Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 13 recites that the diagnostic tool comprises a converter that converts “at least one of alternating current to direct current and alternating current to direct current.” The phrase “alternating current to direct current” is duplicated, which results in a clerical inconsistency.
This error is considered an informality and does not raise an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as the intended scope of the claim is readily understood in view of the specification, which discloses conversion between alternating current and direct current in either direction.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Southwell et al. (U.S. 2016/0235981 A1) in view of Darr (U.S. 2007/0194942 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Southwell et al. disclose in Figs. 1-3, a device (100), comprising: an electrical power source (300)(see [0105] an internal battery power source (300) supplying electrical energy to the device); an illumination component (136) electrically connected to the electrical power source (300)(see [0099] LEDs electrically connected to the internal power source (300) for status and operation indication); a first test lead (222) electrically connected to the electrical power source (300) and capable of being electrically connected to a first terminal of an external electrical component (Under BRI, electrode connectors and lead wires disclosed by Southwell et al. are electrical leads capable of being connected to an external component terminal, see [0251]); a second test lead (232) electrically connected to the electrical power source (300) and capable of being electrically connected to a second terminal of the external electrical component (see [0251] multiple electrode leads connected to the power source (300) and attachable to an external body or component); and a switch (190) positioned between the electrical power source (300) and at least one of the first test lead (222) and the second test lead (232) and movable between a first position and a second position (see [0182] & [0194]) to permit current from the electrical power source (300) to flow through the at least one of the first test lead (222) and the second test lead (232)(see [0251] user-actuated switch (190)es and control circuitry selectively enabling current flow from the battery to the output electrodes).
Southwell et al. fail to disclose that the device is used as a diagnostic tool for energizing and testing an external electrical component distinct from a stimulation load.
Darr et al. disclose in Figs. 1-2 & [0024] using a portable electrically powered test device with leads and a switch (190) to selectively energize and diagnose external electrical components (see [0025] & [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Southwell et al. by incorporating the use of the electrically powered device with test leads and a switch (190) for energizing and diagnosing an external electrical component as taught by Darr et al., as doing so would provide the ability to selectively energize and evaluate the operability of external electrical components using a portable power source because Darr et al. emphasize in paragraphs [0019] and [0030] that applying controlled electrical power through test leads and a user-actuated switch (190) enables efficient diagnostic testing of external electrical components without reliance on the native system power, thereby improving troubleshooting accuracy and safety.
Regarding claim 2, Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose an output voltage of the device (380) is adjustable to match an operating voltage of the external electrical component (see [0113] adjustable output voltage levels controlled by internal circuitry and user settings, see [0114]).
Regarding claim 3, Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose the switch (190) is positioned between a terminal of the electrical power source (300) and a terminal of the illumination component (136)(see [0112]; switching circuitry between the battery and LED indicators).
Regarding claim 4, Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose the switch (190) is positioned between a terminal of the illumination component (136) and the first test lead (222)(Under BRI, Southwell et al. disclose LEDs and output electrodes sharing downstream control circuitry such that switching affects both illumination and output, see [0112 & 0117]).
Regarding claim 5, Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose a charging port (via USB port 140) capable of connecting the electrical power source (300) to an external charging system (see [0099] USB charging ports connected to the internal battery).
Regarding claim 6, Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose a fuse (Southwell et al. disclose protective circuitry including current limiting and safety protection components functioning as fuses under BRI, see [0114]).
Regarding claim 7, Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose a converter (via DCA see [0108]) configured to at least one of convert alternating current to direct current and convert direct current to alternating current (see internal power conditioning circuitry converting supplied power for device operation, see [0109]).
Regarding claim 8, Southwell et al. disclose a method for using a diagnostic tool to test an external electrical component, the method comprising: providing the diagnostic tool, the diagnostic tool including an electrical power source (300) and an illumination component (136) electrically connected to the electrical power source (300) (see [0105] an internal battery power source (300) supplying electrical energy to the device); connecting a first test lead (222) connected to the electrical power source (300) to a first terminal of the external electrical component (Under BRI, electrode connectors and lead wires disclosed by Southwell et al. are electrical leads capable of being connected to an external component terminal, see [0251]); connecting a second test lead (232) connected to the electrical power source (300) to a second terminal of the external electrical component (Under BRI, electrode connectors and lead wires disclosed by Southwell et al. are electrical leads capable of being connected to an external component terminal, see [0251]); and actuating a switch (190) of the diagnostic tool from a first position to a second position (see [0099]); wherein the switch (190) is positioned between the electrical power source (300) and at least one of the first test lead (222) and the second test lead (232), and wherein the switch (190)ing enables current to flow from the electrical power source (300) through the external electrical component (see [0251] user-actuated switch (190)es and control circuitry selectively enabling current flow from the battery to the output electrodes).
Southwell et al. fail to disclose performing the method for the purpose of energizing and testing a non-stimulation external electrical component for diagnostic evaluation.
Darr et al. disclose in Figs. 1-2 & [0024] using a portable electrically powered test device with leads and a switch (190) to selectively energize and diagnose external electrical components (see [0025] & [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Southwell et al. by incorporating the method of energizing and testing an external electrical component as taught by Darr et al., as doing so would provide a controlled and portable diagnostic method for verifying functionality of external electrical components because Darr et al. emphasize in paragraphs [0019] and [0023] that selectively applying electrical power through test leads using a user-actuated switch (190) enables effective diagnostic testing without reliance on the native power system, thereby improving troubleshooting efficiency and safety.
Regarding claim 9, Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the method of claim 8, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose an output voltage of the electrical power source (300) is adjusted to meet an operating voltage of the external electrical component (see [0113] adjustable output voltage levels controlled by internal circuitry and user settings, see [0114]).
Regarding claim 10, Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the method of claim 8, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose the illumination component (136) indicates whether the external electrical component is being energized based on a luminous intensity of the illumination component (136)(see [0112]; switch (190)ing circuitry between the battery and LED indicators).
Regarding claim 11, Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the method of claim 8, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose the switch (190) is positioned between a terminal of the electrical power source (300) and a terminal of the illumination component (136)(see [0112]; switch (190)ing circuitry between the battery and LED indicators).
Regarding claim 12 , Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the method of claim 8, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose the switch (190) is positioned between a terminal of the illumination component (136) and the first test lead (222)(Under BRI, Southwell et al. disclose LEDs and output electrodes downstream of common control circuitry such that the switch (190) affects both illumination and output delivery, see [0101]).
Regarding claim 13, Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the method of claim 8, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose the diagnostic tool comprises a converter (via DCA see [0108]; wherein internal power conditioning and conversion circuitry used to convert supplied power into operational form for output delivery, under BRI, such power conditioning constitutes conversion between current forms).
Regarding claim 14, Southwell et al. disclose a system, comprising: a power source (300) (see [0105] an internal battery power source (300) supplying electrical energy to the device); a first test lead (222) electrically connectable to the power source (300) and to a first terminal of an external electrical component (see [0251], electrode leads electrically connected to the power source (300) and attachable to an external body or component, under BRI, electrode leads correspond to test leads); a second test lead (232) electrically connectable to the power source (300) and to a second terminal of the external electrical component (see [0251] multiple electrode leads connected to the power source (300) and attachable to an external body or component); and a diagnostic tool, comprising: a switch (190) positioned between the power source (300) and at least one of the first test lead (222) and the second test lead (232) and movable between a first position and a second position (see [0182] & [0194]) to permit current from the power source (300) to flow through the external electrical component (see [0251] user-actuated switches and control circuitry selectively enabling current flow from the battery to the output electrodes).
Southwell et al. fail to disclose the system being used to energize and test non-stimulation external electrical components.
Darr et al. disclose a portable electrical testing system using a power source (300), leads, and a switch (190) to energize external electrical components for diagnostic purposes (see [0019], [0023] & [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify the system of Southwell et al. by incorporating the system-level diagnostic configuration for energizing an external electrical component as taught by Darr et al., as doing so would provide a portable system capable of supplying electrical power through test leads to an external electrical component for diagnostic purposes because Darr et al. emphasize in paragraphs [0019], [0023], and [0031] that a system including a power source (300), test leads, and a switch (190) enables controlled energization and functional verification of external electrical components, thereby enhancing system versatility and diagnostic effectiveness.
Regarding claim 15 , Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the system of claim 14, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose the power source (300) is adjustable such that a voltage output of the power source (300) is about an operating voltage of the external electrical component (see [0113] adjustable output voltage levels controlled by internal circuitry and user settings, see [0114]).
Regarding claim 16 , Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the system of claim 14, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose an illumination component (136) that indicates, based on a luminous intensity, whether the external electrical component is energized (see [0112]; switch (190)ing circuitry between the battery and LED indicators).
Regarding claim 17 , Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the system of claim 16, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose the switch (190) is positioned between a terminal of the power source (300) and a terminal of the illumination component (136) (see [0113] adjustable output voltage levels controlled by internal circuitry and user settings, see [0114]).
Regarding claim 18 , Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the system of claim 16, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose the switch (190) is positioned between a terminal of the illumination component (136) and the first test lead (222)(Under BRI, Southwell et al. disclose LEDs and output electrodes sharing downstream control circuitry such that switching affects both illumination and output, see [012 & 0117]).
Regarding claim 19 , Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the system of claim 14, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose a charging port (via USB port 140) capable of connecting the power source (300) to an external charging system (see [0099] USB charging ports connected to the internal battery).
Regarding claim 20 , Southwell et al. & Darr et al. disclose the system of claim 14, wherein Southwell et al. further disclose a converter (via DCA see [0108]) configured to at least one of convert alternating current to direct current and convert direct current to alternating current (see internal power conditioning circuitry converting supplied power for device operation, see [0109]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2012/0200299 A1 to Stanton et al. disclose a handheld electrical testing device is provided. The handheld electrical testing device includes a housing, electrical circuits located inside the housing for testing electrical components and sending results of the electrical test to a display, a display located on the surface of the housing, a selector switch located on the surface of the housing, a battery compartment wherein a DC battery can be placed, test leads that can be inserted into the housing connected to the internal circuitry within the housing and that can be clamped onto electrical components of a structure. The handheld electrical testing device also includes cubes that can be plugged into electrical outlets, the cubes including test leads that can be clamped by the test leads that are plugged into the housing.
U.S. 2016/0204617 A1 to Gilbert et al. disclose in Fig. 1 a testing device (220) for transmitting data representing a measured characteristic to a remote computing device. An electrical equipment includes an electrical conductor (212) carrying electric current. A current clamp (240) forms a current transformer (242). The current clamp is clamped around the electrical conductor. The current transformer induces the electric current from the electrical conductor. A circuitry converts the induced electric current to direct current that powers the testing device.
U.S. 2022/0214374 A1 to Kraft discloses an electrical testing device includes a housing having a base and a cover. The base and the cover define a cavity. The electrical testing device includes an input connector and a plurality of output connectors in electrical communication with the input connector. A fuse is in electrical communication with the input connector and the plurality of output connectors. The input connector and each output connector of the plurality of output connectors is adapted to connect to an interchangeable test lead. The input connector and each output connector of the plurality of output connectors is in electrical communication with an activation mechanism.
Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled "Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance." Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
January 3, 2026
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858