DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abeysekera et al (US 12,035,336).
Regarding independent claim 1, Abeysekera teaches a radio access network system, comprising: at least one first radio unit having a first frequency band; and at least one second radio unit having a second frequency band, wherein a frequency range of the first frequency band and a frequency range of the second frequency band do not overlap with each other, and a first coverage range of the first frequency band in an area and a second coverage range of the second frequency band in the area partially overlap with each other (figs. 5-7; col. 4, lines 5-13; col. 6, line 42 to col. 7, line 3 and col. 7, lines 39-46.).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Abeysekera further teaches wherein the frequency range of the first frequency band is lower than the frequency range of the second frequency band. See col. 4, lines 5-13; col. 6, line 42 to col. 7, line 3 and col. 7, lines 39-46.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Abeysekera further teaches a user equipment disposed within an overlapping portion between the first coverage range and the second coverage range, and configured to connect to the at least one first radio unit when the at least one first radio unit and the at least one second radio unit both operate normally. See col. 4, lines 5-13; col. 6, line 42 to col. 7, line 3 and col. 7, lines 39-46.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Abeysekera further teaches a user equipment disposed within an overlapping portion between the first coverage range and the second coverage range, and configured to scan a frequency band from low frequency to high frequency, and connect to a radio unit that is first scanned among the at least one first radio unit and the at least one second radio unit. See col. 4, lines 5-13; col. 6, line 42 to col. 7, line 3 and col. 7, lines 39-46.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abeysekera et al (US 12,035,336).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Abeysekera teaches all subject matter claimed except to further teach connecting to one second radio unit in the event one first radio unit fails to operate. However, connecting the UE to one of the functioning radio unit in the overlapping zone in the event one of the other radio unit failing to operate is notoriously well-known in the art of digital communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Abeysekera so as to keep the UE to be connected to the network. See col. 4, lines 5-13; col. 6, line 42 to col. 7, line 3 and col. 7, lines 39-46.
Regarding dependent claim 8, the same rationale as applied to claim 7 for keeping the UE connected. See col. 4, lines 5-13; col. 6, line 42 to col. 7, line 3 and col. 7, lines 39-46.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Abeysekera further teaches wired LANs network with optical fiber connection (col. 1, lines 59-64). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized to modify the system of Abeysekera to use optical fiber to connect the radio units to the hub. See also fig. 1.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Abeysekera further teaches a first baseband unit connected to the first hub and configured to connect to a core network; and a second baseband unit connected to the second hub and configured to connect to the core network. See fig. 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References Morris et al (US 10,447,385), Rao et al (US 2005/0052333), Lindoff et al (US 2011/0305220), Cheng et al (US 2013/0109385), Xu (US 2013/0115965), Lee et al (US 2013/0165169), Tong et al (US 2018/0069621) and Heiser et al (US 2021/0266897) are cited because they are pertinent to the method and apparatus for radio access network system. However, none of the cited references teaches or suggests the further arrangements as recited in the dependent claims 2-3.
/DON N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634