Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Lythcott-Haims does not teach the newly added limitations “identified, within a live production and playout pipeline of a live playout…” and “by resolving manifest-addressable references of the one or more media segments based on (i) a publish time of the one or more media segments and (ii) a reference time provided by a reference clock to which the live production and playout pipeline is synchronized”. To this the examiner respectfully disagrees. Identifying the start and end times of the highlights that are to be included in the stream playout (paragraph 373-378), meeting the claim language. Lythcott-Haims also teaches reconciling timing issues (paragraph 154-155, 211 and 366-378), partially meeting the claim language. The reference clock used to synchronize is taught by the newly found reference to Hegar as cited in the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Lythcott-Haims et al., US 2024/0163532 in view of Hegar et al., US 10,862,944.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, Lythcott-Haims discloses a system comprising memory and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to:
identify, within a live production and playout pipeline of a live playout, start and stop times of one or more key events that occurred prior to a current live point of the live playout (paragraph 373-378);
associate one or more media segments of the live playout with the start and stop times by resolving manifest-addressable references of the one or more media segments based on (i) a publish time of the one or more media segments and (ii) a reference time to which the live production and playout pipeline is synchronized (paragraph 154-155, 211 and 366-378);
generate a catch-up schedule comprising the manifest-addressable references to the one or more media segments corresponding to the one or more key events (paragraph 157-161); and
transmit the catch-up schedule (paragraph 157-161).
Lythcott-Haims is silent about reference clock.
In an analogous art, Hegar discloses a reference time provided by a reference clock to which the live production and playout pipeline is synchronized (col. 8, lines 15-30 and col. 12, lines 30-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lythcott-Haims’ system with the teachings of Hegar. This is standard in the art. The motivation would have been to synchronize the media for the benefit of providing quality content.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Lythcott-Haims and Hegar disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the catch-up schedule is transmitted for publishing in a disparate live media output stream manifest (Lythcott-Haims paragraph 157-161).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Lythcott-Haims and Hegar disclose the system of claim 2, wherein the catch-up schedule is transmitted for publishing in the disparate live media output stream manifest such that a client of the disparate live media output stream retrieves the referenced one or more media segments of the live playout for catch-up playback prior to joining the current live point (Lythcott-Haims paragraph 154-161 and 366-371).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 18, Lythcott-Haims and Hegar disclose the system of claim 1, wherein each key event of the one or more key events is associated with a rating (Lythcott-Haims paragraph 299-323).
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 19, Lythcott-Haims and Hegar disclose the system of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: include only those key events of the one or more key events in the catch-up schedule having a rating exceeding a threshold rating (Lythcott-Haims paragraph 299-323).
Regarding claims 6, 14 and 20, Lythcott-Haims and Hegar disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: limit a number of the one or more key events for inclusion in the catch-up schedule based on a maximum time threshold (Lythcott-Haims paragraph 185, 198-199 and 375).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Lythcott-Haims and Hegar disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: update the catch-up schedule based on logging new key events (Lythcott-Haims paragraph 299-323).
Regarding claim 8, Lythcott-Haims and Hegar disclose the system of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: update a ranking of a key event of the one or more key events (Lythcott-Haims paragraph 299-323).
Regarding claim 16, Lythcott-Haims and Hegar disclose the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are further caused to: update a ranking of a key event of the one or more key events (Lythcott-Haims paragraph 299-323).
Contact
OM
Oschta Montoya
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2421
/OSCHTA I MONTOYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421