DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 06/13/2024 has been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8, 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, 17; respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,069,794.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the independent claims from the current application are broader than the independent claims from US Patent No. 12,069,794. For example, in the current application, claimed “electronic device” is broader than claimed “ball grid array device” in US Patent No. 12,069,794. Also, in the current application, claimed “shape memory alloy component” is broader than claimed “shaped memory alloy washer” in US Patent No. 12,069,794.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dehaine (US 5,010,949).
Regarding claim 1, Dehaine discloses (in Fig. 1, 2, 3 and Column 2, lines 33-68 and Column 3, lines 1-8) an apparatus [10, 11, 13] comprising: an electronic device [13]; a heat sink [11] thermally coupled to the electronic device [13]; and a pressure control assembly [10] configured to dynamically control a pressure of the heat sink [11] on the electronic device [13] based on a temperature associated with the electronic device [13], wherein the pressure control assembly [10] includes a shape memory alloy component [16] (See Column 2, lines 58-59: “According to the invention the spring 16 is made of a material with shape memory.”) configured to apply a first amount of the pressure when the shape memory alloy component [16] is in a first state (See Fig. 2 and Fig. 3B: Spring 16 is in a retracted state. When the spring is in the retracted state, it is in its resting position, which usually means zero pressure is applied), and a second amount of the pressure when the shape memory alloy component [16] is in a second state (See Fig. 1 and Fig. 3C: Spring is in a compressed state. See also Column 2, lines 47-57: “The pressure fastening device 10 includes a pressure device 16 having the form of a helical spring and a detachable connection device consisting of a ring 17, a pin 18 and a hole 19 in column 15 for pin 18. In the example described, column 15 was 5 mm in diameter and spring 16 was a 3 mm diameter wire wound in three spirals having a diameter of at least 11 mm and exerting, in the working position illustrated in FIG. 1, a pressure P=150 Newtons on the base of the heat sink 11 against the plate 12 for an extension of about 20 mm.”).
Regarding claim 7, Dehaine, as applied to claim 1, further discloses (in Fig. 1, 2, 3) wherein the first state is a neutral state of the shape memory alloy component [16] (See Fig. 2 and Fig. 3B: Spring 16 is in a retracted state, which means it is in a neutral state. When the spring is in the retracted state, it is in its resting position, which usually means zero pressure is applied.), and the second state is an activated state of the shape memory alloy component [16] (See Fig. 1 and Fig. 3C: Spring is in a compressed state. See also Column 2, lines 47-57: “The pressure fastening device 10 includes a pressure device 16 having the form of a helical spring and a detachable connection device consisting of a ring 17, a pin 18 and a hole 19 in column 15 for pin 18. In the example described, column 15 was 5 mm in diameter and spring 16 was a 3 mm diameter wire wound in three spirals having a diameter of at least 11 mm and exerting, in the working position illustrated in FIG. 1, a pressure P=150 Newtons on the base of the heat sink 11 against the plate 12 for an extension of about 20 mm.”).
Regarding claim 9, Dehaine, as applied to claim 1, further discloses (in Fig. 1, 2, 3) wherein the first amount of the pressure (See Fig. 2 and Fig. 3B: Spring 16 is in a retracted state. When the spring is in the retracted state, it is in its resting position, which usually means zero pressure is applied.) is less than the second amount of the pressure (See Fig. 1 and Fig. 3C: Spring is in a compressed state. See also Column 2, lines 47-57: “The pressure fastening device 10 includes a pressure device 16 having the form of a helical spring and a detachable connection device consisting of a ring 17, a pin 18 and a hole 19 in column 15 for pin 18. In the example described, column 15 was 5 mm in diameter and spring 16 was a 3 mm diameter wire wound in three spirals having a diameter of at least 11 mm and exerting, in the working position illustrated in FIG. 1, a pressure P=150 Newtons on the base of the heat sink 11 against the plate 12 for an extension of about 20 mm.”).
Regarding claim 11, Dehaine discloses a method (in Fig. 1, 2, 3 and Column 2, lines 33-68 and Column 3, lines 1-8) comprising: based on a first temperature range associated with an electronic device [13]; applying, via a shape memory alloy component [16] (See Column 2, lines 58-59: “According to the invention the spring 16 is made of a material with shape memory.”) in a first state (See Fig. 2 and Fig. 3B: Spring 16 is in a retracted state. When the spring is in the retracted state, it is in its resting position, which usually means zero pressure is applied), a first amount of a pressure of a heat sink [11] on the electronic device [13]; and based on a second temperature range associated with the electronic device [13], applying, via the shape memory alloy component [13] in a second state, a second amount of the pressure of the heat sink [11] on the electronic device [13] (See Fig. 1 and Fig. 3C: Spring is in a compressed state. See also Column 2, lines 47-57: “The pressure fastening device 10 includes a pressure device 16 having the form of a helical spring and a detachable connection device consisting of a ring 17, a pin 18 and a hole 19 in column 15 for pin 18. In the example described, column 15 was 5 mm in diameter and spring 16 was a 3 mm diameter wire wound in three spirals having a diameter of at least 11 mm and exerting, in the working position illustrated in FIG. 1, a pressure P=150 Newtons on the base of the heat sink 11 against the plate 12 for an extension of about 20 mm.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehaine (US 5,010,949).
Regarding claim 8, Dehaine, as applied to claim 1, does not disclose a printed circuit board on which the electronic device is mounted.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Dehaine to include a printed circuit board on which the electronic device is mounted, in order to provide a circuit board assembly having high reliability and high-density capabilities.
Communication
/SHERMAN NG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847