DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ranganath et al. (US 2024/0259879 A1), hereinafter “RANGANATH”.
Regarding claim 1, RANGANATH teaches, ‘A multi-protocol open radio access network system, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0003], Operator-defined Open and Intelligent Radio Access Networks (referred to as "Open RAN" or "ORAN") is the movement in mobile networks and telecommunications to improve the efficiency of RAN deployments and operations. Paragraph [0026], FIG. 1 depicts an example O-RAN architecture 100 including various interfaces between a RAN Intelligent Controller (RIC) 114 and service management and orchestration framework (SMO) 102):
‘a service management and orchestration apparatus comprising a non-real time radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller,’ (Paragraph [0026], The O-RAN architecture 100 describes a model for RAN resource control, managed at the upper level by orchestration and automation components of the SMO 102 (e.g., policy, configuration, inventory, design, and non-RT RIC 112)),
‘wherein the non-real time RAN intelligent controller comprises a first multi-protocol interface,’ (Paragraph [0161], The rApps 911 are modular apps that leverage functionality exposed via the non-RT RIC framework's R1 interface [first multi-protocol interface]. Paragraph [0052], The RIC 3c14 communicates with the application (app) layer 3c30 via interface 3c13, which may include one or more APIs, server-side web APIs, web services (WS)… As examples, the interface 3c13 may be one or more of Representational State Transfer (REST) APIs, RESTful web services, Simple Object Access Protocol (SOAP) APIs, Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) and/or HTTP secure (HTTPs), Web Services Description Language (WSDL), Message Transmission Optimization Mechanism (MTOM), MQTT (formerly "Message Queueing Telemetry Transport")… JSON-Remote Procedure Call (RPC), XMLRPC, Asynchronous JavaScript And XML (AJAX), and/or the like [Note: R1 multiple protocols supported by interface 3c13]).
‘and the first multi-protocol interface is configured to receive a plurality of first packets corresponding to different communication protocols’ (Paragraph [0052], As examples, the interface 3c13 [like R1] may be one or more of Representational State Transfer (REST) APIs, RESTful web services, Simple Object Access Protocol (SOAP) APIs, Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) and/or HTTP secure (HTTPs)… MQTT (formerly "Message Queueing Telemetry Transport")… and/or the like).
‘and format the plurality of first packets to generate first formatted data;’ (Paragraph [0161], The non-RT RIC 912 can include and/or operate one or more non-RT RIC applications (rApps) 911. The rApps 911 are modular apps that leverage functionality exposed via the non-RT RIC framework's R1 interface to provide added value services relative to RAN operation, such as … generating "enrichment information" [packets] for the use of other rApps 911. Paragraph [0094], Any of the telemetry data, observation stats, and/or measurements/metrics discussed herein may be… processed using any suitable scientific formula or other data manipulation techniques. Paragraph [0202], data ingestion and preparation services for applications (e.g., xApps, rApps, and/or the like). Paragraph [0163], The non-RT RIC 912 supports necessary capabilities for ML model inference in support of ML assisted solutions running in the non-RT RIC 912 or some other ML inference host).
‘and a near-real time RAN intelligent controller connected to the service management and orchestration apparatus,’ (Paragraph [0026], These components [SMO/Non-RT RIC] control and communicate with the near-RT RIC 114 via the A1 interface),
‘wherein the near-real time RAN intelligent controller comprises a second multi-protocol interface,’ (Paragraph [0172], The near-RT RIC 1014 also provides an open API enabling the hosting of 3rd party xApps 410 and xApps 410 from the near-RT RIC 1014 platform vendor (e.g., API enablement function 1238). Paragraph [0205], The near-RT RIC APIs are a collection of well-defined interfaces providing near-RT RIC platform services. Paragraph [0052], The RIC 3c14 communicates with the application (app) layer 3c30 via interface 3c13, which may include one or more APIs, server-side web APIs, web services (WS)… As examples, the interface 3c13 may be one or more of Representational State Transfer (REST) APIs, RESTful web services, Simple Object Access Protocol (SOAP) APIs, Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) and/or HTTP secure (HTTPs), Web Services Description Language (WSDL), Message Transmission Optimization Mechanism (MTOM), MQTT (formerly "Message Queueing Telemetry Transport")… JSON-Remote Procedure Call (RPC), XMLRPC, Asynchronous JavaScript And XML (AJAX), and/or the like [Note: A1 multiple protocols supported by interface 3c13]).
‘and the second multi-protocol interface is configured to receive a plurality of second packets corresponding to different communication protocols’ (Paragraph [0052], As examples, the interface 3c13 [like A1] may be one or more of Representational State Transfer (REST) APIs, RESTful web services, Simple Object Access Protocol (SOAP) APIs, Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) and/or HTTP secure (HTTPs)… MQTT (formerly "Message Queueing Telemetry Transport")… and/or the like).
‘and format the plurality of second packets to generate second formatted data.’ (Paragraph [0061], Each of the xApps 410 may communicate with one another via a service bus 435. The service bus 435 implements a communication system between the various services/microservices provided by individual xApps 410. As examples, the service bus 435 may provide some or all of the following functionality: …providing commodity services such as, for example, event handling, data transformation and mapping, message and event queuing and sequencing, security and/or exception
handling, protocol conversion, and enforcing proper quality (QoS). Paragraph [0054], In O-RAN implementations, the interface 3c13 is the E2 interface between the Near-RT RIC 3c02 and a
Multi-RAT CU 1432 protocol stack and the underlying RAN DU 1431, which feeds data [packets], including various RAN measurements, to the Near-RT RIC 3c02 to facilitate RRM. Paragraph [0094], Any of the telemetry data, observation stats, and/or measurements/metrics discussed herein may be… processed using any suitable scientific formula or other data manipulation techniques. Paragraph [0202], data ingestion and preparation services for applications (e.g., xApps, rApps, and/or the like)).
Regarding claim 2, RANGANATH teaches, The multi-protocol open radio access network system
according to claim 1, ‘wherein the first multi-protocol interface comprises a plurality of first sub-interfaces’ (Paragraph [0205], collection [first multi-protocol interface] of well-defined interfaces [individual APIs are sub-interfaces]. [Note: functional and structural parallel for non-RT RIC via the R1 interface: The non-RT RIC (located in the SMO) operates rAPPs and exposes a set of internal services to them via the R1 interface] Paragraph [0161], The non-RT RIC 912 can include and/or operate one or more non-RT RIC applications (rApps) 911. The rApps 911 are modular apps that leverage functionality exposed via the non-RT RIC framework's R1 interface to provide added value services relative to RAN operation. [Note: the interface connecting the RIC and its application layer (interface 3c13) as being implemented by one or more of several protocols] Paragraph [0052], The RIC 3c14 communicates with the application (app) layer 3c30 via interface 3c13, which may include one or more APIs, server-side web APIs, web services (WS)… As examples, the interface 3c13 may be one or more of Representational State Transfer (REST) APIs, RESTful web services, Simple Object Access Protocol (SOAP) APIs, Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) and/or HTTP secure (HTTPs), Web Services Description Language (WSDL), Message Transmission Optimization Mechanism (MTOM), MQTT (formerly "Message Queueing Telemetry Transport")… JSON-Remote Procedure Call (RPC), XMLRPC, Asynchronous JavaScript And XML (AJAX), and/or the like [Note: these specific protocol-based APIs (e.g., REST API, MQTT API) constitute the “collection” of sub-interfaces required to provide services to the modular applications (rApps) withing the non-RT RIC framework]).
‘and a first data processing module, the first data processing module is connected to the plurality of first sub-interfaces,’ (Paragraph [0202], data ingestion and preparation services for applications (e.g., xApps, rApps, and/or the like [Note: data pipeline is the processing module connected to the R1 collection of sub-interfaces]),
‘the plurality of first sub-interfaces are configured to receive the plurality of first packets, respectively,’ (Paragraph [0052], The RIC 3c14 communicates with the application (app) layer 3c30 via interface 3c13, which may include one or more APIs, server-side web APIs, web services (WS)… As examples, the interface 3c13 may be one or more of Representational State Transfer (REST) APIs, RESTful web services, Simple Object Access Protocol (SOAP) APIs, Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) and/or HTTP secure (HTTPs), Web Services Description Language (WSDL), Message Transmission Optimization Mechanism (MTOM), MQTT (formerly "Message Queueing Telemetry Transport")… JSON-Remote Procedure Call (RPC), XMLRPC, Asynchronous JavaScript And XML (AJAX), and/or the like [Note: individual API endpoints receive packets specific to their protocol (e.g., MQTT packets vs. RESTful requests)]),
‘and the first data processing module is configured to format the plurality of first packets to generate the first formatted data,’ (Paragraph [0161], The non-RT RIC 912 can include and/or operate one or more non-RT RIC applications (rApps) 911. The rApps 911 are modular apps that leverage functionality exposed via the non-RT RIC framework's R1 interface to provide added value services relative to RAN operation, such as … generating "enrichment information" [packets] for the use of other rApps 911. Paragraph [0094], Any of the telemetry data, observation stats, and/or measurements/metrics discussed herein may be… processed using any suitable scientific formula or other data manipulation techniques. Paragraph [0202], data ingestion and preparation services for applications (e.g., xApps, rApps, and/or the like). Paragraph [0163], The non-RT RIC 912 supports necessary capabilities for ML model inference in support of ML assisted solutions running in the non-RT RIC 912 or some other ML inference host).
‘the second multi-protocol interface comprises a plurality of second sub-interfaces’ (Paragraph [0205], The near-RT RIC APIs are a collection of well-defined interfaces providing near-RT RIC platform services. These APIs need to explicitly define the possible types of information flows and data models. The near-RT RIC APIs are essential to host 3rd party xApps 1210 in an interoperable way on different Near-RT RIC platforms. In various implementations, the near-RT RIC 1214 provides the following Near-RT RIC APIs for xApps 1210: A1 related APIs… E2 related APIs… SDL APIs [Note: API collection comprises discrete service-based sub-interfaces])
‘and a second data processing module, the second data processing module is connected to the plurality of second sub-interfaces,’ (Paragraph [0202], data ingestion and preparation services for applications (e.g., xApps, rApps, and/or the like [Note: data pipeline is the processing module connected to the xApp-facing sub-interfaces]),
‘the plurality of second sub-interfaces are configured to receive the plurality of second packets, respectively,’ (Paragraph [0054], In O-RAN implementations, the interface 3c13 is the E2 interface between the Near-RT RIC 3c02 and a Multi-RAT CU 1432 protocol stack and the underlying RAN DU 1431, which feeds data, including various RAN measurements, to the Near-RT RIC 3c02 to facilitate RRM [Note: specific sub-interface (like E2 API) receive distinct packets (e.g., measurement reports) from RAN]),
‘and the second data processing module is configured to format the plurality of second packets to generate the second formatted data.’ (Paragraph [0172], The near-RT RIC 1014 also provides an open API enabling the hosting of 3rd party xApps 410 and xApps 410 from the near-RT RIC 1014 platform vendor (e.g., API enablement function 1238). Paragraph [0070], The xApps 420 also includes an xApp manager 425, which is a logical element/entity that leverages observation data, and generates meaningful insights/knowledge using one or more AI/ML models 3c24 [Note: RAN packets are formatted by the pipeline into standardized insights for xApp]).
Regarding claim 3, RANGANATH teaches, The multi-protocol open radio access network system
according to claim 2, ‘wherein the plurality of first sub-interfaces are at least partially the same as the plurality of second sub-interfaces.’ (Paragraph [0161], The non-RT RIC 912 can include and/or operate one or more non-RT RIC applications (rApps) 911. The rApps 911 are modular apps that leverage functionality exposed via the non-RT RIC framework's R1 interface to provide added value services relative to RAN operation. Paragraph [0052], The RIC 3c14 communicates with the application (app) layer 3c30 via interface 3c13, which may include one or more APIs, server-side web APIs, web services (WS)… As examples, the interface 3c13 may be one or more of Representational State Transfer (REST) APIs, RESTful web services, Simple Object Access Protocol (SOAP) APIs, Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) and/or HTTP secure (HTTPs), Web Services Description Language (WSDL), Message Transmission Optimization Mechanism (MTOM), MQTT (formerly "Message Queueing Telemetry Transport")… JSON-Remote Procedure Call (RPC), XMLRPC, Asynchronous JavaScript And XML (AJAX), and/or the like. Paragraph [0205], The near-RT RIC APIs are a collection of well-defined interfaces providing near-RT RIC platform services. These APIs need to explicitly define the possible types of information flows and data models. The near-RT RIC APIs are essential to host 3rd party xApps 1210 in an interoperable way [same suite of protocols] on different Near-RT RIC platforms. In various implementations, the near-RT RIC 1214 provides the following Near-RT RIC APIs for xApps 1210: A1 related APIs… E2 related APIs… SDL APIs).
Regarding claim 4, RANGANATH teaches, The multi-protocol open radio access network system
according to claim 2, ‘wherein the non-real time RAN intelligent controller further comprises a first database,’ (Paragraph [0163], the non-RT RIC 912 provides a query-able catalog for an ML designer/developer to publish/install trained ML models… a training/deployment-time catalog (e.g., residing inside the non-RT RIC 912), and a run-time catalog (e.g., residing inside the non-RT RIC 912),
‘the first database is connected to the first data processing module,’ (Paragraph [0202], The output of the AI/ML data pipeline may be provided to the AI/ML training capability… information from applications (e.g., xApps 1210, rApps, and/or the like). Paragraph [0161], The non-RT RIC 912 can include and/or operate one or more non-RT RIC applications (rApps) 911. The rApps 911 are modular apps that leverage functionality exposed via the non-RT RIC framework's R1 interface to provide added value services relative to RAN operation, such as … generating "enrichment information" [packets] for the use of other rApps 911. Paragraph [0094], Any of the telemetry data, observation stats, and/or measurements/metrics discussed herein may be… processed using any suitable scientific formula or other data manipulation techniques. Paragraph [0202], data ingestion and preparation services for applications (e.g., xApps, rApps, and/or the like). Paragraph [0163], The non-RT RIC 912 supports necessary capabilities for ML model inference in support of ML assisted solutions running in the non-RT RIC 912 or some other ML inference host),
‘the first database is configured to store the first formatted data,’ (Paragraph [0163], The non-RT RIC 912 supports necessary capabilities for ML model inference… These capabilities enable executable software to be installed such as VMs, containers, and/or the like),
‘and the near-real time RAN intelligent controller further comprises a second database,’ (Paragraph [0172], The near-RT RIC 1014 provides a database function (e.g., DB 1216 of FIG. 12) that stores the configurations relating to E2 nodes, cells, bearers, flows, UEs, and the mappings between them),
‘the second database is connected to the second data processing module,’ (Paragraph [0187], The near-RT RIC 1214 includes a DB 1216 and a shared data layer (SDL) 1217… The SDL 1217 is used by xApps 1210 to subscribe to DB notification services and to read, write, and modify information stored on the DB 1216),
‘the second database is configured to store the second formatted data.’ (Paragraph [0270], The xApp manager analytics engine 1510 obtains the measurement data from the xApp manager measurement engine 1520, generates or determines analytics and/or metrics based on the measurement data, and may store the analytics and/or metrics data as one or more analytics reports in an analytics repository 1534).
Regarding claim 5, RANGANATH teaches, The multi-protocol open radio access network system
according to claim 1, ‘wherein the non-real time RAN intelligent controller’ (Paragraph [0026], managed at the upper level by orchestration and automation components of the SMO 102 (e.g., policy, configuration, inventory, design, and non-RT RIC 112).
‘further comprises a customized application’ (Paragraph [0161], The non-RT RIC 912 can include and/or operate one or more non-RT RIC applications (rApps) 911. The rApps 911 are modular apps that leverage functionality exposed via the non-RT RIC framework's R1 interface to provide added value services relative to RAN operation)
‘connected to the first multi-protocol interface’ (Paragraph [0161], The non-RT RIC framework refers to functionality internal to the SMO 902 that logically terminates the Al interface to the near-RT RIC 914 and exposes the set of internal SMO services needed for their runtime processing to rApps 911 via its R1 interface)
‘to receive the first formatted data.’ (Paragraph [0202], The output of the AI/ML data pipeline may be provided to the AI/ML training capability… information from applications (e.g., xApps 1210, rApps, and/or the like). Paragraph [0161], The non-RT RIC 912 can include and/or operate one or more non-RT RIC applications (rApps) 911. The rApps 911 are modular apps that leverage functionality exposed via the non-RT RIC framework's R1 interface to provide added value services relative to RAN operation, such as … generating "enrichment information" [packets] for the use of other rApps 911. Paragraph [0094], Any of the telemetry data, observation stats, and/or measurements/metrics discussed herein may be… processed using any suitable scientific formula or other data manipulation techniques. Paragraph [0202], data ingestion and preparation services for applications (e.g., xApps, rApps, and/or the like). Paragraph [0163], The non-RT RIC 912 supports necessary capabilities for ML model inference in support of ML assisted solutions running in the non-RT RIC 912 or some other ML inference host).
Regarding claim 6, RANGANATH teaches, The multi-protocol open radio access network system
according to claim 1, ‘wherein the near-real time RAN intelligent controller’ (Paragraph [0026], The near-RT RIC 114 provides management of and connectivity to RAN nodes… a core set of services provided by the near-RT RIC 114 is extensible by custom third-party xApps)
‘further comprises a customized application’ (Paragraph [0060], The near-RT RIC 414 provides a platform for user-developed RAN optimization SW elements (e.g., xApps 410). Paragraph [0171], The near-RT RIC 1014 hosts one or more xApps 410 (sometimes referred to as "near-RT RIC apps" or the like) that use the E2 interface to collect near real-time information… and provide value added services)
‘connected to the second multi-protocol interface’ (Paragraph [0075], The xApp manager 425 uses the telemetry data 515 (or profile information 515) and the measurement data 415… and generates observability insights 525… The insights 525 are provided to one or more xApps 410 via the service bus 435, one or more APIs, and/or network interfaces)
‘to receive the second formatted data.’ (Paragraph [0054], In O-RAN implementations, the interface 3c13 is the E2 interface between the Near-RT RIC 3c02 and a Multi-RAT CU 1432 protocol stack and the underlying RAN DU 1431, which feeds data [packets], including various RAN measurements, to the Near-RT RIC 3c02 to facilitate RRM. Paragraph [0094], Any of the telemetry data, observation stats, and/or measurements/metrics discussed herein may be… processed using any suitable scientific formula or other data manipulation techniques. Paragraph [0202], data ingestion and preparation services for applications (e.g., xApps, rApps, and/or the like).
Regarding claim 7, RANGANATH teaches, The multi-protocol open radio access network system
according to claim 1, ‘wherein the first multi-protocol interface supports at least two of Representational State Transfer Application Programming Interface, Message Queuing Telemetry Transport, Simple Network Management Protocol, Websocket, TR069 protocol and Kafka,’ (Paragraph [0052], As examples, the interface 3c13 may be one or more of Representational State Transfer (REST) APIs, RESTful web services… MQTT (formerly "Message Queueing Telemetry Transport")… and/or the like. Paragraph [0161], The non-RT RIC framework… exposes the set of internal SMO services needed for their runtime processing to rApps 911 via its R1 interface),
‘and the second multi-protocol interface supports at least two of Representational State Transfer Application Programming Interface, Message Queuing Telemetry Transport, Simple Network Management Protocol, Websocket, TR069 protocol and Kafka. (Paragraph [0052], As examples, the interface 3c13 may be one or more of Representational State Transfer (REST) APIs, RESTful web services, , Simple Object Access Protocol (SOAP) APIs, Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) and/or HTTP secure (HTTPs)… MQTT (formerly "Message Queueing Telemetry Transport")… and/or the like).
Regarding claim 8, RANGANATH teaches, The multi-protocol open radio access network system
according to claim 1, ‘wherein the first multi-protocol interface’ (Paragraph [0161], The rApps 911 are modular apps that leverage functionality exposed via the non-RT RIC framework's R1 interface [first multi-protocol interface]. Paragraph [0052], The RIC 3c14 communicates with the application (app) layer 3c30 via interface 3c13, which may include one or more APIs, server-side web APIs, web services (WS)… As examples, the interface 3c13 may be one or more of Representational State Transfer (REST) APIs, RESTful web services, Simple Object Access Protocol (SOAP) APIs, Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) and/or HTTP secure (HTTPs), Web Services Description Language (WSDL), Message Transmission Optimization Mechanism (MTOM), MQTT (formerly "Message Queueing Telemetry Transport")… JSON-Remote Procedure Call (RPC), XMLRPC, Asynchronous JavaScript And XML (AJAX), and/or the like [Note: R1 multiple protocols supported by interface 3c13]).
‘is further configured to connect an Internet-of-things device.’ (Paragraph [0110], The endpoints 710 include UEs 711, which may be IoT devices (also referred to as "IoT devices 711"), which are uniquely identifiable embedded computing devices… that comprise a network access layer designed for low-power IoT applications utilizing short-lived UE connections).
Regarding claim 9, RANGANATH teaches, The multi-protocol open radio access network system
according to claim 1, ‘wherein the second multi-protocol interface’ (Paragraph [0075], The telemetry agent 520 either provides raw telemetry data 515 to the xApp manager 425... The E2 agent 530 either provides raw measurement data 415 to the xApp manager 425... The telemetry data 515, measurement data 415, and policies 441 can be obtained via the service bus 435, one or more APIs, and/or network interfaces)
‘is further configured to connect a heterogeneous device. (Paragraph [0032], other compute nodes… can include, such as, for example, other edge compute node(s), other cloud compute node(s), other RAN node(s), NF(s), application function(s) (AF(s)), UE(s), a collection of hardware accelerators, and/or some other computing element, such as any of those discussed herein. Paragraph [0108], As examples, the communication networks and/or access technologies may include cellular technology… WiFi or wireless local area network (WLAN) technologies… and/or the like. Different technologies exhibit benefits and limitations in different scenarios).
Regarding claim 10, RANGANATH teaches, The multi-protocol open radio access network
system according to claim 1, ‘wherein the first multi-protocol interface is further configured to connect an Internet-of-things device,’ (Paragraph [0110], The endpoints 710 include UEs 711, which may be IoT devices (also referred to as "IoT devices 711")… The IoT devices 711 are any physical or virtualized, devices, sensors, or "things" that are embedded with HW and/or SW components… capable of communicating such data with one or more other devices over a network),
‘and reconnect the Internet-of-things device when communication with the Internet-of-things device is interrupted,’ (Paragraph [0047], the MO 3c02 is responsible for… failure detection, notification, location, and repairs that are intended to eliminate or reduce faults and keep a segment in an operational state),
‘and the second multi-protocol interface is further configured to connect a heterogeneous device,’ (Paragraph [0108], As examples, the communication networks and/or access technologies may include cellular technology… WiFi or wireless local area network (WLAN) technologies… and/or the like. Different technologies exhibit benefits and limitations in different scenarios. Paragraph [0032], edge compute nodes, one or more cloud compute nodes (or a cloud compute cluster), one or more application servers, one or more RAN nodes, a collection of hardware accelerators [lists heterogeneous elements]),
‘and reconnect the heterogeneous device when communication with the heterogeneous device is interrupted.’ (Paragraph [0086], the xApp manager 425 may be trained to predict HW and/or SW reliability issues… and the resources allocations can instruct or indicate to move one or more xApps 410 from one or more processing elements… to another (safer) set of processing elements).
Conclusion
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479