Detailed Action
Claim 1 of U.S. Application 18/742,594 filed on June 13, 2024 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/06/2024 and 08/06/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkhardt et al (US Pat No 7683611) in view of Sutherland et al (USPGPub 20110167914).
Prior Art: Burkhardt
Regarding claim 1, Burkhardt discloses an apparatus (shown in figs 1-9) for testing within a pipe (col 3 lines 1-20 discloses testing within a pipe), comprising: an exciter (such as 140) for generating an electromagnetic (EM) field (AC magnetic field) for exciting a wall of the metal pipe (col 2 lines 55-65 discloses generating magnetic fields in a pipe wall); an extendable and retractable sensor assembly (130) comprising a plurality of sensor bars (135) arranged in an angled manner with respect to an axis of the pipe (col 3 lines 15-32 discloses being on multiple angles) for sensing residue EM field on the wall of the pipe (col 2 lines 52-67 discloses sensing eddy currents in a pipe wall and retractable assembly); a plurality of guide wheel assemblies (shown but not fully disclosed) for supporting and moving the apparatus along an axis of the pipe (col 7 lines 6-27 discloses transport system which would include the wheels to propel the system along the pipe); and a control unit (inside of 200)for processing the sensed residue EM field from the sensor assembly (col 3 lines 31-49 discloses circuitry that processes the sensor data. Therefore, it would process the sensed residue EM field). Burkhardt does not fully disclose being a metal pipe.
However, Sutherland discloses being a metal pipe (abstract discloses non-destructive testing of metallic structures). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Burkhardt in view of Sutherland in order to detect defects that occur in metallic structures to determine the health of a pipeline.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Neidhardt et al (US Pat No. 7698937): discloses detecting defects in tubular members.
Hosohara et al (US Pat No 5623203): discloses flaw sensor parallel to the pipe.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E HAWKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858