DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a Final Office Action for application no. 18/742,687 for a JACKPLATE SYSTEM WITH PRECISION ADJUSTMENT AND OPTIMIZATION, filed on 6/13/2024. This correspondence is in response to applicant's reply filed on 1/29/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood (U.S. Pat. 12,312,058) in view of Schmidt et al. (U.S. Pat. 12,409,689).
Regarding claim 14, Wood teaches a method (Fig. 5), the method comprising: positioning an outboard motor (36) into a travelling position by raising or lowering the jack plate (18) to the desired position (Fig. 2); holding a trailering button (92), the trailering button being mounted to the jack plate (Fig. 2); positioning the outboard motor into a trailering position (motor can be adjusted to various heights as desired); and returning the outboard motor to the travelling position (motor can be adjusted to various heights as desired) by pressing the trailering button, but does not teach the step of loading a boat onto a trailer or storing the travelling position to a memory by holding the trailering button, and that the button is operable by a user standing on the ground adjacent a trailered boat.
Schmidt, however, teaches the step of loading a boat onto a trailer (Figs. 40, 40B) in order to transport a boat over solid surfaces such as concrete, over soft surfaces such as sandy beaches and dirt roads, and within shallow muddy waters along beaches and coastal areas. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree to success, to construct the step of loading a boat onto a trailer in order to transport the boat from one location to another.
In addition, Wood teaches the use of the trailering button for controlling the jack plate, wherein the trailering button activates the electrical lift jack and communicates with a controller 106 and its integral memory 108 in order to raise and lower the outboard motor. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, with a reasonable expectation of success for storing the travelling position to a memory by holding the trailering button since the button communities with the controller and memory, and further, for a user to operate the button while standing on the ground adjacent a trailered boat since the button is easily accessible and users may not always be located in the boat when they need to adjust the height of the motor.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood (U.S. Pat. 12,312,058) in view of Schmidt et al. (U.S. Pat. 12,409,689) in further view of Lo et al. (U.S. Pat. 10,795,466).
Regarding claims 15-16, Wood and Schmidt teach the method of claim 14, but do not teach that the travelling position is stored to memory by holding the trailering button for more than 2 seconds or that the outboard motor is returned to the travelling position by pressing the trailering button for fewer than 2 seconds. Lo, however teaches programmable buttons (120) that enable a user to associate a first action with a normal press and a second action with a long press (e.g., a press where the button is depressed for a minimum amount of time, such as fifty milliseconds, one second, or two seconds), in order to quickly activate the desired program. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree to success, wherein the travelling position is stored to memory by holding the trailering button for more than 2 seconds or that the outboard motor is returned to the travelling position by pressing the trailering button for fewer than 2 seconds in order to easily and quickly activate the trailering button to move the outboard motor to different positions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 and 17-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 14-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NKEISHA SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 May 26, 2026