DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 25, 2024 and July 18, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed May 21, 2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kellar et al. (WO2017/044545, IDS 09.25.2024, FPD #11, cited by US 10820594, IDS 05.21.2026, USP #11).
Kellar teaches compositions comprising dried bacterial cells or spores (col.5 line 45 – 50, col.13 - 14) and paraffin oil (col.23, line 1 – 5, 20 – 25, e.g., SUN AG™, SUNSPRAY™), wherein the paraffin oil may be included from 0.1 – 30% (col.23, line 30 – 35). The compositions are intended for agricultural use (col.1-2) and are therefore agrochemical compositions. Although Kellar does not teach the claimed amount of paraffin oil, the carrier components are disclosed as protectants that may be included in any suitable amount or concentration (col.23, line 50 – 60). Thus, at the time the claims were filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of carriers, or paraffin oil, in the compositions of Kellar as a matter of routine experimentation and as directed by Kellar, and with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining an effective, agriculturally beneficial composition.
Regarding the claimed instructions for applying to a plant and/or plant growth medium, where the printed matter and product do not depend upon each other, no functional relationship exists. For example, in a kit containing a set of chemicals and a printed set of instructions for using the chemicals, the instructions are not related to that particular set of chemicals. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d at 1339, 70 USPQ2d at 1864. Moreover, including instructions for applying the compositions does not materially change the composition itself (MPEP 2111.05). Notwithstanding, Kellar teaches the composition is applied to plants or plant propagation materials (or plant growth media) (col.1), thereby providing instructions for applying to plants or plant growth media.
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kellar et al. (WO 2017/044473, IDS 09.25.2024, FPD #10, cited by US 11472981).
Kellar teaches compositions comprising dried bacterial cells or spores (col.6 line 5 – 15) and SUNSPRAY™ (paraffin oil) (example 16, Table 15). The compositions are intended for agricultural use (col.5 - 7) and are therefore agrochemical compositions. Although Kellar does not teach the claimed amount of paraffin oil, mineral oil (e.g., paraffin oil) is disclosed an acceptable carrier that may be included in any acceptable amount/concentration (col.26 line25 – 35, col. 27 line 5 - 10). Thus, at the time the claims were filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of carriers, or paraffin oil, in the compositions of Kellar as a matter of routine experimentation and as directed by Kellar, and with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining an effective, agriculturally beneficial composition.
Regarding the claimed instructions for applying to a plant and/or plant growth medium, where the printed matter and product do not depend upon each other, no functional relationship exists. For example, in a kit containing a set of chemicals and a printed set of instructions for using the chemicals, the instructions are not related to that particular set of chemicals. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d at 1339, 70 USPQ2d at 1864. Moreover, including instructions for applying the compositions does not materially change the composition itself (MPEP 2111.05). Notwithstanding, Kellar teaches the composition is applied to plants or plant propagation materials (or plant growth media) (col.1 - 2), thereby providing instructions for applying to plants or plant growth media.
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7 – 8 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12252688. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are drawn to a dried bacterial cells and/or spores; and one or more paraffin oils and/or one or more paraffin waxes; wherein the one or more paraffin oils and/or one or more paraffin waxes comprising about 75 to about 95% of said agrochemical inoculant composition, by weight.
Regarding the claimed instructions for applying to a plant and/or plant growth medium, where the printed matter and product do not depend upon each other, no functional relationship exists. For example, in a kit containing a set of chemicals and a printed set of instructions for using the chemicals, the instructions are not related to that particular set of chemicals. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d at 1339, 70 USPQ2d at 1864. Moreover, including instructions for applying the compositions does not materially change the composition itself (MPEP 2111.05). Notwithstanding, the patent claims the composition is applied to plants or plant propagation materials (claims 7 – 8), thereby providing instructions for applying to plants or plant growth media.
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699