DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Due to the amendments to the claims, the 35 USC § 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Due to the amendments to the claims, the 35 USC § 101 rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Presented arguments have been fully considered, but are rendered moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment(s) initiated by the applicant(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-12, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (Hereafter, "Fang") [US 2008/0310496 A1] in view of IWANAGA et al. (Hereafter, "Iwanaga") [WO 2022/202179 A1] in further view of Brueck et al. (Hereafter, "Brueck") [US 2014/0247887 A1] in even further view of Lapicque et al. (Hereafter, “Lapicque”) [US 2020/0396501 A1].
In regards to claim 1, Fang discloses a video recorder ([Fig. 1] media server 106), comprising: one or more processors ([0021] media receivers 122, 126, and any other suitable device such as personal computers, servers, laptop computers, hand-held devices, cellular phones, microprocessor-based programmable consumer electronics and/or appliances, routers, gateways, hubs and other computer networking devices); one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors ([0011] the media server 106 may also include other features or components, for example: a memory drive 110 for integrated storage of and access to a user's recorded content, such as TV shows, songs, pictures, and home videos); and instructions stored in the one or more memories and operable, when executed by the one or more processors ([0021] Prior to discussing these embodiments in detail, it will be appreciated that the embodiments described herein may be implemented, for example, via computer-executable instructions or code, such as programs, stored on a computer-readable storage medium and executed by a computing device.), to cause the video recorder to: obtain a group of pictures (GOP) for an encoded video stream captured by a camera ([0005] a method for processing encoded media data comprising receiving a request to play back the encoded media data from a media receiver), wherein the GOP includes a key frame and, for each frame of multiple frames following the key frame, a delta frame that describes a delta from a previous frame or from a next frame to render the frame ([0001] Media data using both independent and predictive data frames. Independent data frames, or "key frames", are self-contained in that a key frame is encoded without reference to any other data frames. In contrast, a predictive data frame encodes differences between that frame and previous and/or later data frames. [0032] key frames and predictive frames); ([0005] generating one or more key frames from the encoded media data on the media server [0027] The key frame generation module 204 may be used to generate key frames in any suitable manner. [0005] The key frames are generated by decoding the media data, and then encoding the key frames from the decoded media data. In this manner, the frequency of key frames in a media data stream may be increased to improve trick mode and/or 1x playback.) ([0005] sending the generated key frame or key frames to the media receiver [0032] Continuing with FIG. 4, key frames may be generated from the decoded media data and transmitted to the media receiver in any suitable manner. For example, as described above, key frames may be generated by encoding a selected frame of decoded data as an independent frame.).
Iwanaga discloses obtain a group of pictures (GOP) for an encoded video stream captured by a camera ([0001] a network camera that outputs video in a GOP format), wherein the GOP includes a key frame and, for each frame of multiple frames following the key frame, a delta frame that describes a delta from a previous frame or from a next frame to render the frame ([0019] The encoding unit 12 compresses and encodes the digital data output from the imaging unit 11 using a predetermined method, and generates video data in GOP format including I frames and P frames.); ([0020] The control unit 14 changes the generation timing of the I frame by the encoding unit 12 in response to receiving a video request signal (an example of a predetermined control signal) from an external device while the network camera 10 is outputting video data. [0021] On the other hand, when a video request signal is received, an I frame is generated (step S105), and after resetting subsequent I frame generation timing (step S106), arrival of the next frame timing is waited for.) ([Abstract] the camera 121 generates and outputs an I-frame ahead of schedule without waiting for the next I-frame generation timing).
Bruek discloses generate, for at least one frame in the multiple frames corresponding to the start time, a new key frame corresponding to the at least one frame by obtaining the key frame and applying, to the key frame, modifications indicated in a portion of the delta frames that are between the key frame and the at least one frame ([0039] In another embodiment, when the first frame of the requested time range is not a key frame, the JIT encoder 108 can decode the frame as described above (decoding from the previous key frame and any intervening delta frames), and then encode this first frame as a key frame.); and provide, to the device and based on a request for viewing the encoded video stream at the start time, the new key frame ([0018] Media content from the publisher may be transferred over the network 130 to the content server 106, which may be configured to receive, process, and store media content. In one embodiment, the content server 106 delivers the media content to the client 102, which is configured to play the content on a media player 110 that is operating on the client 102. The content server 106 delivers the media content by streaming the media content to the client 102.).
Lapicque discloses obtain a group of pictures (GOP) for an encoded video stream captured by a camera ([0019] incoming live media stream), wherein the GOP includes a key frame and, for each frame of multiple frames following the key frame, a delta frame that describes a delta from a previous frame or from a next frame to render the frame ([0041] In FIG. 2B, a bitstream 210 may be received, where the bitstream 210 may include an inter-frame only GOP structure bitstream. In FIG. 2C, a bitstream 218 may be received, where the bitstream 218 may include an IP frame GOP structure bitstream.); predict, within the GOP, a start time that a device may request for viewing the encoded video stream in a future time period ([0019] In some embodiments, rather than converting the inter-frame into an intra-frame based on receiving an indication to start a recording, the recode engine may analyze the incoming live media stream and determine when an intra-frame needs to be added into the stream based on the GOP length of the output stream. For example, the recode engine may be hardcoded to periodically convert inter-frames to intra-frames—such as, without limitation, every 20 frames, every 30 frames, every second, every three seconds, etc. [0041] In embodiments, the re-encode system 100 may periodically convert inter-frames 240 (e.g., inter-frame 240A, 240B, and 240C), identified in the bitstream 212 by slanted lines, associated with the bitstream 210 into intra-frames 242 (e.g., intra-frames 242A, 242B, and 242C, respectively). For example, the re-encode engine 114 may identify every x.sup.th frame, or a frame after every x time interval, to convert from an inter-frame 240 to an intra-frame 242 as indicated by the bitstream 212.); generate, for at least one frame in the multiple frames corresponding to the start time, a new key frame corresponding to the at least one frame ([0041] As described in detail herein, the recode engine 114 may convert the selected inter-frames 240 into intra-frames 242 based at least on a SPS, a PPS, a QP, and/or other information associated with bitstream 210. Once the inter-frames 240 are re-encoded into intra-frames 242, and as can be seen in converted segment 214, the re-encoded intra-frames 242 may be merged (e.g., to replace the inter-frames 240) at the location of the selected (e.g., identified) inter-frames 240 in segment 210.); and provide, to the device and based on a request for viewing the encoded video stream at the start time, the new key frame ([0036] The bitstream recorder 124 may be generally configured to extract a segment of a bitstream including the re-encoded intra-frame and output the segment of the bitstream to a file sink 126 for storage or saving to a file for later use (e.g., viewing, sharing, streaming, transmitting, etc.). In one or more embodiments, a file sink may be implemented as a pipeline object that receives media data as the destination for one or more media streams. In embodiments, the bitstream recorder 124 may select the segment based on receiving an indication of which segment of the bitstream a user wants to record. In other embodiments, the bitstream recorder 124 may select the starting point of the segment based on the starting point noted in an indication to start recording.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fang with the specific teachings of a camera producing the video frames in an outside of normal timing I frame generation system as taught by Iwanaga in order to improve the video encoding efficiency [See Iwanaga]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fang with the encoding of a new key frame using the previous key frame and any intervening delta frames between the previous key frame and the first frame as taught by Bruek in order to improve the encoding of media for adaptive streaming [See Bruek].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fang, Iwanaga, and Bruek with the analysis and determination of when intra-frames need to be added to encoded stream and convert the P-frames to I-frames for the re-encoded stream as taught by Lapicque in order to reduce processor load in the system and enable flexibility to insert/convert an intra-frame at any point in a media stream [See Lapicque].
In regards to claim 2, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Fang discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the video recorder to receive a request from the device for the at least one frame, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the video recorder to provide the new key frame to the device based on the request ([0030] Upon receipt of the request to play back encoded media, method 400 next comprises decoding the encoded media data (at 412), generating key frames from the encoded media data (at 414), and transmitting the generated key frames to the media receiver (at 416).).
In regards to claim 3, the limitations of claim 2 have been addressed. Fang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the video recorder to provide, to the device, one or more subsequent delta frames in the GOP, wherein the one or more subsequent delta frames reference the new key frame.
Bruek discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the video recorder to provide, to the device, one or more subsequent delta frames in the GOP, wherein the one or more subsequent delta frames reference the new key frame ([0039] In another embodiment, when the first frame of the requested time range is not a key frame, the JIT encoder 108 can decode the frame as described above (decoding from the previous key frame and any intervening delta frames), and then encode this first frame as a key frame. The subsequent frames to this first frame may be able to be copied from the original data so that the JIT encoder 108 does not have to re-encode the subsequent delta frames after the newly created key frame. [0040] In this, the embodiments may create an index so that frames that are not independently decodable (delta frames) can be decoded and encoded as a key frame that is independently decodable. The subsequent delta frames may be encoded again or may be copied from the original data.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fang with the encoding of a new key frame and re-encoding the subsequent delta frames as taught by Bruek in order to improve the encoding of media for adaptive streaming [See Bruek].
In regards to claim 4, the limitations of claim 2 have been addressed. Fang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the video recorder to generate the new key frame based at least in part on detecting that a number of delta frames preceding the at least one frame in the GOP achieves a threshold.
Iwanaga discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the video recorder to generate the new key frame based at least in part on detecting that a number of delta frames preceding the at least one frame in the GOP achieves a threshold ([0023] Alternatively, the I frame is generated without waiting for the next I frame generation timing only when the number of frames from the timing of receiving the video request signal to the next I frame generation timing is greater than a predetermined threshold value (for example, 30 frames).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fang and Bruek with the I frame generation when the frames following the request until the next I frame are greater than a threshold as taught by Iwanaga in order to improve the generation of I frames in the video data [See Iwanaga].
In regards to claim 8, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Fang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the video recorder to predict the start time based at least in part on detecting an access control event in an area corresponding to the camera at a time corresponding to a time of the at least one frame.
Iwanaga discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the video recorder to predict the start time based at least in part on detecting an access control event in an area corresponding to the camera at a time corresponding to a time of the at least one frame ([0021] On the other hand, when the video request signal is received, the I frame is generated (step S105), and after the subsequent I frame generation timing is reset (step S106), the arrival of the next frame timing is waited. [0042] In the above description, the monitoring server 124 transmits a video request signal to the camera 121 of each vehicle, but the monitor 122 May transmit the video request signal to the camera 121 of each vehicle when the monitor 122 turns on the display under the control of the monitoring server 124. [0043] For example, the display of the monitor 122 May be turned on at a timing immediately before the train enters the platform of the station, and the display of the monitor 122 May be turned off at a timing immediately after the train leaves the platform of the station. Such control can be performed based on position information obtained by a global positioning system (GPS). Further, instead of the position information, other information such as a contact signal at the time of incoming may be used.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fang and Bruek with the I frame generation when based on the event occurring in the area of the camera as taught by Iwanaga in order to improve the generation of I frames in the video data [See Iwanaga].
Claim 9 lists all the same elements of claim 1, but in method form rather than recorder form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 9.
Claim 10 lists all the same elements of claim 2, but in method form rather than recorder form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 2 applies equally as well to claim 10.
Claim 11 lists all the same elements of claim 3, but in method form rather than recorder form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 3 applies equally as well to claim 11.
Claim 12 lists all the same elements of claim 4, but in method form rather than recorder form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 4 applies equally as well to claim 12.
Claim 16 lists all the same elements of claim 8, but in method form rather than recorder form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 8 applies equally as well to claim 16.
Claim 17 lists all the same elements of claim 1, but in non-transitory computer-readable medium form rather than recorder form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 17.
Claim 18 lists all the same elements of claim 2, but in non-transitory computer-readable medium form rather than recorder form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 2 applies equally as well to claim 18.
Claim(s) 5, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang in view of Iwanaga in further view of Brueck in even further view of Lapicque in even further view of Ramamurthy et al. (Hereafter, “Ramamurthy”) [US 2012/0331106 A1].
In regards to claim 5, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Fang discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the video recorder to predict the start time based at least in part on detecting a usage pattern for one or more devices based on one or more received requests for video streams of the camera or another camera ([0005] generating one or more key frames from the encoded media data on the media server [0027] The key frame generation module 204 may be used to generate key frames in any suitable manner. [0005] The key frames are generated by decoding the media data, and then encoding the key frames from the decoded media data. In this manner, the frequency of key frames in a media data stream may be increased to improve trick mode and/or 1x playback.).
Ramamurthy discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the video recorder to predict the start time based at least in part on detecting a usage pattern for one or more devices based on one or more received requests for video streams of the camera or another camera ([0031] The strategy shown in FIG. 5 can be adapted further as a learning engine that collects how a user accesses the stream over a period of time to predict how the user will likely access the stream in the future. [Fig. 4 and 5] seek positions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fang with prediction of a seek position based on the user access over a period of time as taught by Ramamurthy in order to improve the video system.
Claim 13 lists all the same elements of claim 5, but in method form rather than recorder form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 5 applies equally as well to claim 13.
Claim 19 lists all the same elements of claim 5, but in non-transitory computer-readable medium form rather than recorder form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 5 applies equally as well to claim 19.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 14, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang in view of Iwanaga in further view of Brueck in even further view of Lapicque in even further view of "A novel compact yet rich key frame creation method for compressed video summarization" by Fei et al. (Hereafter, "Fei").
In regards to claim 6, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Fang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the video recorder to predict the start time based at least in part on detecting content within the at least one frame.
Fei discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the video recorder to predict the start time based at least in part on detecting content within the at least one frame ([Section 1, Page 11959] Fig. 1 Input video illustrating two persons walking, one after the other. Considering the schematic video clip represented as a space-time volume and projecting objects appearing in the entire shot onto one key frame image to maximize the reduction of spatial-temporal redundancy in the video, a key frame with compactness and richness is created to indicate the activities of the two persons.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fang, Bruek, and Iwanaga with the key frame creation based on the object/person detection as taught by Fei in order to improve the creation/generation of a key frame [See Fei].
In regards to claim 7, the limitations of claim 6 have been addressed. Fang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the detected content includes one or more persons in the at least one frame detected using object detection.
Fei discloses wherein the detected content includes one or more persons in the at least one frame detected using object detection ([Section 1, Page 11959] Fig. 1 Input video illustrating two persons walking, one after the other. Considering the schematic video clip represented as a space-time volume and projecting objects appearing in the entire shot onto one key frame image to maximize the reduction of spatial-temporal redundancy in the video, a key frame with compactness and richness is created to indicate the activities of the two persons.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fang, Bruek, and Iwanaga with the key frame creation based on the object/person detection as taught by Fei in order to improve the creation/generation of a key frame [See Fei].
Claim 14 lists all the same elements of claim 6, but in method form rather than recorder form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 6 applies equally as well to claim 14.
Claim 15 lists all the same elements of claim 7, but in method form rather than recorder form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 7 applies equally as well to claim 15.
Claim 20 lists all the same elements of claim 6, but in non-transitory computer-readable medium form rather than recorder form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 6 applies equally as well to claim 20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KAITLIN A RETALLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482