/or selection one or more pre-trained neural network models for transfer learning to enhance the performance of one or more target machine learning tasks.” A PHOSITA would have incorporated Watson’s similarity-based model selection into Asatani’s selection of a base model, combining prior-art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable benefit of improved performance for transferring learned information. (MPEP § 2143.01(A))
Asatani in view of Watson does not expressly disclose that the compatibility metric is between the first base neural network and a target base neural network. However, Zhang does teach this limitation
Zhang teaches compatibility between an original model, and a new foundation model, [Zhang: §3.2] “the new foundation model should be compatible with the original one in terms of the encoded representations”. Zhang further teaches a quantitative compatibility measure between two networks [Zhang: §3.3, Eq 4] “
L
c
o
n
t
r
a
ϕ
^
n
e
w
;
ϕ
o
l
d
=
1
D
∑
x
i
I
∈
D
ϕ
^
n
e
w
(
x
i
I
)
,
ϕ
o
l
d
(
x
i
I
)
.” Zhang discloses a quantitative measure of compatibility between neural network models based on the distance between their respective representations.
Asatani, Watson, and Zhang are analogous art because each reference relates to neural network models and the transfer or reuse of learned information between models. In particular, Zhang concerns compatibility between different foundation models to permit reuse of previously learned downstream functionality. Accordingly, Zhang is reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by Asatani of transferring a trained adapter for use with another neural network model.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate Zhang’s model-compatibility teachings into the combination of Asatani and Watson, such that Watson’s similarity-based selection of a base model considers compatibility between the two neural networks, in order to improve the selection of a base model for transferring the trained adapter to the target model, improving the likelihood the trained adapter will properly integrate with the target model without retraining, thereby reducing computational resources.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been provided by Zheng itself. Zhang recognizes that retraining downstream modules to ensure compatibility with a new foundation model [Zhang: §3.2] “can be inflexible and costly, especially as the number of tasks increases” and further teaches its approach [Zhang: Abstract] “allows downstream applications to seamlessly integrate better-performing foundation models without necessitating retraining”. A PHOSITA would have further incorporated Zhang’s model compatibility teachings into the model selection of Asatani and Watson, combining prior-art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable benefit of improved compatibility when transferring learned functionality between neural network models and reduced need for retraining resulting in reduced resource consumption. (MPEP § 2143.01(A))
Regarding Claim 5, Asatani combined with Watson and Zhang discloses the method according to claim 1, Zhang further teaching wherein the first base neural network has a smaller size than the target base neural network. [Zhang: §4.1] “we choose ViT-B/16 and ViT-L/14 as the old foundation models and test the performance gains when changing them to larger backbones.” [Zhang: §4.3] “We test our TaCA by upgrading the original visual foundation models (dubbed as VFM) with a larger one.” Zhang discloses moving from an old foundation model to new larger foundation model, corresponding to the first base neural network being smaller than the target base neural network as claimed.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to utilize Zhang’s larger foundation model as the target base neural network in order to obtain improved performance from the upgraded foundation model. Zhang teaches that [Zhang: §1] “by replacing the original ViT-B/16 with TaCA-ViT-H/14, performance improvements are observed on all ranges of benchmarks", providing motivation for incorporating Zhang’s teachings of upgrading from a smaller foundation model to a larger foundation model, combining prior-art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable benefit of improved performance. (MPEP § 2143.01(A))
Regarding Claim 6, Asatani combined with Watson and Zhang discloses the method according to Claim 1, Asatani further teaching wherein the training the adapter neural network in conjunction with the first base neural network using the training dataset of the specific domain comprises: jointly generating, by a combination of the adapter neural network and the first base neural network, a training output based on a training input from the training dataset; [Asatani: ¶0040] “the controller 22 performs training by inputting the first pseudo information and real information to the image adapter 50a being trained, and inputting the output of the image adapter 50a being trained to each of the x base models 30… The controller 22 updates the image adapter 50 so that information output from each base model 30 that has been input with the first pseudo information via the image adapter 50 and information output from each base model 30 that has been input with the real information via the image adapter 50 become more similar to each other.” Asatani discloses the training information is input to the image adapter 50 and the output of the image adapter is input to the base model, which generates the resulting output information, corresponding to jointly generating a training output by the combination of the adapter neural network and the first base neural network.
And updating weights of the adapter neural network based on a training loss computed from the training output while keeping weights of the first base neural network unchanged. [Asatani: ¶0039] “The controller 22 may update the image adapter 50 by updating the weighting factors of the image adapter 50.” [Asatani: ¶0040] “The controller 22 may update each base model 30 together with the image adapter 50 by performing training, or may update only the image adapter 50.” [Asatani: ¶0078] “The controller 22 of the trained model generating device 20 may generate the image adapter 50 by performing training to optimize the loss function” Asatani discloses updating only the weights of its adapter while leaving the weights of its base model unchanged. Further Asatani discloses that training of the adapter is trained to optimize a loss function, corresponding to updating the weights of the adapter based on a training loss.
Regarding Claim 7, Asatani combined with Watson and Zhang discloses the method according to Claim 1, Watson further discloses wherein the merging the trained adapter neural network with the target base neural network comprises merging a first set of layers of the trained adapter neural network with a second set of layers of the target base neural network based on a per-layer basis. [Watson: ¶0045] “To generate the one or more new pre-trained neural network models the identification component 114 can compose a neural network model as a mixture of different layers extracted from each of the plurality of pre-existing, pre-trained neural network models.” Watson further teaches [Watson: ¶0045] “Different layers of respective pre-trained neural network models can have different similarity metrics; thus, the identification component 114 can mix one or more first layers of a first pre-trained neural network model … with one or more second layers of a second pre-trained neural network model” Watson discloses merging a first set of layers from a first neural network with a second set of layers from another neural network, wherein individual layers are evaluated and selected according to similarity metrics associated with the respective layers, corresponding to merging layers on a per-layer basis. When applied to Asatani’s trained adapter neural network and target base neural network, this teaches merging the first set of adapter layers with the second set of target-model layers on a per-layer basis.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to incorporate Watson’s layer-specific model-composition technique into Asatani’s coupling of its multi-layer adapter with its multi-layer target model, in order to account for differences in similarity among respective layers when forming the resulting neural network.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been provided by Asatani and Watson themselves. Asatani teaches that [Asatani: ¶0030] “The base model 30 and target model 40 are configured as convolution neural networks (CNN) having multiple layers.” Asatani further teaches that [Asatani: ¶0033] “The image adapter 50 may be configured as a CNN having multiple layers,” Watson teaches that [Watson: ¶0045] “Different layers of respective pre-trained neural network models can have different similarity metrics” and that the identification component can mix layers from different pre-trained neural network models based on those similarity metrics. Watson further teaches that the per-layer composition [Watson: ¶0045] “can be more similar … to the one or more target data sets than the pre-existing, pre-trained neural network models” from which those layers originated. A PHOSITA would have applied Watson’s layer-specific composition technique when coupling Asatani’s multi-layer adapter and target model, combining prior-art elements according to known methods to obtain the predictable benefit of improved similarity of the resulting model to the target data. (MPEP § 2143.01(A))
Claims 9, 13, 14, & 15 are substantially similar in scope and spirit as claims 1, 5, 6, & 7, respectively, differing only in reciting A system of constructing a new neural network to perform a specific task, the system comprising: a communication interface; a memory storing a plurality of processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors executing the plurality of processor-executable instructions to perform operations comprising the recited operations – a system that Watson discloses [Watson: ¶0027] “Various embodiments of the present invention can be directed to computer processing systems, computer-implemented methods, apparatus and/or computer program products that facilitate the efficient, effective, and autonomous … identification, creation, and/or selection one or more pre-trained neural network models” [Watson: Figure 14] a computing environment 1400 including a processing unit 1414, system memory 1416, and network interface 1448 coupled through communication connection 1450, as such Watson discloses the system as claimed for constructing a new neural network. Therefore the rejection of claims 1, 5, 6, & 7 are applied accordingly.
Claim 17 is substantially similar in scope and spirit as claim 1, differing only in reciting A non-transitory processor-readable storage medium storing a plurality of processor-executable instructions for constructing a new neural network to perform a specific task, the instructions being executed by one or more processors to perform operations comprising the recited operations – a computer-implemented form that Watson discloses [“Various embodiments of the present invention can be directed to computer processing systems, computer-implemented methods, apparatus and/or computer program products that facilitate the efficient, effective, and autonomous … identification, creation, and/or selection one or more pre-trained neural network models” [Watson: ¶0125] “A computer readable storage medium, as used herein, is not to be construed as being transitory signal” [Watson: ¶0129] “These computer readable program instructions may also be stored in a computer readable storage medium that can direct a computer, a programmable data processing apparatus, and/or other devices to function in a particular manner,” as such Watson discloses a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium storing processor-executable instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the disclosed operations as claimed. Therefore the rejection of claim 1 is applied accordingly.
Claims 2-4, 10-12, & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Asatani, Watson, and Zhang, in further view of Narayanan.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Asatani, Watson, and Zhang discloses the method according to Claim 1, including a compatibility metric between the first base neural network and the target base neural network as disclosed in claim 1. However, this combination does not expressly disclose, but Narayanan does teach:
wherein the compatibility metric indicates that the target base neural network is generated from merging the first base neural network and another neural network. Narayanan teaches [Narayanan: ¶0021] “the lineage graphs are created … using a diff primitive which quantitatively measures the difference between two models” and that graph creation [Narayanan: ¶0026] “uses the graph difference algorithm to automatically determine the provenance information.” Narayanan further teaches determining a relationship between a model and the parent models from which the model was generated. [Narayanan: ¶0057] “The node 20c includes a node name 202c “Model m3” and a creation function 26c that indicates the ancestors for the node 20c are Model m1 (node 20a) and Mode m2 (node 20b). The creation function 26c also indicates how the Model m3 is created from the parent models (Model m1, Model m2). In the illustrated example, the creation function 26c indicates that the model m3 is the sum of the model m1 and the model m2.” Narayanan therefore discloses a quantitative model-to-model comparison used to determine provenance information, including information indicating that a target model was generated by combining a first parent model with another parent model, which when combined with the compatibility determination of Zhang, corresponds to the compatibility metric indicating that the target base neural network is generated from merging the first base neural network and another neural network.
Asatani, Watson, Zhang and Narayanan are analogous art because they relate to neural network or machine learning models and the transfer, reuse, selection, or relationship of learned models. As it pertains to claims 2-4, Narayanan concerns tracking provenance and relationships between machine learning models, including related models that share structure and often parameter values. Narayanan is reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by Asatani of creating a new model through transferring and reusing trained model functionality between multiple neural network models.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Narayanan’s model provenance information into the compatibility determination of Asatani, Watson, and Zhang, in order to improve the determination of model compatibility by additionally considering structural similarity and derivation relationships between models.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been provided by Narayanan and Zhang themselves, which teaches that [Narayanan: ¶0020] “The lineage graph helps track provenance information across multiple machine learning models. Edges in the lineage graph track how the machine learning models are related to each other.” Narayanan further teaches that [Narayanan: ¶0018] “ML models are related to each other, sharing structure and often even parameter values.” Zhang teaches that “the new foundation model can be directly integrated into various modular frameworks with the pre-learned downstream modules untouched. To enable such a paradigm, the new foundation model should be compatible with the original one in terms of the encoded representations.” A PHOSITA would have been motivated to organize the related neural network models of Asatani, Watson, and Zhang using Narayanan’s lineage structure in order to preserve and readily identify the relationships showing that derived models were created from parent models, and to consider those relationships with Zhang’s representational-compatibility when determining the models for training and combining.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Asatani, Watson, and Zhang discloses the method according to Claim 1. However, this combination does not expressly disclose, but in combination with Narayanan does teach:
further comprising: building a library of base neural networks by merging one or more neural networks to produce a new neural network, wherein the library of base neural networks contains a tree structure indicating merging relationships between the base neural networks. Regarding the “tree structure”, under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, the “tree structure” as displayed in Figure 4 of the application is shown to have nodes that contain both multiple out going paths [e.g. mistralai Mistral-7B-v.01 as seen in the top layer] as is the case in a traditional tree structure, as well as multiple incoming paths [e.g. EmbeddedLLM as seen in layer 4 & 5], representing multiple parent nodes, which is consistent with a traditional graph structure. The specification states [¶0040] “As shown, a library of base models such as LLMs may be created via merging with adapters, or merging with each others on top of public models such as LLMs....each circle in the tree structure represents a neural network model, and the ingress arrows represent the merging of different models that results in the respective neural network model.”. As such, the claimed “tree structure” in claims 3 & 4 are interpreted to also include graph structures. [Narayanan: ¶0057, Fig. 2] “The node 20c includes a node name 202c "Model m3" and a creation function 26c that indicates the ancestors for the node 20c are Model m1 (node 20a) and Mode m2 (node 20b). The creation function 26c also indicates how the Model m3 is created from the parent models (Model m1, Model m2). In the illustrated example, the creation function 26c indicates that the model m3 is the sum of the model m1 and the model m2.” Narayanan teaches merging one or more neural networks to produce a new neural network. Narayanan further teaches the creation of a lineage graph [Narayanan: ¶0065, Fig. 3] “The lineage graph creation component 12 uses the provenance information 16 to generate the lineage graph 18 with a plurality of nodes 20 and a plurality of provenance edges 22. The plurality of nodes 20 in the lineage graph 18 correspond to the plurality of machine learning models 14 and a provenance edge 22 between two nodes indicates a node is derived from another node.” Narayana discloses producing a new machine learning model from multiple parent machine learning models and organizing the resulting parent and derived models in a lineage graph that indicates the relationships by which the models were created, corresponding to building the claimed library by merging one or more neural networks to produce a new neural network and maintaining the resulting merging relationships in the claimed tree structure, under BRI.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Narayanan’s lineage-graph organization into the neural network selection and generation of Asatani, Watson, and Zhang, in order to maintain relationships among related machine-learning models produced through merging.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been provided by Narayanan itself. Narayanan teaches that [Narayanan: ¶0022] “Model parameters shared among multiple machine learning models can be de-duplicated using content-based hashing, and small changes in model parameters across machine learning models can be compressed efficiently with low runtime overhead and negligible accuracy loss.” Narayanan further teaches that it’s lineage graph may be used “to facilitate machine learning model testing, diagnostics, and/or updating.” A PHOSITA would have incorporated Narayanan’s lineage-graph organization into the neural network selection and generation of Asatani, Watson, and Zhang, combining prior-art elements according to known methods to obtain the predictable benefits of reduced redundant model storage and facilitated model testing, diagnostics, and updating. (MPEP § 2143.01(A))
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Asatani, Watson, Zhang, and Narayanan discloses the method according to Claim 2, wherein the selecting, from the library of base neural networks, the first base neural network comprises: selecting the first base neural network based on the tree structure, wherein the target base neural network is produced through merging the first base neural network with one or more other neural networks. [Narayanan: ¶0004] “a lineage graph with a plurality of nodes and a plurality of provenance edges, wherein the plurality of nodes correspond to the plurality of machine learning models and a provenance edge between two nodes indicates a node is derived from another node.” [Narayanan: ¶0057, Fig. 2] “The node 20c includes a node name 202c "Model m3" and a creation function 26c that indicates the ancestors for the node 20c are Model m1 (node 20a) and Mode m2 (node 20b). The creation function 26c also indicates how the Model m3 is created from the parent models (Model m1, Model m2). In the illustrated example, the creation function 26c indicates that the model m3 is the sum of the model m1 and the model m2.” Narayanan teaches a lineage graph as a library of base machine learning models that are produced through merging one or more neural networks. [Asatani: ¶0047] “The controller 22 selects at least one base model 30 from among the multiple base models 30” [Watson: ¶0043] “the identification component 114 can identify one or more assessed pre-trained neural network models that can have the closest correlation, based on the similarity metrics” Asatani and Watson disclose selecting a first base neural network from a library of models based on a similarity metric, wherein, as discussed in the parent claim 2, the similarity/compatibility determination incorporates Narayanan’s provenance information represented in the lineage graph. Narayanan further teaches that [Narayanan: ¶0023] “Once constructed, the lineage graph may be used to test machine learning models and perform diagnostics using a traversal of the lineage graph”. Narayanan teaches using the lineage-graph structure to evaluate machine-learning models represented within the graph. Accordingly, the combined teachings disclose selecting the first base neural network based on the tree structure, wherein the target base neural network is produced through merging the first base neural network with one or more other neural networks.
Claims 10, 11, & 12 are substantially similar in scope and spirit as claims 2, 3, & 4, respectively, differing only in reciting A system of constructing a new neural network to perform a specific task, the system comprising: a communication interface; a memory storing a plurality of processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors executing the plurality of processor-executable instructions to perform operations comprising the recited operations – a system that Watson discloses [Watson: ¶0027] “Various embodiments of the present invention can be directed to computer processing systems, computer-implemented methods, apparatus and/or computer program products that facilitate the efficient, effective, and autonomous … identification, creation, and/or selection one or more pre-trained neural network models” [Watson: Figure 14] a computing environment 1400 including a processing unit 1414, system memory 1416, and network interface 1448 coupled through communication connection 1450, as such Watson discloses the system as claimed for constructing a new neural network. Therefore the rejection of claims 2, 3, & 4 are applied accordingly.
Claims 18, 19, & 20 are substantially similar in scope and spirit as claims 2, 3, & 4, respectively, differing only in reciting A non-transitory processor-readable storage medium storing a plurality of processor-executable instructions for constructing a new neural network to perform a specific task, the instructions being executed by one or more processors to perform operations comprising the recited operations – a computer-implemented form that Watson discloses [“Various embodiments of the present invention can be directed to computer processing systems, computer-implemented methods, apparatus and/or computer program products that facilitate the efficient, effective, and autonomous … identification, creation, and/or selection one or more pre-trained neural network models” [Watson: ¶0125] “A computer readable storage medium, as used herein, is not to be construed as being transitory signal” [Watson: ¶0129] “These computer readable program instructions may also be stored in a computer readable storage medium that can direct a computer, a programmable data processing apparatus, and/or other devices to function in a particular manner,” as such Watson discloses a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium storing processor-executable instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the disclosed operations as claimed. Therefore the rejection of claims 2, 3, & 4 are applied accordingly.
Claims 8 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Asatani, Watson, and Zhang, in further view of Pons.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Asatani, Watson, and Zhang disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the merging the trained adapter neural network with the target base neural network comprises: […] merging remaining weights and/ or layers of the [selectively pruned] adapter neural network with the target neural network to produce the new neural network. [Watson: ¶0045] “Different layers of respective pre-trained neural network models can have different similarity metrics; thus, the identification component 114 can mix one or more first layers of a first pre-trained neural network model … with one or more second layers of a second pre-trained neural network model…to construct the new pre-trained neural network model.” Watson teaches a first set of layers of one neural network and a second set of layers of another neural network being compared on a per-layer basis using similarity metrics, and further teaches combining selected layers of the respective neural networks to create a new neural network. However, the Combination of Asatani, Watson, and Zhang does not expressly disclose, but Pons does teach:
selectively pruning the adapter neural network by removing one or more weights or layers based on similarity metrics between the first set of layers of the adapter neural network and the second set of layers of the target neural network; [Pons: Abstract] “Our method estimates the relative importance of a layer using the Centered Kernel Alignment (CKA) metric, employed to measure the similarity between the representations of the unpruned model and a candidate layer for pruning.” [Pons: §1] “we create a temporary pruned model by removing a candidate layer… Afterward, for each temporary model … we compare their representations with the original network using CKA. Finally, we select the temporary network that yields the highest similarity, thus removing the unimportant layer.” Pons further teaches that [Pons: §1] “we employ Centered Kernel Alignment (CKA) due to its effectiveness and flexibility in measuring similarity between two networks” and that CKA is commonly used for [Pons: §1] “comparing network representations.” Pons discloses selectively pruning a neural network by removing one or more layers based on a similarity metric. When Pons’s similarity-based pruning is applied to the adapter neural network of the Asatani, Watson, and Zhang combination, Pons’s CKA-based network comparison is applied to the adapter neural network and the target neural network to determine similarity for selectively pruning one or more adapter layers before the remaining adapter layers are merged with the target neural network.
Asatani, Watson, Zhang, and Pons are analogous art because each related to neural networks and the modification, transfer, combination, or optimization of neural network models. Pons is reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by Asatani, Watson, and Zhang of efficiently combining and reusing trained neural network functionality while reducing unnecessary model complexity.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Pons’s similarity-based pruning technique to the adapter neural network of Asatani, Watson, and Zhang before merging the adapter with the target neural network, in order to reduce unnecessary network structure without reducing model accuracy.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been provided by Pons itself, which recognizes that deep neural networks [Pons: Abstract] “are restricted by a high computational overhead, limiting their applicability and hindering advancements in the field.” Pons teaches that [Pons: Abstract] “pruning structures from these models is a straightforward approach to reducing network complexity.” Pons introduces CKA which it notes as an effective layer-pruning strategy by estimating the relative importance of a layer and provides evidence [Pons: Abstract] “we remove more than 75% of computation while improving predictive ability. At higher compression regimes, our method exhibits negligible accuracy drop, while other methods notably deteriorate model accuracy.” [Pons: §1] “Our method relies on the hypothesis that similar representations between a dense (unpruned) network and its optimal sparse (pruned) candidate indicate lower relative importance. Existing evidence support this idea, revealing that layers share similar representations [49, 34]. By eliminating unimportant layers, we can preserve predictive capability and reduce computational demand.” A PHOSITA would have been motivated to apply Pons’s known similarity-based layer-pruning technique to the trained adapter of Asatani, Watson, and Zhang before merging the adapter with the target neural network, using representational similarity to identify lower-importance adapter layers for pruning, and combining prior-art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable benefit of reduced computational demand while maintaining model performance. (MPEP § 2143.01(A))
Claim 16 is substantially similar in scope and spirit as claim 8, respectively, differing only in reciting A system of constructing a new neural network to perform a specific task, the system comprising: a communication interface; a memory storing a plurality of processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors executing the plurality of processor-executable instructions to perform operations comprising the recited operations – a system that Watson discloses [Watson: ¶0027] “Various embodiments of the present invention can be directed to computer processing systems, computer-implemented methods, apparatus and/or computer program products that facilitate the efficient, effective, and autonomous … identification, creation, and/or selection one or more pre-trained neural network models” [Watson: Figure 14] a computing environment 1400 including a processing unit 1414, system memory 1416, and network interface 1448 coupled through communication connection 1450, as such Watson discloses the system as claimed for constructing a new neural network. Therefore the rejection of claim 8 is applied accordingly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Asatani, Minami US Pub No. US 2024/0265669 A1
/G.F.F./ Art Unit 2124
/MIRANDA M HUANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2124