Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, it is unclear if the multiple adapter networks, multiple training datasets and tasks or domains include those already recited in claims 1 and 9 or if they are in addition to those already recited in claims 1 and 9.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, “the neural” lacks antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye (arXiv:2312.02515v1 [cs.LG] 5 Dec 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Ye teaches a method of parallel training a neural network to perform multiple tasks, the method comprising:
training in parallel:
a first adapter neural network in conjunction with the neural network using a first training dataset comprising first training samples of performing a first task (see Figure 3(b), A1 and B1 [a first adapter neural network] and “Pretrained Weights” [in conjunction with the neural network] with x1 which corresponds to A1 and B1, see §4.1, “In Figure 3(b), consider multiple LoRA fine-tuning jobs, J1,…,Jn. Each job Ji involves fine-tuning input data denoted as xi” [a first training dataset comprising first training samples of performing a first task]), and
a second adapter neural network in conjunction with a copy of the neural network using a second training dataset comprising second training samples of performing a second task (see Figure 3(b), A2 and B2 [a second adapter neural network] and “Pretrained Weights” [in conjunction with the neural network] with x2 which corresponds to A2 and B2, see §4.1, “In Figure 3(b), consider multiple LoRA fine-tuning jobs, J1,…,Jn. Each job Ji involves fine-tuning input data denoted as xi” [a second training dataset comprising second training samples of performing a second task]);
merging the trained first adapter neural network, the trained second adapter neural network and the neural network to produce an adapted neural network (Figure 3, H = Concat(h1 [trained first adapter neural network],h2 [trained second adapter neural network],…,hn) and Equation (2), W0X [the neural network], where “Concat” is a merging operation which merges the results of each network and produces an adapted neural network); and
generating, by the adapted neural network, a first task output or a second task output in response to an input to perform the first task or the second task (Figure 3(b), “h1” and/or “h2” is a generated result from the adapted neural network and can be considered a first task output or a second task output in response to an input to perform the first task or the second task because data is input into the model (input to perform the first task or the second task) and the concatenation operation is the adapted neural network and ”H” is generated as a first task output or second task output because it results from the data corresponding to the first and/or second task).
Regarding claim 2, Ye teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein training the first adapter neural network comprises:
jointly generating, by a combination of the first adapter neural network and the neural network, a training output based on a training input from the first training dataset (Figure 3(b), “H” is a training output generated based on a combination of the first adapter neural network and the neural network (see Equation (2)) and is generated based on x1, which is the first training dataset); and updating weights of the first adapter neural network based on a training loss computed from the training output while keeping weights of the neural network unchanged (§2, “..efficient fine-tuning by completely freezing the pre-trained model and introducing weight modifications through a trainable low-rank decomposition matrix…” [updating weights of the first adapter neural network based on a training loss computed from the training output while keeping weights of the neural network unchanged]).
Regarding claim 3, Ye teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein
the first training dataset and the second training dataset are from different domains (see Figure 3, x1 can be from an “x1 domain” and x2 can be from an “x2 domain” i.e. from different domains).
Regarding claim 4, Ye teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein
the first adapter neural network and the second adapter neural network are trained using different training methods (Figure 3(b) and Equation (2). The training is particular to each adapter neural network and therefore the specific manner in which each network is trained, i.e. the method, can be considered different because the parameters involved are not the same).
Regarding claim 6, Ye teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
training in parallel multiple adapter neural networks in conjunction with the neural network using multiple training datasets for multiple tasks or domains (see Figure 3(b), A1, B1…An,Bn [training in parallel multiple adapter neural networks with the neural network] see §4.1, “In Figure 3(b), consider multiple LoRA fine-tuning jobs, J1,…,Jn. Each job Ji involves fine-tuning input data denoted as xi” [using multiple training datasets for multiple tasks or domains]); and
selectively merging one or more of the trained multiple adapter neural networks with the neural network depending on an application request (see Equation 2 which merges one or more of the trained multiple adapter neural networks with the neural network. The merging is done “selectively” because each neural network is selected to be merged and it is done by the application running the training program, i.e. on an application request).
Regarding claim 7, Ye teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein
the merging comprises merging a first set of layers of the trained first adapter neural network, a second set of layers of the trained second adapter neural network, and a third set of layers of the neural based on a per-layer basis (Equation (2), “Concat” is a merging operation and comprises merging ΔW1x1 which contains a first set of layers of the trained first adapter neural network, ΔW1x2 which contains a second set of layers of the trained second adapter neural network and W0X which contains a third set of layers of the neural [network] and their combination can be considered a “per-layer” basis because weights are added together based on their position in the corresponding matrices).
Regarding claim 8, Ye teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein
the first adapter neural network and the second adapter neural network are trained in conjunction with a different neural network, wherein the different neural network is compatible with the neural network (see Equation (2), BnAnxn [a different neural network, wherein the different neural network is compatible with the neural network], which is trained in conjunction with the first adapter neural network and the second adapter neural network).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (arXiv:2312.02515v1 [cs.LG] 5 Dec 2023) as applied to claims 1, 3, and 6-8 in view of Wang (US20210271956A1).
Regarding claim 9, Ye teaches a system performing the methodology of claim 9 (see rejection of claim 1), but does not teach the system comprising
a communication interface; a memory storing a plurality of processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors executing the plurality of processor-executable instructions to perform operations.
Wang teaches
a communication interface (Figure 5, 514 “I/O INTERFACES” [a communication interface]); a memory storing a plurality of processor-executable instructions (Figure 5, 504, “RAM”, “CACHE”, [a memory storing a plurality of processor-executable instructions]); and one or more processors executing the plurality of processor-executable instructions to perform operations (Figure 5, 502, [one or more processors executing the plurality of processor-executable instructions to perform operations]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye to include the components as taught by Wang in order to allow for efficient execution of the methodology of Ye on a computer.
Regarding claims 10-12 and 14-16, Ye as modified with Ye according to claims 2-4 and 6-8 teaches the limitations of claims 10-11 and 14-16.
Regarding claims 17-19, Ye as modified according to claims 9 and 11-12 teaches all of the limitations of claims 17-19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 13, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 5, 13, and 20, Ye does not teach the particular training methods claimed. Furthermore, impermissible hindsight would be required to modify Ye to utilize the particular training methods for the first and second adapter neural networks because the prior art does not provide a prima facie case of obviousness for training the adapter networks using separate, particular training methodologies such as those claimed.
Conclusion
/SCHYLER S SANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2129