DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by et al. (US11027613, referred to as Lee).
Regarding claim 1: discloses: An agricultural machine, comprising: a work vehicle comprising a vehicle wheel configured to move the work vehicle in a direction of travel; a wheel slip sensor configured to generate data indicative of wheel slip of the vehicle wheel relative to the ground; an agricultural implement configured to be towed by the work vehicle, the agricultural implement comprising: an implement wheel configured to move the agricultural implement in the direction of travel; and a regenerative brake assembly comprising: an energy storage device; an electric motor electrically coupled to the energy storage device; and a regenerative brake configured to rotationally drive the electric motor; and a computing system communicatively coupled to the wheel slip sensor and the regenerative brake, the computing system configured to: determine the wheel slip of the vehicle wheel based on the data generated by the wheel slip sensor; and control an operation of the regenerative brake to rotationally drive the electric motor based on the determined wheel slip. ([col. 2, lines 30-38] The regenerative powertrain 108 may be adapted to convert mechanical power from the rotating front axle 104 and/or rear axle 106 into electrical power. The electrical power may be stored in a battery or other suitable electrical storage facility 110 which electrically interfaces 35 with the regenerative powertrain 108. The electrical power which is stored in the electrical storage facility 110 may be used in propulsion of the vehicle 102 such as in the conventional manner. [col. 3, lines 21-62] In the event that the front wheels 105 encounter a front tire impact event during vehicle braking, the wheel slip sensor 112 may detect wheel slippage at the front wheels 105 and responsively transmit the wheel slip sensor signal 114 to 25 the regenerative powertrain 108. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle motion sensor 120 may detect acceleration, deceleration and/or other vehicle motion and responsively transmit the motion sensor signal 120 to the regenerative powertrain 108. The regenerative powertrain 30 108 may use the wheel slip and/or vehicle motion data to reduce regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107. The magnitude of the reduction in regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107 may be in proportion to the magnitude of wheel slippage which is detected by the wheel 35 slip sensor 112 at the front wheels 105 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected by the vehicle motion sensor 120. Therefore, the regenerative powertrain 108 may utilize the motion sensor signal 122 from the vehicle motion sensor 120 and/or the wheel slip sensor signal 114 from the 40 wheel slip sensor 112 to inhibit regenerative braking torque during braking of the vehicle 102 and maintain stability of the vehicle 102 during the front tire impact event. Referring next to FIG. 2 of the drawings, a block diagram 200 of an illustrative embodiment of a regenerative braking 45 control method is shown. The method 200 begins at block 202. At block 204, a determination may be made as to whether vehicle braking is being applied. If vehicle braking is not being applied, then the method may end at block 206. If vehicle braking is being applied at block 204, then at block 50 208 a determination may be made as to whether a front tire impact event is occurring. The front tire impact event may be detected based on wheel slip data and/or vehicle motion data. If a front tire impact event is not occurring at block 208, 55 then the method may end at block 206. If a front tire impact event is occurring, then regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels may be reduced at block 210. The magnitude of regenerative braking reduction may be proportional to the magnitude of slip which is detected at the front wheels 60 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected during the front tire impact event.)
Regarding claim 2: Lee discloses: The agricultural machine of claim 1,
Lee further discloses: the work vehicle further comprising: an engine configured to provide power to the vehicle wheel to move the work vehicle in the direction of travel; and an engine sensor configured to generate data indicative of a rotational speed of the engine, and wherein, the computing system is communicatively coupled to the engine sensor, the computing system further configured to: determine the rotational speed of the engine based on the data generated by the engine sensor; and control the operation of the regenerative brake to rotationally drive the electric motor based on the determined rotational speed of the engine. ([col. 2, lines 30-38] The regenerative powertrain 108 may be adapted to convert mechanical power from the rotating front axle 104 and/or rear axle 106 into electrical power. The electrical power may be stored in a battery or other suitable electrical storage facility 110 which electrically interfaces 35 with the regenerative powertrain 108. The electrical power which is stored in the electrical storage facility 110 may be used in propulsion of the vehicle 102 such as in the conventional manner. [col. 3, lines 21-62] In the event that the front wheels 105 encounter a front tire impact event during vehicle braking, the wheel slip sensor 112 may detect wheel slippage at the front wheels 105 and responsively transmit the wheel slip sensor signal 114 to 25 the regenerative powertrain 108. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle motion sensor 120 may detect acceleration, deceleration and/or other vehicle motion and responsively transmit the motion sensor signal 120 to the regenerative powertrain 108. The regenerative powertrain 30 108 may use the wheel slip and/or vehicle motion data to reduce regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107. The magnitude of the reduction in regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107 may be in proportion to the magnitude of wheel slippage which is detected by the wheel 35 slip sensor 112 at the front wheels 105 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected by the vehicle motion sensor 120. Therefore, the regenerative powertrain 108 may utilize the motion sensor signal 122 from the vehicle motion sensor 120 and/or the wheel slip sensor signal 114 from the 40 wheel slip sensor 112 to inhibit regenerative braking torque during braking of the vehicle 102 and maintain stability of the vehicle 102 during the front tire impact event. Referring next to FIG. 2 of the drawings, a block diagram 200 of an illustrative embodiment of a regenerative braking 45 control method is shown. The method 200 begins at block 202. At block 204, a determination may be made as to whether vehicle braking is being applied. If vehicle braking is not being applied, then the method may end at block 206. If vehicle braking is being applied at block 204, then at block 50 208 a determination may be made as to whether a front tire impact event is occurring. The front tire impact event may be detected based on wheel slip data and/or vehicle motion data. If a front tire impact event is not occurring at block 208, 55 then the method may end at block 206. If a front tire impact event is occurring, then regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels may be reduced at block 210. The magnitude of regenerative braking reduction may be proportional to the magnitude of slip which is detected at the front wheels 60 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected during the front tire impact event.)
Regarding claim 3: Lee discloses: A system for controlling the operation of an agricultural implement, the system comprising: a vehicle wheel of a work vehicle configured to move the work vehicle in a direction of travel; a wheel slip sensor configured to generate data indicative of wheel slip of the vehicle wheel relative to the ground; an implement wheel of an agricultural implement configured to be towed by the work vehicle, the implement wheel configured to move the agricultural implement in the direction of travel; a regenerative brake assembly of the agricultural implement comprising: an energy storage device; an electric motor electrically coupled to the energy storage device, the electric motor configured to receive electrical power from the energy storage device for rotating the implement wheel, and supply power to the energy storage device; and a regenerative brake configured to rotationally drive the electric motor such that electric power is supplied by the electric motor to the energy storage device when the regenerative brake engages the electric motor; and a computing system communicatively coupled to the wheel slip sensor and the regenerative brake, the computing system configured to: determine the wheel slip of the vehicle wheel based on the data generated by the wheel slip sensor; and control an operation of the regenerative brake to rotationally drive the electric motor based on the determined wheel slip. ([col. 2, lines 30-38] The regenerative powertrain 108 may be adapted to convert mechanical power from the rotating front axle 104 and/or rear axle 106 into electrical power. The electrical power may be stored in a battery or other suitable electrical storage facility 110 which electrically interfaces 35 with the regenerative powertrain 108. The electrical power which is stored in the electrical storage facility 110 may be used in propulsion of the vehicle 102 such as in the conventional manner. [col. 3, lines 21-62] In the event that the front wheels 105 encounter a front tire impact event during vehicle braking, the wheel slip sensor 112 may detect wheel slippage at the front wheels 105 and responsively transmit the wheel slip sensor signal 114 to 25 the regenerative powertrain 108. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle motion sensor 120 may detect acceleration, deceleration and/or other vehicle motion and responsively transmit the motion sensor signal 120 to the regenerative powertrain 108. The regenerative powertrain 30 108 may use the wheel slip and/or vehicle motion data to reduce regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107. The magnitude of the reduction in regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107 may be in proportion to the magnitude of wheel slippage which is detected by the wheel 35 slip sensor 112 at the front wheels 105 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected by the vehicle motion sensor 120. Therefore, the regenerative powertrain 108 may utilize the motion sensor signal 122 from the vehicle motion sensor 120 and/or the wheel slip sensor signal 114 from the 40 wheel slip sensor 112 to inhibit regenerative braking torque during braking of the vehicle 102 and maintain stability of the vehicle 102 during the front tire impact event. Referring next to FIG. 2 of the drawings, a block diagram 200 of an illustrative embodiment of a regenerative braking 45 control method is shown. The method 200 begins at block 202. At block 204, a determination may be made as to whether vehicle braking is being applied. If vehicle braking is not being applied, then the method may end at block 206. If vehicle braking is being applied at block 204, then at block 50 208 a determination may be made as to whether a front tire impact event is occurring. The front tire impact event may be detected based on wheel slip data and/or vehicle motion data. If a front tire impact event is not occurring at block 208, 55 then the method may end at block 206. If a front tire impact event is occurring, then regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels may be reduced at block 210. The magnitude of regenerative braking reduction may be proportional to the magnitude of slip which is detected at the front wheels 60 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected during the front tire impact event.)
Regarding claim 4: Lee discloses: The system of claim 3,
Lee further discloses: wherein: increases in engagement of the regenerative brake with the electric motor result in increases in the electric power supplied by the electric motor to the energy storage device; and decreases in engagement of the regenerative brake with the electric motor result in decreases in the electric power supplied by the electric motor to the energy storage device. ([col. 2, lines 30-38] The regenerative powertrain 108 may be adapted to convert mechanical power from the rotating front axle 104 and/or rear axle 106 into electrical power. The electrical power may be stored in a battery or other suitable electrical storage facility 110 which electrically interfaces 35 with the regenerative powertrain 108. The electrical power which is stored in the electrical storage facility 110 may be used in propulsion of the vehicle 102 such as in the conventional manner. [col. 3, lines 21-62] In the event that the front wheels 105 encounter a front tire impact event during vehicle braking, the wheel slip sensor 112 may detect wheel slippage at the front wheels 105 and responsively transmit the wheel slip sensor signal 114 to 25 the regenerative powertrain 108. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle motion sensor 120 may detect acceleration, deceleration and/or other vehicle motion and responsively transmit the motion sensor signal 120 to the regenerative powertrain 108. The regenerative powertrain 30 108 may use the wheel slip and/or vehicle motion data to reduce regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107. The magnitude of the reduction in regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107 may be in proportion to the magnitude of wheel slippage which is detected by the wheel 35 slip sensor 112 at the front wheels 105 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected by the vehicle motion sensor 120. Therefore, the regenerative powertrain 108 may utilize the motion sensor signal 122 from the vehicle motion sensor 120 and/or the wheel slip sensor signal 114 from the 40 wheel slip sensor 112 to inhibit regenerative braking torque during braking of the vehicle 102 and maintain stability of the vehicle 102 during the front tire impact event. Referring next to FIG. 2 of the drawings, a block diagram 200 of an illustrative embodiment of a regenerative braking 45 control method is shown. The method 200 begins at block 202. At block 204, a determination may be made as to whether vehicle braking is being applied. If vehicle braking is not being applied, then the method may end at block 206. If vehicle braking is being applied at block 204, then at block 50 208 a determination may be made as to whether a front tire impact event is occurring. The front tire impact event may be detected based on wheel slip data and/or vehicle motion data. If a front tire impact event is not occurring at block 208, 55 then the method may end at block 206. If a front tire impact event is occurring, then regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels may be reduced at block 210. The magnitude of regenerative braking reduction may be proportional to the magnitude of slip which is detected at the front wheels 60 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected during the front tire impact event.)
Regarding claim 5: Lee discloses: The system of claim 4,
Lee further discloses: wherein, when controlling the operation of the regenerative brake to rotationally drive the electric motor, the computing system is configured to: control the operation of the regenerative brake to increase engagement of the regenerative brake with the electric motor with increases in the determined wheel slip of the vehicle wheel; and control the operation of the regenerative brake to decrease engagement of the regenerative brake with the electric motor with decreases in the determined wheel slip of the vehicle wheel. ([col. 2, lines 30-38] The regenerative powertrain 108 may be adapted to convert mechanical power from the rotating front axle 104 and/or rear axle 106 into electrical power. The electrical power may be stored in a battery or other suitable electrical storage facility 110 which electrically interfaces 35 with the regenerative powertrain 108. The electrical power which is stored in the electrical storage facility 110 may be used in propulsion of the vehicle 102 such as in the conventional manner. [col. 3, lines 21-62] In the event that the front wheels 105 encounter a front tire impact event during vehicle braking, the wheel slip sensor 112 may detect wheel slippage at the front wheels 105 and responsively transmit the wheel slip sensor signal 114 to 25 the regenerative powertrain 108. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle motion sensor 120 may detect acceleration, deceleration and/or other vehicle motion and responsively transmit the motion sensor signal 120 to the regenerative powertrain 108. The regenerative powertrain 30 108 may use the wheel slip and/or vehicle motion data to reduce regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107. The magnitude of the reduction in regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107 may be in proportion to the magnitude of wheel slippage which is detected by the wheel 35 slip sensor 112 at the front wheels 105 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected by the vehicle motion sensor 120. Therefore, the regenerative powertrain 108 may utilize the motion sensor signal 122 from the vehicle motion sensor 120 and/or the wheel slip sensor signal 114 from the 40 wheel slip sensor 112 to inhibit regenerative braking torque during braking of the vehicle 102 and maintain stability of
the vehicle 102 during the front tire impact event. Referring next to FIG. 2 of the drawings, a block diagram 200 of an illustrative embodiment of a regenerative braking 45 control method is shown. The method 200 begins at block 202. At block 204, a determination may be made as to whether vehicle braking is being applied. If vehicle braking is not being applied, then the method may end at block 206. If vehicle braking is being applied at block 204, then at block 50 208 a determination may be made as to whether a front tire impact event is occurring. The front tire impact event may be detected based on wheel slip data and/or vehicle motion data. If a front tire impact event is not occurring at block 208, 55 then the method may end at block 206. If a front tire impact event is occurring, then regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels may be reduced at block 210. The magnitude of regenerative braking reduction may be proportional to the magnitude of slip which is detected at the front wheels 60 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected during the front tire impact event.)
Regarding claim 6: Lee discloses: The system of claim 4,
Lee further discloses: further comprising: a work vehicle engine configured to provide power to the vehicle wheel to move the work vehicle in the direction of travel; and an engine sensor configured to generate data indicative of a rotational speed of the engine, and wherein, the computing system is communicatively coupled to the engine sensor, the computing system further configured to: determine the rotational speed of the work vehicle engine based on the data generated by the engine sensor; and control the operation of the regenerative brake to rotationally drive the electric motor based on the determined rotational speed of the work vehicle engine. ([col. 2, lines 30-38] The regenerative powertrain 108 may be adapted to convert mechanical power from the rotating front axle 104 and/or rear axle 106 into electrical power. The electrical power may be stored in a battery or other suitable electrical storage facility 110 which electrically interfaces 35 with the regenerative powertrain 108. The electrical power which is stored in the electrical storage facility 110 may be used in propulsion of the vehicle 102 such as in the conventional manner. [col. 3, lines 21-62] In the event that the front wheels 105 encounter a front tire impact event during vehicle braking, the wheel slip sensor 112 may detect wheel slippage at the front wheels 105 and responsively transmit the wheel slip sensor signal 114 to 25 the regenerative powertrain 108. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle motion sensor 120 may detect acceleration, deceleration and/or other vehicle motion and responsively transmit the motion sensor signal 120 to the regenerative powertrain 108. The regenerative powertrain 30 108 may use the wheel slip and/or vehicle motion data to reduce regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107. The magnitude of the reduction in regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107 may be in proportion to the magnitude of wheel slippage which is detected by the wheel 35 slip sensor 112 at the front wheels 105 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected by the vehicle motion sensor 120. Therefore, the regenerative powertrain 108 may utilize the motion sensor signal 122 from the vehicle motion sensor 120 and/or the wheel slip sensor signal 114 from the 40 wheel slip sensor 112 to inhibit regenerative braking torque during braking of the vehicle 102 and maintain stability of
the vehicle 102 during the front tire impact event. Referring next to FIG. 2 of the drawings, a block diagram 200 of an illustrative embodiment of a regenerative braking 45 control method is shown. The method 200 begins at block 202. At block 204, a determination may be made as to whether vehicle braking is being applied. If vehicle braking is not being applied, then the method may end at block 206. If vehicle braking is being applied at block 204, then at block 50 208 a determination may be made as to whether a front tire impact event is occurring. The front tire impact event may be detected based on wheel slip data and/or vehicle motion data. If a front tire impact event is not occurring at block 208, 55 then the method may end at block 206. If a front tire impact event is occurring, then regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels may be reduced at block 210. The magnitude of regenerative braking reduction may be proportional to the magnitude of slip which is detected at the front wheels 60 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected during the front tire impact event.)
Regarding claim 7: Lee discloses: The system of claim 6,
Lee further discloses: wherein, when controlling the operation of the regenerative brake to rotationally drive the electric motor, the computing system is configured to: control the operation of the regenerative brake to increase engagement of the regenerative brake with the electric motor with increases in the determined rotational speed of the work vehicle engine; and control the operation of the regenerative brake to decrease engagement of the regenerative brake with the electric motor with decreases in the determined rotational speed of the work vehicle engine. ([col. 2, lines 30-38] The regenerative powertrain 108 may be adapted to convert mechanical power from the rotating front axle 104 and/or rear axle 106 into electrical power. The electrical power may be stored in a battery or other suitable electrical storage facility 110 which electrically interfaces 35 with the regenerative powertrain 108. The electrical power which is stored in the electrical storage facility 110 may be used in propulsion of the vehicle 102 such as in the conventional manner. [col. 3, lines 21-62] In the event that the front wheels 105 encounter a front tire impact event during vehicle braking, the wheel slip sensor 112 may detect wheel slippage at the front wheels 105 and responsively transmit the wheel slip sensor signal 114 to 25 the regenerative powertrain 108. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle motion sensor 120 may detect acceleration, deceleration and/or other vehicle motion and responsively transmit the motion sensor signal 120 to the regenerative powertrain 108. The regenerative powertrain 30 108 may use the wheel slip and/or vehicle motion data to reduce regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107. The magnitude of the reduction in regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107 may be in proportion to the magnitude of wheel slippage which is detected by the wheel 35 slip sensor 112 at the front wheels 105 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected by the vehicle motion sensor 120. Therefore, the regenerative powertrain 108 may utilize the motion sensor signal 122 from the vehicle motion sensor 120 and/or the wheel slip sensor signal 114 from the 40 wheel slip sensor 112 to inhibit regenerative braking torque during braking of the vehicle 102 and maintain stability of
the vehicle 102 during the front tire impact event. Referring next to FIG. 2 of the drawings, a block diagram 200 of an illustrative embodiment of a regenerative braking 45 control method is shown. The method 200 begins at block 202. At block 204, a determination may be made as to whether vehicle braking is being applied. If vehicle braking is not being applied, then the method may end at block 206. If vehicle braking is being applied at block 204, then at block 50 208 a determination may be made as to whether a front tire impact event is occurring. The front tire impact event may be detected based on wheel slip data and/or vehicle motion data. If a front tire impact event is not occurring at block 208, 55 then the method may end at block 206. If a front tire impact event is occurring, then regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels may be reduced at block 210. The magnitude of regenerative braking reduction may be proportional to the magnitude of slip which is detected at the front wheels 60 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected during the front tire impact event.)
Regarding claim 8: Lee discloses: The system of claim 3,
Lee further discloses: further comprising: a terrain slope sensor configured to generate data indicative of a slope of terrain over which the work vehicle traverses, and wherein, the computing system is communicatively coupled to the terrain slop sensor, the computing system further configured to: determine when the work vehicle is traversing an incline based on the data generated by the terrain slope sensor; and determine the wheel slip of the vehicle wheel based on the data generated by the wheel slip sensor when it is determined that the work vehicle is traversing the incline. ([col. 2, lines 30-38] The regenerative powertrain 108 may be adapted to convert mechanical power from the rotating front axle 104 and/or rear axle 106 into electrical power. The electrical power may be stored in a battery or other suitable electrical storage facility 110 which electrically interfaces 35 with the regenerative powertrain 108. The electrical power which is stored in the electrical storage facility 110 may be used in propulsion of the vehicle 102 such as in the conventional manner. [col. 3, lines 21-62] In the event that the front wheels 105 encounter a front tire impact event during vehicle braking, the wheel slip sensor 112 may detect wheel slippage at the front wheels 105 and responsively transmit the wheel slip sensor signal 114 to 25 the regenerative powertrain 108. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle motion sensor 120 may detect acceleration, deceleration and/or other vehicle motion and responsively transmit the motion sensor signal 120 to the regenerative powertrain 108. The regenerative powertrain 30 108 may use the wheel slip and/or vehicle motion data to reduce regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107. The magnitude of the reduction in regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107 may be in proportion to the magnitude of wheel slippage which is detected by the wheel 35 slip sensor 112 at the front wheels 105 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected by the vehicle motion sensor 120. Therefore, the regenerative powertrain 108 may utilize the motion sensor signal 122 from the vehicle motion sensor 120 and/or the wheel slip sensor signal 114 from the 40 wheel slip sensor 112 to inhibit regenerative braking torque during braking of the vehicle 102 and maintain stability of the vehicle 102 during the front tire impact event. Referring next to FIG. 2 of the drawings, a block diagram 200 of an illustrative embodiment of a regenerative braking 45 control method is shown. The method 200 begins at block 202. At block 204, a determination may be made as to whether vehicle braking is being applied. If vehicle braking is not being applied, then the method may end at block 206. If vehicle braking is being applied at block 204, then at block 50 208 a determination may be made as to whether a front tire impact event is occurring. The front tire impact event may be detected based on wheel slip data and/or vehicle motion data. If a front tire impact event is not occurring at block 208, 55 then the method may end at block 206. If a front tire impact event is occurring, then regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels may be reduced at block 210. The magnitude of regenerative braking reduction may be proportional to the magnitude of slip which is detected at the front wheels 60 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected during the front tire impact event.)
Regarding claim 9: Lee discloses: The system of claim 8,
Lee further discloses: wherein, after determining that the work vehicle is traversing an incline, the computing system is further configured to: determine when the work vehicle is traversing a decline based on the data generated by the terrain slope sensor; and control the operation of the regenerative brake to rotationally drive the electric motor when it is determined that the work vehicle is traversing the decline based on the wheel slip of the vehicle wheel determined when the work vehicle was traversing the incline. ([col. 2, lines 30-38] The regenerative powertrain 108 may be adapted to convert mechanical power from the rotating front axle 104 and/or rear axle 106 into electrical power. The electrical power may be stored in a battery or other suitable electrical storage facility 110 which electrically interfaces 35 with the regenerative powertrain 108. The electrical power which is stored in the electrical storage facility 110 may be used in propulsion of the vehicle 102 such as in the conventional manner. [col. 3, lines 21-62] In the event that the front wheels 105 encounter a front tire impact event during vehicle braking, the wheel slip sensor 112 may detect wheel slippage at the front wheels 105 and responsively transmit the wheel slip sensor signal 114 to 25 the regenerative powertrain 108. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle motion sensor 120 may detect acceleration, deceleration and/or other vehicle motion and responsively transmit the motion sensor signal 120 to the regenerative powertrain 108. The regenerative powertrain 30 108 may use the wheel slip and/or vehicle motion data to reduce regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107. The magnitude of the reduction in regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107 may be in proportion to the magnitude of wheel slippage which is detected by the wheel 35 slip sensor 112 at the front wheels 105 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected by the vehicle motion sensor 120. Therefore, the regenerative powertrain 108 may utilize the motion sensor signal 122 from the vehicle motion sensor 120 and/or the wheel slip sensor signal 114 from the 40 wheel slip sensor 112 to inhibit regenerative braking torque during braking of the vehicle 102 and maintain stability of
the vehicle 102 during the front tire impact event. Referring next to FIG. 2 of the drawings, a block diagram 200 of an illustrative embodiment of a regenerative braking 45 control method is shown. The method 200 begins at block 202. At block 204, a determination may be made as to whether vehicle braking is being applied. If vehicle braking is not being applied, then the method may end at block 206. If vehicle braking is being applied at block 204, then at block 50 208 a determination may be made as to whether a front tire impact event is occurring. The front tire impact event may be detected based on wheel slip data and/or vehicle motion data. If a front tire impact event is not occurring at block 208, 55 then the method may end at block 206. If a front tire impact event is occurring, then regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels may be reduced at block 210. The magnitude of regenerative braking reduction may be proportional to the magnitude of slip which is detected at the front wheels 60 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected during the front tire impact event.)
Regarding claim 10: Lee discloses: The system of claim 8,
Lee further discloses: wherein the terrain slope sensor is configured as an inclinometer. ([col. 3, lines 23-30] Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle motion sensor 120 may detect acceleration, deceleration and/or other vehicle motion and responsively transmit the motion sensor signal 120 to the regenerative powertrain 108.)
Regarding claim 11: Lee discloses: The system of claim 3,
Lee further discloses: further comprising: a wheel speed sensor configured to generate data indicative of a rotational speed of the implement wheel, and wherein, the computing system is communicatively coupled to the wheel speed sensor, the computing system further configured to: determine the rotational speed of the implement wheel based on the data generated by the wheel speed sensor; and control the operation of the regenerative brake to increase engagement of the regenerative brake with the electric motor with increases in the determined rotational speed of the implement wheel. ([col. 2, lines 30-38] The regenerative powertrain 108 may be adapted to convert mechanical power from the rotating front axle 104 and/or rear axle 106 into electrical power. The electrical power may be stored in a battery or other suitable electrical storage facility 110 which electrically interfaces 35 with the regenerative powertrain 108. The electrical power which is stored in the electrical storage facility 110 may be used in propulsion of the vehicle 102 such as in the conventional manner. [col. 3, lines 21-62] In the event that the front wheels 105 encounter a front tire impact event during vehicle braking, the wheel slip sensor 112 may detect wheel slippage at the front wheels 105 and responsively transmit the wheel slip sensor signal 114 to 25 the regenerative powertrain 108. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle motion sensor 120 may detect acceleration, deceleration and/or other vehicle motion and responsively transmit the motion sensor signal 120 to the regenerative powertrain 108. The regenerative powertrain 30 108 may use the wheel slip and/or vehicle motion data to reduce regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107. The magnitude of the reduction in regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107 may be in proportion to the magnitude of wheel slippage which is detected by the wheel 35 slip sensor 112 at the front wheels 105 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected by the vehicle motion sensor 120. Therefore, the regenerative powertrain 108 may utilize the motion sensor signal 122 from the vehicle motion sensor 120 and/or the wheel slip sensor signal 114 from the 40 wheel slip sensor 112 to inhibit regenerative braking torque during braking of the vehicle 102 and maintain stability of the vehicle 102 during the front tire impact event. Referring next to FIG. 2 of the drawings, a block diagram 200 of an illustrative embodiment of a regenerative braking 45 control method is shown. The method 200 begins at block 202. At block 204, a determination may be made as to whether vehicle braking is being applied. If vehicle braking is not being applied, then the method may end at block 206. If vehicle braking is being applied at block 204, then at block 50 208 a determination may be made as to whether a front tire impact event is occurring. The front tire impact event may be detected based on wheel slip data and/or vehicle motion data. If a front tire impact event is not occurring at block 208, 55 then the method may end at block 206. If a front tire impact event is occurring, then regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels may be reduced at block 210. The magnitude of regenerative braking reduction may be proportional to the magnitude of slip which is detected at the front wheels 60 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected during the front tire impact event.)
Regarding claim 12: Lee discloses: The system of claim 11,
Lee further discloses: wherein the computing system is further configured to: control the operation of the regenerative brake to decrease engagement of the regenerative brake with the electric motor with decreases in the determined rotational speed of the implement wheel. ([col. 2, lines 30-38] The regenerative powertrain 108 may be adapted to convert mechanical power from the rotating front axle 104 and/or rear axle 106 into electrical power. The electrical power may be stored in a battery or other suitable electrical storage facility 110 which electrically interfaces 35 with the regenerative powertrain 108. The electrical power which is stored in the electrical storage facility 110 may be used in propulsion of the vehicle 102 such as in the conventional manner. [col. 3, lines 21-62] In the event that the front wheels 105 encounter a front tire impact event during vehicle braking, the wheel slip sensor 112 may detect wheel slippage at the front wheels 105 and responsively transmit the wheel slip sensor signal 114 to 25 the regenerative powertrain 108. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle motion sensor 120 may detect acceleration, deceleration and/or other vehicle motion and responsively transmit the motion sensor signal 120 to the regenerative powertrain 108. The regenerative powertrain 30 108 may use the wheel slip and/or vehicle motion data to reduce regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107. The magnitude of the reduction in regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107 may be in proportion to the magnitude of wheel slippage which is detected by the wheel 35 slip sensor 112 at the front wheels 105 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected by the vehicle motion sensor 120. Therefore, the regenerative powertrain 108 may utilize the motion sensor signal 122 from the vehicle motion sensor 120 and/or the wheel slip sensor signal 114 from the 40 wheel slip sensor 112 to inhibit regenerative braking torque during braking of the vehicle 102 and maintain stability of the vehicle 102 during the front tire impact event. Referring next to FIG. 2 of the drawings, a block diagram 200 of an illustrative embodiment of a regenerative braking 45 control method is shown. The method 200 begins at block 202. At block 204, a determination may be made as to whether vehicle braking is being applied. If vehicle braking is not being applied, then the method may end at block 206. If vehicle braking is being applied at block 204, then at block 50 208 a determination may be made as to whether a front tire impact event is occurring. The front tire impact event may be detected based on wheel slip data and/or vehicle motion data. If a front tire impact event is not occurring at block 208, 55 then the method may end at block 206. If a front tire impact event is occurring, then regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels may be reduced at block 210. The magnitude of regenerative braking reduction may be proportional to the magnitude of slip which is detected at the front wheels 60 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected during the front tire impact event.)
Regarding claim 13: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 14: Lee discloses: The method of claim 13,
Lee further discloses: further comprising: when controlling the operation of the regenerative brake to rotationally drive the electric motor, controlling, with the computing system, the operation of the regenerative brake to increase engagement of the regenerative brake with the electric motor with increases in the determined wheel slip of the vehicle wheel; and when controlling the operation of the regenerative brake to rotationally drive the electric motor, controlling, with the computing system, the operation of the regenerative brake to decrease engagement of the regenerative brake with the electric motor with decreases in the determined wheel slip of the vehicle wheel. ([col. 2, lines 30-38] The regenerative powertrain 108 may be adapted to convert mechanical power from the rotating front axle 104 and/or rear axle 106 into electrical power. The electrical power may be stored in a battery or other suitable electrical storage facility 110 which electrically interfaces 35 with the regenerative powertrain 108. The electrical power which is stored in the electrical storage facility 110 may be used in propulsion of the vehicle 102 such as in the conventional manner. [col. 3, lines 21-62] In the event that the front wheels 105 encounter a front tire impact event during vehicle braking, the wheel slip sensor 112 may detect wheel slippage at the front wheels 105 and responsively transmit the wheel slip sensor signal 114 to 25 the regenerative powertrain 108. Additionally or alternatively, the vehicle motion sensor 120 may detect acceleration, deceleration and/or other vehicle motion and responsively transmit the motion sensor signal 120 to the regenerative powertrain 108. The regenerative powertrain 30 108 may use the wheel slip and/or vehicle motion data to reduce regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107. The magnitude of the reduction in regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels 107 may be in proportion to the magnitude of wheel slippage which is detected by the wheel 35 slip sensor 112 at the front wheels 105 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected by the vehicle motion sensor 120. Therefore, the regenerative powertrain 108 may utilize the motion sensor signal 122 from the vehicle motion sensor 120 and/or the wheel slip sensor signal 114 from the 40 wheel slip sensor 112 to inhibit regenerative braking torque during braking of the vehicle 102 and maintain stability of
the vehicle 102 during the front tire impact event. Referring next to FIG. 2 of the drawings, a block diagram 200 of an illustrative embodiment of a regenerative braking 45 control method is shown. The method 200 begins at block 202. At block 204, a determination may be made as to whether vehicle braking is being applied. If vehicle braking is not being applied, then the method may end at block 206. If vehicle braking is being applied at block 204, then at block 50 208 a determination may be made as to whether a front tire impact event is occurring. The front tire impact event may be detected based on wheel slip data and/or vehicle motion data. If a front tire impact event is not occurring at block 208, 55 then the method may end at block 206. If a front tire impact event is occurring, then regenerative braking torque at the rear wheels may be reduced at block 210. The magnitude of regenerative braking reduction may be proportional to the magnitude of slip which is detected at the front wheels 60 and/or the magnitude of vehicle motion which is detected during the front tire impact event.)
Regarding claim 15: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 16: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 17: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 8.
Regarding claim 18: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 9.
Regarding claim 19: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 11.
Regarding claim 20: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant' s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/
Examiner, Art Unit 3658A
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658