Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Amendments and arguments filed on 07/21/2026 have been fully considered and are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance.
The applicant has provided new amendments, some of which are not found to be specifically taught by Wilson, Cote, Keh and Yoshimoto. According to a newly performed search, however, such limitations are found to be taught by prior art. The following action provides further details regarding the obviousness of such a limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, US 2005/0226505 A1, hereinafter “Wilson”, in view of Cote et al., US 2011/0090380 A1, hereinafter “Cote”, further in view of Keh et al., US 2013/0241820 A1, hereinafter “Keh”, further in view of Yoshimoto et al., US 2011/0043489 A1, hereinafter “Yoshimoto”, and further in view of Zhang et al., US 2019/0361569 A1, hereinafter “Zhang”.
Regarding claim 1, Wilson teaches a projector (fig. 2, element 60, ¶ 33) comprising: a projection part (fig. 2, element 70) comprising a light source configured to project an image (¶ 47); an infrared emitter (fig. 2, element 66, ¶ 34) comprising circuitry configured to output an infrared ray to a projection area where the image is projected (¶ 34); an infrared camera module (fig. 2, element 68, ¶ 39) comprising an infrared camera configured to generate an image by photographing the projection area using an image sensor (¶ 39: “image of IR light reflected from objects”); a memory storing correction data including correction values for correcting brightness of the image (¶ 65-66, for example, I_max and I_min values are stored values); and at least one processor, comprising processor circuitry, individually and/or collectively configured to: correct brightness of an image obtained through the infrared camera module using the correction data (¶ 65-66, see I*(x,y) for example), and identify based on the corrected brightness whether a touch input is entered within the projection area (¶ 68), wherein the correction data is generated based on first correction data; wherein the first correction data includes correction values for correcting a decrease in intensity of the infrared ray according to a distance from the infrared emitter (¶ 65), wherein the correction values included in the first correction data are determined based on an intensity of the infrared measured in a plurality of areas in the projection area (¶ 65, see “per pixel basis”), and wherein the correction values of the correction data are based on the correction values of the first correction data (¶ 65-68).
Wilson does not specifically teach that the correction data is further generated based on second correction data, wherein the second correction data includes correction values for correcting lens shading; wherein the correction data are based on the correction values of first and second correction data.
Cote, however, teaches that correction data is generated based on correction values for correcting lens shading (¶ 144).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson in view of Cote. The references teach improving the uniformity of an imaged area. Wilson teaches that light intensity non-uniformity occurs due to variations in a distance from infrared emitters (see Wilson ¶ 65). Cote further teaches that non-uniformity may further occur due to lens shading of a camera module similar to that of Wilson. Cote further teaches compensating for intensity drop-offs due to such lens shading. As such, one would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Wilson in view of Cote in order to compensate for intensity drop-offs based on both the distance from infrared emitters and the lens shading effect, thereby improving detection of inputs provided by a user.
Wilson and Cote do not specifically teach that the touch input is entered between the projection area and the projected infrared ray.
Keh, however, clearly teaches that the touch input is entered between the projection area and the projected infrared ray (fig. 1, see “projected image data” area, and fig. 2, wherein the touch input is entered between the projection area and the projected infrared ray emitted from element 260; see ¶ 29-30). Keh further teaches that light emanating from the light source and the infrared ray output from the infrared emitter both radiate through a common plane toward the projection area, and a sensed image from the projection area is received through the common plane toward the infrared camera module (fig. 1 discloses such a common plane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson in view of Cote, as applied above and further in view of Keh. Wilson and Keh teach projection systems with touch input detection capabilities and while Wilson teaches a bottom-projected system, Keh simply teaches an alternative top-projected system. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to utilize the top-projected system of Keh while expecting the same result of providing a projection system with touch capabilities.
Wilson, Cote and Keh do not teach using the correction values to identify a direction of the touch input based on a shape of an area in a plane of the image, and identifying the direction of the touch input by identifying a direction toward which the area has a convex shape.
Yoshimoto, however, teaches identifying a direction of the touch input based on a shape of an area in a plane of the image, and identifying the direction of the touch input by identifying a direction toward which the area has a convex shape (fig. 8, ¶ 85-89).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson, Cote, Keh and Yoshimoto. Wilson and Cote teach correcting touch input values. Wilson further teaches determining a shape of the input object (¶ 64) and Yoshimoto further teaches using such touch input values to determine the direction of a touch input based on the detected shape of the touch input and specifically the detection of a convex shape of a fingertip. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination because Yoshimoto clearly teaches that such direction information may be utilized to provide further input capabilities to a user, thus improving the touch interactions with an electronic device.
Wilson, Cote, Keh and Yoshimoto do not specifically teach that the infrared emitter comprises a curved surface reflector or a conical surface reflector from which the infrared ray is reflected for radiation through the common plane.
Zhang, however, teaches a projection device having touch capabilities similar to Keh (see fig. 2). Zhang further clearly teaches that the infrared emitter comprises a curved surface reflector or a conical surface reflector from which the infrared ray is reflected for radiation through the common plane (fig. 70, ¶ 88).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson, Cote, Keh, Yoshimoto and Zhang. Specifically, Keh and Zhang teach very similar devices and Zhang further teaches the details regarding the laser plane generator that is used in Keh and Zhang to detect a user’s touch. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to generate the light plane in order to properly detect a user’s touch.
Regarding claim 7, Wilson teaches a method of identifying a touch input of a projector, the method comprising: projecting an image (fig. 2, ¶ 47); outputting an infrared ray to a projection area where the image is projected using an infrared emitter (fig. 2, element 66, ¶ 34); generating an image by photographing the projection area using an infrared camera module including an infrared camera (fig. 2, element 68, ¶ 39); correcting brightness of the image obtained through the infrared camera module using correction data (¶ 65-66, for example, I_max and I_min values are used); and based on the corrected brightness, identifying whether a touch input for the projected image is entered within the projection area based on the corrected brightness (¶ 68), wherein the correction data is generated based on first correction data; wherein the first correction data includes correction values for correcting a decrease in intensity of the infrared ray according to a distance from the infrared emitter (¶ 65), wherein the correction values included in the first correction data are determined based on an intensity of the infrared measured in a plurality of areas in the projection area (¶ 65, see “per pixel basis”), and wherein the correction values of the correction data are based on the correction values of the first correction data (¶ 65-68).
Wilson does not specifically teach that the correction data is further generated based on second correction data, wherein the second correction data includes correction values for correcting lens shading; wherein the correction data are based on the correction values of first and second correction data.
Cote, however, teaches that correction data is generated based on correction values for correcting lens shading (¶ 144).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson in view of Cote. The references teach improving the uniformity of an imaged area. Wilson teaches that light intensity non-uniformity occurs due to variations in a distance from infrared emitters (see Wilson ¶ 65). Cote further teaches that non-uniformity may further occur due to lens shading of a camera module similar to that of Wilson. Cote further teaches compensating for intensity drop-offs due to such lens shading. As such, one would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Wilson in view of Cote in order to compensate for intensity drop-offs based on both the distance from infrared emitters and the lens shading effect, thereby improving detection of inputs provided by a user.
Wilson and Cote do not specifically teach that the touch input is entered between the projection area and the projected infrared ray.
Keh, however, clearly teaches that the touch input is entered between the projection area and the projected infrared ray (fig. 1, see “projected image data” area, and fig. 2, wherein the touch input is entered between the projection area and the projected infrared ray emitted from element 260; see ¶ 29-30). Keh further teaches radiating both the projected image and the infrared ray through a common plane toward the projected area, and receiving the image from the projection area through the common plane (fig. 1 discloses such a common plane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson in view of Cote, as applied above and further in view of Keh. Wilson and Keh teach projection systems with touch input detection capabilities and while Wilson teaches a bottom-projected system, Keh simply teaches an alternative top-projected system. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to utilize the top-projected system of Keh while expecting the same result of providing a projection system with touch capabilities.
Wilson, Cote and Keh do not teach using the correction values to identify a direction of the touch input based on a shape of an area in a plane of the image, and identifying the direction of the touch input by identifying a direction toward which the area has a convex shape.
Yoshimoto, however, teaches identifying a direction of the touch input based on a shape of an area in a plane of the image, and identifying the direction of the touch input by identifying a direction toward which the area has a convex shape (fig. 8, ¶ 85-89).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson, Cote, Keh and Yoshimoto. Wilson and Cote teach correcting touch input values. Wilson further teaches determining a shape of the input object (¶ 64) and Yoshimoto further teaches using such touch input values to determine the direction of a touch input based on the detected shape of the touch input and specifically the detection of a convex shape of a fingertip. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination because Yoshimoto clearly teaches that such direction information may be utilized to provide further input capabilities to a user, thus improving the touch interactions with an electronic device.
Wilson, Cote, Keh and Yoshimoto do not teach radiating the infrared ray through the common plane from a curved surface reflector or conical surface reflector.
Zhang, however, teaches a projection device having touch capabilities similar to Keh (see fig. 2). Zhang further teaches radiating the infrared ray through the common plane from a curved surface reflector or conical surface reflector (fig. 70, ¶ 88).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson, Cote, Keh, Yoshimoto and Zhang. Specifically, Keh and Zhang teach very similar devices and Zhang further teaches the details regarding the laser plane generator that is used in Keh and Zhang to detect a user’s touch. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to generate the light plane in order to properly detect a user’s touch.
Regarding claim 13, Wilson teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a projector, the at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (¶ 28-31), cause the at least one projector, individually and/or collectively to perform operations comprising: projecting an image (¶ 47); outputting an infrared ray to a projection area where the image is projected (¶ 34) using an infrared emitter (fig. 2, element 66, ¶ 34); generating an image by photographing the projection area (¶ 39: “image of IR light reflected from objects”) using an infrared camera module including an infrared camera (fig. 2, element 68, ¶ 39); and correcting brightness of an image obtained through the infrared camera module using correction data (¶ 65-66, see I*(x,y) for example); and wherein the correction data is generated based on first correction data; wherein the first correction data includes correction values for correcting a decrease in intensity of the infrared ray according to a distance from the infrared emitter (¶ 65), wherein the correction values included in the first correction data are determined based on an intensity of the infrared ray measured in a plurality of areas in the projection area (¶ 65, see “per pixel basis”), and wherein the correction values of the correction data are based on the correction values of the first correction data (¶ 65-68).
Wilson does not specifically teach that the correction data is further generated based on second correction data, wherein the second correction data includes correction values for correcting lens shading; wherein the correction data are based on the correction values of first and second correction data.
Cote, however, teaches that correction data is generated based on correction values for correcting lens shading (¶ 144).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson in view of Cote. The references teach improving the uniformity of an imaged area. Wilson teaches that light intensity non-uniformity occurs due to variations in a distance from infrared emitters (see Wilson ¶ 65). Cote further teaches that non-uniformity may further occur due to lens shading of a camera module similar to that of Wilson. Cote further teaches compensating for intensity drop-offs due to such lens shading. As such, one would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Wilson in view of Cote in order to compensate for intensity drop-offs based on both the distance from infrared emitters and the lens shading effect, thereby improving detection of inputs provided by a user.
Wilson and Cote do not specifically teach that the touch input is entered between the projection area and the projected infrared ray.
Keh, however, clearly teaches that the touch input is entered between the projection area and the projected infrared ray (fig. 1, see “projected image data” area, and fig. 2, wherein the touch input is entered between the projection area and the projected infrared ray emitted from element 260; see ¶ 29-30). Keh further teaches radiating both the projected image and the infrared ray through a common plane toward the projected area, and receiving the image from the projection area through the common plane (fig. 1 discloses such a common plane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson in view of Cote, as applied above and further in view of Keh. Wilson and Keh teach projection systems with touch input detection capabilities and while Wilson teaches a bottom-projected system, Keh simply teaches an alternative top-projected system. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to utilize the top-projected system of Keh while expecting the same result of providing a projection system with touch capabilities.
Wilson, Cote and Keh do not teach using the correction values to identify a direction of the touch input based on a shape of an area in a plane of the image, and identifying the direction of the touch input by identifying a direction toward which the area has a convex shape.
Yoshimoto, however, teaches identifying a direction of the touch input based on a shape of an area in a plane of the image, and identifying the direction of the touch input by identifying a direction toward which the area has a convex shape (fig. 8, ¶ 85-89).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson, Cote, Keh and Yoshimoto. Wilson and Cote teach correcting touch input values. Wilson further teaches determining a shape of the input object (¶ 64) and Yoshimoto further teaches using such touch input values to determine the direction of a touch input based on the detected shape of the touch input and specifically the detection of a convex shape of a fingertip. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination because Yoshimoto clearly teaches that such direction information may be utilized to provide further input capabilities to a user, thus improving the touch interactions with an electronic device.
Wilson, Cote, Keh and Yoshimoto do not teach radiating the infrared ray through the common plane from a curved surface reflector or conical surface reflector.
Zhang, however, teaches a projection device having touch capabilities similar to Keh (see fig. 2). Zhang further teaches radiating the infrared ray through the common plane from a curved surface reflector or conical surface reflector (fig. 70, ¶ 88).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson, Cote, Keh, Yoshimoto and Zhang. Specifically, Keh and Zhang teach very similar devices and Zhang further teaches the details regarding the laser plane generator that is used in Keh and Zhang to detect a user’s touch. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to generate the light plane in order to properly detect a user’s touch.
Regarding claims 3, 9 and 15, Wilson teaches that the correction values included in the first correction data include correction values for a plurality of pixels of the image sensor; wherein the correction values for the plurality of pixels of the image sensor include correction values for pixels corresponding to the plurality of areas from among the plurality of pixels and correction values for pixels corresponding to remaining areas; wherein the correction values for pixels corresponding to the plurality of areas include correction values for the plurality of areas; and wherein the correction values for the plurality of areas are determined based on the correction values of the plurality of areas being applied to intensities of a plurality of infrared rays measured in the plurality of areas, and intensities of the plurality of infrared rays to which the correction values are applied become equal to each other (¶ 65-67; note that the values are “normalized” to provide uniformity, or become equal to each other in different areas on a per-pixel basis which covers the different areas of the imaged surface).
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 16, Wilson does not specifically teach that the second correction data includes correction values for a plurality of pixels of the image sensor; and wherein the correction values of the correction data are based on the correction values of the first correction data and the correction values of the second correction data being multiplied on a pixel-by-pixel basis.
Cote, however, teaches that the second correction data includes correction values for a plurality of pixels of the image sensor; and wherein the correction values of the correction data are based on the correction values of the first correction data and the correction values of the second correction data being multiplied on a pixel-by-pixel basis (¶ 144, lens shading correction is performed on a per-pixel basis).
Note that because both references teach a per-pixel correction, the combination of Wilson in view of Cote results in a multiplication of the two correction values on a per-pixel basis in order to maintain the correct values for each pixel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson in view of Cote. The references teach improving the uniformity of an imaged area. Wilson teaches that light intensity non-uniformity occurs due to variations in a distance from infrared emitters (see Wilson ¶ 65). Cote further teaches that non-uniformity may further occur due to the lens shading of a camera module similar to that of Wilson. Cote further teaches compensating for intensity drop-offs due to such lens shading. As such, one would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Wilson in view of Cote in order to compensate for intensity drop-offs based on both the distance from infrared emitters and the lens shading effect, thereby improving detection of inputs provided by a user.
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 17, Wilson teaches that at least one processor is configured to: based on infrared ray output from the infrared emitter being reflected by an object present in the projection area and received by the infrared camera module, obtain pixel values of the plurality of pixels of the image sensor; and correct brightness of the image by applying the correction values included in the correction data to the pixel values (fig. 2, also see ¶ 65-67).
Wilson and Cote do not specifically teach that the pixel values include Y component of YUV data.
Keh, however, teaches that the pixel values include Y component of YUV data (see ¶ 44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson and Cote, as applied above, further in view of Keh. Wilson clearly teaches normalizing the infrared light “intensity” in order to provide a uniform detection area for touch or hover detection and Keh further teaches the use of a Y component of a YUV image coordinate in order to perform such detection. Therefore, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to utilize the Y component which provides the intensity of light in order to perform the intensity normalization as provided by Wilson, thereby increasing the efficiency of the intensity normalization as taught by Wilson.
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 18, Wilson teaches identifying whether there is an area in the image in which brightness is equal to or greater than a specified value based on the corrected brightness; and based on identifying that there is an area in which brightness is equal to or greater than the specified value, identifying that the touch input is entered at a location of the projected image corresponding to the identified area (figs. 4-5; ¶ 50, 68-69 and 73).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Wilson teaches that the correction values include correction values for a plurality of pixels of the image sensor for which the pixel values include a brightness data.
Wilson and Cote do not specifically teach that the pixel values include Y component of YUV data.
Keh, however, teaches that the pixel values include Y component of YUV data (see ¶ 44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson and Cote, as applied above, further in view of Keh. Wilson clearly teaches normalizing the infrared light “intensity” in order to provide a uniform detection area for touch or hover detection and Keh further teaches the use of a Y component of a YUV image coordinate in order to perform such detection. Therefore, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to utilize the Y component which provides the intensity of light in order to perform the intensity normalization as provided by Wilson, thereby increasing the efficiency of the intensity normalization as taught by Wilson.
Wilson, Cote and Keh do not teach using the correction values to identify the direction of the touch input based on a shape of the area in the plane of the image where a magnitude of the corrected Y component is equal to or greater than the predetermined value.
Yoshimoto, however, teaches identifying a direction of the touch input based on a shape of an area in a plane of the image (fig. 8, ¶ 85-89).
Note that Wilson teaches that a brightness or intensity threshold is used to determine the shape of the input object (¶ 64), and Keh clearly teaches the use of YUV components wherein Y is the brightness or intensity of incident light to make the same determination. Yoshimoto further teaches the detected image of the touch input to determine a shape of the touch input (similar to Wilson) and further teaches using such a shape to determine the direction of the touch input. Accordingly, the combination of Wilson, Cote, Keh and Yoshimoto teaches every limitation of the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wilson, Cote, Keh and Yoshimoto. Wilson and Cote teach correcting touch input values. Wilson further teaches determining a shape of the input object (¶ 64) and Yoshimoto further teaches using such touch input values to determine the direction of a touch input based on the detected shape of the touch input and specifically the detection of a convex shape of a fingertip. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination because Yoshimoto clearly teaches that such direction information may be utilized to provide further input capabilities to a user, thus improving the touch interactions with an electronic device.
Conclusion
/SEPEHR AZARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621