DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/24/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of the election of subspecies I in the reply filed on 2/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the requirement did not clarify the specific embodiments in the specification or the drawings. This is found persuasive, although the linking species (MPEP 809) do require a different search query, such as the term seal, bearing or manifold, for the purposes of this action, claims 1-13 will be examined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84(h) (3) are required in this application because “hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object...”, see MPEP 608.02, see 37 CFR 1.84(n) chart IX, applicant’s drawings do not distinguish between material differences such as rubber, and metal. Applicant is advised that the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings.
See the drawings in US patent 7,789,066 as a representative example for drawings.
The drawings are objected to because in Figure 4a, it is unclear as to how seals 144a,b remain in position (are the seals installed within a bore intersecting with port 136).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 9988966).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. disclose a rotating valve system (110) comprising:
a housing (260) defining a valve cavity (the openings surrounding 225a,b), wherein the housing includes one or more inlet ports (at 130,140) and one or more outlet housing ports (the housing ports connected to 292,294,296,298);
a valve assembly (255a,255b,265,210,215) positioned within the valve cavity and configured to receive fluid via the one or more inlet ports at a first rate and to output the fluid via the one or more outlet housing ports at a second rate (inherently the rate of fluid will change from the inlet to the outlet due to pressures losses in the internal passageways), wherein the valve assembly comprises a plurality of cartridges (255a,b) mechanically engaged with one another and each of the plurality of cartridges being configured to rotate about an axis of rotation between a first position and a second position; and
a drive assembly (200,205,210,215) configured to rotate the plurality of cartridges between the first position and the second position.
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. disclose each of the plurality of cartridges comprises a body portion (at 255a or 255b) and a gear portion (at 210,215).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. disclose the body portion defines an inlet port (at the left end of each body) configured to receive the fluid from the one or more inlet ports and at least one exit hole (250a,250b) in a sidewall of the body portion configured to deliver the fluid to one of the one or more outlet housing ports.
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. disclose when in the first position, the at least one exit hole is configured to not align with any of the one or more outlet housing ports to prevent fluid flow therethrough (col. 5, lns. 54- Col. 6, lns 4, “the sealing member 265 may inhibit or prevent coolant”).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. disclose when in the second position, the at least one exit hole is configured to fully align with one of the one or more outlet housing ports to enable fluid flow therethrough (col. 5, lns. 54-56).
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al. disclose each of the plurality of cartridges is configured to rotate between the first position and the second position via an intermediate position and, when in the intermediate position (as the cartridges rotate they are configured to have the intermediate position, first and second positions), the at least one exit hole is configured to partially align with one of the one or more outlet housing ports to enable partial fluid flow therethrough (as shown, 255a having the different spaced holes (250a exit hole) is configured to operate in the claimed manner).
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al. disclose a seal (265) positioned at a flow interface between the housing and the cartridge.
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al. disclose the drive assembly comprises an actuator (M,200), a driveshaft (the shaft connected from M to 205), and a drive gear (205), wherein the drive gear is configured to interface with the valve assembly via a gear portion (one of the gear teeth at 210) formed in or on one of the plurality of cartridges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. ‘966 in view of Jang et al. (US 10352460).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Lee et al. disclose a seal, although are silent that this seal comprises a PTFE ring and an annular ring, and, wherein the annular ring is configured to provide a spring force that biases the PTFE ring to maintain contact with a surface of the cartridge during rotation thereof.
Jang et al. teach the use of a seal comprises a PTFE ring (220) and an annular ring (230), and, wherein the annular ring is configured to provide a spring force (due to the rubber material within 230) that biases the PTFE ring to maintain contact with a surface of the cartridge during rotation thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a sealing assembly having the PTFE ring and annular ring as taught by Jang et al. for the oring in Lee et al. to have the seal comprises a PTFE ring and an annular ring, and, wherein the annular ring is configured to provide a spring force that biases the PTFE ring to maintain contact with a surface of the cartridge during rotation thereof, since it has been held, that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component (one sealing means for another seal means) or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. Additionally, the well-known expected outcome of providing a seal for the valve, would result from the combination. Additionally, the seal modification being made in order to provide for a sealing structure to be more stable (Jang et al., col. 2, lns. 1-4).
Claim(s) 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. ‘966 in view of Gill et al. (US 20230235832).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. disclose a housing, although are silent to having a manifold coupled to the housing and configured to receive the fluid via the one or more outlet housing ports.
Gill et al. teach the use of a manifold (14c or 14d) coupled to the housing (12) and configured to receive the fluid via the one or more outlet housing ports.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a manifold as taught by Gill et al. into the device of Lee et al. to have a manifold coupled to the housing and configured to receive the fluid via the one or more outlet housing ports, in order to provide for connection locations that can be flexible for different various locations of the multiple fluid conduits (Gill, et al., para.0003).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. ‘966 in view of Britton (US 2399460).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. disclose that each cartridge includes a first bearing (the opening through housing 260 that each valve stem from the gear connects to the valve), although are silent to having a second bearing to support the cartridge during rotation thereof.
Britton teaches the use of a second bearing (42, page 2, left col., lns 25-31) to support the cartridge during rotation thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a bearing as taught by Britton into the device of Lee et al. to have a second bearing to support the cartridge during rotation thereof, in order to provide a proper alignment of the flow openings through the device and to have the spaced relation to the walls of the chamber (Britton, page 2, left col., lns 30-34).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. ‘966 in view of Paralkar et al. (US 20250129855).
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention, although are silent to having a bearing and a seal surrounding at least a portion of the driveshaft.
Paralkar et al. teach the use of a bearing (80) and a seal (82) surrounding at least a portion of the driveshaft (41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a bearing and seal as taught by Paralkar et al. into the device of Lee et al. to have a bearing and a seal surrounding at least a portion of the driveshaft, in order to provide smooth rotation of the shaft and a sealing mechanism to ensure the fluid stays within the main valve housing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753