DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 2 June 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species II-IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keegan et al., U.S. 9,874,146.
Regarding claim 1, Keegan et al. discloses in figure 1 a post (lever 103; col. 9, lines 26-28) and stud (col. 9, lines 49-53) for a ball joint assembly (col. 9, lines 23-26), the post (103) and stud (110) having a post (103) with a first end (end at nut 108; col. 11, lines 45-52) configured to receive a complementary fastener (nut 108) that attaches the post in a ball joint assembly (col. 9, lines 23-26; pivotal mount of the strut assembly) and a second end that has a threaded bore (threaded hole 112; col. 9, lines 57-64), and a threaded stud (110; col. 9, line 57 – col. 10, line 2) that has a first threaded portion (external thread 113) that complements the threaded bore (threaded hole 112) in the second end of the post (103) and a second threaded portion (col. 10, lines 55-60) selected for a predetermined application (col. 10, lines 61-63; applicable to the support body) of a ball joint assembly.
Re: claim 2, the reference discloses the first end of the post (at nut 108) has external threads (for nut 108).
Re: claim 5, the reference discloses the external threads are formed on a projecting portion (portion above disk 116; col. 11, lines 53-57) of the post (103).
Re: claim 6, the reference discloses the first end (at nut 108) configured to receive a complementary fastener (nut 108) and the second end (threaded bore 112) that has a threaded bore are separated by a solid portion (area of 103 is shown as solid – not hollow) of the post.
Re: claim 9, the reference discloses the post (103) has a tapered exterior (tapered area of pivot point 105; col. 10, lines 12-15).
Re: claim 10, the reference discloses the tapered exterior (taper of point 105) of the post tapers toward a centerline (rotary axis 111; col. 10, lines 12-19) extending between the first end and the second end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keegan et al., U.S. 9,874,146 in view of Archer et al., U.S. 5,820,150.
Re: claim 3, Keegan et al. discloses all the claimed subject matter including the post having a threaded connection to a nut at a first end, but does not disclose the first end of the post has a tool receiving bore.
Archer et al. teaches use of a ball joint assembly in figure 7 having a post (tapered stud 73; col. 6, lines 26-29) having a bore (bore for retaining bolt 75) to enhance disassembly (col. 6, lines 29-34) of the assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute the externally fixed stud fastener disclosed by Keegan et al. with the internally fixed stud fastener taught by Archer et al. for ease of disassembly wherein the reversal of components has been held to be within the knowledge of one having ordinary skill of the art.
As to claim 4, Keegan et al. discloses external threads (113) and the tool receiving bore (substitution of the internal or external fastening arrangement) are on a common centerline (rotary axis 111).
As to claim 7, Archer et al. teaches that the first end (first end of stud 73 receiving bolt 75) has an internally threaded bore (bore receiving the fastener 75) configured to receive a fastener (bolt 75).
As to claim 8, Both references disclose a solid body stud between the threaded exterior and/or bore in the first end wherein the threaded bore of the second end (as disclosed by Keegan et al.) are separated by a solid portion of the post (base reference post 103).
Conclusion
11 June 2026
/KENNETH L THOMPSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676