DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species of a hydrophilic active ingredient in the reply filed on 1 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 23 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected specie, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1 September 2026.
Claim 24 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected specie, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The reason that claim 24 is withdrawn is because this claim requires that the active ingredient is dispersed within the lipid (i.e. hydrophobic matrix) in a molecular dispersed form. The skilled artisan would not have expected a hydrophilic ingredient to have successfully dispersed in a lipid in a molecularly dispersed form. This is because, in view of the principle of like-dissolves-like, the skilled artisan would not have expected a hydrophilic ingredient to have been soluble in a hydrophobic lipid. This is because a hydrophilic ingredient primarily dissolves through the intermolecular interactions of ion-ion, ion-dipole, dipole-dipole, or hydrogen bonding. In contrast, a hydrophobic material does not engage in these interactions; in contrast, the hydrophobic material engages in van der Waals interactions and London dispersion forces, which a hydrophilic active ingredient cannot engage in. In view of this, there would have been no expectation that a hydrophilic ingredient would have dispersed in a lipid in a molecularly dispersed form. As such, the examiner understands claim 24 to apply only to hydrophobic active ingredients, and this claim has therefore been withdrawn. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1 September 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – New Matter
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 40 is a newly added claim that is not an original claim. Claim 40 recites “wherein the particles release from 62% to about 80% of the active ingredient in 6 hours.” This does not appear to be adequately supported by the original application as filed. The examiner presents the following explanation in support of this position.
As an initial matter, the examiner notes that the instant specification discloses the following on page 15, relevant text reproduced below.
This example does appear to disclose 62% to 80% release in 6 hours (albeit not 62% to about 80% release).
Nevertheless, looking to the specification, this disclosure appears to be specific to a particle wherein the active ingredient consists of guaifenesin. The above disclosure does not appear to adequately support the subject matter of claim 40, which is drawn to the full scope of active agents.
The examiner notes that in the case of new or amended claims, a subgenus range is not supported by a generic disclosure and a specific example within the subgenus range. See MPEP 2163(I)(B), first paragraph in section and MPEP 2163.05(II), second paragraph in section, citing In re Lukach, 442 F.2d 967, 169 USPQ 795 (CCPA 1971). In this case, the instant application provides a generic disclosure, which is a particle comprising an active ingredient, as well as a specific example, which is a particle comprising guaifenesin as the active ingredient, which releases between 62% to 80% of active ingredient in 6 hours under the USP Type II dissolution test. This disclosure does not adequately support the full scope of the instant claims, which discloses the subgenus of the full scope of drugs which release from 62% to about 80% of active ingredient in 6 hours under in an unspecified temperature and pH.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) – Indefiniteness
Claims 21-22 and 25-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites a maximum amount of hydrophobic matrix of about 80%. Claim 21 also recites a release modifier present in an amount of about 40% at minimum. Because the percentages of ingredients must add up to 100%, the skilled artisan would have expected that a composition with 40% release modifier would be capped at 60% hydrophobic matrix in order that the amounts of all ingredients add up to 100%. As such, it is unclear as to how the amount of hydrophobic matrix can be in the 60-80% range given that the minimum amount of release modifier is about 40%
For the purposes of examination under prior art, the examiner will proceed with the understanding that the amount of release modifier must be between about 40% to about 80%, and the amount of hydrophobic matrix must be from at least about 30% to the maximum amount possible so that all percentages add up to 100%, which would likely be about 60%. A composition having 70% hydrophobic matrix, 29% release modifier, and 1% drug will not be understood to be within the claim scope for the purposes of examination because the amount of release modifier is well below the lower limit of about 40%.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 40 recites that the particles release from 62% to about 80% of the active ingredient in 6 hours. Claim 40 is silent as to the conditions under which the particles release active agent, such as temperature of pH. As such, the examiner has proceeded with examination with the understanding that the amounts of 62% to about 80% may be applicable to any temperature or pH. Claims 38-39 are interpreted similarly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Obviousness
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 21-22, 25-27, 29, 32-33 and 36-41 are is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mani et al. (Journal of Microencapsulation, Vol. 21 No. 2, March 2004, pages 125-135) in view of Adeyeye et al. (Pharmaceutical Research, Vol. 11 No. 4, 1994, pages 575-579) and Varshosaz et al. (Journal of Microencapsulation, Vol. 18 No. 3, 2001, pages 277-284).
Mani et al. (hereafter referred to as Mani) is drawn to a hydrophilic drug encapsulated in a hydrophobic matrix, as of Mani, page 125, title and abstract. Mani teaches microspheres prepared by the following method, as of Mani, page 128, relevant text reproduced below.
The particles of Mani are sized in the following manner, as of Mani, page 132, relevant text reproduced below.
The examiner understands that the guaifenesin of Mani reads on the required active ingredient and the ceresine wax of Mani reads on the required hydrophobic matrix.
Mani differs from the claimed invention because Mani does not teach a release modifier in the required amount.
Adeyeye et al. (hereafter referred to as Adeyeye) is drawn to ibuprofen-wax microspheres, as of Adeyeye, page 575, title and abstract. Said microspheres comprise ibuprofen, wax, and a release modifier which may be stearyl alcohol or glyceryl monostearate, as of Adeyeye, page 575, left column, abstract. Adeyeye teaches up to 40% stearyl alcohol, as of Adyeye, page 577, paragraph bridging left and right columns, wherein Adeyeye tested formulations comprising 10%, 20%, and 40% stearyl alcohol.
Adeyeye does not teach particles having a size that covers the full range of the required particle size of claim 21.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the particle of Mani to have included a release modifier, as taught by Adeyeye, and to have optimized the amount of release modifier. Mani is drawn to a wax microparticle for administration of an active agent. Adeyeye is also drawn to a wax microparticle for administration of an active agent but teaches a release modifier in order to modify the release of the active agent. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have included the release modifier of the composition of Adeyeye with the microparticle of Mani in order to have predictably modified the release of the active agent of Mani with a reasonable expectation of success.
Mani and Adeyeye differ from the claimed invention because the ceresine wax taught by Mani and Adeyeye is not understood to read on the required hydrophobic matrix. This is because, as best understood by the examiner, ceresine wax is not a lipid.
Varshosaz et al. (hereafter referred to as Varshosaz) is drawn to sustained release wax microspheres, as of Varshosaz, page 277, title and abstract. Varshosaz made wax microspheres from both beeswax and ceresine, as of Varshosaz, page 277, abstract. Varshosaz teaches the following on page 283, relevant text reproduced below.
Varshosaz appears to differ from the claimed invention because Varshosaz does not appear to teach a release modifier in the required amount.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted beeswax, as of Varshosaz, in place of ceresine, as of Mani and Adeyeye. Varshosaz teaches that beeswax and ceresine can both be used to formulated microspheres for drug delivery. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have substituted beeswax in place of ceresine in order to have predictably formed a microsphere capable of releasing the drugs of Mani and Adeyeye with a reasonable expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known ingredient (e.g. beeswax, as of Varshosaz) in place of another (e.g. ceresine, as of Mani, Adeyeye, and Varshosaz) in order to have achieved predictable results (e.g. formation of a drug-containing microsphere) is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale B.
As to claim 21, the claim is drawn to a sustained release composition. Mani teaches this as of page 125, first line of abstract. Also see the title of Adeyeye.
As to claim 21, the claim requires an active ingredient. Mani teaches a hydrophilic drug on page 125, title. Adeyeye also teaches ibuprofen, as of page 575, which is an active ingredient, and which the examiner understands to be hydrophilic.
As to claim 21, the claim requires a hydrophobic matrix that is a lipid material. The skilled artisan would have expected beeswax to have been a lipid material because Varshosaz teaches that beeswax comprises free fatty acids, as of Varshosaz, page 283, second paragraph, relevant text reproduced above. Regarding the amount of beeswax, the examiner notes that even if, purely en arguendo, there is a difference in the concentration of beeswax between the claimed invention and prior art, it is nevertheless the case that generally, differences in concentration between the claimed invention and prior art will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, no evidence of criticality appears to have been provided. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of a particle comprising active agent, wax, and release modifier have been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges of these ingredients via routine experimentation.
As to claim 21, the claim requires a release modifier. Adeyeye teaches release modifiers as of page 575, abstract. Mani also teaches ingredients such as sorbitan surfactants (e.g. those known by the trade name of “Span” followed by a number) on page 127, which could be considered to read on the required release modifiers.
As to claim 21 and in the alternative in regard to the issue of the amount of hydrophobic matrix, the claim requires specific amounts of hydrophobic matrix and release modifier. Adeyeye teaches a composition comprising 40% stearyl alcohol, 17% drug, and the remainder of the composition (e.g. 43%) apparently being ceresine, as of Mani, page 577, paragraph bridging left and right columns. This would appear to meet the claimed requirements. These appear to overlap with the claimed requirements. While the prior art does not disclose the exact claimed values, but does overlap: in such instances even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
As to claim 21, the claim requires that the particles are substantially spherical. Both Mani and Adeyeye teach the term “microsphere” as of Mani, page 125, second line of abstract, and Adeyeye, title. Because the word “microsphere” encompasses the word “sphere”, the examiner understands this term to be an indication that the prior art teaches a particle that is substantially spherical.
As to claim 21, the claim requires a mean particle size range. Mani teaches a particle size in the range of 140-385 microns, as of Mani, page 125, abstract. Adeyeye also teaches 151 μm particles as of page 579, left column, Table IV.
In the alternative as to the amounts required by claim 21, the examiner notes that the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). Because Adeyeye conducts extensive testing on the concentration of release modifier, the examiner understands the concentration of the release modifier to be a result-effective variable. Additionally, changes in the percentage of the release modifier also affect the percentage of the wax because increases in the percentage of release modifier necessarily result in a decrease in the percentage of wax and vice versa. As such, the percentage of wax would also appear to be a result-effective variable. Therefore, optimization of the concentrations of the wax (i.e. hydrophobic matrix) and release modifier would appear to be prima facie obvious in view of the provisions of MPEP 2144.05(II)(B) that indicate that optimization of a result-effective variable is prima facie obvious.
As to claim 22, the guaifenesin of Mani is understood to be a hydrophilic active ingredient.
As to claim 25, Mani teaches surfactants with the trade name “Span”, as of Mani, page 127, top paragraph. The skilled artisan would have understood these to have been surfactants with a low hydrophile-lipophile balance (HLB) that are used in forming water in oil emulsions. These surfactants would have helped disperse the active ingredient as small particulates.
As to claim 26, the optimization rationales set forth above regarding claim 21 also apply to claim 26.
As to claim 27, Adeyeye teaches stearyl alcohol, as explained above.
As to claim 29, the optimization rationale applied by the examiner to claim 21 also applies to claim 29.
As to claim 32, Mani teaches a particle size range of about 140-250 μm, as of Mani, page 132, relevant text reproduced above.
As to claim 33, Varshosaz teaches the following on page 281, Table 2, reproduced below.
The formulation labeled “ACE” would appear to have less than 10% standard deviation.
As to claims 36-37, Varshosaz teaches a suspension as of the “Conclusion” section on page 283; this would appear to indicate that the particles are suspended in a liquid vehicle.
As to claim 38, the examiner notes that 8 hours is equivalent to 480 minutes. Varshosaz teaches the following on page 282, relevant figure reproduced below.
The above-reproduced figure appears to show release over a time period of 8 hours or more.
As to claim 39, Adeyeye teaches the following on page 576, right column, figure 2, reproduced below.
The formulation marked by triangles appears to show between 40-55% of active agent released at 2 hours.
As to claim 40, the examiner notes that 6 hours is 360 minutes. Varshosaz, page 282, figure reproduced above, formulation BCDE shows about 65% of active agent release at 350 minutes and about 70% of active agent released at 400 minutes. This would appear to be about 66% released at 360 minutes, which is within the claim scope.
As to claim 41, because the particles of the prior art are made of hydrophobic materials in which water is insoluble, the skilled artisan would have expected that the particles of the prior art would have been substantially free of water.
Claims 21-22, 25-30 and 32-41 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kristensen et al. (US Patent 5,807,583).
Kristensen et al. (hereafter referred to as Kristensen) is drawn to a particle for sustained drug delivery, as of Kristensen, title and abstract.
As to the required drug content of claim 21, Kristensen teaches 20-80% drug as of column 4 lines 5-10.
As to the required hydrophobic lipid matrix of claim 21, Kristensen teaches glyceryl monostearate (abbreviated as “GMS”).
As to the required release modifier, Kristensen teaches stearyl alcohol, stearic acid, triglyceride, beeswax, and MC-wax, as of Kristensen, figure 1, reproduced below.
As to claim 21, regarding the amount of hydrophobic matrix and release modifier, Kristensen does not appear to teach a single example comprising the required amount of hydrophobic matrix and release modifier together in the same embodiment. As such, the instant claims are not anticipated by Kristensen. Nevertheless, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have optimized the amounts of these substances. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of a particle for drug delivery comprising a drug, a wax, glyceryl monostearate, and other excipients has been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have determined the amounts of these excipients via routine experimentation. Additionally, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B), second paragraph in section. In this case, the concentrations of the above-indicated ingredients would appear to affect the result of the release of active agent, indicating that these concentrations are result effective variables.
As to claim 21, the claim requires that the particles have a mean particle size diameter of from about 50 μm to about 500 μm. Kristensen teaches a diameter of 1-200 μm as of column 10 lines 5-10 of Kristensen. This overlaps with the claimed particle size. While the prior art does not disclose the exact claimed values, but does overlap: in such instances even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
As to claim 22, Kristensen teaches paracetamol and acetyl salicylic acid, as of Kristensen, column 4 lines 18-20. The examiner understands these to be hydrophilic active ingredients.
As to claim 25, the skilled artisan would have expected that a hydrophilic active ingredient would have dispersed in the lipid material as small particulates rather than in a molecular dispersed form. This is because, in view of the principle of like-dissolves-like, a hydrophilic active ingredient would not have been expected to have been soluble in a lipid.
As to claim 26, the optimization rationale applied by the examiner regarding claim 21 is also understood to apply to claim 26.
As to claim 27, Kristensen teaches stearyl alcohol and stearic acid, as of Kristensen, figure 1.
As to claim 28, Kristensen teaches triglyceride, as of Kristensen, figure 1.
As to claim 29, the optimization rationale applied by the examiner regarding claim 21 is also understood to apply to claim 26.
As to claim 30, Kristensen teaches glyceryl monostearate, which is a glycerol fatty acid ester, as of Kristensen, figure 1.
As to claim 32, the claim requires that the particles have a mean particle size diameter of from about 150 μm to about 250 μm. Kristensen teaches a diameter of 1-200 μm as of column 10 lines 5-10 of Kristensen. This overlaps with the claimed particle size. While the prior art does not disclose the exact claimed values, but does overlap: in such instances even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
As to claims 33-34, Kristensen teaches the following regarding particle size uniformity, as of Kristensen, column 3, relevant text reproduced below.
The specific numerical values provided here do not appear to provide the required size distribution of within 10%. Nevertheless, based upon the text in Kristensen, column 3 lines 42-60, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have reduced particle size variation at least in view of Kristensen, column 1, bottom paragraph, and would have had a reasonable expectation to have done so successfully.
As to claim 35, Kristensen teaches the following, as of column 5 lines 35-45, reproduced below.
This coating is understood to read on the required coating layer.
As to claims 36-37, Kristensen’s teaching of a suspension as of column 5 lines 61-64 is understood to read on the required liquid vehicle.
As to claim 38, Kristensen teaches particles showing an 8 hour sustained release in figure 1.
As to claim 39, Kristensen teaches embodiments showing about 40-55% dissolution after 2 hours as of figure 1.
As to claim 40, the claim requires that the particles release from 62% to about 80% of the active ingredient in 6 hours. The examiner notes that figure 1 of Kristensen, which is reproduced above, appears to have taught two or three embodiments that meet this limitation, according to the data in the figure. Furthermore, Kristensen, figure 2, appears to teach one embodiment that has about 80% release in 6 hours, as of the figure reproduced below.
As such, Kristensen teaches release of active agent in the amount of 62% to about 80% release in 6 hours.
As to claim 41, the skilled artisan would have expected that particles made from a water-insoluble material would have been substantially free of water because water cannot dissolve in a water-insoluble material.
Claim 31 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kristensen et al. (US Patent 5,807,583) in view of Westesen et al. (US Patent 5,885,486).
Kristensen is drawn to pellets comprising drug for administration of said drug. See the rejection over Kristensen by itself above. Kristensen teaches triglycerides, as of Kristensen, at least column 6 lines 16-21.
Kristensen does not teach tripalmitin or glyceryl trilaurate.
Westesen et al. (hereafter referred to as Westesen) is drawn to solid lipid particles, as of Westesen, title and abstract. Westesen teaches “trilaurate” and “tripalmitate” as triglycerides, as of Westesen, column 21, lines 40-50; the examiner understands these to read on glyceryl trilaurate and tripalmitin respectively.
Westesen differs from the claimed invention because the particles of Westesen appear to be smaller than the claimed particles; see figure 6 of Westesen.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the trilaurate and/or tripalmitate of Westesen as the triglyceride the composition of Kristensen. Kristensen is drawn to a composition that may include a triglyceride; however, Kristensen is silent as to the chemical identity of said triglyceride. Westesen teaches that tripalmitate and trilaurate are triglycerides used in the formation of a pharmaceutical dosage form. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have used the tripalmitate and trilaurate of Westesen in the composition of Kristensen to have predictably acted as a triglyceride that would have been predictably useful as a pharmaceutical excipient with a reasonable expectation of success. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material (e.g. tripalmitate or trilaurate, as of Westesen) for incorporation into a composition (e.g. that of Kristensen), based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (as a pharmaceutical excipient which is a triglyceride). See MPEP 2144.07.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 21-22, 25-27, 30, 32-33, and 35-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,398,649. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The instant claims are drawn to microparticles comprising an active ingredient, a hydrophobic matrix, and a release modifier in specific amounts, wherein the particles have a particular size.
The conflicting claims are drawn to microparticles comprising guaifenesin, a hydrophobic wax matrix, and stearic acid as the release modifier in particular amounts. Conflicting claim 6 recites beeswax and Japan wax, which are understood to be lipids.
The instant and conflicting claims differ at least because the conflicting claims recite a particular active ingredient, which is not recited by the instant claims. Nevertheless, the subject matter of the conflicting claims would appear to be in the scope of the instant claims if a lipid containing wax such as beeswax or Japan wax from conflicting claim 6 were used as the wax. As such, the instantly claimed subject matter appears to be prima facie obvious over the subject matter of the conflicting claims, thereby resulting in a prima facie case of obviousness-type non-statutory double patenting.
As to instant claim 21, the examiner notes that the instant claims require a minimum amount of release modifier of about 40%. In contrast, the conflicting claims require a maximum amount of release modifier of about 25%. In view of the fact that the claims recite the term “about”, the difference in the amount of release modifier recited by the instant claims and by the conflicting claims appears to be fairly minimal. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I), second paragraph. Additionally, the issues regarding routine optimization, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05(II), appear to be applicable here.
As to claim 22, the guaifenesin of the conflicting claims reads on the required hydrophilic active agent.
As to claim 25, the skilled artisan would have expected the guaifenesin of the conflicting claims to have been dispersed as small particulates because guaifenesin is a hydrophilic drug that is not lipid soluble.
As to claim 26, this claim is rejected for the same reason that claim 21 is rejected.
As to claim 27, the conflicting claims recite stearic acid as the release modifier.
As to claim 30, the skilled artisan would have expected the Japan wax of conflicting claim 6 to have included glycerol fatty acid esters.
As to claim 32, the size range of about 20 μm to about 32 μm of conflicting claim 1 overlaps with the required size range, thereby resulting in a prima facie case of obviousness.
As to claim 33, conflicting claim 4 recites a diameter of within 10% of the mean diameter.
As to claim 35, conflicting claim 7 recites a layer disposed on the particle surface.
As to claims 36-37, conflicting claims 8-9 recite a liquid vehicle.
As to claims 38-40, the subject matter recited by these claims is recited by conflicting claim 12.
As to instant claim 41, the skilled artisan would have expected that the hydrophobic particle of the conflicting claims would have been substantially free of water, even if surrounded by water, because the hydrophobic material would have been incapable of binding or dissolving water.
Claims 21-22, 25-38 and 41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-36 of U.S. Patent No. 11,576,861. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The instant claims are drawn to microparticles comprising an active ingredient, a hydrophobic matrix, and a release modifier in specific amounts, wherein the particles have a particular size.
The conflicting claims are drawn to microparticles comprising an active ingredient, a hydrophobic matrix, and a release modifier.
As to claim 21, the instant and conflicting claims differ because the instant claims require a minimum amount of release modifier of about 40%. In contrast, the conflicting claims require a maximum amount of release modifier of about 25%. In view of the fact that the claims recite the term “about”, the difference in the amount of release modifier recited by the instant claims and by the conflicting claims appears to be fairly minimal. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I), second paragraph. Additionally, the issues regarding routine optimization, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05(II), appear to be applicable here. This results in a prima facie case of obviousness-type non-statutory double patenting.
As to claim 22, conflicting claim 7 recites a hydrophilic active ingredient.
As to claim 25, the skilled artisan would have expected the hydrophilic active ingredients of the conflicting claims to have been dispersed as small particulates because hydrophilic active ingredients are not lipid soluble.
As to claim 26, this claim is rejected for the same reason that claim 21 is rejected.
As to claim 27, a release modifier of stearic acid is recited as of conflicting claim 22.
As to claim 28, the glycerol monostearate of conflicting claim 23 reads on the requirement that the release modifier comprises monoglycerides.
As to claim 29, the amount of wax material recited by instant claim 1 overlaps with the requirement of the amount of lipid material recited by instant claim 29. The wax material of the conflicting claims would appear to read on the instantly claimed lipid in view of the fact that conflicting claim 15 recites beeswax and Japan wax, which are lipids.
As to instant claim 30, the subject matter of this claim is recited by conflicting claim 16.
As to instant claim 31, the subject matter of this claim is recited by conflicting claim 17.
As to instant claim 32, the particle size recited by the conflicting claims overlaps with the instantly claimed particle size, resulting in a prima facie case of obviousness.
As to instant claims 33-34, conflicting claim 13 recites that the particle size distribution is within 5%; this reads on the requirements of both claims 33 and 34.
As to instant claim 35, conflicting claim 10 recites a further layer disposed on the particle surface.
As to instant claims 36-37, conflicting claims 11-12 recite a liquid vehicle in which the particles are suspended.
As to instant claim 38, conflicting claim 31 recites release in a period of time of 8 to 24 hours; this is within the claim scope.
As to instant claim 41, the skilled artisan would have expected that the hydrophobic particle of the conflicting claims would have been substantially free of water, even if surrounded by water, because the hydrophobic material would have been incapable of binding or dissolving water.
Claims 21-22 and 25-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 12,433,839. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The instant claims are drawn to microparticles comprising an active ingredient, a hydrophobic matrix, and a release modifier in specific amounts, wherein the particles have a particular size.
The conflicting claims are drawn to microparticles comprising an active ingredient, a hydrophobic matrix, and an optional release modifier.
As to claim 21, the instant and conflicting claims differ because the instant claims require a minimum amount of release modifier of about 40%. In contrast, the conflicting claims require a maximum amount of release modifier, when present, of about 25%. In view of the fact that the claims recite the term “about”, the difference in the amount of release modifier recited by the instant claims and by the conflicting claims appears to be fairly minimal. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I), second paragraph. Additionally, the issues regarding routine optimization, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05(II), appear to be applicable here. This results in a prima facie case of obviousness-type non-statutory double patenting.
As to claim 22, the claim requires a hydrophilic active ingredient. The conflicting claims recite guaifenesin, as of conflicting claims 27-29, which is a hydrophilic active ingredient.
As to claim 25, the skilled artisan would have expected the hydrophilic active ingredients of the conflicting claims to have been dispersed as small particulates because hydrophilic active ingredients are not lipid soluble.
As to claim 26, this claim is rejected for the same reason that claim 21 is rejected.
As to claim 27, conflicting claim 9 recites stearic acid as a release modifier.
As to claim 28, conflicting claim 9 recites mono, di, and triglycerides as the release modifier.
As to claim 29, the amount of wax material recited by instant claim 1 overlaps with the requirement of the amount of lipid material recited by instant claim 29. The wax material of the conflicting claims would appear to read on the instantly claimed lipid in view of the fact that conflicting claim 15 recites beeswax and Japan wax, which are lipids.
As to instant claim 30, the subject matter of this claim is recited by conflicting claim 17.
As to instant claim 31, the subject matter of this claim is recited by conflicting claim 18.
As to instant claim 32, the particle size range of conflicting claim 1 overlaps with the required particle size range.
As to instant claim 33, conflicting claim 1 recites a 10% standard deviation from the mean particle size.
As to instant claim 34, conflicting claim 19 recites a 5% standard deviation from the mean particle size.
As to instant claim 35, conflicting claim 20 recites a further layer disposed on the surface of the particle.
As to instant claims 36-37, conflicting claims 21-22 further recite a liquid vehicle.
As to instant claim 38, conflicting claim 23 recites release in a period of 8 hours or longer.
As to instant claim 39, conflicting claim 24 recites release of 40-55% of active ingredient in 2 hours.
As to instant claim 40, conflicting claim 1 recites release of 62% to about 80% of active ingredient in 6 hours.
As to instant claim 41, the skilled artisan would have expected that the hydrophobic particle of the conflicting claims would have been substantially free of water, even if surrounded by water, because the hydrophobic material would have been incapable of binding or dissolving water.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
ISAAC . SHOMER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1612
/ISAAC SHOMER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612