DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20250040757 A1 (hereinafter “LUEDKE”).
Regarding Claim 1, LUEDKE discloses a portable grill configured to be transitioned between an erected configuration and a collapsed configuration, the portable grill comprising: a frame (20) supporting a cookbox (10); a first leg unit (55) pivotally coupled to the frame (see 100), the first leg unit including a front leg and a rear leg (see Figs. 1, 2 and 4), the rear leg of the first leg unit spaced apart from the front leg of the first leg unit (see Figs. 1, 2 and 4); and a second leg unit (60) pivotally coupled to the frame (see 105) and pivotally coupled to the first leg unit (see 115), the second leg unit including: a front leg pivotally coupled to the front leg of the first leg unit (see Figs. 1, 2 and 4), the front leg of the second leg unit including a first segment (65), a second segment (70), and a hinge (125) located between the first segment and the second segment of the front leg, the hinge of the front leg pivotally coupling the first segment (65) of the front leg to the second segment (70) of the front leg; and a rear leg spaced apart from the front leg of the second leg unit (see Figs. 1, 2 and 4), the rear leg of the second leg unit pivotally coupled to the rear leg of the first leg unit (see again 115), the rear leg of the second leg unit including a first segment (also labeled 65), a second segment (also labeled 70), and a hinge (also labeled 125) located between the first segment and the second segment of the rear leg, the hinge of the rear leg pivotally coupling the first segment of the rear leg to the second segment of the rear leg (see Figs. 3, 5 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUEDKE in view of US 20250146525 A1 (hereinafter “LIN”).
Regarding Claim 2, LUEDKE does not disclose wherein the rear leg of the second leg unit includes a first hinge member and a second hinge member, the first hinge member coupled to the first segment of the rear leg, the second hinge member coupled to the second segment of the rear leg and pivotally coupled to the first hinge member, wherein the first hinge member and the second hinge member define the hinge of the rear leg.
LIN teaches a portable grill configured to be transitioned between an erected configuration and a collapsed configuration, the portable grill comprising: wherein the rear leg (see 6, 94) of the second leg unit includes a first hinge member (4) and a second hinge member (5), the first hinge member (4) coupled to the first segment (6) of the rear leg, the second hinge member (5) coupled to the second segment (94) of the rear leg and pivotally coupled to the first hinge member (4), wherein the first hinge member (4) and the second hinge member (5) define the hinge of the rear leg.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LUEDKE wherein the rear leg of the second leg unit includes a first hinge member and a second hinge member, the first hinge member coupled to the first segment of the rear leg, the second hinge member coupled to the second segment of the rear leg and pivotally coupled to the first hinge member, wherein the first hinge member and the second hinge member define the hinge of the rear leg as taught and/or suggested by LIN, since both references teach a hinge arrangement for a second leg unit, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one hinge arrangement for the other to achieve the predictable result of pivotably coupling the first segment of the rear leg and the second segment of the rear leg.
Regarding Claim 3, LUEDKE does not disclose further comprising a leg lock assembly operatively coupled to the second leg unit, the leg lock assembly including a plunger having an end selectively positioned within a cavity of the second hinge member, the plunger movable relative to the first segment of the rear leg between a locked position in which the end of the plunger is positioned within the cavity and an unlocked position in which the end of the plunger is removed from the cavity.
LIN further teaches further comprising a leg lock assembly (see A, B) operatively coupled to the second leg unit, the leg lock assembly including a plunger (7) having an end selectively positioned within a cavity (51) of the second hinge member (5), the plunger (7) movable relative to the first segment (6) of the rear leg between a locked position (see Fig. 6) in which the end of the plunger is positioned within the cavity (51) and an unlocked position (see Figs. 7 & 8) in which the end of the plunger (7) is removed from the cavity (51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify LUEDKE to further comprise a leg lock assembly operatively coupled to the second leg unit, the leg lock assembly including a plunger having an end selectively positioned within a cavity of the second hinge member, the plunger movable relative to the first segment of the rear leg between a locked position in which the end of the plunger is positioned within the cavity and an unlocked position in which the end of the plunger is removed from the cavity as taught and/or suggested by LINI, since such a leg lock mechanism would provide a means to securely lock said portable grill in an erected configuration or allow said portable grill to easily assume a collapsed configuration for convenient storage purposes.
Regarding Claim 4, LIN further teaches wherein positioning the plunger (7) in the locked position prevents the portable grill from transitioning from the erected configuration into the collapsed configuration, and positioning the plunger (7) in the unlocked position enables the portable grill to be transitioned from the erected configuration into the collapsed configuration.
Regarding Claim 5, LIN further teaches wherein positioning the plunger (7) in the locked position prevents the second hinge member (5) from rotating relative to the first hinge member (4), and positioning the plunger (7) in the unlocked position enables the second hinge member (5) to rotate relative to the first hinge member (4).
Regarding Claim 6, LIN further teaches wherein positioning the plunger (7) in the locked position prevents the second segment (94) of the rear leg from moving relative to the first segment (6) of the rear leg, and positioning the plunger (7) in the unlocked position enables the second segment (94) of the rear leg to move relative to the first segment (6) of the rear leg.
Regarding Claim 7, LIN further teaches wherein the plunger (7) is located at least partially within the first segment (6) of the rear leg.
Regarding Claim 8, LIN further teaches wherein the leg lock assembly further includes a tension spring (72) coupled to a first mount (73) and a second mount (8), the first mount (73) coupled to the plunger (7), the second mount (8) coupled to the rear leg of the second leg unit, the tension spring configured to bias the plunger into the locked position (see para. [0025]: “While being extended, as shown in FIG. 6 and FIG. 9, the lock cylinder 7 is mounted in the mounting groove 51 of the lower rotary arm 5 correspondingly under driving of the third return spring 72.”).
Regarding Claim 9, LIN further teaches wherein the leg lock assembly further includes a carriage (71) coupled to the plunger (7), the carriage (71) movable relative to the first segment (6) of the rear leg between a lowered carriage position (see Fig. 6) and a raised carriage position (see Figs. 7 & 8), the plunger (7) being in the locked position (see Fig. 6) when the carriage (71) is in the lowered carriage position, the plunger (7) being in the unlocked position (see Figs. 7 & 8) when the carriage (71) is in the raised carriage position.
Regarding Claim 10, LIN further teaches wherein the leg lock assembly further includes a release guide (1), a handle (2), and a lever (3), the release guide coupled to the frame (see para. [0025]: “The base 1 is fastened under a worktable 91 of the grill 9.”), the handle (2) movably coupled to the release guide (1) and operatively coupled to the lever (3), the lever operatively coupled to the carriage (71; see also para. [0022]: “The hook 3 is inserted through the locked hook portion 71 which is used for control of displacement of the hook 3.”).
Regarding Claim 11, LIN further teaches wherein the lever (3) is movable relative to the release guide (1) between a lowered lever position (see Fig. 6) and a raised lever position (see Figs. 7 & 8), the carriage (71) being in the lowered carriage position when the lever (3) is in the lowered lever position (see Fig. 6), the carriage (71) being in the raised carriage position when the lever is in the raised lever position (see Figs. 7 & 8).
Regarding Claim 12, LIN further teaches wherein the leg lock assembly further includes a tension spring (31) coupled to a first mount (15) and a second mount (32), the first mount coupled to the release guide (1), the second mount coupled to the lever (3), the tension spring (31) configured to bias the lever (3) into the lowered lever position (see Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 13, LIN further teaches wherein the lever (3) is coupled to a guide post (12), the guide post extending through a guide slot (11) of the release guide (1) into a release slot (23) of the handle (2), the guide post (12) slidable within the guide slot (11).
Regarding Claim 14, LIN further teaches wherein the handle (2) is movable relative to the release guide (1) between a lowered handle position (see Fig. 6) and a raised handle position (see Figs. 7 & 8), the lever (3) being in the lowered lever position when the handle is in the lowered handle position (see Fig. 6), the lever (3) being in the raised lever position when the handle is in the raised handle position (see Figs. 7 & 8).
Regarding Claim 15, LIN further teaches wherein the release guide (1) includes a release pin (16) and the handle (2) includes a receiver (22), the receiver configured to selectively receive the release pin (see para. [0025]: “As shown in FIG. 1, FIG. 4, and FIG. 5, a fool-proofing pin 16 is disposed on the base 1 while a notch 22 is mounted on the moveable seat 2 and corresponding to the fool-proofing pin 16 in a staggered manner.”).
Regarding Claim 16, LIN further teaches wherein the handle (2) is movable relative to the release guide (1) between a retracted handle position (see Fig. 4) and an extended handle position (see Fig. 5), the release pin (16) misaligned from the receiver (22) when the handle is in the retracted handle position (see Fig. 4) such that the release pin (16) is not receivable in the receiver (22), the release pin (16) aligned with the receiver (22) when the handle (2) is in the extended handle position (see Fig. 5) such that the release pin (16) is receivable in the receiver (22).
Regarding Claim 17, LIN further teaches wherein misalignment between the release pin (16) and the receiver (22) prevents the handle (2) from being moved from the lowered handle position into the raised handle position (see Fig. 6), and alignment between the release pin (16) and the receiver (22) enables the handle (2) to be moved from the lowered handle position (see Fig. 6) into the raised handle position (see Figs. 7 & 8), wherein the release pin (16) is configured to enter the receiver (22) as the handle (2) moves from the lowered handle position (see Fig. 6) into the raised handle position (see Figs. 7 & 8).
Regarding Claim 18, LIN further teaches wherein the leg lock assembly further includes a tension spring (13) coupled to a first mount (14) and a second mount (21), the first mount (14) coupled to the release guide (1), the second mount (21) coupled to the handle (2), the tension spring (13) configured to bias the handle (2) into the retracted handle position (see Fig. 4).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUEDKE in view of LIN as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US 20210215342 A1 (hereinafter “HUNT”).
Regarding Claim 19, LUEDKE in view of LIN does not disclose further comprising: a valve and regulator assembly having a tank connector, the tank connector configured to removably couple a fuel tank to the valve and regulator assembly; and a tank blocker movable relative to the leg lock assembly between a blocking position and a non-blocking position, the tank blocker configured to move from the non-blocking position into the blocking position in response to the fuel tank becoming coupled to the tank connector, the tank blocker configured to move from the blocking position into the non-blocking position in response to the fuel tank being uncoupled from the tank connector, wherein the tank blocker is further configured to prevent the portable grill from being transitioned from the erected configuration into the collapsed configuration when the tank blocker is in the blocking position, and to enable the portable grill to be transitioned from the erected configuration into the collapsed configuration when the tank blocker is in the non-blocking position.
HUNT teaches A portable grill configured to be transitioned between an erected configuration and a collapsed configuration, the portable grill comprising: a valve and regulator assembly (208) having a tank connector (210), the tank connector configured to removably couple a fuel tank (4402) to the valve and regulator assembly; and a tank blocker (186) movable relative to the leg lock assembly (182) between a blocking position (4302) and a non-blocking position (4502), the tank blocker (186) configured to move from the non-blocking position (4502) into the blocking position (4302) in response to the fuel tank (4402) becoming coupled to the tank connector (210), the tank blocker (186) configured to move from the blocking position (4302) into the non-blocking position (4502) in response to the fuel tank (4402) being uncoupled from the tank connector (210), wherein the tank blocker (186) is further configured to prevent the portable grill (100) from being transitioned from the erected configuration (102) into the collapsed configuration (1102) when the tank blocker (186) is in the blocking position (4302), and to enable the portable grill (100) to be transitioned from the erected configuration (102) into the collapsed configuration (1102) when the tank blocker (186) is in the non-blocking position (4502).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify LUEDKE in view of LIN to further comprise: a valve and regulator assembly having a tank connector, the tank connector configured to removably couple a fuel tank to the valve and regulator assembly; and a tank blocker movable relative to the leg lock assembly between a blocking position and a non-blocking position, the tank blocker configured to move from the non-blocking position into the blocking position in response to the fuel tank becoming coupled to the tank connector, the tank blocker configured to move from the blocking position into the non-blocking position in response to the fuel tank being uncoupled from the tank connector, wherein the tank blocker is further configured to prevent the portable grill from being transitioned from the erected configuration into the collapsed configuration when the tank blocker is in the blocking position, and to enable the portable grill to be transitioned from the erected configuration into the collapsed configuration when the tank blocker is in the non-blocking position as taught and/or suggested by HUNT, since the tank blocker advantageously provides a mechanically-automated failsafe against the possibility of a user of the portable grill failing to uncouple and/or remove the fuel tank from the portable grill prior to initiating the transition of the portable grill from the erected configuration into the collapsed configuration (see HUNT, para. [0066]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because the references are either in the same field of endeavor or are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned. Please see form PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) attached to, or included with, this Office Action.
/JORGE A PEREIRO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799