DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Figs. 1B, 1C, and 2D, claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-17 in the reply filed on 09/18/2026 is acknowledged.
The Office notes that Applicant erroneously identified claims 5 and 12 as elected, since they recite features of the non-elected Species IV, i.e., “the at least one thermal interface pocket is formed in a surface of the mating face” (Fig. 4B). Also, similar claim 18 was indicated as non-elected. Accordingly, said claims 5 and 12 will be withdrawn from further consideration on the merits along with remaining non-elected claims 6, 7, 13, 14, and 18-20. The Office action on the elected claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-17 follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by US 8, 526, 184 to Sullivan et al. (hereafter “Sullivan”).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Sullivan discloses an embedded thermal interface system (Fig. 6), comprising: a thermally conductive structure (426); at least one thermal interface pocket (414) formed in a surface of the thermally conductive structure, the at least one thermal interface pocket having a predefined pocket depth; and a resilient thermal interface (441) seated within the at least one thermal interface pocket, the resilient thermal interface having a predefined thermal interface thickness; wherein the thermal interface thickness of the resilient thermal interface is greater than the pocket depth of the at least one thermal interface pocket, such that the resilient thermal interface protrudes from the at least one thermal interface pocket when the resilient thermal interface is seated within the at least one thermal interface pocket (Figs. 4A, 5A; col. 12, ll. 1-65; col. 15, ll. 15-33).
Regarding claim 15, Sullivan discloses (Figs. 3A, 6) an electronic assembly, comprising: a card cage (200, 410); at least one electronic device (420) mounted in the card cage; and a thermal interface system disposed in the card cage, the thermal interface system comprising: a thermally conductive structure (426); at least one thermal interface pocket (414) formed in a surface of the thermally conductive structure, the at least one thermal interface pocket having a predefined pocket depth; and a resilient thermal interface (441) seated within the at least one thermal interface pocket, the resilient thermal interface having a predefined thermal interface thickness; wherein the thermal interface thickness of the resilient thermal interface is greater than the pocket depth of the at least one thermal interface pocket, such that the resilient thermal interface protrudes from the at least one thermal interface pocket when the resilient thermal interface is seated within the at least one thermal interface pocket (Figs. 4A, 5A; col. 12, ll. 1-65; col. 15, ll. 15-33).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Sullivan discloses that when compressive force is applied to the resilient thermal interface (441), the at least one thermal interface pocket (414) prevents the compressive force from being fully applied to the resilient thermal interface (Figs. 4A, 5A; col. 12, ll. 1-65; col. 15, ll. 15-33).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 16, Sullivan discloses that the thermally conductive structure (Fig. 6) is on or part of a housing (425, 426) of an electronic device (420).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 17, Sullivan discloses that the housing (425, 426) of the electronic device (420) has mounting guides projecting therefrom (i.e., portions of (420) positioned within (410)) and the at least one thermal interface pocket (414) is formed in a surface of at least one of the mounting guides (Fig. 6).
Examiner’s Note: regarding method claims 8-11, since there are no specific method steps being claimed, just a general process of assembling of the device (i.e., providing each element, forming, seating, etc.), the fact that the structure of the device of the present invention is anticipated by Sullivan means that the general method for providing such a structure is also anticipated by the same reference. The method steps recited in the claims are inherently necessitated by the structure of the device of Sullivan.
Claims 1-3, 8-10, and 16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by US 2004/0042178 to Gektin et al. (hereafter “Gektin”, cited in IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Gektin discloses an embedded thermal interface system (Figs. 2 and 3), comprising: a thermally conductive structure (20, 24); at least one thermal interface pocket (26, 126) formed in a surface of the thermally conductive structure, the at least one thermal interface pocket having a predefined pocket depth; and a resilient thermal interface (36, 136) seated within the at least one thermal interface pocket, the resilient thermal interface having a predefined thermal interface thickness (T); wherein the thermal interface thickness of the resilient thermal interface is greater than the pocket depth (D) of the at least one thermal interface pocket (26), such that the resilient thermal interface protrudes from the at least one thermal interface pocket when the resilient thermal interface is seated within the at least one thermal interface pocket (Fig. 3, par. [0028], [0031]).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Gektin discloses that when compressive force is applied to the resilient thermal interface (36, 136), the at least one thermal interface pocket (26, 126) prevents the compressive force from being fully applied to the resilient thermal interface (inherently, since the pockets have limited depths, Figs. 2 and 3, pars. [0028], [0031]).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 16, Gektin discloses (Fig. 2) that the thermally conductive structure (20, 24) is on or part of a housing (42) of an electronic device (22).
Examiner’s Note: regarding method claims 8-10, since there are no specific method steps being claimed, just a general process of assembling of the device (i.e., providing each element, forming, seating, etc.), the fact that the structure of the device of the present invention is anticipated by Gektin means that the general method for providing such a structure is also anticipated by the same reference. The method steps recited in the claims are inherently necessitated by the structure of the device of Gektin.
Conclusion
The additional prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure, because of the teachings of various wedge-lock mounting / cooling
arrangements for circuit cards.
/Anatoly Vortman/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841